We need more Blacks in Agriculture, rather than placing the burden of hard work and nation building on the backs of the Indian masses.  This lady should be used as an example for CaribJ and other sweet skinned Blacks.

Flooded out and battling land-grabbers, woman farmer determined to survive

– “I’m not giving up,” says Vilma Tyson

By Enid Joaquin

As we celebrate agriculture month, we can’t help but applaud the men and women that work the soil so that the rest of us may eat.
But how many of us understand the challenges and sometimes heartaches that some of these farmers face in their quest for a good life?
Quite a few of them throw in the towel and seek less arduous occupations.
But for people like Vilma Tyson, giving up is not an option.
“This is my life-I’m not giving up! Tyson says emphatically.
Many of us would find such perseverance hard to understand, especially after hearing Vilma’s story.
I was totally flabbergasted when I saw what this woman’s once-flourishing farm of myriad crops had been reduced to.
Tyson is well known in Linden as one of the most prominent and prolific female farmers around; and she was able to acquire that status even as a single mother of three children.
It was just four years ago that this single parent had graced the front page of this publication, proudly surrounded by the fruits of her labor.

Mrs. Tyson in her nursery

Vilma Tyson with some of her produce

Today, she is surrounded by bushes, as the nearby jungle threatens to obliterate all that she has nurtured over the years.
Most of her orange trees are dead or dying, and even the hardy coconut trees are struggling to survive, as they battle with the encroaching jungle for sunlight.
But Tyson is fighting for her livelihood, and has even started to replant some oranges. She is also fighting hard to save some soursop plants.
However “it is not easy,” she asserts.
Tyson said that most of her crops are dying, because her farm is constantly under water.
“Right now this place is a virtual swamp, so everything is dying out. The only thing that flourishing are the weeds. The place is like a jungle.”
The woman said that she is particularly frustrated because she has spent a lot of money on drainage.
“A couple years ago I had three interlocking drains dug; they run from the road to the river. I had to pay $100, 000 for each one, so in all I paid $300,000. But now one of my neighbours who also farms, instead of also digging drains, they just dig a little outlet into my drain, and my drain cannot hold the excess water, so my farm is flooding- it constantly under water. The water coming from all over and flooding out my farm.”

Only grass on this once fertile farm

Not only has Tyson lost most of her orange trees, but an entire crop of Irish potatoes.
Because of the waterlogged state of the farm, she also can no longer farm cash crops such as bolangers, pak choi and bora.
She admitted that she was heartbroken over the loss of the potatoes as she had travelled to Jamaica, to study the process of growing the crop. She had plunged headlong into cultivation upon her return.
Tyson has been farming for most of her life, even while employed in the clerical sector by the state and attending the University of Guyana.
She however started out as a commercial farmer shortly after retiring from the Guyana Revenue Authority in 2005.
Her first move was to join the Region 10 Farmers Association, which afforded opportunities to attend workshops in Grenada and elsewhere.
She had pointed out in an earlier interview, that except for two instances where she was granted land clearing assistance from LEAP, she did not seek funding from any financial institution.
These days, apart from the issue of a water logged farm, Tyson is also fighting valiantly to hold onto her farmland, which she claims some persons seem bent on coveting. It is for these reasons that Tyson is demanding that the relevant authorities look into her plight.

"We need more Blacks in Agriculture, rather than placing the burden of hard work and nation building on the backs of the Indian masses.  This lady should be used as an example for CaribJ and other sweet skinned Blacks."

Oye Drugb,why don't you listen to the opposition leader statement on Afroes,it appears only in Guyana they are sweet skinned,is this is the perception of the Indos? well they need to look at the Caribbean Countries where the majority are Africans,and they are ahead of Guyana,even some accept the Indo's who migrated there.

"We need more Blacks in Agriculture, rather than placing the burden of hard work and nation building on the backs of the Indian masses.  This lady should be used as an example for CaribJ and other sweet skinned Blacks."

Oye Drugb,why don't you listen to the opposition leader statement on Afroes,it appears only in Guyana they are sweet skinned,is this is the perception of the Indos? well they need to look at the Caribbean Countries where the majority are Africans,and they are ahead of Guyana,even some accept the Indo's who migrated there.

Django, stick to Guyana. The other Caribbean islands don't have a large Indian population for the nigroes to leech off. In America, they leech off the whites.

they need to look at the Caribbean Countries where the majority are Africans,and they are ahead of Guyana,even some accept the Indo's who migrated there.

Jamaica in fact has a more developed agro industrial sector than does Guyana.

But druggie why don't you scream for Indians to enter the police force?  Jagan tried and they laughed at him and called it "blackman work".

. The other Caribbean islands don't have a large Indian population for the nigroes to leech off. In America, they leech off the whites.

OK next time you call me a racist, and then are unable to say why I am a racist just remember this.

Of course as a proud member of the Indo KKK you see nothing wrong with this.

You must be quietly seething that Jagdeo ran off to Florida and called himself a black man, and claimed that blacks aren't lazy as people like you claim that we are.  Yes, because your terror of Jagdeo is such that you dare not confront him on this.

they need to look at the Caribbean Countries where the majority are Africans,and they are ahead of Guyana,even some accept the Indo's who migrated there.

But druggie why don't you scream for Indians to enter the police force?  Jagan tried and they laughed at him and called it "blackman work".

Clearly I stated that this is a malaise that affects Guyanese Afros. Why are you folks not picking up the fork and shovel and planting like the Indos? I know a few Blacks that try but they are not consistent in their perseverance.  After one or 2 crop they find other sources of income more appealing, including robbing the Indians. 

Clearly I stated that this is a malaise that affects Guyanese Afros. Why are you folks not picking up the fork and shovel and planting like the Indos?

For the same reason why Indians refuse to take up their civic duty and become policemen. Hell you all barely want to be nurses and teachers!

Clearly I stated that this is a malaise that affects Guyanese Afros. Why are you folks not picking up the fork and shovel and planting like the Indos?

For the same reason why Indians refuse to take up their civic duty and become policemen. Hell you all barely want to be nurses and teachers!

Read my other post, jobs in civil service are reserved for Blacks. Even the PPP ensured this. Indians are told to go work in the fields by Black leadership in the police force. 

Clearly I stated that this is a malaise that affects Guyanese Afros. Why are you folks not picking up the fork and shovel and planting like the Indos? I know a few Blacks that try but they are not consistent in their perseverance.  After one or 2 crop they find other sources of income more appealing, including robbing the Indians. 

Burnham and the Brits thought Afros the superiority mind-set.  They are thought to be elitist and that farming and other such hand work are the domain of the Indians.  Blacks want to make decisions while Indians toe the line!!

!

Read my other post, jobs in civil service are reserved for Blacks. Even the PPP ensured this. Indians are told to go work in the fields by Black leadership in the police force. 

Its clear that you are a racist.  Indians don't want to work in the police force because they don't want to work under blacks, yet you will scream if blacks refuse to work for Indians.

ba$eman posted:

Burnham and the Brits thought Afros the superiority mind-set.  They are thought to be elitist and that farming and other such hand work are the domain of the Indians.  Blacks want to make decisions while Indians toe the line!!

Clearly your inferiority complex is there. BOTH the British and Burnham wanted to undermine the economic status quo of blacks because BOTH wanted them dependent.  

Sufficient damage was done under the British to render Burnham's task to be simple.  All he then needed to do was to reward the soup lickers and punish those blacks who dared to be independent. By so doing he undermined some of the few areas that blacks did have dominance, and that was in education and the trades. 

Mass Games and YSM nonsense and making blacks look stupid, so that he, Burnham, could laugh at them, is what his focus was.

By the time Burnham came along blacks associated farming with poverty and sought upward mobility through the trades, professionals and the civil service, because these were the areas where they achieved early success by the late 19th century.   And all I need to do is to look the history of MY family.  Those stayed in farming remained poor, and those who sought mobility through education, especially in teaching, and then other professions, entered the middle class.

Essentially the occupational distribution of each ethnic group was set over 100 years ago.

The British feared the African more than they did the Indian. Unlike the Indian, who saw themselves as aliens, the Africans saw themselves as Guyanese pure and simple, and therefore feeling entitled to having input in running the country. 

To this day civic society is dominated by the African, with the Indian focusing more on personal enrichment, or his religious institutions.  If it doesn't make money Indians have no use for it.

In fact in 1900 Africans owned MORE land than did Indians, and so were more likely to be allowed to vote in an era when the right to vote was defined by property owned. Africans were 40% of the voters, which was roughly in line with their population.  Indians accounted for a much lower % of the voters.   The difference was accounted by the whites and the coloreds, who were OVER represented as voters.

So it was important for the colonial authorities to undermine the economic fortunes of the Africans, because by doing this, they also undermined their ability to have input into the political structure.

They favored property acquisition by Indians.  Some Indians benefitted from land settlement schemes were properly drained lands were available. Even where this wasn't the case Indian farms were NOT flooded out as were the farms owned by the blacks.

The British saw NO purpose for black involvement in farming, except as scab labor.  In the majority black islands they had to encourage continued involvement by blacks in the agricultural sectors.

Learn some Guyanese history and give your inferiority complex a rest.

!

Its clear that you are a racist.  Indians don't want to work in the police force because they don't want to work under blacks, yet you will scream if blacks refuse to work for Indians.

Incorrect, the Black leadership in the police ensure that Indos are not hired.

!

He is not a racist.  He is a racer.  Be careful now, don't let the man challenge you to a triathlon.  You guh look bad and the black boys won't like you anymore.

ba$eman posted:

Clearly your inferiority complex is there. BOTH the British and Burnham wanted to undermine the economic status quo of blacks because BOTH wanted them dependent.  

Sufficient damage was done under the British to render Burnham's task to be simple.  All he then needed to do was to reward the soup lickers and punish those blacks who dared to be independent. By so doing he undermined some of the few areas that blacks did have dominance, and that was in education and the trades. 

Mass Games and YSM nonsense and making blacks look stupid, so that he, Burnham, could laugh at them, is what his focus was.

By the time Burnham came along blacks associated farming with poverty and sought upward mobility through the trades, professionals and the civil service, because these were the areas where they achieved early success by the late 19th century.   And all I need to do is to look the history of MY family.  Those stayed in farming remained poor, and those who sought mobility through education, especially in teaching, and then other professions, entered the middle class.

Essentially the occupational distribution of each ethnic group was set over 100 years ago.

The British feared the African more than they did the Indian. Unlike the Indian, who saw themselves as aliens, the Africans saw themselves as Guyanese pure and simple, and therefore feeling entitled to having input in running the country. 

To this day civic society is dominated by the African, with the Indian focusing more on personal enrichment, or his religious institutions.  If it doesn't make money Indians have no use for it.

In fact in 1900 Africans owned MORE land than did Indians, and so were more likely to be allowed to vote in an era when the right to vote was defined by property owned. Africans were 40% of the voters, which was roughly in line with their population.  Indians accounted for a much lower % of the voters.   The difference was accounted by the whites and the coloreds, who were OVER represented as voters.

So it was important for the colonial authorities to undermine the economic fortunes of the Africans, because by doing this, they also undermined their ability to have input into the political structure.

They favored property acquisition by Indians.  Some Indians benefitted from land settlement schemes were properly drained lands were available. Even where this wasn't the case Indian farms were NOT flooded out as were the farms owned by the blacks.

The British saw NO purpose for black involvement in farming, except as scab labor.  In the majority black islands they had to encourage continued involvement by blacks in the agricultural sectors.

Learn some Guyanese history and give your inferiority complex a rest.

Banna, baseman don't have no inferiority complex for alyuh.  Baseman always view himself as superior, that is why PNC apartheid was needed!

Jagan tried to get Indians interested and they didn't even apply.  If they don't apply for the job then how can they be not hired.

Indians just think that being a cop, or a nurse, or even a primary school teacher is "black people wuk".  The notion of civic involvement isn't something that interests most Indians.

ba$eman posted:

Banna, baseman don't have no inferiority complex for alyuh.  Baseman always view himself as superior, that is why PNC apartheid was needed!

Baseman finally admitting that he thinks that he is better than blacks.  You may well cure yourself of your racist disease one day.  The only way an ailment can be cured is if one insists that it exists.

!

He is not a racist. 

Given that you are a card carrying member of the Indo KKK I will not be surprised that you don't think that Druggie is a racist as he screams daily that blacks are lazy and that the only people who do any work in Guyana are Indians.

ba$eman posted:

Baseman finally admitting that he thinks that he is better than blacks.  You may well cure yourself of your racist disease one day.  The only way an ailment can be cured is if one insists that it exists.

It was the mindset which got us through the day under the PNC apartheid.  It was the reaction to the forces of evil which we faced while growing up!  My parents taught us to resist and be above the forces which surrounded us counting themselves as superior and that Indians are the rustic, illiterate canecutters and edoe and bora growers!

ba$eman posted:

It was the mindset which got us through the day under the PNC apartheid. 

And to your chagrin even Jagdeo realizes that in the USA he is but a mere black man.  Lucky for you black Americans and earlier waves of Caribbean BLACK immigrants fought hard so that you a racist dog has the freedom to move to the USA and look down your nose on blacks. Joining Trump while that bigotscreams that police should strip, search and humiliate black professional men driving home, merely because the white cop is jealous that they can own better cars.

Given that you are a card carrying member of the Indo KKK I will not be surprised that you don't think that Druggie is a racist as he screams daily that blacks are lazy and that the only people who do any work in Guyana are Indians.

This is incorrect, I have black relatives but they are not cut from the same cloth as you with a perchance for entitlement. 

Speaking out on the unfair distribution of lazyman govt jobs to Blacks(99.9%) is necessary to bring awareness to this racist strategy employed by successive administrations. The PPP used this effectively to appease the Blacks and now the PNC is using a monopoly of Blacks in civil servant jobs as a reward for votes. 

Jagan tried to get Indians interested and they didn't even apply.  If they don't apply for the job then how can they be not hired.

Indians just think that being a cop, or a nurse, or even a primary school teacher is "black people wuk".  The notion of civic involvement isn't something that interests most Indians.

Nonsense, Jagan used the civil service jobs to appease Blacks, knowing that this could control their urge to riot and burn if they didn't get rewarded. No PPP leader appealed to Indians to join the force, nor did they make any concerted effort to see this happen. But it is all for naught now as Blacks and mixed race now far outnumber Indians in the voting bloc. The PNC looks poised to retain power for generations to come, with great opportunity to destroy Guyana a la the Burnham days. 

This is incorrect, I have black relatives but they are not cut from the same cloth as you with a perchance for entitlement. 

Really! You used to scream that they live in public housing and depend on welfare. You painted them as pathetic souls who needed to be guided by you.

I guess they saw the lies that you spread and gave you a good thrashing.

Nonsense, Jagan used the civil service jobs to appease Blacks,

Really.  So why then you screams about Indians not joining the police force.

I will appreciate you showing evidence that Indians wanted to join and were prevented from doing so. 

Indians are always very vocal when they feel that they are being wronged by blacks.  How come they never offer evidence that attempts to join the GDF or the GPF were rebuffed?

I will appreciate you showing evidence that Indians wanted to join and were prevented from doing so. 

Indians are always very vocal when they feel that they are being wronged by blacks.  How come they never offer evidence that attempts to join the GDF or the GPF were rebuffed?

Most of my uncles were in the GPF in the 60's and were pushed out after the PNC took power.  They were "kick-ass" weight-lifting, half-Madrass  coolies, they type who the PNC dreaded being armed.  Burnham did not want PPP supporters (Indians) carrying around arms so they cleanse the forces and built up with mainly Blacks.  This became more acute after the Rupununi uprising as Burnham feared an Indian revolt also.  Burnham knew of his intention to institute pan-Afro apartheid and every armed Indian was the risk to that plan.

Do you really think if Indians were well represented in the GDF, the PNC could have pulled off the decades of rigging with impunity? 

Really! You used to scream that they live in public housing and depend on welfare. You painted them as pathetic souls who needed to be guided by you.

I guess they saw the lies that you spread and gave you a good thrashing.

Apparently you must confuse me with someone else or maybe your tendency to lie got the better of you.

They worship me for sure however they are not pathetic and not afflicted with the lazyman bug that many of your brothers have embraced. 

Indians have never been vocal in general, the Blacks are the ones that are vocal and physical in their protests.  Indians will take his licks and move on to the next opportunity.   

Even in the great US of A. What a people!

Yep...black people had to do the heavy lifting for civil rights so you crows get to caw about your success!

ba$eman posted:

.  Burnham did not want PPP supporters (Indians) carrying around arms so they cleanse the forces and built up with mainly Blacks. 

Do you really think if Indians were well represented in the GDF, the PNC could have pulled off the decades of rigging with impunity? 

You do know that Burnham died 31 years ago. What's your excuse for Indians not being involved during the 23 years of PPP rule.  Jagan definitely wanted more Indian involvement in the police force. He probably would have wanted it to become like Mauritius, where most of the cops are Indians.

Indians howled that putting on a uniform is "blackman wuk" and they don't see why they should sacrifice their lives to arrest criminals.

And yes blacks are under represented as business owners.  Do you think that the PNC should seize Indian businesses and assets and hand them over to blacks to achieve parity?

If blacks want to be in the GDF and the GPF and Indians don't them why should blacks not be recruited?

Yep...black people had to do the heavy lifting for civil rights so you crows get to caw about your success!

Oxymoron when referring to blacks.

For old decrepit racists like you I guess...brain froth from trying too hard to think!

Let us not forget the influence and example set by the great mahatma, of whom MLK was a student.  Also the many White sympathizers who joined and financed the civil rights movement. I am not sure they taught you this in second rate Howard. 

Ghandi borrowed from Thoreau whose tract on Civil Disobedience was seminal to his work. MLK sourced both and also Tolstoy. These men were students of human life not constipated racist hacks like you. And yes, howard is indeed that nurturing environment where thinkers are incubated. You could have benefited a bit in understanding of the world, humility as a human being and most urgently your lacking in that special ingredient; wisdom.

Referencing an essay and implementing are two different animals. Indeed humans and civilizations have influenced each other over the centuries. But to suggest that Blacks alone are responsible for the civil rights gains in this country is hogwash. The fact that the administration and people of the US  were willing to listen and change is testament of the greatness of this nations where its laws and people allow for such groundbreaking transformations. 

Blacks alone highlighted their injustice from slavery to to Brown vs Board of ed. Yes there were empathetic figures along the way but they immorality of injustice was highlighted best by the ones experiencing it.

Social revolutions sweep away old belief systems. They are not accommodated by the old. Every advance of civil rights redefined civil rights by wiping out old beliefs. White people did not include anyone. They simply clarified their mistaken beliefs when they were destabilized by arguments as to their lack of soundness and adopted the new informed and stable belief system

Nonsense, Blacks did not do this alone, they had help every step of the way. This is well documented, from Jews to gentile who helped them all the way from the civil war, underground railroad etc. It seems that you want to be blacker than the black man. 

Referencing an essay and implementing are two different animals. Indeed humans and civilizations have influenced each other over the centuries. But to suggest that Blacks alone are responsible for the civil rights gains in this country is hogwash. The fact that the administration and people of the US  were willing to listen and change is testament of the greatness of this nations where its laws and people allow for such groundbreaking transformations. 

Stupid man, the seminal questions were asked and answered eons ago. Philosophy is not incremental as science ( and science is only incremental within a paradigm). Philosophical questions remain the same. Thoreau et al re-frame the questions for their time and made them cogent for those needing to be informed.

Blacks alone highlighted their injustice from slavery to  Brown vs Board of ed. Yes, there were empathetic figures along the way but the immorality slavery and the injustice of the pre civil rights era was  best highlighted by those experiencing it through their loss of life sacrifice and demands for a new system.

Social revolutions sweep away old belief systems. They are not accommodated by the old. Every advance of civil rights redefined civil rights by wiping out old beliefs. White people did not include anyone into their beliefs. They clarified their mistaken beliefs when it was destabilized by arguments as to its lack of soundness given the stark reality of its injustices. They adopted the new and more informed and stable belief system