Next one. In the 1990s an accomplished American saxophonist toured Guyana and nearly got stranded there because the promoters didn't pay him the full amount of money previously agreed upon. What's his name?
Ace Cannon
Ace Cannon
Ace Cannon
Correct!!
Django --- First Prize
Anjali --- Second Prize
Enjoy this Ace Cannon selection and have a great weekend everyone.
Friday's relaxing quiz.
In the early 1960s an American singer-songwriter popularized a new dance style that became a craze internationally, including in Guyana and India. That singer toured Guyana and autographed his records at Auto Supplies Record Bar in Georgetown. What's his name and what's the name of that dance style?
Gil how me guh know dah,i was a lil bhai running
around me grandparents rice field having fun
ketching birds climbing trees fuh fruits, take a peek
in them them bird nest,juk broom pionter in the bee nest
fuh honey.
That's no excuse Me nah been barn yet but I know that
Chubby Checker
The Twist
Correct! Congratulations!!
There was a Bollywood movie featuring the Twist and a Hindi version of Chubby Checker's song too.
Here is Chubby Checker's version:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=im9XuJJXylw
And here is the Indian version:
Nice!
I had forgot about Mehmood
Friday's relaxing quiz.
In the early 1960s an American singer-songwriter popularized a new dance style that became a craze internationally, including in Guyana and India. That singer toured Guyana and autographed his records at Auto Supplies Record Bar in Georgetown. What's his name and what's the name of that dance style?
fuh honey.
me gat wan feeling some bady a help you with the answer.
Friday's relaxing quiz.
fuh honey.
All participants are encouraged to phone a friend or relative for answers.
Friday's relaxing quiz.
fuh honey.
That is my problem, nobody does call Iman back after I leff a message..I does think maybe they forgot but is when It happen like about fifty times, I start worry.
March is ending tomorrow.
Let's round off the month with some real brain teasers.
The young leaves of a certain plant when squashed are used as soap by the Patamona people in Guyana. What's the name of that plant? You can give either the Patamona name or the scientific name.
Carry crow bush
Furcraea Foetida
carrion crow bush
Angali may be the winner i hold back with my
second answer.
Furcraea Foetida
That's the scientific name indeed. The Patamona name is karowhakyik.
You're becoming an expert researcher. Congratulations!!
kp and Django are way off mark today. You think I should spank them with a carrion crow whip?
This is what the Patamona plant looks like:
Furcraea Foetida
kp and Django are way off mark today. You think I should spank them with a carrion crow whip?
Thank you kindly, Sir.
No, no spanking. Maybe tomorrow they will get the correct answer.
Furcraea Foetida
Furcraea foetida (L.) Haw.
Family: Asparagaceae
Synonyms: Agave bulbosa K.Koch, Agave commelyni Salm-Dyck, Agave foetida L., Agave gigantea (Vent.) D.Dietr., Agave madagascariensis (Haw.) Salm-Dyck, Aloe foetida (L.) Crantz, Fourcroya gigantea (Vent.) Hook., Funium pi Hierum Willemet, Furcraea atroviridis Jacobi & Goeff., Furcraea barillettii Jacobi, Furcraea commelyni (Salm-Dyck) Kunth, Furcraea gigantea Vent., Furcraea madagascariensis Haw., Furcraea viridis Hemsl., Furcraea watsoniana Sander, Furcraea gigantea var. mediopicta Trel.
English: Mauritius-hemp, Giant Cabuya, Green-aloe
Finnish: Mauritiuksenhamppu
French: Sissal
Portuguese: piteira gigante
Description: Stem short; Β± 1 m. Leaves large up to 156 x 7-9 cm, crowded, broadly oblanceolate, almost flat, undulate, somewhat roughened beneath, entire. Inflorescence large, paniculate, scape c. 6-12 m. Flowers pale yellow to green-white, fragrant, tubular, perianth segments 6, spreading; stamens included, filaments short, thick below.
Uses: Root: Mixed with gin and used for back pain. In Surinam, an infusion with sweet oil is drunk for treating syphilis. Leaf: Decoction for a febrifuge. Leaves are used in a preparation with molasses or honey for children's obstinate colds. Leaves are used as a fish poison by the Guyana Patamona. Macerated young leaves are used as a shampoo by the Guyana Patamona. Squashed young leaves are used as a soap by the Guyana Patamona. [Medicinal Plants of the Guianas (Guyana, Surinam, French Guiana)]
I found the correct answer after posting my first answer
,decided to gave Angali the honors of winning today.
....and I decided to give everyone a chance today too
Ohhh riya, you're sooo sweet!
thanks Django and Riya..(had actually wondered how come you did not answer) that is so nice of you.
Friday's relaxing quiz.
fuh honey.
some body call skeltonman him is a professor
It could only be the twist by Chubby Checker. But the real guy who came up with it was Hank Ballard. He never got the recognition for it though and it was always credited to Chubby Checker.
Monday's child is fair of face; Tuesday's child is full of grace....
Let's see who is full of grace today.
In February 1972 a former Black Power activist turned Muslim arrived in Guyana for Mashramani. While in Georgetown, news broke that police had found shallow graves with dead bodies in his Trinidad backyard. The prominent visitor checked out of his hotel and went mystic. Guyanese police launched a manhunt and found him in the interior. Give the man's birth name, his Black Power name and his Muslim name. [Three names required for first prize.]
Michael de Freitas - birth name.
Michael X - Black Power name.
Michael Abdul Malik - Muslim name.
(1) Michael de Freitas
(2) Michael X
(3) Abdul Malik
Michael de Freitas - birth name.
Michael X - Black Power name.
Michael Abdul Malik - Muslim name.
Sharper and sharper she comes, this girl named Anjali.
You win! Congratulations!!
Yes, Michael de Freitas made a name for himself in England as a Black Power champion. In the end, he was charged and convicted for the murder of his followers in Trinidad in 1972 and hanged three years later.
I should tell you that I attended the flag-raising ceremony at the National Park on the evening of February 22, 1972, and standing just four feet from me was Michael Abdul Malik looking smart in suit and tie. I took a good look at him because I had just finished reading his memoir From Michael de Freitas to Michael X.
Here he is with the famous John Lennon and Yoko Ono:
(1) Michael de Freitas
(2) Michael X
(3) Abdul Malik
I just noticed your answers. You get second prize. Anjali came first.
Yuh slowing down man, wha happening?
I remember some family of his giving us t shirts with "Free Michael X" I never wore it, didn't know the man, didn't know why he was imprisoned.
(1) Michael de Freitas
(2) Michael X
(3) Abdul Malik
I just noticed your answers. You get second prize. Anjali came first.
Yuh slowing down man, wha happening?
My day start at 10.00am.
This one should be as easy as cheese.
In the late 1970s the Guyana government acquired Versailles Sugar Factory on West Bank Demerara and used its facilities to manufacture bath soap. That soap was marketed in plastic packets of 4 tablets/cakes throughout the 1980s. Name the brand.
Michael X fled to Guyana a few days later and was captured there. He was charged with the murder of Skerritt and Benson, but was never tried for the latter crime.[13] A witness at his trial claimed that Skerritt was a member of Malik's "Black Liberation Army" and had been killed by him because he refused to obey orders to attack a local police station. Malik was found guilty and sentenced to death. The Save Malik Committee, whose members included Angela Davis, Dick Gregory, Kate Millet and others, including the well known "radical lawyer" William Kunstler, who was paid by John Lennon,[12] pleaded for clemency, but he was hanged in 1975.[13]
Other members of the group were tried for Benson's murder. It was asserted that Benson had been shown an open grave and was then pushed in it and hacked at by Michael X with a machete on her neck.[14]
LUX soap. nahhh that was b4 the 80's.
It was imported too. I want the local one.
I left in '73, all I knw is Lux salt soap.
Zex soap
Zex soap
Zex = laundry soap.
Bath soap I'm referring to.
Refresh bath soap
This is a brain tickler i remember when soap
was made there,can't remember the name.
this is a hard one, I am going to guess and say 'ok' soap.
Thanks Sir Gil for my congrats