I don't need the cash either. I am a cane cutter and wouldn't know what to do with cash. Especially lately with the estate layoffs and no severance pay. 

Bai Ksaz, I always believe you work for what you want. When you accomplish this, you have pride and joy. I have seen my family toil in the cane fields(I was lucky not to be one), so I know what hard work is.

Maybe I si wan ah you family. 

If he participates in the next election, he will take away votes from the PPP.

He can't take any significant amount of votes from the PPP.  People want the PPP back in power.  Why would they throw their votes behind a candidate with a zero chance of winning while ensuring a victory for the very people Charrandas helped  to boot out of office?  Does not make much sense.

Billy, some Berbicians might want to PPP back in power. But what was done by regional officials during the last government has angered many  by having hasty names for the officials. Forcing the PPP to make changes.   These officials  would suddenly change  meeting locations, because they did not want to hear from the people.

Crimes still exist, but compared to the present government, why were there so many Indian protests during the PPP government, at police stations in Berbice due to  police inaction, when a protestor was shot to death at Albion police station.

Both governments did not do much for Berbicians, but the people  voted for the PPP, who also ignore them. If the PPP wins the next election, will they allow their friends at the  Berbice bridge to increase the toll to US$40.00. If this happens the PPP might not have another term. With so much unemployment, how will Berbicians pay US$40.00 to cross the bridge ?  

I don't need the cash either. I am a cane cutter and wouldn't know what to do with cash. Especially lately with the estate layoffs and no severance pay. 

Bai Ksaz, I always believe you work for what you want. When you accomplish this, you have pride and joy. I have seen my family toil in the cane fields(I was lucky not to be one), so I know what hard work is.

I think ksaz was a cut and load cane cutter and skelly was a cut and drop cane cutter 

I will not underestimate the PNC, but they are on the back foot here.  And after their dismal performance in the LGE, well they have their job cut out and little time. 

Base, the recent LGE is not the real benchmark for Regional and General Elections.I have been repeating this for awhile, you guys seem to think otherwise.

You keep up that arrogant shit!  The train is about to run you over and you still asking "ah wah dah"!!

Anan posted:

I think ksaz was a cut and load cane cutter and skelly was a cut and drop cane cutter 

Anan, I grew up watching cane cutters working in the hot sun and how they struggled to load the punts. At an early age, I said that this work is not for me. I was lucky enough to get an education because of my teachers.

Tola posted:

He can't take any significant amount of votes from the PPP.  People want the PPP back in power.  Why would they throw their votes behind a candidate with a zero chance of winning while ensuring a victory for the very people Charrandas helped  to boot out of office?  Does not make much sense.

Billy, some Berbicians might want to PPP back in power. But what was done by regional officials during the last government has angered many  by having hasty names for the officials. Forcing the PPP to make changes.   These officials  would suddenly change  meeting locations, because they did not want to hear from the people.

Crimes still exist, but compared to the present government, why were there so many Indian protests during the PPP government, at police stations in Berbice due to  police inaction, when a protestor was shot to death at Albion police station.

Both governments did not do much for Berbicians, but the people  voted for the PPP, who also ignore them. If the PPP wins the next election, will they allow their friends at the  Berbice bridge to increase the toll to US$40.00. If this happens the PPP might not have another term. With so much unemployment, how will Berbicians pay US$40.00 to cross the bridge ?  

The sky is falling, the sky is falling !!! 

Doom and gloom !!!!

Even Freddie isn't enough to help Charrandas form a successful party for the upcoming elections. Not that there is a deficiency in Charrandas but that parties do not become successful overnight.

Bhai Kaz,

Charrandass is a recent hero and from Berbice, the party will take away votes from the PPP. Them bhais in freedom house will be sweating, if his party is declared.

Crawford would also be a great pick . 

"I am not at liberty to identify a woman in Berbice that will form the party with Charran but she is certain to bring in votes."

There is also this mysterious female.

What's the name of that young sexy magistrate? BJ appeared before her in the Chris Ram case. Charlene Artiga or something?

Tola posted:

why were there so many Indian protests during the PPP government

People sometimes become complacent. They forget how bad things were before 1992. Or they fell prey to the fancy manifesto that was filled with empty promises. Now that they have had 3 years to refresh their memories of how terrible the PNC was and still is as a government, they will not be fooled so easily again. The last two LGE have given some indication of that.

Tola posted:

The sky is falling, the sky is falling !!! 

Doom and gloom !!!!

Instead of showing your limited intelligence, why don't you counter what is written above.

Mutt and Jeff were the worse people for PPP voters in Berbice. 

Anan posted:

Anan, I grew up watching cane cutters working in the hot sun and how they struggled to load the punts. At an early age, I said that this work is not for me. I was lucky enough to get an education because of my teachers.

That is where I fell short. Education was never my forte. 

What's the name of that young sexy magistrate? BJ appeared before her in the Chris Ram case. Charlene Artiga or something?

Hook meh up wid sheh nuh fuh ole years night. 

Tola posted:

Berbicians have take a cue from the folks in Region 3, all projects for the year done.The REO,Jaikarran did an excellent gob.They moving him to Region 2.

Crawford would also be a great pick . 

"I am not at liberty to identify a woman in Berbice that will form the party with Charran but she is certain to bring in votes."

My understanding, she has taken over Charrandas's law practice!

@skelly

I was kinda careless as a kid growing up.

My mom keep chiding me that I will end up being a cane cutter....an my brother will Wuk in the office watching me fetch cane bundle on my head.

i saw some cane cutters coming from work one day...i think I had an 'awakening' at that moment.

nuff respect to those guys..

i ended up being a changalang sharpening technician 

I will not underestimate the PNC, but they are on the back foot here.  And after their dismal performance in the LGE, well they have their job cut out and little time. 

Base, the recent LGE is not the real benchmark for Regional and General Elections.I have been repeating this for awhile, you guys seem to think otherwise.

You keep up that arrogant shit! 

How that's arrogant ?? check the stats.

Anan posted:

@skelly

My mom keep chiding me that I will end up being a cane cutter....an my brother will Wuk in the office watching me fetch cane bundle on my head.

i saw some cane cutters coming from work one day...i think I had an 'awakening' at that moment.

What's changalang ? industrial saws ?

Anan posted:

@skelly

You see those guys in that condition and you wonder how they can go through a whole day with that kind of condition. I do admire them. My brothers and father were cane cutters. My mother worked in the cane fields as a weeder.

And the Coalition government had the audacity to undermine their work to the point of refusing to pay them their severance. 

Anan posted:

Skelly, but much of their efforts make us what we are. 

I can see women carrying big baskets of mangoes on their heads to the market on muddy streets and falling down. Only to pick it up, wash it and continue, with water dripping all over them.

Sometimes when my brother was cutting cane nearby, I would take his lunch and was fascinated by the bare feet of women and men carrying cane to the punts among the cane stumps.

Years later when I returned to Guyana and  visited a cane field,  I shot about 100 images of just the cane cutters bare feet, walking in the field  and on the planks to the punt.   

Anan posted:

@ DJ

It's a type of cutlass

Now i am at a loss, used for what ?  don't the users sharpen their cutlasses ?

The more you live the more you learn.

Specialization my brother. 

Tola posted:
Anan posted:

Skelly, but much of their efforts make us what we are. 

I can see women carrying big baskets of mangoes on their heads to the market on muddy streets and falling down. Only to pick it up, wash it and continue, with water dripping all over them.

Sometimes when my brother was cutting cane nearby, I would take his lunch and was fascinated by the bare feet of women and men carrying cane to the punts among the cane stumps.

Years later when I returned to Guyana and  visited a cane field,  I shot about 100 images of just the cane cutters bare feet, walking in the field  and on the planks to the punt.   

And I always said I will not stop defending the sugar workers.
Bai there was a joke going around that the feet of the cane cutters were so tough that they would stump their toes on the roots of the cane and that would completely uproot stumps.

Anan posted:

@ DJ

It's a type of cutlass 

my spelling mite be wrong...

I got 2 of these. I had the 22 style also.

Got it, we called that kill..ku..nny, they didn't have the hook at the top.

Anan posted:

@ DJ

It's a type of cutlass

@Django

there was a  in the sentence 

Anan posted:

.………. skelly was a cut and drop cane cutter 

This makes sense, because Skeldon estate had a machine to pick up the cane and put it in punts. One of the BBP youth lost his job at Skeldon operating this machine, due to downsizing.   

Anan posted:

@ DJ

It's a type of cutlass

@Django

there was a  in the sentence 

Bhai, i am like what kind of tech is this, you caught me for the day.

Tola posted:
Anan posted:

.………. skelly was a cut and drop cane cutter 

This makes sense, because Skeldon estate had a machine to pick up the cane and put it in punts. One of the BBP youth lost his job at Skeldon operating this machine, due to downsizing.   

This was after I left Guyana. My brothers and father "cut and load". I know cane cutting as the cut and load gang. They worked in Gang 8A.

Well, Charlene Artiga is forming that new party.

Another PNC outfit. They think her good looks will attract votes? Guyanese have learned their lesson well. 28 years of PNC suffering another 3 years of PNC suffering. It is time to go back to the lesser of the two evils...PPP

Anan posted:

@ DJ

It's a type of cutlass 

This one seems heavier than the 22. Plus the handle is different, because with the 22, the handle could be filed to fit the hand and it had a lil bump at the back end forming a grip for sweating hands. 

You keep up that arrogant shit! 

How that's arrogant ?? check the stats.

Hillary said "stats" had her ahead.  Stats don't vote!!

Tola posted:
Anan posted:

@ DJ

It's a type of cutlass 

This one seems heavier than the 22. Plus the handle is different, because with the 22, the handle could be filed to fit the hand and it had a lil bump at the back end forming a grip for sweating hands. 

It is heavier than the regular 22. Some cane cutters like it; some don't. They complain it's too short and they have to bend more.

Errol is weighing all angles, the people of Berbice appreciates what he has done, the same cannot be said of Rumjaat and Naga. What the AFC has done to join house with the PNC and now that Errol exposed them as YES people to the PNC, they have lost their supporters/ voters. Errol will not start a new political party, if he gets back in politics, he will join the PPP where he has huge profits to gain, he is in his mid sixties he need to piggy back on a winner.

Yes, for the moment Errol is a hero in Berbice but more so to the PPP supporters, before the vote he was a traitor, He is the one that suggested to lock up the parents if the kids don't attend school, he is the one said the  laid off sugar workers can be retrained. he is the one that insulted a female doctor about her big size.  The Berbicians think when Errol said YES , he crossed the floor and joined the PPP, that's why they like him, if he strays elsewhere he will be on the same page as Rumjaat and Naga.

The Berbicians think when Errol said YES , he crossed the floor and joined the PPP, that's why they like him, if he strays elsewhere he will be on the same page as Rumjaat and Naga.

I don't think the Berbs think so.