@Lynn posted:Chamkay!! Wildflower used to prappa Chamkay ..hehehe
I was emulating my dearest late friend⦠she was the queen of many things especially the chamkay
at one point she was nicknamed β walk and wineβ ( RIP beautiful soul )
@Lynn posted:Chamkay!! Wildflower used to prappa Chamkay ..hehehe
I was emulating my dearest late friend⦠she was the queen of many things especially the chamkay
@Lynn posted:Braiga!!
Gyal some ppl does get so braiga when dem come a cyanada or merica
@Mitwah posted:PaRosi.
Jane u is me parosin and Me and rajiK was fus βparosinβ because first time I heard that word it was her mom who used it to refer to us
@Wildflower posted:I was emulating my dearest late friend⦠she was the queen of many things especially the chamkay
Beautiful soul indeed !
@Wildflower posted:Jane u is me parosin and Me and rajiK was fus βparosinβ because first time I heard that word it was her mom who used it to refer to us
Then it must b berbician word
lol
Padosan ( movie) ..neighbor/s
D has an βrβ sound in hindi
eg Gynese say βlarkiβ for girl
but it is spelt ladki in hindi
Also, kichidi (hindi) but we say βkichrieβ
or βkadahiβ .. we say β karahiβ
suh me still nah know wht parosi mean!!
help Mits bhaiya
@Lynn, you got it right. That sound does not exist in English. I write 'R' so that make the palatal sound, that is the tongue touching the top of the mouth. So Larki wound sound lardki...
Why is it that some people who speak Hindi etc cannot pronounce βVβ my. coworkers used to say TWee for TV among other words
@Wildflower posted:Why is it that some people who speak Hindi etc cannot pronounce βVβ my. coworkers used to say TWee for TV among other words
Is it Diwali or Divali?
Tell them to say: βGrapes of this vine make excellent wine.β
The Hindi sound for ΰ€΅ in Devanagari is between V and W βa voiced labiodental, the bottom lip + top teeth. It also differs by regions. Some also pronounces it as B... Bishnu for Vishnu, Bindravan for Vindravan
Oh yes I noticed them saying Bictoria for Victoria
@Wildflower posted:Oh yes I noticed them saying Bictoria for Victoria
I rem whn Jo was 8 yrs old n a family came to the church with kids her age..she asked me why they say βyeersβ for EARS!!
I work with may Ind..n they come from all States..Punjab, Gujrat, Kerala etc..different accent!, n yes that W sound for V
i rem this GUJ.. lady who used to say βflyβ for FRY..it took me a long time to get wht she was saying(talking abt FRYING foods)
Churaile..!!
Kaminey means same thing
daku
daru
namak haram
wht abt kunnu munnu..is this Hindi?? Orjust GY slang??
paisa
dudh/doodh
@Mitwah posted:Is it Diwali or Divali?
Tell them to say: βGrapes of this vine make excellent wine.β
The Hindi sound for ΰ€΅ in Devanagari is between V and W βa voiced labiodental, the bottom lip + top teeth. It also differs by regions. Some also pronounces it as B... Bishnu for Vishnu, Bindravan for Vindravan
How bout Wagina?
Kunnu Munnu = A cunumunu is a stupid person, an idiot. Often used when teasing someone.
They would screw up this part if ever trying out for the awesome movie "V for Vendetta"
When asked who he was V replied;
VoilΓ ! In view, a humble vaudevillian veteran, cast vicariously as both victim and villain by the vicissitudes of Fate. This visage, no mere veneer of vanity, is a vestige of the vox populi, now vacant, vanished. However, this valorous visitation of a by-gone vexation, stands vivified and has vowed to vanquish these venal and virulent vermin vanguarding vice and vouchsafing the violently vicious and voracious violation of volition.The only verdict is vengeance; a vendetta, held as a votive, not in vain, for the value and veracity of such shall one day vindicate the vigilant and the virtuous.
Verily, this vichyssoise of verbiage veers most verbose, so let me simply add that it's my very good honor to meet you and you may call me V.
@Mitwah posted:Kunnu Munnu = A cunumunu is a stupid person, an idiot. Often used when teasing someone.
I know wht it means but is it hindi??
@Lynn posted:I know wht it means but is it hindi??
It's Trini or Jamaican and adopted by Guyanese.