Tourism can become Guyana’s largest source of employment – Ali

Acting Tourism Minister Irfaan Ali

Acting tourism Minister Irfaan Ali has expressed the view that the tourism sector has the capacity to become the largest contributor to the Gross Domestic Product (GDP) as well as becoming the largest source of employment here.
Speaking at the 11th meeting of the National Competitiveness Council (NCC) held at the Office of the President on Thursday, the minister said tourism cross-cuts every other sector and all Guyanese need to embrace it as a source of national pride and patriotism.

Originally Posted by Stinger:
somebady pls tell tiefman Irfaat that Aunty Soso & Aunty Kunty visitin famlees is not considered tourism

Shut you mouth Aunty Kunty is American and Aunty Soso is Canadian so they are visitors.

somebady pls tell tiefman Irfaat that Aunty Soso & Aunty Kunty visitin famlees is not considered tourism

They got US or Canadian passports so they are counted as tourists .

I see Chief beat me to the punch on the reply.

Last edited by Mr.T
Originally Posted by Mr.T:

They got US or Canadian passports so they are counted as tourists .

I see Chief beat me to the punch on the reply.

Allow dem PPP thieves to continue fooling themselves.

Indeed it can be. However, one has to reduce the level of crime and clean up the place. That has no opportunity of ever occurring because  the PPP leads in the corruption department.

We also do not have that sense of national pride one needs for a cohesive nationality and national identity to be expressed.One need to be proud of what ones is and where one belong and both of those should be linked to place. We are a fractured people with supranational identity and no sense of belonging.

Tourists will also immediately see exploitation as fabricated by Maniram in Orealla. You cannot have the natives as cigar Indians and pretend you are showing off a nation's beauty.

There we have outsiders squatting on front property to a First Nations reservation because  a minister of state and coneys fabricated a tourism scheme with the native people out of the equation. They are to benefit from "work" as hotel cleaners and service people to outsiders and never a part of the entrepreneurial game.

Nowhere in the entire nation has this government bootstrapped any of the resorts etc on Native peoples lands to benefit native people. The PPP is a take take take government and only for kith and kin. No one else benefit. Tourism in that environment is doomed. Tourists would be fleeced by all sides.

Originally Posted by JoKer:
lmfao
PPP logic I tell yuh

Aunty Knee Ru is a tourist

All you leave my friend alone, today is Saturaday and he still hang over from PPP free rum.

Originally Posted by raymond:

I believe the tourist industry had great potential and Guyana will benefit greatly in five to ten years.

didn't they say this 5 to 10 years ago

May be they did, but to get the full economic benefits it wouldn't happen overnight. The CJIA expansion will kick start the economic boom. Guyana is not a beach destination for skinny dipping, therefore, we depend on eco-tourism. European love the jungle and adventure tours.

lmfao
PPP logic I tell yuh

All you leave my friend alone, today is Saturaday and he still hang over from PPP free rum.

Fair enough Old Man :-)

lmfao
PPP logic I tell yuh

Fair enough Old Man :-)

Okay young man!!

Like dis odda auntyman drank de coolaid, dese shameless daags been screamin Eco tourism for two decades now yet it hasn't been realized

Is molesting Amerind waitresses considered "Eco tourism"?

I believe the tourist industry had great potential and Guyana will benefit greatly in five to ten years.

May be they did, but to get the full economic benefits it wouldn't happen overnight. The CJIA expansion will kick start the economic boom. Guyana is not a beach destination for skinny dipping, therefore, we depend on eco-tourism. European love the jungle and adventure tours.

Most of Europe is in the grip of a financial downturn. Long distance holiday flights have dropped dramatically, especially after the introduction of a progressive carbon tax on each plane ticket.

Suriname has seen an increase in tourism even with their old airport. So that is not an issue. What is an issue is that Guyana features on many foreign governments website as a dangerous place to visit.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Most of Europe is in the grip of a financial downturn. Long distance holiday flights have dropped dramatically, especially after the introduction of a progressive carbon tax on each plane ticket.

Suriname has seen an increase in tourism even with their old airport. So that is not an issue. What is an issue is that Guyana features on many foreign governments website as a dangerous place to visit.

Suriname is miles ahead of Guyana in every aspect!!!

That's why I like Neehru, he is patriotic and he reamin as Sangam.

Aunty Knee Ru will always patronize dem gyals on Sheriff Street. A true Guyanese patriot and son of the soil

I have de real business plan fuh Guyana Rouk, we can team up wif PPG & put Baroombar outta biz
Wha yuh seh?

Peace, Progress, and Prosperity under de PPP!