There was once a shop that sold the best peanut punch in Georgetown. Name that shop and also the shop that introduced Cracker Jack and bubble gum to Guyanese. You must answer both to win. Please specify which is which.
Gaiety?
Riya, I don't want to dampen your day so I'm sending you a souvenir pic of the Gaiety cinema.
Gaiety
Wow! You're our movie star today. Yes, it's Gaiety, which was burned down way back in 1926 when my dad was a teeny weeny baby. Congratulations!!
@Riya, your question mark indicates you're not sure. Anjali is sure sure sure. Eat your heart out.
Thank you Sir
Kay Donna.
By best, I mean the bestest best most widely recognized, and so you have to name one, and then answer the second part of the quiz.
I'd say Ferraj had the best but that's only my personal preference. Ferreira's in Kitty was also good.
Kay Donna.
I never heard of Kay Donna but I could be mistaken. I know of a different theater at BV.
I'd say Ferraj had the best but that's only my personal preference. Ferreira's in Kitty was also good.
Okay, what about the second part of the quiz, the shop that first imported Cracker Jack and bubble gum?
Gaiety?
Riya, I don't want to dampen your day so I'm sending you a souvenir pic of the Gaiety cinema.
Thank you for the consolation prize
I was only answering Jeopardy like
Tivoli Cinema
Kay Donna.
I never heard of Kay Donna but I could be mistaken. I know of a different theater at BV.
I had kept a newspaper article on cinemas and that was metioned but it was before the year you had, sorry. I would say Tivoli.
Tivoli Cinema
Winner. That's the one I know. My uncle lived a few doors down from Tivoli.
There was once a shop that sold the best peanut punch in Georgetown. Name that shop and also the shop that introduced Cracker Jack and bubble gum to Guyanese. You must answer both to win. Please specify which is which.
Deadline: NOON EST & GUYANA TIME
Mars, I'll give you the prize.
Ferraz on Main & Murray/Quamina Streets arguably sold the best peanut punch.
Ferraz was also the first importer of Cracker Jack biscuits and bubble gum, during the Second World War.
Two personal observations:
[1] There was a red body scale in Ferraz that gave you a printed ticket stating your weight on one side, and your "horoscope" on the other, for 5 cents.
[2] I used to get my supplies of Dunhill cigarettes at Ferraz. In my younger years I smoked only imported cigarettes, buying one pack per week on my assistant master's pay of $96/month and later my public servant's pay of $117/month with yearly increments. I started smoking British-made 555 State Express and later switched to Dunhill. Occasionally I also bought a Havana cigar at Ferraz until dem Freedom House bai gave me Havanas they had brought back from Cuba.
One more thing, Ferraz closed down in the late 1970s because of import restrictions and sold out to D'Aguiar's which started Arapaima restaurant.
Let's get away from Berbice today.
Once upon a time at the intersection of Brickdam and Camp Street in the old Garden City, there was a movie house. Name it.
you a wan old,old,old,man
The man is not old old old, he thinks like a mature person
Gaiety?
At the South West corner is the Cathedral (I was an altar boy there)at the North East corner was StMary's RC (been there) North East corner was a cake shop, North West corner was a ground used by StMary's scout troop ( I was also part of that) also the priests residence.
Where would that cinema have been perhaps the ground on the North West corner?
I cannot tell by the pic,sometimes negatives have been used on the wrong side (they did this to our wedding pic and had to do over)
Gaiety?
At the South West corner is the Cathedral (I was an altar boy there)at the North East corner was StMary's RC (been there) North East corner was a cake shop, North West corner was a ground used by StMary's scout troop ( I was also part of that) also the priests residence.
Where would that cinema have been perhaps the ground on the North West corner?
I cannot tell by the pic,sometimes negatives have been used on the wrong side (they did this to our wedding pic and had to do over)
The ground on the north west corner.
New week. Let's begin.
A popular Jamaican reggae singer visited Guyana in 1971 and performed at the Globe cinema to a sold out audience. Who was he?
Peter Tosh
Peter Tosh
me thinks ball will hit the jackpot
New week. Let's begin.
A popular Jamaican reggae singer visited Guyana in 1971 and performed at the Globe cinema to a sold out audience. Who was he?
DEADLINE: NOON DST/GUY TIME
New week. Let's begin.
DEADLINE: NOON DST/GUY TIME
PETER TOSH
Sorry to disappoint you, guys. No winner today.
Answer: KEN LAZARUS.
I attended that show and thoroughly enjoyed it.
I didn't had a clue so I stan quiet
Gyal yo is not know it is best to try and fail than fail to try.
Here we go today.
An American R & B/soul singer toured Guyana in 1969 and performed in Georgetown and New Amsterdam. He was well received in Georgetown but while performing in New Amsterdam dem crazy Berbice fans pelted him with soft drink bottles, paper cups and even cigarette packets. Who was that singer?
Wilson Pickett
ball is on a roll....no pun intended
I have no clue
Wilson Pickett
Give it another try, boss.
Deadline: NOON
R. B. Greaves?
Marvin Gaye
No winner today.
Answer: PERCY SLEDGE
Here we go today.
An American R & B/soul singer toured Guyana in 1969 and performed in Georgetown and New Amsterdam. He was well received in Georgetown but while performing in New Amsterdam dem crazy Berbice fans pelted him with soft drink bottles, paper cups and even cigarette packets. Who was that singer?
Do you know why my peeps behaved like that? We are such peaceful people I can't imagine Berbicians behaving badly
I thought those in GT also thought he was a sham.They said it was someone playing the part and dem boys doan like gettin conned.
Ready to let your brains dance today? Jump on board.
A top Indian film actress toured Guyana in the late 1960s and performed classical dances on the Essequibo Coast. She had already endeared herself to Guyanese cinema fans in movies that starred the likes of Shammi Kapoor. She is still alive while Shammi is dead. Who is that star?
Asha Parekh
Asha Parekh
Asha Parekh
CORRECT!!
Riya gets first prize.
As Django is into slow dancing, he gets second prize.
Congratulations!!