The snap election budget of 2013
Development Watch
APRIL 3, 2013 
BY DR TARRON KHEMRAJ 

development watch

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...tion-budget-of-2013/

Introduction

GINA makes sure we are reminded that the G$208.8 billion budget is the largest ever presented in Parliament. No one there bothered to check whether this is indeed the case by deflating the nominal into real numbers. Nor did they bother to convert the G$208.8 billion into US$ terms, the preferred mode of comparison of Minister Ashni Singh. Guyana’s GDP grew at a reasonable 4.2% in 2012. This growth is coming mainly from sectors like gold, rice and bauxite that can witness a sudden reversal of fortunes. The forecast for 2013 is 5.3% that is likely to come mainly from a rebound in sugar, which will be emerging from a very low bottom. Nevertheless positive growth is always better than a stagnant or shrinking economy.

The budget reads to me like an election preparedness document. It proposes very little fundamental policies that will address the coming structural problems in the economy, particularly the expected ballooning of the external debt after 2016. And the large projects proposed will add significant fiscal risks in the coming years. Subsidies, tax credits and some tax reductions are proposed. Overall the budget is long on political merits, but short on economic and environmental rationale. A full review of the budget cannot be done in a single column. Therefore, I urge people to read Mr Christopher Ram’s detailed review and analysis of the 2013 budget. However, here are some of my thoughts.

Some Short-Term Goodies

As is well known housing has been a main aspect of the economic policy agenda of the PPP. While commendable, many housing areas are poorly planned. Families have built beautiful middle class homes in areas with mud streets and gigantic pot holes. All it takes is a small shower for yards to flood. I have observed this in Diamond on the East Bank of Demerara. No green areas or parks are created. Rum shops however are already taking hold in the new housing areas.

In keeping with the focus on housing, the 2013 budget reduced the property tax by increasing the property tax exemption for homes with a value of up to G$40 million. In addition, home owners can deduct interest payments from taxes paid. The Private Sector Commission (PSC) welcomes this move. I can see tremendous political merit in the proposals. However, I am waiting to see someone from the PSC or Ministry of Finance explain the environmental or economic merit of the decisions. In particular, I would be grateful if someone can explain to me why an enclosed concrete home worth G$40 million that will require more energy to cool is to be exempted from property taxes Has the PPP government forgotten that taxes can be used to shape behaviour and encourage the economy on a low carbon path? Would reducing the property tax stimulate the demand for home improvement products manufactured in Guyana?

Pensions to senior folks were increased from $10,000 to $12, 500. This is a welcome increase. The AFC has also championed this increase; therefore it is good to see the government and the AFC agreeing on something. However, nothing fundamental was proposed to save NIS (a short-term subsidy was proposed), which some analysts have noted is technically insolvent. The government will be increasing the fiscal deficit to allow for increased old age pensions and property tax reductions. However, deficits have to be financed by printing money or borrowing. Deficits will also have to be incurred to allow for the slight reduction in PAYE tax. Given that the Minister is a PhD in accounting, I would have liked to hear about some model simulations of how this policy will stimulate the economy. Given that Guyana imports a large percentage of what it consumes, would this policy to reduce the property tax stimulate imports instead of domestic production?

University of Guyana

A country like Guyana needs an effective teaching-research university that is financially viable; a university moreover that studies and proposes solutions for the myriad problems Guyana and the Caribbean face. The budget proposes G$1.7B for the University of Guyana. Minister Singh noted several important capital upgrades at the university that are meant for enabling scientific research. These are welcome moves in the right direction. However, I still do not believe they address the fundamental needs of the university for keeping it financially viable and less dependent on the government. However, these fundamental requirements may not be palatable given the taste of politicians for the short-term.

First, tuition needs to increase by equating revenues and costs at the market exchange rate. We noted in a previous column that revenues are still indexed at the old exchange rate of G$127 to one US$; however costs are indexed to the prevailing market exchange rate of G$205 to one US$. Second, foreign students – charged a premium above Guyanese students but below major competitors in the region and North America – should form 40% of the student body. This not only brings in revenues but also adds diversity to the student body, particularly diversity of ideas. Third, faculty has to be paid better through a base pay system plus a merit top up. Fourth, the student loan system has to be computerized and modernized so that repayment can be made even when people migrate. This has to be merged into a national credit score system.

Long-Term Projects

The big capital projects on which the government is betting are Amaila hydroelectric dam, the Marriott, the speciality hospital, a new floating bridge for the Demerara River and the airport expansion. Each policy has consequences and risks, some more than others. The speciality hospital will have favourable spill overs on the society while adding little risks to the country’s financial health. Doctors and other skilled professionals will get jobs. These are highest end jobs. However, like so many other policies from this government, this progressive proposal is bogged down by procurement problems and lack of transparency.

The expansion of the airport runaway makes a lot of sense. However, the funds to be spent on the terminal could have been spent on developing another airport on the Essequibo to allow tourists to fly directly from Caribbean vacation spots to the eco-destinations in Guyana. I typically do not like floating bridges because they seem third world to me. Moreover, they require significant future costs to maintain even though the initial expenses may be cheaper. If the bridge can pay for itself then it is a welcome infrastructure. However, a cheaper alternative could be two synchronised roll-on-roll-off ferries.

As noted earlier in these columns, the Marriott does not seem to be a critical investment that is needed at this period of Guyana’s development. The US$14 million the government is spending could be directed towards cleaning up and draining Georgetown, and preserving the historical architecture of the city. Amaila hydro will add significantly to the external debt. The probability that something will go wrong is high, particularly given the experience with the Skeldon factory. The bilateral loan from China seems to be coming with a high interest rate of 8.5%, according to Mr Christopher Ram. It should be noted that the World Bank lends at 1 to 2% to poor countries. However, borrowing from the World Bank will require a level of transparency that the government is not willing to accept. In addition, dealing with the World Bank will remove completely the opportunities for kick-back taxes. There are alternatives to Amaila, however. Medium, micro hydroelectric power plants could be built for now and linked up in a smart grid system. In the next column we will pick up this issue: “Towards a true Low Carbon Development Strategy.”

Comments: tkhemraj@outlook.com

Gmoney, your boy TK has many valid points. His break from the forum via alter ego redux must be having some positive effect on his brain. However he continues to expect govt to solve all ills, you folks need to break away from the habit of expecting govt to solve all ills of society, the private sector needs to do its share too. 

Pensions to senior folks were increased from $10,000 to $12, 500. This is a welcome increase. The AFC has also championed this increase; therefore it is good to see the government and the AFC agreeing on something.

Gmoney, your boy TK has many valid points. His break from the forum via alter ego redux must be having some positive effect on his brain. However he continues to expect govt to solve all ills, you folks need to break away from the habit of expecting govt to solve all ills of society, the private sector needs to do its share too

Absolutely, BGS.  However, the private sector has been in tatters ever since the late 60s, and while today they are doing better, they are still beholden to the Gov't and moreover, have not evolved as they could have because of a myriad of Gov't related problems such as affordable and reliable power and reasonable security, not to mention banking sector reforms.

And so, for the next few years the Gov't will have to play a major role in creating a conducive and fair environment for the private sector to rise at a faster rate and in a more balanced manner, while taking care of the people, particularly Gov't workers (including the sugar workers) in the meantime.  Ultimately, the private sector must surpass the Gov't's role.

Pensions to senior folks were increased from $10,000 to $12, 500. This is a welcome increase. The AFC has also championed this increase; therefore it is good to see the government and the AFC agreeing on something.

Mits, how yuh doin, bro?  My best to the family.

Originally Posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:

Mits, how yuh doin, bro?  My best to the family.

Thanks Bro. I am doing great. Hope you are doing great also. All the best to the family.

TK is a bloody FOOL.  He needs to go back to school!!!

Nehru:

Remember how Tarron Khemraj(TK/redux) would come here and boast about IQ---and he would refer to posters he disagreed with as having low IQ ?

Check what Stephen Hawking, one of the greatest physicists in the world, has to say about 3rd rate economist Tarron Khemraj and his boasts about his IQ:

THERE YOU HAVE IT---HAWKING SAYS TARRON KHEMRAJ IS A LOSER.

Originally Posted by Rev Al:

Nehru:

Remember how Tarron Khemraj(TK/redux) would come here and boast about IQ---and he would refer to posters he disagreed with as having low IQ ?

Check what Stephen Hawking, one of the greatest physicists in the world, has to say about 3rd rate economist Tarron Khemraj and his boasts about his IQ:

THERE YOU HAVE IT---HAWKING SAYS TARRON KHEMRAJ IS A LOSER.lol

I feel sorry for Students at his College.

HAWKING SAYS TARRON KHEMRAJ IS A LOSER.

Nehru: I feel sorry for Students at his College.

Nehru:

It's good to see Professor Stephen Hawking expose AFC's economic advisor Tarron "TK/redux" Khemraj as a loser.

That you cannot understand what Dr. Tarron Khemraj has said on the Budget does not mean that he is a fool, it's more likely to mean that you have limited intellect and capacity to comprehend and you are a political coward.  But there is little likelihood that you will grasp even that.

Originally Posted by Angel:
===

--- it's more likely to mean that you have limited intellect...

Angel:

Read Steven Hawking's comments above---he perfectly describes 3rd rate economist and boast man Tarron Khemraj---LOSER---and with you questioning Nehru's intellect---Hawking also describes you---LOSER.

Nehru:

THERE YOU HAVE IT---HAWKING SAYS TARRON KHEMRAJ IS A LOSER. lol

i notice that our clueless rev, erstwhile promoter of pedophilia, is moonlighting as a laugh track for HIS OWN logical fallacies

low IQ much . . . hmmm??

@rev

I know that u fully understand what I wrote about logical fallacies . . . and u are understandably embarrassed by my exposure of your shallowness and poor education

I leave your desperate "new strategy" of creating 'quotes' by your tormentors in the hands of GNI's admin

@rev

I know that u fully understand what I wrote about logical fallacies . . . and u are understandably embarrassed by my exposure of your shallowness and poor education

Tarron:

The brilliant Stephen Hawking was 1000% correct about you---read and weep:

That's right Tarron---LOSER!

Stephen Hawking said it.

rev, call a friend and have them explain "logical fallacies" to u . . .

apart from lowering the collective IQ of the BB to an unacceptable level, this is pretty pathetic bluster on your part . . . even for a cretin like u

lots of smoke, squirming and disinformation by the cornered rev . . .

dude, have mercy on yourself . . . call a friend and have them explain "logical fallacies" to u

while you're @ it, have them also explain "OVERMATCHED" to u

u figure out "logical fallacies" yet, rev? . . . or is that an intellectual bridge too far for your very, very modest abilities

perhaps another sojourn on Social talking up pedophilia will provide inspiration . . .

Nehru:

THERE YOU HAVE IT---HAWKING SAYS TARRON KHEMRAJ IS A LOSER.

HEH HEH HEH HEH...TK TELL YUH THAT YOH IQ LOW...WELL THEN HE SAYIN DE TRUE. YUH IS A LIL DUNCE JACKASS WID SHIT IN YUH HEAD. 

rev, nothing you or that antiman Stephen Hawking say will stop me from being me. I am redux. I am proud of my IQ. My IQ is higher than Rev and Stephen Hawking combined.

ha ha ha ha ha 

Tarron:

You can't help yourself, huh ? Why are you calling Stephen Hawking an antiman ?

Listen. All Stephen Hawking did Tarron was expose you as a LOSER.hahahaha

HEH HEH HEH. LIKE YUH WANT TK. DE MAN IS NAH GAY. DE ADMIN SEH TK AND REDUX A DIFFERENT PEOPLE. HERE DE ADMIN SUNIL SEH: https://guyana.crowdstack.io/displayF...t/316968361596236966

======

I, redux, am deeply hurt that the esteemed Rev has chosen to use a statement by the brilliant and respected physicist Stephen Hawking to expose and belittle the gentleman who owns my handle, Mr. Tarron Khemraj. I am deeply pained.

YUH IS A BIG LUMP A DAAAAG SHIT. TK IS A WELL KNOWN ECONOMIST IN DE REGION. DEM PEOPLE ALL OVA DE WURL CITE HE WUK. I KNOW DE MAN BECAUSE MEH MEET AM A UG. YUH JELOUS A DE MAN. WAN BIG LUNP SHIT LIKE YUH CAN ONLY TALK FRAM KOMPUTAH. YUH NAH GAT GUTS AND SPINE. 

===

--- it's more likely to mean that you have limited intellect...

Angel:

Read Steven Hawking's comments above---he perfectly describes 3rd rate economist and boast man Tarron Khemraj---LOSER---and with you questioning Nehru's intellect---Hawking also describes you---LOSER.

HEH HEH HEH HEH HEH. YOH WANT BE LIKE DE MAN TK. YOH FANTASISE BUT YUH IS A LIL LOSER AND BIG LUMP DAAAAG SHIT. HOW DE MID WEST WITE MAN DOIN? 

u figure out "logical fallacies" yet, rev? . . . or is that an intellectual bridge too far for your very, very modest abilities

perhaps another sojourn on Social talking up pedophilia will provide inspiration . . .

DE MAN REV IS A PEDOFILE FUH TRUE. SICK SON OF A BITCH. 

Rev is a jackass. Let him bray.

Was Stephen Hawking right or wrong in calling Rev a LOSER ?

I notice you did not disagree with me for calling you a jackass. Keep on braying.

========

Rev I notice you did not disagree with me for calling you a man of impeccable character and integrity and one of the posters I admire and respect the most on this forum.

Mitwah:

Why should I disagree with those kind and sincere words ?

That you cannot understand what Dr. Tarron Khemraj has said on the Budget does not mean that he is a fool, it's more likely to mean that you have limited intellect and capacity to comprehend and you are a political coward.  But there is little likelihood that you will grasp even that.

WHATTACK TARASS!!!!

========

Rev I notice you did not disagree with me for calling you a man of impeccable character and integrity and one of the posters I admire and respect the most on this forum. Not.

Mitwah:

Why should I disagree with those kind and sincere words ?

Originally Posted by Sunil:

I see Khemraj is actually Sunil

Sunil:

That is impossible! In the year and a half the Rev has posted here he has never once seen you brag about your IQ or berate posters about theirs.

Your compatriot Stephen Hawking was 100% right about Tarron Khemraj:

I see Khemraj is actually Sunil
Sunil:

That is impossible! In the year and a half the Rev has posted here he has never once seen you brag about your IQ or berate posters about theirs.

On TK's facebook page he is known as Sunil Khemraj.
Sunil

=============
On TK's facebook page he is known as Sunil Khemraj.

Oh really! I didn't know that.

A lot of Guyanese parents named their sons Sunil after the great Sunil Gavaskar who made his debut against the West Indies in 1971 and scored 774 runs in 4 tests at an average of 154.80 with 4 hundreds and 3 fifties.

Maybe Tarron's parents initially named him Sunil after the great Gavaskar.

How about you Sunil---is that your real name ?

Originally Posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:

Gmoney, your boy TK has many valid points. His break from the forum via alter ego redux must be having some positive effect on his brain. However he continues to expect govt to solve all ills, you folks need to break away from the habit of expecting govt to solve all ills of society, the private sector needs to do its share too

Absolutely, BGS.  However, the private sector has been in tatters ever since the late 60s, and while today they are doing better, they are still beholden to the Gov't and moreover, have not evolved as they could have because of a myriad of Gov't related problems such as affordable and reliable power and reasonable security, not to mention banking sector reforms.

And so, for the next few years the Gov't will have to play a major role in creating a conducive and fair environment for the private sector to rise at a faster rate and in a more balanced manner, while taking care of the people, particularly Gov't workers (including the sugar workers) in the meantime.  Ultimately, the private sector must surpass the Gov't's role.

There were some valid point raised by TK.  GR, to your point, how do you propose addressing the cost of power problem, which is a bottleneck to growth!

Looks like TK was too ashamed of his Indian name Sunil and changed it to Tarron. He is a proud PNC Indian.

Tarron Sunil Khemraj will soon send his alter ego redux to address you.