quote:Originally posted by bird:
ToTo- "Africa"
Oh shucks..this one bring back some memories..thanks..
quote:Originally posted by Amber:quote:Originally posted by bird:
ToTo- "Africa"
Oh shucks..this one bring back some memories..thanks..
Yes this is one great tune
Air Supply was one of the biggest groups of the 80's guys, I fell in love with that group the first time I heard this song.
http://youtube.com/watch?v=6lE6Htee0sA
ending up buying 5 LP's from that group during the 80's
I think this was in that era too
You Needed Me - Anne Murray
http://youtube.com/watch?v=Wq2-2xztcHY
Got the LP with that tune.
You Needed Me - Anne Murray
http://youtube.com/watch?v=Wq2-2xztcHY
Got the LP with that tune.
The 80's that is my time for music, this is a great thread.
Neil Diamond
http://youtube.com/watch?v=_vQHjBNJmy4
Jazz Singer, must have pumped the volume up so many times with this song.
Neil Diamond
http://youtube.com/watch?v=_vQHjBNJmy4
Jazz Singer, must have pumped the volume up so many times with this song.
Graceland - Paul Simon, another great tune You can call me Al
http://youtube.com/watch?v=HOiVaE-pKqM
Staying Alive, the follow up to Saturday Night Fever came out in the early 80's also.
Bee Gees once again had several hits there and Travolta took off once again.
Ambs I leave you to post the hits from Staying Alive
Bee Gees once again had several hits there and Travolta took off once again.
Ambs I leave you to post the hits from Staying Alive
Staying alive:
http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=ncmRpJVmrxk
"Stayin' Alive" is a song by the Bee Gees, released as a single in 1977. It was their second hit off of the album Saturday Night Fever ("How Deep Is Your Love" had been released two months earlier, and "Night Fever" followed two months later). "Stayin' Alive" is one of The Bee Gees' most popular and recognizable songs, in part because it was played in the opening scene of the mega-popular disco film, Saturday Night Fever. The song can still be heard in a variety of venues, ranging from dance halls to sporting events.
The song was not originally supposed to be released as a single, but fans called radio stations and RSO Records immediately after seeing trailers for Saturday Night Fever, in which the aforementioned introductory scene was played. The single was eventually released in mid-December, a month after the album, and moved to the top of the Billboard Hot 100 in the United States in February, where it would stay for four weeks. Soon after, it would slide to number two, locking in a solid one-two punch with the Bee Gees' other hit from the album, "Night Fever". In the United Kingdom, "Stayin' Alive" was a solid seller but not as popular as it was in the United States, topping out at number four.
Further demonstrating the Bee Gees' U.S. chart domination in 1978, "Stayin' Alive" was replaced at number one with the group's younger brother Andy Gibb's single, "Love Is Thicker Than Water", followed by the Bee Gees' own "Night Fever". This was then replaced by Yvonne Elliman's "If I Can't Have You". Since Barry Gibb had a hand in writing all four of these songs, he became the only person in history to write four consecutive US Number One singles; this feat has not been matched to this day.
Besides the version that appeared on the soundtrack album (and subsequent CD release) and the edited single for the 45RPM and Top 40 radio release, there was yet another version, of the same basic mix, that was distributed to Club DJs and radio stations that specialized in airing "longer versions" of hit songs. This "Special Disco Version" as it was called, featured all the same parts as the basic album version mix, but had a mysterious "horn rhythm section" part interjected twice in this version, but turned out to be broadcast on very few U.S. radio stations.
As for the message of the song, Robin Gibb was quoted as saying, "Stayin' Alive" is about survival in the big city"âany big city"âbut basically New York."
[edit]Music Video
The music video for the song is of a completely different concept to Saturday Night Fever. It depicts the group singing the song on a movie set next to the one where they were filming "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band" at the time. It was a set featuring buildings, a train station, and other features. [Info courtesy: wikipedia.org]
http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=ncmRpJVmrxk
"Stayin' Alive" is a song by the Bee Gees, released as a single in 1977. It was their second hit off of the album Saturday Night Fever ("How Deep Is Your Love" had been released two months earlier, and "Night Fever" followed two months later). "Stayin' Alive" is one of The Bee Gees' most popular and recognizable songs, in part because it was played in the opening scene of the mega-popular disco film, Saturday Night Fever. The song can still be heard in a variety of venues, ranging from dance halls to sporting events.
The song was not originally supposed to be released as a single, but fans called radio stations and RSO Records immediately after seeing trailers for Saturday Night Fever, in which the aforementioned introductory scene was played. The single was eventually released in mid-December, a month after the album, and moved to the top of the Billboard Hot 100 in the United States in February, where it would stay for four weeks. Soon after, it would slide to number two, locking in a solid one-two punch with the Bee Gees' other hit from the album, "Night Fever". In the United Kingdom, "Stayin' Alive" was a solid seller but not as popular as it was in the United States, topping out at number four.
Further demonstrating the Bee Gees' U.S. chart domination in 1978, "Stayin' Alive" was replaced at number one with the group's younger brother Andy Gibb's single, "Love Is Thicker Than Water", followed by the Bee Gees' own "Night Fever". This was then replaced by Yvonne Elliman's "If I Can't Have You". Since Barry Gibb had a hand in writing all four of these songs, he became the only person in history to write four consecutive US Number One singles; this feat has not been matched to this day.
Besides the version that appeared on the soundtrack album (and subsequent CD release) and the edited single for the 45RPM and Top 40 radio release, there was yet another version, of the same basic mix, that was distributed to Club DJs and radio stations that specialized in airing "longer versions" of hit songs. This "Special Disco Version" as it was called, featured all the same parts as the basic album version mix, but had a mysterious "horn rhythm section" part interjected twice in this version, but turned out to be broadcast on very few U.S. radio stations.
As for the message of the song, Robin Gibb was quoted as saying, "Stayin' Alive" is about survival in the big city"âany big city"âbut basically New York."
[edit]Music Video
The music video for the song is of a completely different concept to Saturday Night Fever. It depicts the group singing the song on a movie set next to the one where they were filming "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band" at the time. It was a set featuring buildings, a train station, and other features. [Info courtesy: wikipedia.org]
I love you too much:
http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=sHMsIbiqPIo
Woman in you:
http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=HQtD6GuhRTw
http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=sHMsIbiqPIo
Woman in you:
http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=HQtD6GuhRTw
quote:Originally posted by Amber:
"Stayin' Alive" is a song by the Bee Gees, released as a single in 1977.
ahmmmm, dis thread is fuh Hits from the 80's
I am talking about the movie Staying Alive
Here is another GEM
The Moody Blues - I Know You're Out There Somewhere
http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=MSyRFLlYnWI
Just for Amber
The Moody Blues - I Know You're Out There Somewhere
http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=MSyRFLlYnWI
Just for Amber
quote:Originally posted by Pink Panther:
another popular song on the radio in guyana during my school days.
Gerry Rafferty Baker Street
yeah that is one great tune
quote:Since Barry Gibb had a hand in writing all four of these songs, he became the only person in history to write four consecutive US Number One singles; this feat has not been matched to this day.
Interesting fact
ABC - Poison Arrow :
http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=X69xQl-xF1k
Sailing: Christopher Cross:
http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=vqfz1l9s6k0
Robbie Dupree Steal Away:
http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=zj7pVfkSibQ
http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=X69xQl-xF1k
Sailing: Christopher Cross:
http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=vqfz1l9s6k0
Robbie Dupree Steal Away:
http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=zj7pVfkSibQ