KAIETEUR NEWS, AUG 26 --- I wish to highlight the issue of suicide and suicide prevention in Guyana.
Firstly, I would like to let the readers know that the issue /endemic we face is not suicide; what we face is actually the result of the many things that push individuals to want to and in many instances put an end to their lives. Bullying, naming and shaming, victimization etc are just a few of the many issues persons face daily, and sadly, those who are too weak to ignore find themselves at either the end of a gun, knife, rope, poison bottle, fall etc.
If we want to save lives then we do not have to tackle those with suicidal tendencies (although it is important to offer assistance).What we need to do is educate the populace about the effects their derogatory remarks and selfish actions may have on others. We need to target learning institutions, the home, social media. What is very surprising too is that educated persons β educators, medical professionals, journalists etc, use their social media page to bash and shame persons they may not even know or who they may know little of simply because the individual or individuals are not βto their likenessβ.
This foolishness needs to stop, I donβt know if these individuals are complacent of the hurt they are causing others by their actions but this has to be highlighted and they need to cease immediately. If groups are willing to really help potential victims and their families of suicide then the approach of penalizing and holding accountable those responsible for such should be an urgent priority for those relevant authorities responsible in aiding and minimizing suicide prevention .
Atika Stephens
Leader, URP
Mitwah should take note.
Cyber bullying is indeed impacting the lives of our young people. The social community is now in cyberspace and cowardly people like lilmohan have become giants through anonymity even though in real life they are midgets.
yuji22 posted:Mitwah should take note.
You think he will commit suicide?
Bibi Haniffa posted:yuji22 posted:Mitwah should take note.
This is doubtful, people like him only live to drive others to suicide. But it would be poetic justice if he did.
You people did exactly what the letter writer suggested not to do.
This article should be noted by all GNI bloggers, and special attention by the Admin.
He is high risk. I pray that he does not.
I will live until I die.
Mitwah posted:I will live until I die.
I always say that.
Since it is almost impossible to change the action of others and we can only change ourselves. It is important that a person learn how to deal with their personal challenges, described by the letter writer above.
What some find effective in dealing with suicide is not to deal directly with the action of suicide, but to teach the person how to cope with their daily challenges. Because they can only change themselves regarding bullying, name calling and other negative actions by others.
Learning how to deal with personal challenges with positive results, is also a benefit for other aspects of living a non-stressful life.
In Guyana, it is difficult to change the atmosphere of the surrounding, that might create negative results. But a person can learn how to deal with their personal challenges of daily living, with some positive results.
Acceptance and learning how to live within that atmosphere, if a person cannot create change, is the key to an acceptable life style.
Drugb posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:yuji22 posted:Mitwah should take note.
This is doubtful, people like him only live to drive others to suicide. But it would be poetic justice if he did.
This is very wrong Druggie.
It is not good to make fun of someone personal problem.
Drugb posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:yuji22 posted:Mitwah should take note.
i hope in your case u do it quick
ksazma posted:Drugb posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:yuji22 posted:Mitwah should take note.
This is very wrong Druggie.
Not at all, the world would be better off without this cyber bully. Who knows how many people this creature drove to suicide, even Tola couldn't save them.
warrior posted:Drugb posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:yuji22 posted:Mitwah should take note.
i hope in your case u do it quick
What wrang with yuh bai, I got Tola the suicide prevention expert in me carna to watch out fuh meh.
yuji22 posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:yuji22 posted:Mitwah should take note.
He is high risk. I pray that he does not.
I sincerely hope that the performance of his Gov't doesn't have a negative impact on his mental health.
Drugb posted: What wrang with yuh bai, I got Tola the suicide prevention expert in me carna to watch out fuh meh.
There's an old saying that goes somewhat like this: when yuh do good, yuh hold wood. Barring a few notable exceptions, all Tola has been getting from GNI for his good works in Guyana is wood, wood, and more wood. He could open a virtual lumber yard with all dem useless scantlings y'all throwing his way.
Thanks Gilly.
Do some people on GNI who post constantly, with negativism, animosity and hate, have productive lives. I doubt it.
I wish I have their spare time with my zillions of things to do, I could 'move mountains'. What a wasteful and negative thought...