CRIME WORSE THAN WE THINK

According to recent police statistics, within the last eight months, there have been 66 murders in the country representing a 16 percent decrease over the same period last year when 79 persons were murdered.
There was also a 19 percent decrease in robbery under arms where instruments other than firearms were used, a 30 percent decrease in robbery with aggravation; an18 percent decrease in larceny from the person; a nine percent decrease in break and enter and larceny and a one percent decrease in rape.
However, the same police statistics revealed that there was a 23 percent increase in robberies with no instruments; a one percent increase in robbery where firearms were used, a five percent increase in robbery with violence and a four percent increase in burglary.
While these figures seem all dandy, crime in Guyana is worse than we think. It is sad but true that it is almost impossible for the police or anyone else compiling statistics on crime to know exactly how much crime actually occurs in the country.
Usually, when a crime is committed, only the criminal and the victim, and sometimes an unhelpful or fearful witness would know about it. The police are therefore faced with an incomplete picture of the real crime situation. Their statistics will give them a general understanding of how much crime exists but they may never have the entire picture.
Crimes such as murder, rape, aggravated assault, home invasions, robberies, shoplifting, purse-snatching, pick-pocketing and vehicle theft, among others show a disturbing trend that the country is experiencing a lot of crime. But what is even more disturbing is that all victims do not report to the police, and therefore one can conclude that the crime problem is much greater than we think.

This under-reporting of crime represents a major problem in the country. It is alleged that some police have practices that affect the number of crimes being reported. Others do not record every report from a citizen as a crime. They may not have the time to do so because of their busy schedules and heavy paperwork.
And in many other cases, some do not believe the person making the report. Therefore, if they do not record the report, it does not count as a crime. Many believe that some police stations may not record crimes or have downgraded others in an apparent effort to make it appear as if the crime rate is declining.
It seems that crimes such as murder, robbery and rape, especially of women, have become commonplace. A United Nations Survey in 2016 on Violence against Women in Guyana uncovered a very troubling trend.
The Survey found that 37 percent of women aged 15 to 60 had experienced physical and/or sexual violence by intimate partners at least twice in their lifetime and six percent had done so in the past two years. Another 19 percent of women were victims of sexual violence or rape by men other than lovers or husbands.
These are unacceptably huge proportions of our female population who are being physically or sexually abused in our midst. The facts should make us consider how to immediately stop the nightmare of so many women.
Perhaps, more importantly, the government should establish a committee to determine the causes of the victimization and how to deal with those who perpetrate such heinous crimes against women.
In his acceptance speech for his new position, Mr. Leslie James promised to drastically reduce crime by stopping the flow of illegal drugs and weapons into the country. We hope he succeed.

Source>

Just imagine, growing up in Guyana today knowing that there is high possibility of you being robbed,raped,being shot and more so being killed by what ever means. This is no different than a war zone,the people are in constant High Alert. Compare to my days in Guyana, after work I would go out with the boys for a drink or with the girls to the movies ,walk the streets in Georgetown then take the last ferry across the Demerara River to head home to Uitvlugt. In the country side one would socialize very late at night and never worry of being attacked. Yes, things started to change in the mid seventies, break and enter, pick pockets but no criminal act with a gun. I guess it was desperate times, high unemployment, essential items were banned and declining faith in the government and police.

Today the suicide rate is at its highest, domestic abuse is routine  and the carnage on the roads speak volumes.

There aren't much reports of crime in the media.

Noticeably lots of people dying from weekly road accidents.

Not all crimes are reported and or recorded. In Guyana, people with money commit crimes and walk free. These are not recorded. Friends or relatives of police who commit crimes are not reported.

This coalition has broken another election promise to reduce crime. Ramjattan hands are tied since the police force is not in line and probably answers to a different set of Bosses who does not seem to care.

A new chief was appointed, let us see what he does to deal with the problem. Granger said that he wanted a squeaky clean head of the force and has confidence in the newly appointed head. 

Time will tell. We all want a safer Guyana.

An increase in crime could also be an indicator of tougher economic times. Hopefully, oil revenues can trickle down to ordinary Guyanese and not just the big wigs. 

Just imagine, growing up in Guyana today knowing that there is high possibility of you being robbed,raped,being shot and more so being killed by what ever means. This is no different than a war zone,the people are in constant High Alert. Compare to my days in Guyana, after work I would go out with the boys for a drink or with the girls to the movies ,walk the streets in Georgetown then take the last ferry across the Demerara River to head home to Uitvlugt. In the country side one would socialize very late at night and never worry of being attacked. Yes, things started to change in the mid seventies, break and enter, pick pockets but no criminal act with a gun. I guess it was desperate times, high unemployment, essential items were banned and declining faith in the government and police.

Today the suicide rate is at its highest, domestic abuse is routine  and the carnage on the roads speak volumes.

Our days were far better than what the country has become.

Young generation having no morality.

GUYANA HAS BECOME A REAL SHITHOLE COUNTRY IN 3 YEARS!!!  DAT IS THE PNC I KNOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Bullcrap immorality and shithole started decades ago,sweep it under the rug with the expectation it will go away.

It all started under Forbes...like it or not.

I lived thru Forbes days,it's nothing like what the country has become today.

GUYANA HAS BECOME A REAL SHITHOLE COUNTRY IN 3 YEARS!!!  DAT IS THE PNC I KNOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Bullcrap immorality and shithole started decades ago,sweep it under the rug with the expectation it will go away.

Yah hear dah?

Can you elaborate more.

- keep in mind PPP rebuilt it from Burnham slump. 

- take APNU 3 plus years and compare it any PPP 3 plus years in your analysis. 

This under-reporting of crime represents a major problem in the country. It is alleged that some police have practices that affect the number of crimes being reported. Others do not record every report from a citizen as a crime. They may not have the time to do so because of their busy schedules and heavy paperwork.
And in many other cases, some do not believe the person making the report. Therefore, if they do not record the report, it does not count as a crime. Many believe that some police stations may not record crimes or have downgraded others in an apparent effort to make it appear as if the crime rate is declining.

Can you elaborate more.

Erroneous,PPP/C took over from Desmond Hoyte the ERP was already set in motion to uplift the country,debt write off,privatization of government holdings,etc.The country was on solid footings until Jagan death.Few years after,hell break loose the rest is history.

Can you elaborate more.

Erroneous,PPP/C took over from Desmond Hoyte the ERP was already set in motion to uplift the country,debt write off,privatization of government holdings,etc.The country was on solid footings until Jagan death.Few years after,hell break loose the rest is history.

Violent crime that we see today went out of control in Jagdeo's reign. He facilitated and turned a blind eye to drug trafficking since it brought in huge revenues for the country. The drug trafficking industry that Jagdeo created also brought with it violent crime, guns and money laundering like we never experienced before in Guyana.

Shu dat is the new excuse for the PNC clowns ? They killed the economy and now they claim that it was drug money that was driving the economy ?

Why don’t you and the the rest with all of your evidence take it to the feds ? 

This is funny Shyte. It reminds me of the hundreds of millions of audits that came up empty handed. 

People stopped buying BS and snake oil a long time ago. 

It is like someone calling Mars a thief man and the only evidence that they have is “dem bais seh suh”

Shu dat is the new excuse for the PNC clowns ? They killed the economy and now they claim that it was drug money that was driving the economy ?

This is funny Shute. It reminds me of the hundreds of millions of audits that came up empty handed. 

It is like someone calling Mars a thief man and the only evidence that they have is “dem bais seh suh”

Only a klown like you would pretend that you don't know the effect that drug trafficking has on Guyana. Look around at many other Latin American and Caribbean countries and you'll see the same phenomenon existing. Don't you think that the Feds know this already? Why do you think the DEA was trying for years to set up an office in Guyana? It's no secret that Guyana's underground economy received a huge boost from the proceeds of drug trafficking but a nincompoop like you would not understand this. Drugs also brought with it the violent crime that we see today along with guns and money laundering. And it spiraled out of control during Jagdeo's reign due to his facilitation of the drug industry and his failure to go after the drug lords with a show of force. He tried all he could to keep out the DEA and Scotland Yard just to protect the drug lords and their booming business. 

Brother Sheik, The AFC/PNC campaigned to reduce crime. How about we hold them to their many fake promises ?

Bai,  that may be so. But from how I see it, crime in guyana has spiralled out of control and there seems to be no end in sight. No matter which Govt. Is in charge, they just can keep a lid on it. Small country. Big issues.

Ow bai, take any evidence that you have to the feds nah ?

All of that dem bias seh BS is not working anymore.

PNC killed a vibrant economy TWICE. Guyanese stopped buying snake oil a long time ago. 

The PNC cannot even build a toilet. They are trying every excuse in the book to cover up their incompetence. This is funny Shyte to watch clowns bring up Jagdeo to cover up a bunch of crooks and clueless clowns governing Guyana today.

BTW, Jagdeo is running them with a cutlass on a daily basis. These PNC clowns are sitting on their hands. They campaigned to reduce crime.

How about you show some decency and start asking the fair questions about their campaign lies about reducing crime and growing the economy ?

That will be a good start. Guyanese are fed up with the daily BS about Jagdeo this and Jagdeo that.

What is the dummy Granger doing ? He is in charge.

Ow bai, take any evidence that you have to the feds nah ?

All of that dem bias seh BS is not working anymore.

PNC killed a vibrant economy TWICE. Guyanese stopped buying snake oil a long time ago. 

The PNC cannot even build a toilet. They are trying every excuse in the book to cover up their incompetence. This is funny Shyte to watch clowns bring up Jagdeo to cover up a bunch of crooks and clueless clowns governing Guyana today.

BTW, Jagdeo is running them with a cutlass on a daily basis. These PNC clowns are sitting on their hands. They campaigned to reduce crime.

How about you show some decency and start asking the fair questions about their campaign lies about reducing crime and growing the economy ?

That will be a good start. Guyanese are fed up with the daily BS about Jagdeo this and Jagdeo that.

What is the dummy Granger doing ? He is in charge.

Stupidy, don't you think that the Feds are already aware of the effects that drugs had on Guyana? I don't have to tell them that. Any discussion on the explosion of violent crime has to include Jagdeo because he was the one in charge when it went out of control. Violent crime has been reduced under the Coalition Government. The statistics bear that out. It is a lot better than the days of the crime wave when Jagdeo was in power and every morning the hearses would be retrieving dead bodies strewn all over the country.

Dog food vendor shot twice in robbery

A male suspect who shot a dog food vendor twice and robbed two females of their cellular phones, is being sought, the police said today.

The incident occurred about 20:40h, yesterday, at the corner of Aubrey Barker and Stevedore, North Ruimveldt. The suspect fled the scene in a waiting motor car.

The injured victim Shane Cooper, 26 of Jackson Ville, North Ruimveldt, is presently warded at the G.P.H.C where he underwent emergency surgery for gunshot wounds to the abdomen and left leg. He is said to be in stable but serious condition. One of the two female victims, was also a dog food vendor.

Desperate criminals going after Dog Food!!

HEHEHE Yuji, Sheik voted for change, well let him take change in his kakahole

Bhai

Dem Bais are singing a stale tune about Jagdeo this and Jagdeo that. 

They need to ask the hard question, what is Dummy Granger doing ? He is in charge.

How about the change that they voted for ?

Time for them to stop this Jagdeo this and Jagdeo that and ask the PNC dummies to save the economy and reduce crime.

Guyanese are fed up with this Jagdeo this and Jagdeo that BS.

WHAT IS DUMMY GRANGER DOING ?

HEHEHE Yuji, Sheik voted for change, well let him take change in his kakahole

Bhai

Dem Bais are singing a stale tune about Jagdeo this and Jagdeo that. 

They need to ask the hard question, what is Dummy Granger doing ? He is in charge.

How about the change that they voted for ?

Time for them to stop this Jagdeo this and Jagdeo that and ask the PNC dummies to save the economy and reduce crime.

Guyanese are fed up with this Jagdeo this and Jagdeo that BS.

WHAT IS DUMMY GRANGER DOING ?

Crime is a lot better under Granger than Jagdeo. If you think that it will disappear completely, you're just delusional.

Well, the last time I checked the article was exposing the lack of reporting as a false sense of reduction of crime.

Only a clown will buy into the fake news numbers that the PNC liars are peddling.

Dummy Granger is in charge and he is doing shyte about it.

Poor Ramjattan, his hands are tied as he watches helplessly. 

Maybe but the PNC were condoning, supporting and planning the CRIMES during the PPP from Buxton, Sophia and Agricolla. So put dat in yuh pipe and SMOKE it!!!

It is amazing how these clowns are backing Dummy Granger and not holding him to his promises.

Day in and day out they Ghotay Dhall about Jagdeo this and Jagdeo that while the Dummy Granger does NOTHING. 

Well, the last time I checked the article was exposing the lack of reporting as a false sense of reduction of crime.

Only a clown will buy into the fake news numbers that the PNC liars are peddling.

Dummy Granger is in charge and he is doing shyte about it.

Poor Ramjattan, his hands are tied as he watches helplessly. 

I guess you believe every bit of fake news you read. No wonder you think that Trump is the next coming of the Mahatma.

Granger's doing a lot better job on crime than Jagdeo and the PPP. It's not perfect but there is notable improvement. And the city doesn't smell as stink as it did during the PPP years.

This is funny Shute. It reminds me of the hundreds of millions of audits that came up empty handed. 

Only a klown like you would pretend that you don't know the effect that drug trafficking has on Guyana. Look around at many other Latin American and Caribbean countries and you'll see the same phenomenon existing. Don't you think that the Feds know this already? Why do you think the DEA was trying for years to set up an office in Guyana? It's no secret that Guyana's underground economy received a huge boost from the proceeds of drug trafficking but a nincompoop like you would not understand this. Drugs also brought with it the violent crime that we see today along with guns and money laundering. And it spiraled out of control during Jagdeo's reign due to his facilitation of the drug industry and his failure to go after the drug lords with a show of force. He tried all he could to keep out the DEA and Scotland Yard just to protect the drug lords and their booming business. 

Latin America and even North America the crimes are centered around GANGS, MS13 and others, Guyana don't have Drug Gangs that control territory , they are small numbers of have noths who are lazy and want to get rich fast. Some see the politicians living BIG in a Donkey cart economy and they want to get BIG.

The USA wants to station the DEA in Guyana is a small extent to control the flow of drugs to USA, but to use the poor third world nation as a base to spy on Central and Latin America, DEA is intertwined with the FBI & CIA they serve multi purpose. I am not surprise that EXXON is used as a Front for the same purpose. Exxon is building it's own private compound with their own sophisticated security even the Guyana police can't enter.

Latin America and even North America the crimes are centered around GANGS, MS13 and others, Guyana don't have Drug Gangs that control territory , they are small numbers of have noths who are lazy and want to get rich fast. Some see the politicians living BIG in a Donkey cart economy and they want to get BIG.

The USA wants to station the DEA in Guyana is a small extent to control the flow of drugs to USA, but to use the poor third world nation as a base to spy on Central and Latin America, DEA is intertwined with the FBI & CIA they serve multi purpose. I am not surprise that EXXON is used as a Front for the same purpose. Exxon is building it's own private compound with their own sophisticated security even the Guyana police can't enter.

The gangs in Guyana are not as big as in Mexico or North America but there are no large gangs in Trinidad or Barbados either and they still have a problem with drugs, so what's your point? Guyana had drug lords like Roger Khan, Brahma and others with a crew working for them during the Jagdeo years. A lot of those crews are mostly dismantled and it's now individuals with a little help trying to export drugs in furniture, seafood, lumber or any similar commodities. 

Spying was Jagdeo's excuse for blocking the DEA and Scotland Yard from helping to reduce crime in Guyana. I guess he was afraid they would spy on him and find all the connections with the drug lords. Keeping the DEA and Scotland Yard out was his way of protecting the drug lords as well as their associates in the PPP.

Regarding your assumption,is that good or bad ?

Dog food vendor shot twice in robbery

A male suspect who shot a dog food vendor twice and robbed two females of their cellular phones, is being sought, the police said today.

The incident occurred about 20:40h, yesterday, at the corner of Aubrey Barker and Stevedore, North Ruimveldt. The suspect fled the scene in a waiting motor car.

The injured victim Shane Cooper, 26 of Jackson Ville, North Ruimveldt, is presently warded at the G.P.H.C where he underwent emergency surgery for gunshot wounds to the abdomen and left leg. He is said to be in stable but serious condition. One of the two female victims, was also a dog food vendor.

Desperate criminals going after Dog Food!!

Change PNC style. Dog eats Dog.

Maybe but the PNC were condoning, supporting and planning the CRIMES during the PPP from Buxton, Sophia and Agricolla. So put dat in yuh pipe and SMOKE it!!!

It is amazing how these clowns are backing Dummy Granger and not holding him to his promises.

Day in and day out they Ghotay Dhall about Jagdeo this and Jagdeo that while the Dummy Granger does NOTHING. 

Banna you saying the same shit constantly, shut yo cunny.

APNU/AFC do not have what it takes to solve the problem of crime. They just took your votes and sold you out. Keep this in mind when you vote the next time.  These parties have betrayed you and they have no intention of uniting our people and strengthening our democracy. They are on a mission to line their pockets worse than what the previous government did. You the people of this country will never find the ideal government that won't tolerate corruption.  You can, however, find one that does a better job at management the economy with a lower level of corruption.  With the PNC/AFC in the equation it's not a case of picking your poison. It's pick the wrong poison and die or pick the other and feel better with a little side-effect. 

Crime and corruption was ten times worse under the previous government. Like your Alzheimer's condition is getting worse? 

Guyana is an Independent Country, we cut ties with Great Britain ,we even kicked them out of the country, I know of some that were given 48 hours to leave the country.Today, we are seeking the USA to replace the British. Just if China and USA should be at odds, Guyana will be forced to pick sides, duttie Trump loves to use that method. Massa Days will come back, the US is there to protect their interest and if possible destabilize the country when needed, using the old formula one race against another. That is happening in the Middle East.

And Jagdeo didn't lock up any PNC officials for doing as you claim? 

He should have.  Then we wouldn't have the likes of Greenidge, Green and the rest of the PNC cabal running the country today.

So you’re saying that he was too much of a wuss to take decisive action to fight those he suspected of committing criminal acts? What was he supposed to do with the phantom squad murderers, drug lords and House of Israelites who were working for the PPP while he was giving them protection? Those were criminals deserving of prosecution too. No?

Guyana is an Independent Country, we cut ties with Great Britain ,we even kicked them out of the country, I know of some that were given 48 hours to leave the country.Today, we are seeking the USA to replace the British. Just if China and USA should be at odds, Guyana will be forced to pick sides, duttie Trump loves to use that method. Massa Days will come back, the US is there to protect their interest and if possible destabilize the country when needed, using the old formula one race against another. That is happening in the Middle East.

If what you have concluded materialize,the people of Guyana have tough times ahead.The PPP will be in the pastures for a long while,not good for democracy.Anyway the people with effective leadership, can overturn any destabilization.Democracy will prevail.