Statement of the The Rt. Hon. Minister in the FCO on Behalf of the Prime Minister on the Subject of Guyana in the House of Commons

HC Deb 27 April 1970

Order for Second Reading read.

8.25 p.m.

The Joint Under-Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs (Mr. Maurice Foley)

This leads me on to the hon. Gentleman’s question about defence. He rightly said that there have been statements in the House by my right hon. Friend the Prime Minister and other Ministers, in answer to Questions, on our relationship in defence matters with the Government of Guyana. I want to make it clear that we have no defence agreement with the Government of Guyana. This is in accordance with our practice not to conclude defence agreements with countries in which we have no direct defence interest.

But a military attack against Guayana would naturally be a matter of serious concern to Britain. The action that Her Majesty’s Government might take in such an event would be determined in the light of all the circumstances prevailing at the time. I am reiterating what has been publicly stated in the House. This is still our policy, and will continue to be so.

This is a gem. Thanks, Shaitaan.

Simply a statement in a discussion.

The fundamental issue is the official documents regarding Britain's commitment to all former colonies where another country attacks or make aggression against the country.

Read highlighted paragraph in blue.

The PPP would have to step down before the British take action.

Statement of the The Rt. Hon. Minister in the FCO on Behalf of the Prime Minister on the Subject of Guyana in the House of Commons

HC Deb 27 April 1970

8.25 p.m.

The Joint Under-Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs (Mr. Maurice Foley)

This leads me on to the hon. Gentleman’s question about defence. He rightly said that there have been statements in the House by my right hon. Friend the Prime Minister and other Ministers, in answer to Questions, on our relationship in defence matters with the Government of Guyana. I want to make it clear that we have no defence agreement with the Government of Guyana. This is in accordance with our practice not to conclude defence agreements with countries in which we have no direct defence interest. But a military attack against Guayana would naturally be a matter of serious concern to Britain. The action that Her Majesty’s Government might take in such an event would be determined in the light of all the circumstances prevailing at the time. I am reiterating what has been publicly stated in the House. This is still our policy, and will continue to be so.

Proof once again that most of what the Demented Guy says, comes directly from his pampers.

HC Deb 27 April 1970

8.25 p.m.

This leads me on to the hon. Gentleman’s question about defence. He rightly said that there have been statements in the House by my right hon. Friend the Prime Minister and other Ministers, in answer to Questions, on our relationship in defence matters with the Government of Guyana. I want to make it clear that we have no defence agreement with the Government of Guyana. This is in accordance with our practice not to conclude defence agreements with countries in which we have no direct defence interest.

But a military attack against Guayana would naturally be a matter of serious concern to Britain. The action that Her Majesty’s Government might take in such an event would be determined in the light of all the circumstances prevailing at the time. I am reiterating what has been publicly stated in the House. This is still our policy, and will continue to be so.

The fundamental issue is the official documents regarding Britain's commitment to all former colonies where another country attacks or make aggression against the country.

Look Cretin,

I'm gonna try and follow you down this rabbit hole only because stupid people occasionally amuse me. Post these "official" documents in which the UK provides for the defense of the Commonwealth.

Do I even need to recall for your dementia-induced brain's benefit how the United States invaded Grenada, a Commonwealth realm with the Queen as their Head of State without so much as informing PM Thatcher? Guess what the British did? Nothing. They followed standard FCO protocol in doing nothing. This show about what the FCO does when the fictional Commonwealth country of St. George is invaded illustrates my point perfectly:

THERE IS NOT GOING TO BE  ANY INVASION OF GUYANA BY VENEZUELA.

YOUR DEBATE IS USELESS.

You mean to say they won't invade again? So tell us about how Ankoko Island is still 100% occupied by Venezuela.

The British did not think the Argentinians would have invaded the Falkland Islands either. But they did.

I'm sure lots of people didn't think Russia wouldn't invade the Crimea, but they did.

So you can shove that crystal ball back into your ass from whence you drew it.

There is no occupation of that Place.

You're right. It was formally annexed by the Venezuelans. It's now as Venezuelan as Caracas under their Constitution.

Thanks for correcting me.

You don't seem to know your history.

Once again, we've walked straight into the Coolie Twilight Zone. We should have a thread dedicated to you and DG entitled "Senile Old Coolie Say the Darndest Things"

or Africa to the US.

Speak for yourself. As far as most Afro Guyanese are concerned they are GUYANESE of African DESCENT.  They aren't a band of lost "Africans" wondering on the wilderness of Guyana.  

You do know that the concept of an "African" is an Arab/European construct, linking disparate people together only by virtue of their skin color.  Identity among Africans is linked to their ethnicity, and  tribal/clan affiliations.  They barely identify with their nation states and certainly not with some collective notion of being "African". 

Given that Guyanese of African descent represent a blending of these ethnic/tribal/clan affiliation, and no longer know or care what they might have been, we aren't African, nor do we have a strong affiliation with contemporary Africa.

The PPP can appoint itself as President for Life or they can step down and abolish themselves.  Either way the UK will send their regrets and urge the Venezuelans to cease the invasion.  A subcommittee will be appointed at the UN.  And that will be about it. 

The UK doesn't care enough about Guyana to care about what Guyanese do to THEIR own country.

DG where do you see that the UK is obligated to, or will obligate itself to defend Guyana?

Such actions might well be limited to a protest at the UN.

But a military attack against Guayana would naturally be a matter of serious concern to Britain. The action that Her Majesty’s Government might take in such an event would be determined in the light of all the circumstances prevailing at the time. I am reiterating what has been publicly stated in the House. This is

The PPP can appoint itself as President for Life or they can step down and abolish themselves.  Either way the UK will send their regrets and urge the Venezuelans to cease the invasion.  A subcommittee will be appointed at the UN.  And that will be about it. 

The UK doesn't care enough about Guyana to care about what Guyanese do to THEIR own country.

Subcommittee? Are you mad? Do you really think this fancy "Subcommittee" to "study the matter" and "make appropriate recommendations as to the modalities for facilitating future bilateral and multilateral discussions" won't simply get vetoed by Russia, Venezuela's ally, as being some outrageous intervention in the internal affairs of a member state?

Continued nonsense by the last two individuals.

DG the British said that there is no defense agreement or obligation towards Guyana should Venezuela invade.

Maybe if the PPP went cap in hand to the British and told them that Guyana should once against become a UK colony, they MIGHT be obligated. But they feel no sense to commit British life and cash to defend a sovereign nation.

Subcommittee? Are you mad? Do you really think this fancy "Subcommittee" to "study the matter" and "make appropriate recommendations as to the modalities for facilitating future bilateral and multilateral discussions" won't simply get vetoed by Russia, Venezuela's ally, as being some outrageous intervention in the internal affairs of a member state?

The British, as head of the Commonwealth, still feel a need to pretend that they care about their former colonies.

The subcommittee will meet, write urgent letters to the President of Venezuela, recommend sanctions against Venezuela.  The report will be "lost" in foreign office, and that will be that.  The letter will be written by some body's scribe and rubber stamped.

And yes a Russian veto will be perfect (indeed Cameron and Clinton) might even secretly call Putin to do so, telling him that they don't have time for some silly little Rice Republic, located on the banks of some muddy river where the mosquito clouds are as dense as the rain clouds, to seriously waste their time.

BTW the call will be made by the deputy assistant to the assistant secretary  responsible for Barbados and St Lucia.  The Guyana desk long closed down in response to the PPP cuss outs.

The British, as head of the Commonwealth, still feel a need to pretend that they care about their former colonies.

The subcommittee will meet, write urgent letters to the President of Venezuela, recommend sanctions against Venezuela.  The report will be "lost" in foreign office, and that will be that.  The letter will be written by some body's scribe and rubber stamped.

And yes a Russian veto will be perfect (indeed Cameron and Clinton) might even secretly call Putin to do so, telling him that they don't have time for some silly little Rice Republic, located on the banks of some muddy river where the mosquito clouds are as dense as the rain clouds, to seriously waste their time.

BTW the call will be made by the deputy assistant to the assistant secretary  responsible for Barbados and St Lucia.  The Guyana desk long closed down in response to the PPP cuss outs.

This is the best case scenario

Yes.  You know the loud shrieks of the PPP are annoying and so they will do this to shut them up.

HC Deb 27 April 1970

8.25 p.m.

Look Cretin,

I'm gonna try and follow you down this rabbit hole only because stupid people occasionally amuse me. Post these "official" documents in which the UK provides for the defense of the Commonwealth.

Do I even need to recall for your dementia-induced brain's benefit how the United States invaded Grenada, a Commonwealth realm with the Queen as their Head of State without so much as informing PM Thatcher? Guess what the British did? Nothing. They followed standard FCO protocol in doing nothing. This show about what the FCO does when the fictional Commonwealth country of St. George is invaded illustrates my point perfectly:

Excellent that you are now referencing yourself as ... cretin, dementia-induced brain's benefit, etc., etc., etc..

On your comment for posting documents on this specific item, ... note carefully ... I recently published the succinct information on GNI on a previously related discussion.

HC Deb 27 April 1970

8.25 p.m.

Look Cretin,

Excellent that you are now referencing yourself as ... cretin, dementia-induced brain's benefit, etc., etc., etc..

On your comment for posting documents on this specific item, ... note carefully ... I recently published the succinct information on GNI on a previously related discussion.

Post the link. I wanna read it. Being so unlearned as I am, I missed reading of the numerous defense pacts and treaties which anchor this Anglo-Guyanese military alliance.

Obvious commentary from a dementia addled brain.

When St George (the capital of Grenada is St Georges) was invaded we saw this UK response.  Made in jest of course, but you and I know full well that the response will be the same, just more diplomatically cloak by "urgent" letters, or a subcommittee.

Indeed the actual parliamentary proceedings were pretty much like this comedic skit. 

Post the link. I wanna read it. Being so unlearned as I am, I missed reading of the numerous defense pacts and treaties which anchor this Anglo-Guyanese military alliance.

Oh now you will make this man piss his pants in rage that a young kid like you dares to defy an ageing man like him.  Indeed even I am still young enough for a man of his generation to think that I too should defer to his "wisdom".  Despite being older than you.

Everyone must do their own research.

Shaitaan did and found out that there is no defense obligation.  If you wish to prove him wrong the onus is on you to furnish your own research.

Read carefully, as stated ... "I published the information on a previous discussion topic on GNI".

Look Chap,

Reach into your ass and grab your head and proceed to extract it from said ass.

This is a debate. You made a claim/assertion. You provided zero evidence. You asserted the existence of specific kinds of evidence. Evidence within the public domain.

I even went so far as to dig into Hansard of the House of Commons to prove that from the very beginning of our independence, the British Government publicly and loudly told us to bugger off and wished us luck in dealing with a Venezuelan invasion because we're of no consequence to them.

I didn't even have to do that. It was your claim/assertion. The burden of proof is on the claimant (YOU). So once again, the floor is offered to the Distinguished Gentleman in Diapers to make his case.

Originally Posted by TK:

Looks like these guys cornered DG .

Now I feel bad again for beating up on a senile old man

There's no glory in that

True.  DG is complaining that the kids and the grand kids didn't learn any manners and respect for their elders.

This is why he yearns for the English because he thinks that those Guyanese who came of age in the post colonial era are rude and disrespectful.

Oh now you will make this man piss his pants in rage that a young kid like you dares to defy an ageing man like him.  Indeed even I am still young enough for a man of his generation to think that I too should defer to his "wisdom".  Despite being older than you.

LMAO @ you 58 year old whippersnappers tink ayuh know everything

Back in his day, during the Illustrious and God fearing era of that nice polite white gyal Queen Victoria, people had manners and respect

Look Chap,

This is a debate. You made a claim/assertion. You provided zero evidence. You asserted the existence of specific kinds of evidence. Evidence within the public domain.

I even went so far as to dig into Hansard of the House of Commons to prove that from the very beginning of our independence, the British Government publicly and loudly told us to bugger off and wished us luck in dealing with a Venezuelan invasion because we're of no consequence to them.

I didn't even have to do that. It was your claim/assertion. The burden of proof is on the claimant (YOU). So once again, the floor is offered to the Distinguished Gentleman in Diapers to make his case.

Quite interesting that you are beginning to realise how to access your head.

By the way, if indeed you checked various sources you have indicated, indeed you would have found the information.

Once again as stated before ... "the information was provided on another thread on GNI".

Look Chap,

By the way, if indeed you checked various sources you have indicated, indeed you would have found the information.

Once again as stated before ... "the information was provided on another thread on GNI".

Asserting something is true doesn't make it true. Asserting the same thing is true again doesn't make it truer.

In my now second decade on GNI, I've heard lots of stupid arguments here but I've never heard someone avail themselves of the argumentum ad archivis

This is a first!

Look Chap,

Asserting something is true doesn't make it true. Asserting the same thing is true again doesn't make it truer.

In my now second decade on GNI, I've heard lots of stupid arguments here but I've never heard someone avail themselves of the argumentum ad archivis

This is a first!

1. The specific information was provided on another thread on GNI.

2. The facts are documented with the British administration regarding its former colonies.

3. It is your personal choice to be unaware of; or to seek; the specific information.

Read carefully, as stated ... "I published the information on a previous discussion topic on GNI".

So did Shaitaan.

Now Shaitaan actually indicated the UK opinion on this matter, so even if you dust up some "special documents" as far as the UK is concerned, they are null and void.

So will the PPP have a childish tantrum and cuss out when the British respond by saying " we have no obligation to come to your defense, but do accept our deepest regrets that you have been invaded"?

So did Shaitaan.

Now Shaitaan actually indicated the UK opinion on this matter, so even if you dust up some "special documents" as far as the UK is concerned, they are null and void.

So will the PPP have a childish tantrum and cuss out when the British respond by saying " we have no obligation to come to your defense, but do accept our deepest regrets that you have been invaded"?

Prime Minister Cameron may even channel the ghost of Baroness Thatcher and be "deeply disturbed" at the "intense embarrassment" caused by this obvious kerfuffle