Kamla’s delicate dance

By Selwyn R. Cudjoe January 27th 2012 12:40 PM

Kamla Persad-Bissessar during her recent visit to India

QUESTION:

IF Trinidad and Tobago were 100 percent Hindus, would our response to Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar kissing President Pratibha Patil’s toes elicit a different response?

I suspect it would. But only 35 percent of Trinidad and Tobago’s population are Hindus and therein lays the conundrum. Such a move calls for a better understanding among the population and a more sensitive response from the PM in terms of her act of piety or respect as she calls it.

Kamla certainly understands her religious duties. However, a sense of proportion may have been more appropriate under the circumstances. That she is Hindu is undeniable. However, what she seems to forget, at least as the prime minister of Trinidad and Tobago, a Christian, Muslim and Hindu state primarily, is that she has obligations which demand that she be sensitive to the religious cross currents within her nation.

As I indicated previously, I have no problems with our prime minister returning to her fatherland (or is it motherland?) or kissing the toes of her favourite guru. There is a fine line between religion and patriotism of which any leader must be cognizant. If Persad-Bissessar’s religious beliefs demand that she kisses the toes of one of her religious leaders then that’s all right by me. Christ washed the feet of his disciples and would have kissed their feet to demonstrate that a leader is no greater than her followers and that service implies humility and respect for others. It suggests that she who leads must be willing to serve.

I am also aware that the Western/African sensibility of many Trinbagonians are at variance or at any rate different from those of an Eastern sensibility and sometimes what seems appropriate for a person of African/Western sensibility may appear inappropriate for someone of Eastern sensibility or of the Hindu religion. Although Rudder celebrates the meeting of the Ganges and the Nile in our little isle he forgot the unbridgeable gap that exists among religion, culture and even sensibility.

So that even though I respect Persad-Bissessar’s fealty to her religion, I am not sure that she is equally as sensitive to the religious persuasions of her other constituents, particularly in a state in which people of different religions seek to dwell together in harmony. The Greeks used to say, and it is something that my mother picked up in her day to day living, that beauty lies in doing “everything in proportion.” Her plebian interpretation of that phrase reduced itself to “Nothing in excess.”

So that my problem does not lie so much in Persad-Bissessar kissing the toes of her elder and presumably one of her religious leaders. What I have problems with is her seeming inability to understand the implications of what she did. So that when Keith Rowley, the leader of the Opposition, reminds her that “when she stands in front of the Head of Government or as Head of State, she must stand there proud, representing the people of Trinidad and Tobago. No subservience of big state, small state” he is reminding her of the desirability of seeking “the golden mean” in everything that she does, particular when she represents Trinbagonians overseas.

The Greeks believed that beauty consisted of three ingredients: symmetry, proportion and harmony. They believed that one should strive to achieve the middle ground in everything that one does. My mother would say: “Nothing in excess.” Although courage is a desirable virtue, if it is taken to excess it can become recklessness. Where courage is deficient an individual can be accused of being a coward. No matter how noble our cause, the key to correct behaviour lays in seeking a workable balance.

When Rowley reminds Persad-Bissessar about the need to balance religion and patriotism, tempered with an understanding of history, and a proportionality of response, he was not seeking to create mischief (a favourite descriptive term of the UNC led coalition with regard to Rowley) but was trying only to inject some basic Tobago commonsense into the diplomatic mix; a reminder that she should not ignore the various needs of the community that she serves.

In her imperiousness Persad-Bissessar would not hear of it. In her queenly un-wisdom she pronounces that she makes no apologies or excuses whatsoever for showing respect to her elders, including President Patil. What Persad-Bissessar may have missed is that in international diplomacy and inter-state relations there are no elders as there are no juniors. At least in theory, each nation is supposed to be equal.

And the beautiful thing about this scenario is this: those who a few years ago were presumed to be elders in the world are finding out that the world turns and elders and juniors are relative terms. It all depends on the historical perspective you bring to things. In this context, it is not wise to pronounce India (or the Indian prime minister) or the Indian President an elder and thereby relegate ourselves to junior partner in interstate relationships.

Relationships among states are always changing. The Indian Revolt of 1857 told the British that the Indians were not enamored by their rule. In 1875, when Egypt teetered on the edge of insolvency, the British government took over the Suez Canal and ruled it until Nasser threw them out in 1956, which effectively signaled the end of the British Empire. Thereafter, one saw the rise of the United States, which may be on the cusp of losing its leadership of the free world.

Trinbagonians are extraordinarily tolerant people. We are cognizant of the delicate state in which our Hindu Prime Minister finds herself sometimes. I am sure that a little more humility on her part would assuage many misgivings we may have from time to time even when it arises from her acts of piety. All we ask is that she strives to achieve a sense of proportionality and to understand where some of us are coming from.
“Everything in proportion,” it is all that we ask.

Prime Minister the Hon. Kamla Persad-Bissessar receives Pravasi Bharatiya Samman award in India.
Porsche like' conversions for military copters Imbert:

By Julien Neaves

Story Created: Jan 28, 2012 at 11:46 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jan 28, 2012 at 11:46 PM ECT http://www.trinidadexpress.com...pters-138274114.html

GOVERNMENT has been converting military helicopters acquired to stop drug traffickers into luxurious pleasure aircraft, Opposition MP Colm Imbert has said.

"So when you look at these military helicopters supposed to go to an Offshore Patrol Vessel (OPV), supposed to work in a hostile environment, intercepting drug traffickers on the high seas...(instead) these military helicopters are now being converted into the most luxurious aircraft you can think of," he said.

He made the comment on Friday while contributing to an Opposition motion in the Lower House, International Waterfront Centre, Port of Spain, that Government must cease its "systematic dismantling" of the national security systems and structures and implement an effective national security system that could secure this country's borders to reduce crime.

Imbert said that the OPVs, which were cancelled by the current administration, were to be used as part of a regional drug interdiction effort and would work in tandem with short range helicopters to catch fast moving vessels.

Two of the four Agusta Westland helicopters valued at US$348 million (TT$2.1billion) ordered by the former PNM government arrived in the country in May last year, with the other two expected to be delivered this year.

The state of the art AW139 helicopters are designed to accomplish demanding operations in the harshest weather and environmental conditions and each helicopter can seat up to 15 passengers.

According to the AgustaWestland website the craft has a variety of interiors including "executive", "VIP", "EMS" (Emergency Medical Services)" and "Law enforcement".

The contract documents stated that, instead of the OPVS, the four helicopters will be for the use of the Trinidad and Tobago Air Guard, a dedicated unit involved in search and rescue, surface surveillance, law enforcement, drug interdiction and disaster relief.

Imbert on Friday said: "These military helicopters were designed to transport troops, designed to transport specialised units dealing with the prevention and interception of crime, but I've seen a photograph of one of these helicopters, reconfigured, refashioned, re-engineered, plush leather seats, table, I think there is even a machine dispensing refreshments."

"Ice dispenser," Leader of Government Business Roodal Moonilal chimed in. Roll Eyes

"I see you've flown in it," Imbert retorted.

He described the interior of the helicopter as "Porsche like" and converted for "pleasure", and some on the government bench laughed at the second comment.

"That don't mean any other connotation. You all have dirty minds," Imbert joked.

He said that National Security Minister Brig John Sandy had presented no strategy for the effective protection of the country's borders, a major transhipment point for drugs.

He criticised reported plans for "shore-based technology" as bad advice from "national insecurity adviser" Gary Griffith, saying that this system will not be able to catch vessels on the high seas.

Imbert stressed that the way to stop or reduce crime significantly was to stop the inflow of drugs, which was accompanied by guns, as protection or incentive, that would remain in the country.

"What has Government put in place to build capacity to intercept drug shipments on the seas?" he questioned.

In June last year during the commissioning of the two helicopters Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar said that funds from the scrapped OPV deal would be used to fund her Government's new Naval Operational Plan which will effectively tackle suspicious vessels entering T&T's waters with illegal immigrants, drugs, guns, ammo and other forms of contraband.

Commander of the Air Guard, Tyrone Rudolpho, told the Sunday Express by phone yesterday that he did not hear the statement and it was not in his place to comment on a statement in Parliament, and directed questions to the National Security Minister.
PLANE TALK
Opposition MP queries $.9m aircraft deal by
Gibbs and Ewatski

By Julien Neaves

Story Created: Jan 27, 2012 at 11:01 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jan 27, 2012 at 11:01 PM ECT http://www.trinidadexpress.com..._TALK-138241624.html

OPPOSITION MP Donna Cox has questioned a $900,000 contract between the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service and a local company for air support services three months after e-mail exchanges between Deputy Commissioner of Police Jack Ewatski with the company's directors.

She claimed the aircraft could be purchased seven times over for what was being spent for a 12-week test period.

Cox was speaking in the Lower House sitting yesterday, held at International Waterfront Centre, Port of Spain, on a motion she had brought calling on Government to cease its "systematic dismantling" of the national security systems and structures and to implement an effective national security system that could secure this country's borders to reduce crime.

She read from a letter of intent between Commissioner of Police Dwayne Gibbs, "the million dollar man" (referring to his salary), and Dirk Barnes, managing director of Trinidad and Tobago Air Support Company located in Tacarigua, about the company supplying its "Sky View Surveillance Support" as a "law enforcement aviation pilot project".

Gibbs stated that the project appeared to have a "high rate of success" and he approved a 12-week pilot project proposal.

The contract was for 720 hours use of Zenith CH 750 Air Scout Aircraft for a three-month evaluation period at a cost of TT$902,772 or US$140,400. The letter requested the company reply in writing regarding acceptance of the terms in the letter.

"I can't remember seeing a tender for aircraft surveillance. When was this put out for tender? I ask the Minister (of National Security) when did this go out for tender? Talk to (Gibbs) and tell us," Cox said.

She said the Zenith has been described a "light sport aircraft" and its weight constraints would affect the range of its surveillance. She described the aircraft as "dolly house" and commented "what a wastage of taxpayers' money".

She said while Government had complained that the Skyship 600, or "Blimp", was too expensive, a sum of US$140,400 was being spent on a mere 12-week contract. Cox pointed out that the type of aircraft could be purchased on the Internet and assembled, and bought seven times over what was paid for the contract.

"That's a LEGO plane," quipped Diego Martin Central MP Dr Amery Browne.

Cox questioned what role Ewatski played in the proposal and questioned whether he had been "fraternising" with the director of the company in July that year. She read from e-mails between two Trinidad and Tobago Air Support Company directors Dan Condon and Eddie Dalsingh between June and July 2011.

"Made contact with Ewatski. He wants to go flying with me. I think this can seal the deal with the TTPS," she read.

Another e-mail stated: "Jack and I flew in (early) June."

"You see why they got rid of the airship? You understand why they had to discard the airship for a deal which smacks of corruption. Tell the public the truth," she said.

Cox said she also had a contract letter with the signatures of Gibbs and Barnes. She took a shot at Gibbs during her contribution, saying the Opposition's difficulty with the Commissioner of Police "is the extent to which he bends over backwards to accommodate the UNC government thus politicising the police function".

Diego Martin North East MP Colm Imbert described the aircraft contract as "scandalous", and said the single or two seater aircraft was ill suited for surveillance because it could not stop and hover due to its noisy combustion system. He said that despite Skyship 600 reducing kidnappings from 100 to five, it was sold by this Government and was being replaced by this "toy plane".

He noted that Gibbs in the letter of intent stated the aircraft surveillance could be integrated into the 21st Century Policing Initiative but was more something out of US airplane pioneers the Wright Brothers in the 1900s.

National Security Minister Brig John Sandy commented on the matter of the aircraft very briefly during his 42-minute response to the motion, questioning whether it was legal for Cox to be quoting from private e-mails.

He said that the Airship 600 was too expensive to maintain and had to be sold, though it was difficult as only the original manufacturers wished to purchase it.

Envoy laments loss of Hindi

Indo-Trinis should learn the language

By Keino Swamber

Story Created: Jan 29, 2012 at 11:54 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jan 29, 2012 at 11:54 PM ECT http://www.trinidadexpress.com...Hindi-138303619.html

INDIAN High Commissioner Malay Mishra said yesterday that Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar failed to truly connect with the people of her ancestral village of Bihar during her recent State visit to India.

He said this was because of her inability to address the people of Bihar in Hindi.

Mishra was speaking at a function to commemorate World Hindi Day at the official residence of the High Commissioner in Port of Spain. World Hindi Day is observed on January 10 every year but was celebrated yesterday in this country as Mishra was in India with Persad-Bissessar.

He lamented that the Hindi language has disappeared in Trinidad and Tobago over a few generations and believes that it is time once again for it to become a part of the daily lives of those whose ancestors came from India.

Mishra said many people in this country sing Hindi songs and sing Hindi bhajans (religious Hindu songs) but most of them, if not all, do not know the meaning of what they are singing.

"Why should that be?" he asked.

"I will give you an example. Recently the Honourable Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago Kamla Persad-Bissessar was in India on a State visit and she went to her ancestral village in Bihar and she addressed a gathering of nearly a hundred thousand people.

People had come from 30 to 35 kilometres away to see and hear the Prime Minister whose ancestors had come from that village and they called her the 'Daughter of Bihar'. She addressed them but she addressed them only in English, though she used a few words of Hindi in the beginning, her speech was all English and it had to be translated simultaneously.

"If she knew Hindi, I think she could have struck an instant rapport with her audiences who would certainly have been more excited with what they heard if they heard the Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago speak to them in Hindi. But that was not to be."
He said Persad-Bissessar said her mother country is Trinidad and Tobago while her grandmother country is India.

"If that is so, then if your mother tongue is English, then your grandmother tongue should be Hindi because that is the language of your ancestors who came from that land where your grandparents or great grandparents over three or four generations were speaking in Hindi.

"Why should that not be revived here again ? Why should we not make an effort?"
Mishra said Hindi is not a difficult language to learn. He said if people can learn and understand foreign languages such as Spanish and French, there is no reason why Hindi which, he said, is the language of their culture could not be learnt.

He said the Commission has Hindi classes in several parts of the country and he has seen somewhat of an increase in the numbers of people in attendance.

"Its not just the very young, but there are also senior students. They have a substantial interest in learning but that takes a little bit of extra effort to get that language into your system.

"Please understand that Hindi is not a foreign language for any of you. Hindi is your language. It was an integral part of your culture then and it is an integral part of your culture now. Trinidad and Tobago is primarily a diaspora country and the recent State visit of the Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago to India has marked a new chapter in our bilateral relations."

Mishra said Persad-Bissessar was celebrated in India and the people connected with her in a way that they may not have were she the head of state of a country like France, the United Kingdom or the United States.

"It (those countries) are far away for them. But the Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago, though it is physically far away, in coming back she was really close to them. That is because of the Indian part of the Prime Minister.

"It is because of the roots of the Prime Minister that found an instant connect with the Indian media. She just swept the Indian media unlike anybody else has ever done before. Wherever she went she has been the darling of the media. Today Trinidad and Tobago and Kamla Persad-Bissessar are household names in India and the simple reason was because of this connect."
MISSING IN ACTION

Siparia constituents complain they don't see their MP, the Prime Minister

By Susan Mohammed

Story Created: Feb 4, 2012 at 10:47 PM ECT
Story Updated: Feb 4, 2012 at 10:47 PM ECT http://www.trinidadexpress.com...CTION-138723494.html

For Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar, the political honeymoon appears to be over.

Forget the expected political criticisms over policy and expenditure at the national level, or her international acclaim as woman leader, or her slaying of Manning /Panday/Ramesh.

Persad-Bissessar's rock solid support in her constituency of Siparia, the place where her "rise" began, appears to be eroding.

The fiery protests at Penal Rock Road, Penal, last week were a desperate effort for some constituents of Siparia to get her attention.

They were fed up of the neglect which they believe has been meted out to them since she took up the office of the Prime Minister nearly two years ago.

To media cameras, they shouted in frustration:

"We want Kamla." Roll Eyes

Persad-Bissessar, who attended a function half hour's drive away from her constituents on the afternoon of the protests, was asked about the issue.

She responded that the matter would be looked into. Her response infuriated her constituents, and they met in an emergency meeting that night and voiced their disgust over the lack of representation in the area.

The next day, the protests intensified with at least 100 more residents joining in, gridlocking the 16-mile road at some 15 points, with burning debris and tyres.

The people of the Penal Rock Road said Persad-Bissessar, with her use of State helicopters could have been in Siparia in minutes.

They know, also, that she spends most of her downtime at her private home near Palmiste in San Fernando, a 20-minute drive from to her constituency office in Siparia. It is no secret, they say, when her blinking blue light entourage speeds into San Fernando some mornings, for her to catch her helicopter waiting at the helipad on the compound of the San Fernando General Hospital.

Questioned again last Friday about her lack of face time with her constituents, Persad-Bissessar said: "My husband and children say the same thing all the time. That they don't see me enough. I mean the job takes almost every minute of my life so there will be times when I cannot be in places all the time as much as I would like to be. Certainly I would like to see them as well. I think yesterday my office staff asked them to come in for a meeting to see how best we can address their concerns at the office."

One 60-year-old resident, who has lived in the area nearly all his life said: "If we were getting what we want, we would not have had a fiery protest. If we were getting what we want, as our MP supposed to do, we would not have protested at all."

Speaking to several of Persad-Bissessar's constituents last week, there is a feeling that residents feel that they are taken for granted by her, although they have voted for her as their MP on consecutive occasions and she has held that position for more than two decades.

However, since becoming Prime Minister almost two years ago, her extra duties have cut into her time with them. They said they feel cut off They feel taken for granted.

"It could be that she is too busy doing other things and has confidence in other people in her constituency to do things," resident Lita Jhilmit said. "When you check the records, she always wins in this constituency and she wins by a landslide all the time. So she has the confidence of the people of this constituency and she takes it for granted that she will always win."

Jhilmit said: "We are upset that the MP is not showing any interest at all in the villagers.

The villagers are complaining that they don't see the MP."

Constituents said over the last two years Persad-Bissessar was not present in her constituency office to meet with them. Instead, she has delegated her MP duties to others working in her office to meet her constituents and listen to complaints and appeals.

She was absent at a meeting held last Thursday at her constituency office with the protesting residents, represented instead by others.

Her constituents complained that Persad-Bissessar is present in the constituency and her constituency office only during official functions.

On Friday the Sunday Express telephoned the MP's office and spoke to an office employee asking to meet Persad-Bissessar about a complaint in her constituency. The employee said any concern addressed by any member of staff here will be carried directly to her.

"You can come on Thursday. In her absence, Senator Danny Maharaj is here," the employee said.

Pressed for an answer on if there was any day likely to meet Persad-Bissessar, the employee said: "No, I can't say off-hand. Her schedule is very busy ma'am. It is your duty as a constituent to come into the office and let us know (about the complaint)."

Aaron Moyne, 30, said: "Persons who go to meet her instead meet her representatives. Since she came into power, no one can say they met her personally to ventilate issues. We know she is the PM but she is also the MP."

Moyne noted that even former Prime Minister Patrick Manning always made his presence felt amongst his constituency.

"That is why he has such a stronghold on San Fernando East. Every Thursday he would come and spend hours with his constituents. But she is sending other people because she is too busy.

She could take a page out of Manning's book," he said. Wink

One of the sore points with residents, which spurred on the fiery protests last Tuesday, is how Persad-Bissessar fails to treat with a certain area at Penal Rock Road, and seems to have drawn a boundary within the constituency.

That area is home to some 12,000 residents between Ribero Trace Junction and Basse Terre Junction.

"This week when she made the statement that she knows her boundary runs until the eight and a half mile mark people were upset," a constituent said. "Some persons near Basse Terre Junction haven't had pipeborne water for 30 years. But she is the Prime Minister of the whole country anyhow, so she should not be making a boundary."

That was the reason that triggered day two of protests on Tuesday, constituents said. They said that annually during her Christmas Toy Drive, she does not enter a certain part of Penal Rock Road to distribute toys to children, who wait eagerly to see her every year.

"Every year we would question it because we would feel bad for the people there. You have children there, waiting for the PM and they could never see her. Everytime we query it they say she is running late or she didn't expect so much crowd lower down hence the reason why she didn't go down there. She is the MP. All of that triggered off the protest," Jhilmit said.

She said she wished Persad-Bissessar could make her presence felt more in Penal.

"I know she is the PM and she has her family and personal life. But if she could make a quarterly visit, or even annually, that would be the best thing. People would be happy and believe she is seeking a real interest."

Moyne likened the situation to a marriage on the brink of falling apart.

"We don't hate the woman, nor her government," Jhilmit said. "But just as everyone is getting a little bit of attention we too could get that and we would be happy. If you are doing your job well people would vote for you when the time comes. But if not, then it would show at the end of the year."

http://www.newsday.co.tt/day/1,56228.html#foto
FIERY PROTEST: Debris and fire set by frustrated residents in Penal as they protest a second day in the constituency of Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar. The residents are clamouring for improved road conditions.
'Gypsy', Roodal booed at Skinner Park Big Grin

...toilet paper for Crazy Wink

By Innis Francis

Story Created: Feb 11, 2012 at 11:50 PM ECT
Story Updated: Feb 11, 2012 at 11:50 PM ECT http://www.trinidadexpress.com..._Park-139168454.html

Minister of Arts and Multiculturalism Winston 'Gypsy' Peters, and Housing and Environment Minister Roodal Moonilal stayed backstage when patrons at Calypso Fiesta 2012 at Skinner Park, San Fernando, threw jeers at the announcement of their presence at the annual calypso show.

As the Master of Ceremonies announced Peters and Moonilal to the crowd and the ministers had already made their way through the artistes' gate near the stage, the crowd responded with a barrage of boos that echoed throughout the park.

The DJ then struck up Lady Gypsy's 2012 song "No Damn Respect", which is loaded with insults towards Peters.

Lady Gypsy, (Lynette Steele), is Peters' sister.

Last year Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and her entourage, which also included Peters, and San Fernando Mayor Marlene Coudray were booed.

The first half of the competition saw calypsonians paying tribute in song to Trinidad and Tobago as well as dealing with issues with the government and in the calypso fraternity.

The small audience, which gradually grew as the evening progressed, danced and sang along to Brian London's, "Doh Complain".

Equally appreciated by the crowd were Hollis "Chalkdust" Liverpool who sang "How's Dat", Selvon "Mista Shak" Noel with "The Blue Print" and Heather McIntosh with "The Adjective".

The venue which is known for throwing toilet paper and orange peels as a show of disapproval did not waste time when Edwin "Crazy" Ayoung appeared in African apparel and sang "Raise Yuh Standard".

Patrons showed their disapproval of Ayoung's song by waving rolls of toilet paper at him.

A couple lines of Ayoung's song went: "Use education to show how bad you bad. Can't continue to be the scourge to society…"

The competition organised by Trinbago Unified Calypsoians organisation (TUCO) has announced the prize structure as $40,000 for sixth place, 5th — $75,000, 4th —$100,000, 3rd — $150,000, 2nd — $250,000 and 1st $500,000.

The calypsonians are being judged on lyrics 40 points, music 40 points and presentation- 20 points.
Vasant says sorry, to compensate injured woman Roll Eyes

Vehicle runs over foot...

By Akile Simon

Story Created: Feb 24, 2012 at 10:58 PM ECT
Story Updated: Feb 24, 2012 at 10:58 PM ECT http://www.trinidadexpress.com...woman-140386283.html

FOOD Production Minister Vasant Bharath yesterday apologised to pedestrian Marlene Williams after he reportedly ran over her foot in a hit and run accident along Maraval Road, in Port of Spain, on Carnival Monday.

He has also agreed to pay compensation and settle the matter out of court, Williams said. Bharath and Williams met for the first time at the St Clair Police Station yesterday since the incident left Williams injured and unable to walk without the assistance of a cane.

The two met briefly in company with Cpl Robert Walker, the investigator, and Jagdeo Singh, Bharath's attorney.

As the Express arrived at the St Clair Police Station, Bharath and Singh emerged from the station and Bharath entered a Porsche Cayenne, PCR 100, and left.

Bharath was recently at the centre of controversy over the purchase of the vehicle for official use.

According to Williams, who spoke with Express outside the St Clair Police Station, the minister has agreed to compensate her with a view of settling the matter out of court. Williams, who broke down in tears during the interview, said she was pleased with the discussion she had with Bharath.

"We just spoke and I talked to my lawyer and that's about it. He talked to me normal, very normal and it was pleasing. Yes, he apologised and he said he was sorry and he really didn't know," Williams said.

Asked if Bharath agreed to compensate her with a view of settling the matter out of court, Williams said yes.

"We will deal with it with our lawyers," Williams said when asked if she has accepted any offer made by Bharath and his attorney.

Williams, in an interview with the Express on Ash Wednesday, said Bharath ran over her foot while driving a black Range Rover as she was walking south along Maraval Road near Rust Street.

She said Bharath failed to stop and render assistance to her and a police motorcyclist, Cpl Melville, intercepted the minister's vehicle.

But, speaking with reporters yesterday at the Carlton Savannah Hotel, St Ann's, for the first time following the incident, Bharath said a report was made to the police about the incident and advised the media to await the outcome of the police investigations.

He said he was not at liberty to say anything about the matter which was engaging the attention of St Clair police.

"So it was you?" one reporter asked Bharath who replied, "I didn't say that. I said a report was made and they (police) are currently investigating it.

"All will be revealed in a very short space of time. A report was lodged with the Woodbrook Police Station and with the St Clair Police Station today (yesterday) and they are investigating the matter and I'd rather not say anything about it."

Hope the taliban did not get him. He was a military contractor and soldier for pay so he is probably out there running around the sands of Afghanistan...if he did not blow himself up or get shot.