By Marcelle Thomas

Cash crop farmers of Cotton Tree Village, West Berbice are counting enormous losses after the persistent flooding of their farmlands caused by the blocking of a Sluice at D’Edward Village and made worse by the cutting of dams nearby by the Region Five Regional Democratic Council (RDC).

However, Minister of Agriculture Dr. Leslie Ramsammy explained that the closure of the sluice was done to fix an underground problem, which could have resulted in  major flooding to the entire area and residents were aware that the sluice would be closed. “This wasn’t something done to affect anyone, it was done to protect them. We didn’t do it with any negative intentions, we did what was necessary because we are right at the mouth of the Berbice River and if it had collapsed wow that could have been major,” Ramsammy told Stabroek News.

According to the farmers, since sometime last year there was a sea dam breach nearby, which resulted in saltwater seeping into their farmlands, killing almost 50% of their seedlings. In addition, they said that the sluice that would aid in draining of the water off the land was closed sometime in September by the Mahaica, Mahaicony, Abary (MMA) scheme and the RDC, without their notification. The saltwater coupled with the backed up rainfall flooded their farms, causing them severe losses, they said.

Farmers, their wives and children walked Stabroek News through some of their damaged farmlands, where rotting vegetables were visible. There was evidence of what once was flourishing bora and corilla reduced to brown and withered vines clinging to the ‘brambles’ they once ran on. Each farmer listed his losses in the hundreds of thousands, ranging from $200,000 to over $400,000. They are now living each day with the uncertainty of their next meal and they want compensation or sufficient seedlings and fertilizer to balance their capital investments.

A section of the farmers as they relate their plight to AFC Chairman Nigel Hughes.

“All me corilla, bagee and tomato gone, we nah accustom to buy greens so this digging a big hole in meh pocket right now… the thing is when they give you anything is some small packet with seeds that don’t even grow… if they ain’t gon put money in yuh hand, give proper thing so we could at least start over fresh,” said Ramala, one of the farmers.

The farmers are angry they were not given notification of the closure of the sluice so that alternative arrangements could be put in place to salvage their crops and they blame the authorities for making no provisions for them.

Last Sunday, a group of about 75 persons organized a meeting of the residents of one of the villagers and invited attorney Nigel Hughes, to whom they gave the history of the flooding and how they have been shunned by the authorities whenever they filed a complaint.

The residents said that they were tired of suffering and wanted to highlight their plight with the hope of gaining the attention of the relevant authorities so that the problem can be addressed and they can be given some form of compensation for their losses.  “Look man, we tired a this thing. Every time is the same thing. If is not the saltwater is the rain. We gat to deal here. We complain suh till we can’t complain no more… this last rain wash out everything we have and now we want everybody to know what we going through because we gat family to feed and bills and bank to pay,” said one irate farmer.

Averting disaster

A lone surviving eggplant [boulanger) plant stands in the yard of Singh

A lone surviving eggplant (boulanger) plant stands in the yard of Singh

Ramsammy last evening told Stabroek News that the move to close the sluice was necessary as engineers had found a widening hole in one of the reservoirs nearby. “We had to close off the three-door sluice for a period to do some repairs. There was a very huge hole in one of the reservoirs near to the sluice that the engineers discovered… if it got bigger, it could have weakened the sluice and then we would have known disaster,” he said.

“It was decided that when the weather allows, we would close the sluice and repair the hole. So, in October, with the forecast saying we would have sun, we began…We were in the final stages of the repair and without warning the rains came and within 24 hours it was decided that though the structure wasn’t yet what we wanted, we opened the sluice,” he added.

One farmer told the gathering that on November 28, when they were flooded again, they reported this to Chairman of the MMA authority Rudolph Gajraj, who visited and promised that plans would have been made to curtail the problem. He recommended that one of the dams be cut, which was done. However this only worsened the situation, with more flooding of saltwater onto the lands, as a result. Then came the rains on December 5, which pounded the entire Berbice district and once again the farmers said that they had to relive the same flooding ordeal.

In order to alleviate the situation, the farmers are recommending that the sea dam be repaired and fortified to avoid saltwater backing up and or flooding the area. The other recommendation is that during the dry season fresh water is released to push out the saltwater when the sluice is opened to drain the land. They also recommended that there be a mutual arrangement made with the Guyana Power and Light Company, which uses water from the canal for cooling its generators so that when the rainy season approaches, the sluice could be opened before it reaches the recommended 53GD.

When asked about compensation for the losses the farmers suffered, Ramsammy said he was unable to discuss that at the moment. Meanwhile, when Stabroek News visited the sluice, fisher folk pointed out the rapid collapse of the access road for vehicles and pedestrians to the dock near the D’Edward sluice. There were huge cracks in the road and the users stated that they were fearful that soon a vehicle traversing the area will fall into the nearby river.

Both the farmers and fisher folk plan to visit the capital to highlight their plight as they feel that only persons from Georgetown are heard and get redress for their problems. “We coming Wednesday to town. It lil dear (expensive) but we want government hear we because like is only when you in town them is listen,” said one farmer.

Opposition's blockage of supplementary estimates chokes compensation for flood-affected Cotton Tree village farmers 
Written by Denis Scott Chabrol
Monday, 10 December 2012 18:24

cotton_treeflood
Corilla destroyed by flood waters.

Cash crop farmers at Cotton Tree, West Berbice are demanding compensation due to flooding caused during repairs to a three-door sluice at D’Edward Village but a senior official of the Mahaica Mahaicony Agricultural Development Authority (MMA-ADA) said those in the community had been advised about the impact of the works.

MMA-ADA General Manager, Aubrey Charles said his entity was not responsible for compensation. He related that he was aware that a number of agriculture officers visited Cotton Tree last week Thursday but he was not privy to the details.

A senior Ministry of Agriculture official, speaking with Demerara Waves Online News (www.demwaves.com) virtually ruled out compensation because the opposition which holds a one-seat majority in the National Assembly would not approve supplementary spending. The official explained that in the past, monies could have been taken out of the Contingency Fund to provide compensation and then the government would have gone to the Assembly for approval.

nigelhughes_cotton

AFC Chairman Nigel Hughes interacting with Cotton Tree Village farmers.

DemWaves was told that a team from the National Agricultural Research and Extension Institute (NAREI) would be dispatched to examine the situation. Farmers complained bitterly as they showed destruction caused by the flood waters to beds of bora, corilla, tomatoes, watermelons, pumpkins and peppers. They averaged their losses at between GUY$200,000 and GUY$400,000.

Alliance For Change (AFC) Chairman, Nigel Hughes promised the farmers and residents to pursue compensation for them and asked that they record their names and losses by Tuesday. The claim, he said, would be submitted to the Region Five Administration and the MMA-ADA. “They should have notified you that there was a possibility that there would be flooding and once you suffer damage, you should get your compensation. That is all this is about,” Hughes told the farmers on Sunday. Residents complained that although they lose half to two-thirds of their crops to flooding annually no effort has been made to empolder or revet their farmlands.

But the MMA-ADA General Manager said three meetings were held with residents to inform them about the planned infrastructural work and receive feedback from them. He said it was possible that not all of them might have attended the meetings. “Before we started work, we had meetings in the Cotton Tree area. They were fully informed and they were fully backing the MMA because of the long-term benefit,” Charles told DemWaves. He explained that this latest flooding was as a result of the need to block near the mouth of a canal and close the D’Edward three-door sluice which is located just north of the Berbice River bridge.

The water between the coffer dam and the closed sluice door was pumped out to allow workers to elevate the level of the canal with the concrete base of the sluice, he said. Charles further explained that erosion was responsible for the drop in the bed level of the channel below the concrete base. The MMA-ADA General Manager said in an effort to mitigate the impact of the repairs at the D'Edward Sluice, the authority had activated a sluice at Number 12 Village. However, that drainage facility was inadequate for recent heavy rainfall that had amounted to 85 millimetres. "It couldn't cope with the volume of water," he said. He said that in an effort to alleviate the flooding the coffer dam was removed and part of the work to increase the bed level and prevent future erosion has been affected. Completion of the work, he said, would have to await the next dry season in 2013.

http://www.demerarawaves.com/i...village-farmers.html

AFC will support compensation funds in National AssemblyPDF | Print |
Written by Kwesi Isles   
Wednesday, 12 December 2012 23:16
AddThis Social Bookmark Button

cotton_treefarmers
Several aggrieved Cotton Tree farmers

More than a dozen flood-hit farmers of Cotton Tree, Berbice travelled to the city on Wednesday to state their case for compensation saying that the government has failed to help them.

The cash crop farmers were facilitated by the AFC with two of them sharing the head table with party executives to plead for compensation.

Shahabudeen Khan told reporters that the Canje three-door koker was blocked for works to be done and then came the rains following which they approached MMA/ADA head Rudolph Gajraj for relief. “We went back to him and he said he can’t break the stop off because he done spend $32M and if he break it we gon wash way. We went to Mr. Charles and ask for a pump, he said he can’t help. I can’t believe that the MMA aint got pump to pump out the water,” he related.

Khan added that they went to the Region Five Chairman and the regional coordinator all to no avail. He said it was until Tuesday that the MMA/ADA decided to break the stop off but by that time all of their crops had died. “I run to a loss about a million dollars. Is something that happen all the time and we never get anything from the government, 2005 we had the largest flood and we ain’t get nothing,” Khan stated.

The farmers’ losses ranged from as low as $60,000 in one case to more than$1M. “We really need support because we lost a lot of things on our farm. We just come here to share some of our concerns, there’s a lot of things happening, a lot of damages, household equipment all damage, we need some kind of compensation.

That’s the main objective, that’s main thing we come here we want to share with the media and the people of Georgetown to know what is our real problem in Berbice,” Gowkarran Seenarine said. The farmers pointed out that their farms are flooded every year.

A senior official of the agriculture ministry told Demerara Waves Online News that compensation for the farmers was unlikely because the opposition which holds the majority in the National Assembly would not approve supplementary spending. AFC Leader Khemraj Ramjattan who was at Wednesday’s news briefing disputed that position and that they had cut provisions for farmers during the consideration of the national budget estimates.

“Definitely we would support compensation for farmers … we will support compensation for the hard-pressed farmers like the Cotton Tree farmers. If it comes to that and there’s need for some supplementary allocation for the farmers all across the country we will be the first to support that … and I am certain of course that the government members’ in the chambers they would also support too. I see no reason why APNU would not,” Ramjattan stated. 

An AFC team had visited Cotton Tree at the weekend.

Cash crop farmers of Cotton Tree, West Coast Berbice have suffered tremendous losses following heavy rainfall, coupled with the blocking of the three-door sluice at D’Edward Village as a result of repairs. Distressed at their loss, the farmers said the work on the luice commenced about three months ago and was not completed in time for the rainy season.

According to them, the one-door sluice at No 12 is not sufficient to drain the water. They are blaming officials at the Mahaica, Mahaicony, Abary/Agricultural-Development-Authority (MMA/ADA) for undertaking repairs without putting alternative measures in place.

When Stabroek News visited the area around 1:30 pm yesterday the water was still high in the farms and houses. Some residents have had to mount their fridges and other appliances while some persons said they stepped off their beds to be greeted with water above their ankles. The residents said they would normally be affected by flooding after a heavy rainfall “but as soon as they blow the koker the water would recede.”

According to them, they visited regional chairman, Bindrabhan Bisnauth seeking relief from their woes and he tried to find solutions to their problems. They also visited the MMA/ADA and “spoke to the irrigation manager, Anil Ramjit and he told us that he would be here and that he would send an excavator” to open the doors. They were pleased that the regional vice-chairman visited them yesterday and tried to source a pump from MMA/ADA. However, they learnt that the pump could not work at D’Edward.

In an interview with Stabroek News last evening, Bisnauth said “the sluice has been up and running from 8 pm. Two doors have been opened and the third door would be opened tomorrow [today].” He said “residents and staff from MMA were still there [last evening] at the sluice to volunteer and to lend support to the operators.” Regarding the delay in the repairs to the sluice, the chairman said it was “not caused because of administrative hurdles” but rather because “the contractors had to go through a process.”

Some persons commented that government needs to repair the pump at Trafalgar so that residents do not have to continue to suffer losses to flooding.

They said the flooding started on November 28, when the rainy season commenced. They kept hoping that the water would recede but yesterday the situation got worse.

One farmer said that, “Since 2005 we suffering from flooding in this area and we were promised help but the agricultural representative never provided any. We hear that it would reach up to Bath Settlement.” Zahiruddeen Rahman said 1,200 of his bearing English tomato plants and 800 roots that were at the flowering stage were under water. He said he invested $200,000 and depended on the farm to maintain his family. “It is very hard to spend all that money to raise the tomato to the bearing stage and then watch them go down the drain.”

Another farmer, Sunhanlall Ragbeer said he lost 1,900 tomato plants and had already started to pick from 400 as well as 15 roots of squash and 150 roots of cucumbers. He works as a cane-harvester and said he “depend on the farming for a side savings” and had invested over $100,000.

Among the other farmers who suffered losses to their cash crops and livestock were Orilall Jagmohan, Doodnauth Chandran, Surajnauth Ramlochan as well as Geenarine Ramdhan who had to find a dry spot in the kitchen to protect his meat-birds.

I think the AFC promising more than they can deliver, if ever under remote circumstance they were given a chance to run the nation, they would not be so eager to give away the country's money for every instance of misfortune. 

Hey Kakahole, careful now, don't let your brains go to your head!

I see you still can't get enough of the goadie, you keep following me around like a bytch in heat. hahahahahah

The AFC paid off some villagers to put garland on Hughes and make it appear that the party is making inroads in the rural communities. Is this the new strategy? Run around the country and promise truck loads of money to gullible villagers? hahahaha

Flood damaged bora

Flood damaged carila

Farmer showing his flood damaged crop

Farmer pointing to his flood damaged crops

Flood damaged baigan (boulanger, eggplant)

Flood damaged tomatoes

The D'Edward Koker

While the actions to close the koker for repairs, which caused the flooding experienced by the Cotton Tree farmers, were necessary, the public most know the cause of the undermining of the koker. It was caused by the construction of the Berbice Bridge when the piles were being driven that shook the entire area. It is this shaking that is responsible for the suddenly increased breaking away of the dam as well.

Persons said the PPP was warned that the location of the Bridge was too close to the koker, and after construction still commenced, they said the PPP was advised to sheet pile the area, including around the koker itself that the original contractor, Ballast Nedam, had left provision for. This would have contained the area the koker stood on and prevented the need for the emergency works. Again, this illustrates the PPP's methodology to governance - build latrine when you are ready to mess.

The dam which suffers accelerated slippage after the construction of the Berbice Bridge because of the vibrations from driving piles.

Great Job by the AFC. Dont just sit in Parliament and collect a Salary. I am Happy that the Opposition is following the GOVT long standing Tradition of going into the Communities and listening to the needs of the People.  No one has done that BETTER than the present Govt.

So you finally admitting that the lazy ass Jagdeo didn't care compared to Rambotar.

There is a bigger disaster waiting to happen. Where the Berbice bridge is built the Berbice river will form a dam from the silt deposits since the bridge is obstucting the flow to the Atlantic ocean. This dam will force the water to back up in the Abary creek and whole of West Coast Berbice will become a flood plain. You don't have to be an engineer to figure this. Common sense dictates.

Note, Mits said it on GNI first.

I hope the AFC seeks compensation thru a supplemental budget in parliament for these poor farmers.

Originally Posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:

Nigel Hughes with Cotton Tree, West Berbice Farmers

Is Nigel carrying a gun on the left side? If he is, I wonder why? Like de man want fu shoot some labba? Den again maybe de man na sure if dem peeple like am.

This same SHAMELESS, SNAKEOIL SALESMAN GR does Halla "Waste of Money" when the Govt does Outreach!!!!! These SHAMELESS People are the dirt of the Planet. But the Guyanese People are NOT STUPID!!!

Go drown yourself and spare us the grating noise.

i AM not A pug LIKE YOU. gO EAT cASSAVE bREAD AND DRINK pIWARI tILL YUH drop!!!

You are indeed not me. You have to be trolling for status on account of these scurrilous racist jibes because you are  still a dalit.

I bet it is the US you first saw indoor plumbing and went barefoot most of your early life.  Instead of that teaching you lessons in humility, here you

are trying to pretend you are of some unknowable superior cultured class.

Get it in your head, you came from dalitdom and is now reaching the potential you can as a human individual. Your culture did not give you that. The reconstructed one that discarded the rot in native Indian culture is what you have. Most good people know well not to reconstitute the rot.

While my heritage is of a forest people we never knew that insult to the psyche your both sides of your family endured back into the dark ages. We were always free.

Cassava bread is not insult. It is better to slurp pepper pot than rotie. That is our cuisine and I am proud of it.  Pepper pot, barbeque, methem, smoked meats, and much of what you take for granted is are all of us. Do not pretend you have more than you possess.  You cannot insult me on account of my culture.

You are indeed not me. You have to be trolling for status on account of these scurrilous racist jibes because you are  still a dalit.

I bet it is the US you first saw indoor plumbing and went barefoot most of your early life.  Instead of that teaching you lessons in humility, here you

Get it in your head, you came from dalitdom and is now reaching the potential you can as a human individual. Your culture did not give you that. The reconstructed one that discarded the rot in native Indian culture is what you have. Most good people know well not to reconstitute the rot.

While my heritage is of a forest people we never knew that insult to the psyche your both sides of your family endured back into the dark ages. We were always free.

Cassava bread is not insult. It is better to slurp pepper pot than rotie. That is our cuisine and I am proud of it.  Pepper pot, barbeque, methem, smoked meats, and much of what you take for granted is are all of us. Do not pretend you have more than you possess.  You cannot insult me on account of my culture.

It is NOT an INSULT. It is to remind you of what a JACKASS you ARE!!!!

Get  real. You believe that you can leverage insults and is the only reason for its use. You do not need to remind me who I am. You need to be reminded who you are so you can be grounded.

I know who I am, always did. I am NOT like you who want to BE who you are NOT. A JACKASS IS A JACKASS!!!!

Which illiterate Indian woman would disgrace their culture and put garlands around Nigel Hughes and Gerhard's neck and not realizing what these two pricks really stand for? This is more than a disgrace that is unbearable to witness. Shame, shame, shame on GR and Nigel just for wearing it. This is so freaking wrong.

The word on the ground is that the farmers are just using the AFC boys to get the attention of the PPP, it would be a different story at the polls. ahahahah

They trying to save faces from all the negative things brewing within their party, and for sharing a PNC agenda from day one. They don't have a platform of their own for the people that voted for them. What a shame!

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

Which illiterate Indian woman would disgrace their culture and put garlands around Nigel Hughes and Gerhard's neck and not realizing what these two pricks really stand for? This is more than a disgrace that is unbearable to witness. Shame, shame, shame on GR and Nigel just for wearing it. This is so freaking wrong.

Well lemme bruk and Hutt up yuh heart lil mo. Meh a wan indo woman an me go put wan mala pun Mr Hughes also. Meh go vote foh him too. 

Originally Posted by PRK:
Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

Well lemme bruk and Hutt up yuh heart lil mo. Meh a wan indo woman an me go put wan mala pun Mr Hughes also. Meh go vote foh him too. 

You can do what you wish and put shame on the a dignified Indian culture, but you should also know that it is very distasteful on who's neck it's on. The garland was reserved for Indians and members of the PPP party only.

This is awesome.  We will win Guyanese hearts and trust one person at a time.  Keep walking with the people wherever there are hardships and injustice.  This is not a sprint but a marathon.  Victory is inevitable.

Originally Posted by FC:

This is awesome.  We will win Guyanese hearts and trust one person at a time.  Keep walking with the people wherever there are hardships and injustice.  This is not a sprint but a marathon.  Victory is inevitable.

Your opinion is welcome but that's not reality for a party with a PNC agenda. AFC can't stand on its feet without APNU. Any win is past wind.

Originally Posted by FC:

This is exactly how I see it. Even I forget this from time to time. But it is a marathon. 

He may have good intentions but all during the campaign of 2011 and to this day, with all the claims of the PPP "evils" I've never heard any utterances of the ills and and evils perpetuated by the PNC during their 28 year quasi-apartheid reign of terror against mostly Indians, but also some blacks and other races.