@Mitwah posted:

You shud try the Besan Pera.

Lol..i dont try pera anymore..i had 2-3 attempts n it failed so badly (back then it was just guess work..no youtube then..

last attempt , i had to throw away the plate..the thing tun hard like brick on the plate..hehehe

another timei got got ‘stretcher’ ..

barfi is easy..haha..i tried it once n it was so yummy butim scared to make because i will eat all of it..(hubby n kids dont like the elaichee but i love it)

Lynn

10:38pm I just started some dough to make bread. It's gonna be a looong night ffor Cain D' baker.

I gotta get condensed milk fi make pera next..I don't recall ever having it.

@cain posted:

Last night I picked up some Masala Dosas for the first time and found it real good. They look like crepes.

You can use pancake mix to make them. The difference  is baking  powder or Baking Soda in the pancake which is also thicker.

Goes great with Maple Syrup.

@Mitwah posted:

Ingredients. ----------

2 cups Sugar

1 can Evaporated Milk.

OMG!!!

thisis how i like my pera..

my Maa n my big sis used to make(we had plenty cow milk) ..

very few people can make it the way i like..soft ..n it must me PURE cow’s milk

nowadays itis sheer SUGA watah pera..

not thanks..itis either this way ot not at all for me

lol

(yeah..i am a picky eater..)

Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

Ingredients. ----------

2 cups Sugar

1 can Evaporated Milk.

Mee Shoulda guh bruk off with all dat stirring…

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn

My maa used to make the best gojha..no coloring though..nice , freshly grated juicy coconut ..n pleny ginger.  Her dough was very thin too, similar to the pix.

I tried a recipe for baked gojha ..it was good..a bit dry but i try to avoid  deep fried  foods these days

Lynn

Ingredients --------------------

2 1/2 cups flour

1/2 cup yellow split peas

1 tsp. Instant yeast

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tbsp. roasted ground geera ( cumin )

1 tbsp salt 4 cloves garlic pepper to taste

2 stems scallions

couple drops yellow food colour

Enjoy!

@Lynn posted:

i need a good recipe using BESAN for bara n phulourie

In the above recipe, just exclude the flour, yellow split peas and food colour. Use Channa Besan instead. Most Indian groceries and Walmart carries it.

@Mitwah posted:

In the above recipe, just exclude the flour, yellow split peas and food colour. Use Channa Besan instead. Most Indian groceries and Walmart carries it.

I always buy besan. I find .it is better than the  SPLIT PEAS FLOUR

been using it for abt 25 yrs..some Indian folks introduced me to it as the use it for pakoras

but i dont get the right texture for bara ..

It is a hit n miss for me..

i like it with more besan than flour

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

I always buy besan. I find .it is better than the  SPLIT PEAS FLOUR

been using it for abt 25 yrs..some Indian folks introduced me to it as the use it for pakoras

but i dont get the right texture for bara ..

It is a hit n miss for me..

i like it with more besan than flour

Besan is very healthy. Picked up a few bags on sale from Food Basic last week.

Heard that you can get phulouri  and doubles at the flea market on Steels.

Last edited by Mitwah
@Mitwah posted:

Besan is very healthy. Picked up a few bags on sale from Food Basic last week.

Heard that you can get phulouri  and doubles at the flea market on Steels.

I had a gf (she died a yr ago) who lived in Brampton n every Sat she went to that flea market to buy veggies as well as dhalpuri n phulourie

she took me there ocne n the lady was cooking right in the stal..1 big karahi with oil n frying nice round smooth phulourie..im not sure if she was a Trini…it was tasty ..ie flavorful..but the thing was mostly flour..

me nah like dem flour ting..no matter how tasty it is..

i like my phulourie with real dhal or besan/split peas flour..

i dont think she bought doubles..

but the had custard blocks..in plastic tunes like icicles !!

i bought dhalpuri to bring home..

but honestly Alima’s on Kenview Blvd makes better if not  the best  dhalpuri ( they r thin n the filling is a lot n it goes to the edge …ie no thick hard , dough at ends like most other places..

Lynn
@cain posted:

Too much dah stuff could make one explode....or implode.

Drink apple cider.  Try stretching and touching your toes by bending over. Try some yoga poses such as lying on your back and pulling your knees to your chest or light movement may give you fast relief. Phart, let it rip.

@Mitwah posted:

Sorry to hear about your gf. Perhaps she died from eating too much dhalpuri and pholourie.

67 yr old..seemingly healthy..never know her to be sick..just common cold..not fat..nicen slim n very active

yes..clogged arteries ..sudden death

nah she didnt eat much..but every sat they had that ..not ‘Janna-crown’ (whn lasy u heard this word!!

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

67 yr old..seemingly healthy..never know her to be sick..just common cold..not fat..nicen slim n very active

yes..clogged arteries ..sudden death

nah she didnt eat much..but every sat they had that ..not ‘Janna-crown’ (whn lasy u heard this word!!

Flax seed crushed and cinnamon is good for preventing clogged arteries.

Last edited by Mitwah
@Mitwah posted:

Flax seed crushed and cinnamon is good for preventing clogged arteries.

Well..shehad no idea she had blockages..

it was too late, by the time they did emerg surgery it was too late..she passed 2 days after recovering from the bi-pass

btw..thanks..never heard abt this mixture but I use ground flaxseed in soup n yogurt etc..very good for bowel movement …(constipation)

n i have a pot of ‘chai’ every day on the stove..(cinnamon sticks/cloves/elaichee/aniseed/blackpepper n plenty ginger

Boile 10-15 mins n sits on stovetop

sometimes i add a reg teabag n add evap milk..most times. Esp at nights, i drink an extra large mug of it

i recently started to drink a cup of warm water with 1 tbsp lemon juice n 1 tbop acv at nights before bedtime ..(i read this by a naturopath .ie it acts as a daily detox for liver n kidneys..u can add honey but i avoid using sugar/honey but i add 1/4 tsp of organic baking soda (no aluminium ..i use Bob’s Red Mill) to prevent the acidity in stomach during sleep

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

Drink apple cider.  Try stretching and touching your toes by bending over. Try some yoga poses such as lying on your back and pulling your knees to your chest or light movement may give you fast relief. Phart, let it rip.

Hehehe..u mek me remember ‘sweet fig’ (former gni-er n his farts on NY subway….da bai was funny bad

btw Amral BM…whatever   happened to ‘da freak’ n Mike?? All of dem  leff gni??

Lynn

Lynn, heartburn has a tendency to attack when lying down and when this occurs try lying in the left side as lying on the right side causes acid to leak out. Picture holding a piece of pipe with a flap on the end, turn the pipe one way the flap closes turn it the opposite way the flap opens..same idea.

I also chew on a small piece of raw potatoe on occasion to ease heartburn.

@cain posted:

Lynn, heartburn has a tendency to attack when lying down and when this occurs try lying in the left side as lying on the right side causes acid to leak out. Picture holding a piece of pipe with a flap on the end, turn the pipe one way the flap closes turn it the opposite way the flap opens..same idea.

Hey Cain

i have on adjustable bed..so my head is raised….n yes i sleep on left side

Lynn
@cain posted:

Apple cider works too. I keep a bottle of Gaviscon on my night table.

@Mitwah posted:

Apple cider works too. I keep a bottle of Gaviscon on my night table.

I suffer from GERD..not heartburn..the ACV burns the esophagus..

so i add the baking soda to neutralize the acidity ..

i keep gaviscon..n use occasionally but the fastest way to get relief is baking soda (without aluminium ) or take ENO /Andrews liver salt. ( as long as u donthave high BP as baking soda  is high is Sodium )

Lynn

I just bought a bag of Besan, now to put it to good use, I might give bara a shot.

Maybe even do some baigee (something sounding like that...its breaded baigan) I was told about from a girl here whose mom is Guyanese.

@cain posted:

I just bought a bag of Besan, now to put it to good use, I might give bara a shot.

Maybe even do some baigee (something sounding like that...its breaded baigan) I was told about from a girl here whose mom is Guyanese.

Yuh mean baiganee. there are lots of good videos on Youtube .   My wife tried this Pinweel Samosa but with Tamarind sauce. 

These easy and delicious samosa pinwheels are baked pastry sheets filled with spicy potato filling. They make a flaky, crispy, flavorful and so irresistibly delicious appetizer for parties and potlucks!

I love samosa buti can only enjoy 1 because of it being deep fried

i have tried the frozen kind that u can bake..they were not bad but not great !

PS

i have used frozen puff pastry to make chicken patties n also cheeserolls ..lol

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Interesting ..i like the idea of air fryer as i am not too fond of deep fried foods..

Mits bhaiya, didyr wife follow the recipe (exactly) or did she tweak a bit?

I am sure she tweaked it a bit. Anyway for the quantity she baked, she used the oven since it's a convection type. The air fryer can only do 4 to 6.

@Mitwah posted:

I am sure she tweaked it a bit. Anyway for the quantity she baked, she used the oven since it's a convection type. The air fryer can only do 4 to 6.

Exactly why i dont care for the air fryer  I Have (too small)

..should have got the kind that looks like a toaster..

Lynn

We just saw a sale at Crappy Tire for one of those going for 174.99..can do six slices toast bread along with air frying, baking, making pizza but what I did notice it doesn't wash the dishes.

Might get one tomorrow.

@cain posted:

We just saw a sale at Crappy Tire for one of those going for 174.99..can do six slices toast bread along with air frying, baking, making pizza but what I did notice it doesn't wash the dishes.

Might get one tomorrow.

Probably a ninja

Lynn