A stockbroker urged me to buy a stock that would triple its value every year. I told him, 'At my age, I don't even buy green bananas.' -Claude Pepper
Sonrisa (Guest)
Let's all be kind to ourselves to receive the blessings of tomorrow.
~P.Juno, GNI
Sonrisa (Guest)
The most important ingredient we put into any relationship is not what we say or what we do, but what we are.
~Stephen R. Covey
Sonrisa (Guest)
Who finds a faithful friend, finds a treasure. -- Jewish Saying
Hold a true friend with both your hands. -- Nigerian Proverb
One who looks for a friend without faults will have none. -- Hasidic Saying
Friendship doubles our joy and divides our grief.-- Swedish proverb
"In the sweetness of friendship let there be laughter, and sharing of pleasures."
-- Kahil Gibran
Hold a true friend with both your hands. -- Nigerian Proverb
One who looks for a friend without faults will have none. -- Hasidic Saying
Friendship doubles our joy and divides our grief.-- Swedish proverb
"In the sweetness of friendship let there be laughter, and sharing of pleasures."
-- Kahil Gibran
Taxes and golf are alike, you drive your heart out for the green, and then end up in the hole. - Source unknown
A long term investment is a short term investment that failed. -Anonymous
My broker and I are working on a retirement plan. Unfortunately, it's his. -Anonymous
A life spent making mistakes is not only more honorable, but more useful than a life spent doing nothing.
George Bernard Shaw
Sonrisa (Guest)
This victory alone is not the change we seek. It is only the chance for us to make that change. And that cannot happen if we go back to the way things were.
~ President Obama (from his victory speech)
Today's Message of the Day is:
Life is short, break the rules, forgive quickly, kiss slowly, love truly, laugh uncontrollably, and never regret anything that made you smile.
Whatever You Give To Life, Life Gives You Back
Ani (Guest)
this is really good rosita, especally never regret the things that make you laughquote:Originally posted by Rosita:
Today's Message of the Day is:
Sonrisa (Guest)
As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them.
~John Fitzgerald Kennedy
Never invest your money in anything that eats or needs repairing. - Billy Rose
Sonrisa (Guest)
quote:Originally posted by antabanta:
Never invest your money in anything that eats or needs repairing. - Billy Rose
Not even a weed eater?
Sonrisa (Guest)
Ignorance and prejudice are fuelling the spread of a preventable disease. World AIDS Day, 1 December is an opportunity for people worldwide to unite in the fight against HIV and AIDS.... [I]t's up to you, me and us to stop the spread of HIV and end prejudice.
~worldaidsday.org, 2006
No one has a memory that can make them a successful liar.
Betting against America has been the stupidest thing since 1776. - Warren Buffett
Sonrisa (Guest)
Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire.
~William Butler Yeats
"It is not recommended for investors who are namby pamby, lily livered scaredy cats, subject to the heebie jeebies, waffling, episodes of the twitters, or coming apart at the seams." - A "warning" in an advertisement for the Munder@dvantage fund in the year 2000, described as a high-risk, high-potential, venture-focused fund focusing on Internet and technology companies.
It is sheer madness to live in want in order to be wealthy when you die. - Juvenal
If you pelt a President with shoes, be prepared to pay your dues!- Alex
Sonrisa (Guest)
"Happiness depends more on how life strikes you than on what happens."
~~Andy Rooney~~
Sonrisa (Guest)
Christmas waves a magic wand over this world, and behold, everything is softer and more beautiful.
~~Norman Vincent Peale~~
In the search for companies to acquire, we adopt the same attitude one might find appropriate in looking for a spouse: it pays to be active, interested, and open minded, but it does not pay to be in a hurry. - Warren Buffett
Not he who has little, but he who wishes more, is poor. - Seneca
The law, in its majestic equality, forbids the rich as well as the poor, to sleep under bridges, to beg in the streets and to steal bread. - Anatole France
Nah because dog ah play with yuh he nah bite yuh.
Some people talk kindly to you but they are capable of hurting you.
(got this from the guyana online site)
Some people talk kindly to you but they are capable of hurting you.
(got this from the guyana online site)
I think there is a world market for about five computers. - Thomas Watson, Chairman of IBM, 1943
Everything we have and everything we enjoy, including our very life, is due to the kindness of others. In fact, every happiness there is in the world arises as a result of others' kindness.
Geshe Kelsang Gyatso
In many ways, we're a one-trick pony. It's just a good trick. - Jeff Bezos, CEO of Amazon
Sonrisa (Guest)
"Even if you're on the right track, you'll get run over if you
just sit there."
-- Will Rogers
just sit there."
-- Will Rogers
In an EKG there are ups and downs, that is what life is about! Alex.
Sonrisa (Guest)
"Interestingly, koi, when put in a fish bowl, will only grow up to three inches. When this same fish is placed in a large tank, it will grow to about nine inches long. In a pond koi can reach lengths of eighteen inches. Amazingly, when placed in a lake, koi can grow to three feet long. The metaphor is obvious. You are limited by how you see the world."
-- Vince Poscente
Foreplay is better than no play. Alex.
I've got all the money I'll ever need if I die by four o'clock. - Henny Youngman
Rupert (Guest)
...but Alexi gets all the play in the world. Congrats, Sir, you got it going on and on and on...quote:Originally posted by Alexander:
Foreplay is better than no play. Alex.
Sonrisa (Guest)
There's no use talking about the problem unless you talk about the solution.
~ Betty Williams
Rupert (Guest)
"An idle brain is the devil's workshop. The devil finds work (or mischief) for idle hands to do." H. G. Bohn
Rupert (Guest)
"As empty vessels make the loudest sound:
so they that have least wit, are the greatest babblers."
W. Baldwin, 'Treatise of Moral Philosophy'
so they that have least wit, are the greatest babblers."
W. Baldwin, 'Treatise of Moral Philosophy'
156 online (0 members
156 guests)