There is no way that the PPP/C will win if Elections were held today

To stay back on topic, that is a personal opinion. We are viewing Guyana from the outside, we are not actually living there. When election time comes around, we are not the ones that are going to the polls to vote, it is the citizens living in Guyana who will be exercising that right.

I am of the opinion that no matter how bad it seem to us, the people will happily re-elect the PPP. There is too much bikering going among the other parties. There is no better choice other than the PPP.

The views expressed are solely those of the writer

Amral
Last edited by Amral
Originally Posted by Amral:

To stay back on topic, that is a personal opinion. We are viewing Guyana from the outside, we are not actually living there. When election time comes around, we are not the ones that are going to the polls to vote, it is the citizens living in Guyana who will be exercising that right.

I am of the opinion that no matter how bad it seem to us, the people will happily re-elect the PPP. There is too much bikering going among the other parties. There is no better choice other than the PPP.

This is the most accurate analysis of the politics at ground level in Guyana.

Too many armchair pundits sitting at their computer screens in North America writing off the PPP when infact, the reality is different.

The PPP is growing in strength in Berbice. This is where the rubber hits the road.

Amral....I use to feel that way....but when I see people with honesty & Integrity showing us how the PPP support getting less and less as the days go by I have to agree...the PPP is no longer a majority.

Now....TODAY....The PPP do not have 50% support in Guyana...anyone would be lieing if they tell you otherwise.

I know some trying to be Diplomatic and want to paint a different picture which is not true.

If Kwame is the best choice then something wrong with the majority of Guyanese today.

really? . . . a majorty of Guyanese voted AGAINST the PPP @ the last election, and u interpret THAT as them "happily" re-electing this ignorant, larcenous set of gangsters

hmmm . . .??

This is the most accurate analysis of the politics at ground level in Guyana.

Too many armchair pundits sitting at their computer screens in North America writing off the PPP when infact, the reality is different.

The PPP is growing in strength in Berbice.

This is where the rubber hits the road.

Kwame and those who want to practice Buggerism in Berbice will say PPP is Growing.....but our good ambassador and true berbician will tell you different.

Who in this world would believe wha yuji say and ignore what Ralph Ramkarran say....

Yuji or Kwame know more than ralph????

51% of those who voted PPP didn't think that they were the best choice.

What has changed since then?  Note that Ramotar is much less charismatic than Jagdeo, who was involved in the last election. 

I would argue that BECAUSE the parties bicker and achieve nothing, more people will simply not vote.  This will favor the PPP, because as the incumbent party they will be able to buy some votes, and offer soup to those willing to drink, and intimidate others to support them.

But I really don't see why people will be more enthusiastic about the PPP than they were a mere 2 years ago.

One day you will realize that the PPP cannot guarantee victories just based on the Indian vote on the Corentyne.

What have they done to win votes in regions 3, 4, and 10.  In case you don't know, this is where the bulk of the votes are.  Regions 3,4, and 10 have over 60% of the voters.  Region 6, only 16%.

So continue to scream that the PPP will win a majority, based on what YOU THINK is happening in region 6.

By the way we are in 2014.  We have yet to hear the results of the 2012 census.  Why is the PPP hiding the results, because most other CARICOM nations have already released at least preliminary data.

Can it be that region 6 saw further collapse in its population, and the PPP is panicking?

This thread will still be around come election time. I would think that this time around the PPP might even pull off a majority win. Election is a funny thing, and people minds can be swayed very easily.

And why do you think so?  Guyana has become more expensive and income disparities more acute.  People are more concerned about the overall lawlessness and corruption.  Ramotar is as charismatic as a toad. 

Many younger people no longer think that the party ruling Guyana has any relevance to their lives.  Younger Africans stopped voting long ago.  Whats now is that many young Indians have also become similarly cynical.

Unless you are a PPP propaganda tool I see no evidence from you to suggest that you are right.

If the PPP tries to hold another national election before local government elections, they will have revealed themselves to be a bunch of criminals.  There have been no local govt elections for 20 years, and as a result many municipalities have ceased to function.  Where is Hammie these days?

Amral maybe the PPP refuses to release the 2012 census results because it shows how much further the Indian vote has collapsed.  With the PPP refusing to apologize for its racist attack on blacks in its infamous Chronicle editorial, and also failing to prove Freddie Kissoon wrong when he alleged that the PPP is hostile to AfroGuyanese, you know full well that it has failed to make any meaningful inroads into PNC territory since 1997.

Changing demographics suggest that it is much harder for the PPP to ensure majority by sampling twiddling its thumbs and expecting racial paranoia to accomplish this.

And why do you think so?  Guyana has become more expensive and income disparities more acute.  People are more concerned about the overall lawlessness and corruption.  Ramotar is as charismatic as a toad. 

Many younger people no longer think that the party ruling Guyana has any relevance to their lives.  Younger Africans stopped voting long ago.  Whats now is that many young Indians have also become similarly cynical.

Unless you are a PPP propaganda tool I see no evidence from you to suggest that you are right.

If the PPP tries to hold another national election before local government elections, they will have revealed themselves to be a bunch of criminals.  There have been no local govt elections for 20 years, and as a result many municipalities have ceased to function.  Where is Hammie these days?

People are not concerned about corruption? I don't think so, it is being peddled as a campaign issue by the afc/pnc for political points. They were all happy to be taking part in its perks when they were in power. Cockeye  and Naga never complained about corruption until the soup stop dripping. It is good that they have brought corruption to the forefront as this scourge needs to be addressed before Guyana can take the next step forward in its growth. 

This thread will still be around come election time. I would think that this time around the PPP might even pull off a majority win. Election is a funny thing, and people minds can be swayed very easily.

It will most likely be so ... and indeed the PPP/C will gain again more than 52% of the seats in parliament.

whistling past the demographic graveyard, and for all kinds of low, not-so-complex reasons, sundry PPP bitter enders here on GNI, and not-so-clever racists in the 'polling' bizness are laying the psychological/propaganda groundwork for what will be [an attempt at] massive PPP rigging of the next elections

bet on it!

PPP cyan NEVER get 51% again. Not with Ramotar, Robert Pussard, Irfaat Ali or the like. They don't have a charismatic leader ever. jadeo name is bad name. All they have is that mouty mouty dunce nandalall, a rale cunumunu just like that shart man Ashni anada cunumunu. Not saying they cant win beacuse PNC stupid too. AFC 12%, PPP 46% and PNC rest come nest electshan.

whistling past the demographic graveyard, and for all kinds of low, not-so-complex reasons, sundry PPP bitter enders here on GNI, and not-so-clever racists in the 'polling' bizness are laying the psychological/propaganda groundwork for what will be [an attempt at] massive PPP rigging of the next elections

bet on it!

Yea only riggin and friggin will give them 51%.

It will most likely be so ... and indeed the PPP/C will gain again more than 52% of the seats in parliament.

That albera cold musse confusing yu.

Last time you said 60% and they got 49%. Now you have reduced your total to 52%.  Given this trend, the PPP might well lose to APNU.