CaribJ why are you holding on to D2 coat tails?

I started to post before him.

You and Kari need to realize that if D2 and I agree on this point, and we have had serous arguments about race in Guyana, then it means that your idea is seriously flawed.  We definitely have different points of view.

Over the years you and I have agreed on more things than we disagreed, the same can be said about D2.

I am saying the both you and D2 are wrong to blame every blackman for the crimes of Burnham and a few others.

Firstly, the PNC is to the Indian, the archetype for the black man in Guyana as the PPP is to Indian. The fact that they oppressed all equally is never broached by the typical PPP supporter. To them the PNC banned dhal and flour to spite them. It is common parlance that Indian felt the PNC as the instrument of black people attempted to duglarize the population ie forcefully impregnate their daughters....I can go on listing the claims but I already listed them.

To say the PNC's apology would be to the Guyanese people is to say that pigs fly. To blacks it is irrelevant. To Indians it is affirmation to their claims against black people. It is essential food for their pathological state of chosen victims to the PNC.  It matters not what you say is is your intent or thesis for this apology. It will never serve that purpose.

The PPP never rigged election, they never stole the franchise of the people, the PNC did.  The PNC used very oppressive and brutal means to keep the aspirations of the Indians in check.  The apology which some are demanding is to do with that, pure and simple.  The fact that the PPP is incompetent and corrupt (the PNC was that also) is not a cause for an apology.  They could/should be voted out if enough feels so.

Many blacks are way better off that anytime under the PNC however, there is a big poverty problem among both Blacks and Indians.  Indians are not immune to poverty however, they handle it differently than blacks and that's a fact regardless how anyone try to twist and turn the story.

That being said, baseman is not in the camp calling for a meaningless and humiliating apology.  I prefer to see a proud and confident PNC who is willing to push for the necessary changes and guarantees which will prevent them and the PPP from exploiting the fears among each side.

The PPP never had to rig because they can rely on their spear carrying tribals like you to bend the knees and chant their racist creed. Awee pon tap.

The rant of a fool.  You just don't get it.  You talk too much.

CaribJ why are you holding on to D2 coat tails?

I started to post before him.

You and Kari need to realize that if D2 and I agree on this point, and we have had serous arguments about race in Guyana, then it means that your idea is seriously flawed.  We definitely have different points of view.

Over the years you and I have agreed on more things than we disagreed, the same can be said about D2.

I am saying the both you and D2 are wrong to blame every blackman for the crimes of Burnham and a few others.

Firstly, the PNC is to the Indian, the archetype for the black man in Guyana as the PPP is to Indian. The fact that they oppressed all equally is never broached by the typical PPP supporter. To them the PNC banned dhal and flour to spite them. It is common parlance that Indian felt the PNC as the instrument of black people attempted to duglarize the population ie forcefully impregnate their daughters....I can go on listing the claims but I already listed them.

To say the PNC's apology would be to the Guyanese people is to say that pigs fly. To blacks it is irrelevant. To Indians it is affirmation to their claims against black people. It is essential food for their pathological state of chosen victims to the PNC.  It matters not what you say is is your intent or thesis for this apology. It will never serve that purpose.

The PPP never rigged election, they never stole the franchise of the people, the PNC did.  The PNC used very oppressive and brutal means to keep the aspirations of the Indians in check.  The apology which some are demanding is to do with that, pure and simple.  The fact that the PPP is incompetent and corrupt (the PNC was that also) is not a cause for an apology.  They could/should be voted out if enough feels so.

Many blacks are way better off that anytime under the PNC however, there is a big poverty problem among both Blacks and Indians.  Indians are not immune to poverty however, they handle it differently than blacks and that's a fact regardless how anyone try to twist and turn the story.

That being said, baseman is not in the camp calling for a meaningless and humiliating apology.  I prefer to see a proud and confident PNC who is willing to push for the necessary changes and guarantees which will prevent them and the PPP from exploiting the fears among each side.

The PPP never had to rig because they can rely on their spear carrying tribals like you to bend the knees and chant their racist creed. Awee pon tap.

I suggest you investigate what is a rant or not. That I speak a lot mean you have ample chance to discern what is foolish or not. But then you would have to speak and then one might hear braying sounds instead.

Many blacks are way better off that anytime under the PNC however,.

And of course you as an Indian are an expert on blacks?  Well they feel distinct hostility against them, and that is what matters.  In addition it is debatable about whether their relative position in Guyana is worse than it was prior to 1973.

Baseman just be honest.  If in 1964 the black population were 50% of the voters the PPP would have been very happy to rig the election and their Indian base would have supported them. 

So don't think that the fact that the PPP, up to now, hasn't rigged is because they have the moral high ground.  They got a rude shock in 2011, when they lost control of parliament, and you bet they will rig to get it back. 

The problem that they have though is the PNC, being riggers, will find them out, and hell will have no fury like a rigger being rigged against.

Originally Posted by antabanta:

Hoyte had a wonderful opportunity. His trust of Indian professionals and Indian economic ethic was already recognized.

Sorry I haven't followed the topic and checked all the responses but what is "Indian economic ethic?"

I meant to say economic ethos antabanta. The ethos that gives rise to a practice of deferring present gratification for future returns on investment. Hoyte understood investments rather than loans as an engine for growth, but his called for such deferment. Let me know if I can help[ you further understand this Indian mindset.

And of course you as an Indian are an expert on blacks?  Well they feel distinct hostility against them, and that is what matters.  In addition it is debatable about whether their relative position in Guyana is worse than it was prior to 1973.

Qusetion for you CaribJ.

wHAT MAKES YOU FEEL THAT ONE HAS TO BELONG TO THE SAME RACE TO BE AN EXPERT ON IT?

Hoyte had a wonderful opportunity. His trust of Indian professionals and Indian economic ethic was already recognized.

Sorry I haven't followed the topic and checked all the responses but what is "Indian economic ethic?"

no such thing exists . . . it is the tribalspeak of closet bigots

I meant to say economic ethos antabanta. The ethos that gives rise to a practice of deferring present gratification for future returns on investment. Hoyte understood investments rather than loans as an engine for growth, but his called for such deferment. Let me know if I can help[ you further understand this Indian mindset.

So you subscribe to the stereotype that Indians in general care more for future return/financial security while blacks only care for the next soiree?

Qusetion for you CaribJ.

wHAT MAKES YOU FEEL THAT ONE HAS TO BELONG TO THE SAME RACE TO BE AN EXPERT ON IT?

Because in a polarized nation like Guyana people say things among their own that they will not say to others.

Your comments clearly indicate that there are certain conversations that you arent privy to.  Because if you were you would know that many blacks will interpret a PNC apology, not followed by a PPP apology, to be black people having to apologize to Indians.

There is an Indian narrative about politics in Guyana which clearly is th basis for asking for an apology.

There is also an African narrative which will equally see the need for an apology if a party which over 90% of them have supported in free and fair elections since 1992 is asked to apologize.

You didnt factor that, and if you were aware of certain conversations and sentiments you would have.

So you subscribe to the stereotype that Indians in general care more for future return/financial security while blacks only care for the next soiree?

I even wonder if there is any actual basis for this stereotype in 2014.  Guyanese, regardless of race, are consumerist now. 

People are peddling a stereotype that might have been true 3 generations ago, but is now quite dated.

Who talked about Blacks?

I mentioned Hoyte's admiration for an attribute of the Indians in Guyana. Does that speak to other races or ethnicities. You see race when you want to eh? I'm reminded of Jesse Jackson when he said that being pro-Black does not mean anti-White.

I even wonder if there is any actual basis for this stereotype in 2014.  Guyanese, regardless of race, are consumerist now. 

People are peddling a stereotype that might have been true 3 generations ago, but is now quite dated.

What stereotype and of whom Caribny?

no such thing exists . . . it is the tribalspeak of closet bigots

Whenever you post on this Board its IQ took a deep dive.

That is an sententious artifice generated by .........

Ii just got my (humor) fix.......

Storm is that rare creature......a GNI Gem.........

Indeed you can laugh. It will not increment your intellect. To the contrary, it validates a degree of perceptual impairment for most indians  when it comes to addressing the  black/Indian political schism. Even the so called intellectual class cannot but demand homage to sacred if ancient wounds.

Who talked about Blacks?

I mentioned Hoyte's admiration for an attribute of the Indians in Guyana. Does that speak to other races or ethnicities. You see race when you want to eh? I'm reminded of Jesse Jackson when he said that being pro-Black does not mean anti-White.

While you did not mention blacks the gist of your post suggests that there was progress in Guyana under Hoyte because he was able to recognize these positive traits in Indians. Why would there be progress solely because of Indian economic ethos? Is economic ethos a genetic attribute reserved for the Indian? 

Thank you for the flattering compliment but I could not possibly be elevated to such company as Jesse Jackson.

What stereotype and of whom Caribny?

If you single out one race it implies comparison with others.  You didnt talk about an entrepreneurial class without mention of ethnicity. 

This is why you get into trouble.

Who talked about Blacks?

While you did not mention blacks the gist of your post suggests that there was progress in Guyana under Hoyte because he was able to recognize these positive traits in Indians. Why would there be progress solely because of Indian economic ethos? Is economic ethos a genetic attribute reserved for the Indian? 

Thank you for the flattering compliment but I could not possibly be elevated to such company as Jesse Jackson.

"Indian economic ethos" is just another way of saying what is at the heart of our ethnic divide...black folks are different...they are not like "us". I dare not even broach the idea that Amerinds even have an "ethos" of any kind but that of the subaltern backward others!

Qusetion for you CaribJ.

Because in a polarized nation like Guyana people say things among their own that they will not say to others.

Your comments clearly indicate that there are certain conversations that you arent privy to.  Because if you were you would know that many blacks will interpret a PNC apology, not followed by a PPP apology, to be black people having to apologize to Indians.

There is an Indian narrative about politics in Guyana which clearly is th basis for asking for an apology.

There is also an African narrative which will equally see the need for an apology if a party which over 90% of them have supported in free and fair elections since 1992 is asked to apologize.

You didnt factor that, and if you were aware of certain conversations and sentiments you would have.

You response is rubbish!!!

Your narrow thinking is making you belch out that only a blackman can speak for a blackman and further you are saying that only a whiteman know of issues that affect a whiteman.

You should immediately leave the shores of America and go live in a cave.