When I despair, I remember that all through history the ways of truth and love have always won. There have been tyrants, and murderers, and for a time they can seem invincible, but in the end they always fall. Think of it--always.
Mahatma Gandhi
Rupert (Guest)
βThe Condemnation of the Unrighteous (Heathens):
For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of people who suppress the truth by their unrighteousness. For although they knew God, they did not glorify him as God or give him thanks, but they became futile in their thoughts and their senseless hearts were darkened. Although they claimed to be wise, they became fools and exchanged the glory of the immortal God for an image resembling mortal human beings or birds or four-footed animals or reptiles. Therefore God gave them over in the desires of their hearts to impurity, to dishonor their bodies among themselves. They exchanged the truth of God for a lie and worshiped and served the creation rather than the Creator. And just as they did not see fit to acknowledge God, God gave them over to a depraved mind, to do what should not be done. They are filled with every kind of unrighteousness, wickedness, covetousness, malice. They are rife with envy, murder, strife, deceit, hostility. They are gossipers, slanderers, haters of God, insolent, arrogant, boastful, contrivers of all sorts of evil, disobedient to parents, senseless, covenant-breakers, heartless, ruthless. Although they fully know Godβs righteous decree that those who practice such things deserve to die, they not only do them but also approve of those who practice them."
Romans 1:18-32
For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of people who suppress the truth by their unrighteousness. For although they knew God, they did not glorify him as God or give him thanks, but they became futile in their thoughts and their senseless hearts were darkened. Although they claimed to be wise, they became fools and exchanged the glory of the immortal God for an image resembling mortal human beings or birds or four-footed animals or reptiles. Therefore God gave them over in the desires of their hearts to impurity, to dishonor their bodies among themselves. They exchanged the truth of God for a lie and worshiped and served the creation rather than the Creator. And just as they did not see fit to acknowledge God, God gave them over to a depraved mind, to do what should not be done. They are filled with every kind of unrighteousness, wickedness, covetousness, malice. They are rife with envy, murder, strife, deceit, hostility. They are gossipers, slanderers, haters of God, insolent, arrogant, boastful, contrivers of all sorts of evil, disobedient to parents, senseless, covenant-breakers, heartless, ruthless. Although they fully know Godβs righteous decree that those who practice such things deserve to die, they not only do them but also approve of those who practice them."
Romans 1:18-32
Sonrisa (Guest)
βLet your actions always speak for you, but be forever on guard against the terrible traps of false pride and conceit that can halt your progress. The next time you are tempted to boast, just place your fist in a full pail of water, and when you remove it, the hole remaining will give you a correct measure of your importance.β
~Og Mandino~
Well behaved women rarely make history
Rupert (Guest)
Act with courtesy and fairness regardless of how others treat you. Don't let them determine your response.
He who smiles, rather than rages, is always the stronger. Japanese Wisdom
Rupert (Guest)
The Seven Deadly Sins: Lust, Gluttony, Greed, Sloth, Wrath, Envy, Pride.
The Seven Heavenly Virtues: Chastity, Temperance, Charity, Diligence, Patience, Kindness, Humility.
[From Envy in the Wikipedia article above.]
The Seven Heavenly Virtues: Chastity, Temperance, Charity, Diligence, Patience, Kindness, Humility.
[From Envy in the Wikipedia article above.]
Boi Rupert, this is so apt to an email that I just responded to..
quote:Originally posted by Pointblank:
Well behaved women rarely make history
Are you saying that Mother Therisa was not well behaved.
If a woman pushes her husband far enough he will achieve great things .Alex.
Rupert (Guest)
The hypocrite's crime is that he bears false witness against himself. What makes it so plausible to assume that hypocrisy is the vice of vices is that integrity can indeed exist under the cover of all other vices except this one. Only crime and the criminal, it is true, confront us with the perplexity of radical evil; but only the hypocrite is really rotten to the core.
~Hannah Arendt, On Revolution, 1963
Don't use time and words carelessly. Neither can be retrieved.
Speculators may do no harm as bubbles on a steady stream of enterprise. But the position is serious when enterprise becomes a bubble on a whirlpool of speculation. When the capital development of a country becomes a by-product of the activities of a casino, the job is likely to be ill done. - John Maynard Keynes
The hardest thing in the world to understand is the income tax. - Albert Einstein
The long run is a misleading guide to current affairs. In the long run we are all dead. Economists set themselves too easy, too useless a task if in tempestuous seasons they can only tell us that when the storm is long past, the ocean will be flat. - John Maynard Keynes
you live with the lame...you learn to limp...RQ
wa sweeta mouth does b bitter ayu a55
Hold your tongue when you are angry. You'll be glad you did.
The optimist sees opportunity in every danger; the pessimist sees danger in every opportunity. - Winston Churchil
Meditation is the best medication. Alex
Sonrisa (Guest)
"Let go of your attachment to being right, and suddenly your mind is more open. You're able to benefit from the unique viewpoints of others, without being crippled by your own judgment."
~ Ralph Marston
The safest way to double your money is to fold over once and put it in your pocket. - Kin Hubbard
Behind every successful man there is a woman--or two! Alex.
quote:Originally posted by Alexander:
Some one has seen deh light...thank u lord...
There are few if any chronic bears, as pessimists have a hard time making a living in America.
- John Rothchild
quote:Originally posted by Alexander:
WHAT!!! two
Saying by Amber... your money is our money and my money is my money..ok honey
Sonrisa (Guest)
"Don't cry because it's over. Smile because it happened."
-- Dr. Seuss
Coco...I like that quote... I shall tell someone this today...thanks
There's no money in poetry, but then there's no poetry in money either. - Robert Graves
There is perhaps no record of a bank fraud existent of which the perpetrator was not honest yesterday. - James Gibbons
There are two things you are better off not watching in the making: sausages and econometric estimates. - Edward Leamer
Behind every silver lining there are clouds. Alex.
Wars and revolutions and battles are due simply and solely to the body and its desires. All wars are undertaken for the acquisition of wealth; and the reason why we have to acquire wealth is the body, because we are slaves in its service. - Socrates
Value is the most invincible and impalpable of ghosts, and comes and goes unthought of while the visible and dense matter remains as it was. - W. Stanley Jevons
We have two classes of forecasters: Those who don't know--and those who don't know they don't know. - John Kenneth Galbraith
A Beautiful Dress is of no use untill it inspires someone to take it off!
Wealth, in even the most improbable cases, manages to convey the aspect of intelligence. - John Kenneth Galbraith
When managers want to get across the facts of a business to you, it can be done within the rules of accounting. Unfortunately, when they want to play games, at least in some industries, it can also be done within the rules of accounting. If you can't recognize the differences, you shouldn't be in the equity-picking business. - Warren Buffett
181 online (1 member
180 guests)