No problem, once things calm down I will move the line closer to the goal post
Declaration of Region 4 results delayed over verification of SOPs
The Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) is awaiting the completion of the verification of Statements of Poll (SOP) for Region Four to tabulate the final results of the March 2, 2020, General and Regional Elections.
The process which began on Tuesday was stalled at least four times over the past 48 hrs leading to several concerns raised by the political parties contesting the elections.
Chief Elections Officer (CEO), Keith Lowenfield told the media on Thursday morning that the verification of statements was completed in North and South Georgetown and have started verifying the East Bank votes.
The CEO is hoping to complete the East Bank and East Coast of Demerara SOPs.
There are 897 polling stations In the Demerara βMahaica Region of the 2,339 across the country.
The largest number of voters -285,610 persons βwere registered to vote in this region.
Initially, the verification process began on Tuesday but was stopped in the night after Returning Officer Clairmont Mingo complained of feeling tired.
However, the process which was scheduled to recommence on Wednesday at 09:00hrs, Mr. Mingo fell ill and was rushed in an ambulance to the Georgetown Public Hospital.
The verification process was taken over by a Clerk according to GECOM, but political parties raised concerns over the validity of a spreadsheet the clerk was using to verify the results instead of the original SOPs.
This saw the process once again discontinued on Wednesday afternoon before a decision from the Commission to restart at approximately 18:00hrs and work through the night.
Subsequently, the verification process was stopped at about 21:30hrs after GECOM staff again complained about being tired and about unverified data being entered into the system.
The police were also called in when party agents alleged that SOPs were being tampered with.
Everything unfolded in the presence of Elections Observer Missions from the CARICOM, Commonwealth, Carter Center, European Union and the Organisation of American States (OAS) and local observers.
The process was again restarted and later suspended for a short break between 06:00hrs to 09:00hrs on Thursday. In the meantime, the police have increased their presence around the GECOM office to keep protestors at bay.
The News Room brought continuous live coverage of the events at the GECOMβs Returning Officerβs office at High and Hadfield Streets, Georgetown.
The Returning Officer of Region One declared that the APNU AFC received 3,839 votes and the PPP received 7,996.
In region 2, 7,293 votes went to the APNU AFC while 18,752 went to the PPP.
In region 3, the APNU AFC received 23,824 while the PPP received 47,890 votes.
In region 5, the APNU AFC received 14,475 votes and the PPP received 18,263.
In region 6, the APNU AFC received 20,350 and the PPP got 43,220.
In region 7, the APNU AFC received 4,836 votes and the PPP received 3,692.
In region 8, the APNU AFC received 2,086 votes while 2,041 votes went to the PPP.
In region 9, the APNU received 4, 826 while 7,065 votes when to the PPP.
In region 10, the APNU received 19,153 and the PPP received 3,202.
so in region 4 there are -285,610 persons βwere registered to vote in this region?
So Apnu has to win extra big in this region to over take the PPP.
By about 55k? Is that correct.
@Amral or next week at the pace itβs going. Their next excuse could be βwe got an RO/DRO in GECOM complaining that he got Coronavirus.β
@Former Member and Ramakant Your idea of winning an argument is juvenile. If you want to talk about wattax and crap like that you may have an opportunity to use your skills soon. Your party may need you in Guyana .
Pandemonium at GECOM office, Police arrived to make arrest - WHY at this time ... causing Gecom staff to leave the building.
Bai Tota,
Why you stirring things up dis marnin ?
O rass, more trouble. Where de police deh, me going home rass
Dis ant looking good. All you rass didn't listen to me yesterday.
Police asking folks to leave saying they received a bomb threat at GECOM.
Gasoline. Gasoline !!!
Ow le lard. where me cutlass deh ? Close de door and pray.
How we going to deal with this Coup ?
Allah O Akbar
PPP folks said they are not leaving.
All you na see a coup happening ?
I see ABC people at GECOM office. Is an attempted coup going on.
@Former Member i think more like cunyvirus
Foreign affairs minister meeting with observers and threatening to remove their accreditation to muzzle them.
Folks what can Russia do with Guyana election when our system is manually counted. These ministers should be sanction for instigating their supporters. SOB
Amral should make his big GNI announcement today ahead of a coup in Guyana. Looks like International observers will be thrown out and the rigging will become official today.
All you rass were criticizing me but me know de PNC more than any of all you here.
This will be a bloodless coup and an installation of a PNC dictatorship. Thats looking more and more like the reality of the situation in Guyana.
Foreign Affairs is threatening the International Observers with Deportation.
Gyal Bibi, people should have caught on with Cathy Hughes statement. WE are witnessing a bloodless coup. They should keep Ali and Jagdeo safe.
Unless Trump sends in US Military, this election is over. The stalling was just to implement PNC plan B.
The PNC showing signs of refusing to give up office.
GECOM has up to 15 days to announce the results, they will drag this on to the very end, applying all possible illegal means.
What? They can't do that.
All you pack up all you Tassa and go home. Many were laughing at me but all you see now. PNC has plan B AND C. This is just plan B. Granger learn good from Daddy Burnham.
Tim from ANUG is a very level headed person he recognized how dangerous the situation was yesterday.
Where is my brother Django when I need him to reassure me and the Guyanese people that the PNC of old does not exist anymore? Why is it so difficult to get them to do the right thing?
Claudette and Lowenfield "doing de thing" for PNC.
According to observers, GECOM was still doing there own imput of information. No recounting has resumed. BJ just showed up.
The PNC might move to Plan C. WE are witnessing a bloodless copy.
Cathy and Ramjattan has declare victory, as a result, Jagdeo is publishing the results .. here is his statement
Small parties holding strong with the PPP for democracy. Shuman, Timothy, Rhonda, Kian Jabour on the frontline.
They canβt do anything. Claudette will swear in Granger like they did in 2015.
@ Alena, that cannot happed, the ambassadorβs and observer refused to the the building just now when order by a police officer of bomb threat because they knows whatβs going on.
now, in the event she does so, itβs consider as a coup as per Jagdeo.
Thanks Dave
Region 4
APNU: 114,000
PPP: 80,000
Now you know why the PNC wants to steal 20,000 votes. They should blame the Dougla People for their down fall.
@Alena
I was warning everyone this morning about this. WE are witnessing a bloodless coup.
The deliberately left region 4 count to rig. Shameless PNC bastards.
ABC will not be ale to stop them. Granger goes down in history as the man who raped and destroyed democracy in Guyana.