Originally Posted by Riya:

Refresh bath soap

The answer I was looking for is LILY.

Your answer stumped me. I asked my wife and she said there was a REFRESH soap in the shops but she wasn't sure if it was local. So, last night I called a relative in Guyana who ran a stall in the market in those days. She remembers both Refresh and Lilly. She said she used to get her supplies of Refresh "fram de traders." I asked her where they got it from. She said: "How me goh know? Dem use to bring in ting fram Brazil, Trinidad, Surinam, Venezuela, all ova de world."

In the 1940s British Guiana boasted of an all-round cricketer who represented the colony in regional matches and the West Indies in test cricket. In his debut test match in Barbados, he scored 99 runs. Who was that cricketer and which team was West Indies playing against in that match?

Robert Julian Christiani

Played against England

Robert Julian Christiani (July 19, 1920, Georgetown, British Guiana (now Georgetown, Guyana) – January 4, 2005, Toronto, Canada) was a West Indian cricketer who played in 22 Tests from 1947-48 to 1953-54. At domestic level he played first-class cricket for British Guiana.

Christiani played his first Test in January 1948, playing against England; it was the West Indies first match since 1939 due to the interruption of the Second World War and he was one of seven debutantes fielded by the West Indies. Christiani was dismissed on 99,[1][2] and is one of just three players in the history of Test cricket to have been dismissed one short of a century on debut.

Thank you, Sir Gil.

compliments of wiki.

April Fool's Day came and went. I hope nobody here got fooled.

Quiz now.

She was young and fair and lithe and lively and lovely and merrily danced O mere sona re sona repeatedly and she was bright and wanted to learn how to heal the sick but one breezy sunny day Darkness clobbered her by the sea and stopped her dancing and her dreams forever. Who was she?

Dolly Baksh

True. Dolly Baksh was a dancer who performed on stage at many national and international events. She wanted to become a doctor. She passed 9 subjects at the GCE 'O' Level exams and 2 'A' Level subjects. One September day in 1979 she was killed on the Kitty foreshore. I attended her funeral at her Campbell Avenue home.

Congratulations!!

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/images/2011/04/Belly-Dance.jpg

Originally Posted by Django:

(4)String Band

That's right.

Bumble and the Saints, led by Colin Wharton, was a popular string band in the 1960s. Colin and most band members migrated to England.

You get first prize and kp gets second prize as he posted his answer after yours. Congratulations to you both!!

Here is KISSING BRIDGE by Bumble and the Saints. You should recognize it because the radio had used it as a signature tune for one of its programmes.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yzeCUc4DBxI

Sir Gilbakka? No school today?

I guess we're off for Good Friday

You beat me to it, Riya.

I didn't plan a quiz today because I thought [a mistake] that you and Anjali would take Good Friday off too.

We'll be back on track Monday.

But if yuh want me hurt yuh head, you can answer dis one off de bat. Don't check Bible or Internet resources.

When Jesus was nailed on the cross, what side of his belly/stomach did the Roman soldier juk he spear. The right side or the left side?

No prizes, no winners, just make a guess. Later on you can check whether you're right. I won't intervene.