Originally Posted by Amral:

I am not a supporter of any party never was never will be, but I am happy for the new party that will soon take power.

* The PPP was in power since 1992---that's 23 years---no one can deny that Guyana experienced decent growth and development during the PPP's tenure.

* But lemme be honest---the PPP politicians abused their power---they were corrupt---and their arrogance poisoned the minds of many Guyanese voters.

* OK! THE PPP LOST THE ELECTION.

* But look at the numbers--the COALITION won by just 5400 votes---if 2700 voters had chosen to remain with the PPP---they would still be in power.

* Anyway, APNU/AFC has won---they are now in charge---let's see how they will rule the country.

* 5 years from now if APNU/AFC politicians are perceived to be just as power hungry and arrogant and self serving as PPP politicians---they'll be voted out of office.

You're a case study in double-crossing. You were a mole here pretending to be PPP; praising Mr. Ramotar, his wife, children, etc. I'm waiting to see your position in the new gov't.  

Originally Posted by Itaname:

PPP been walking and chewing gum for 23 years. Didn't hear a peep about constitutional reform.

Bai Itaname:

* It's not the PPP that is demanding changes in the constitution. It is the AFC.

* Prime Minister Nagamootoo and the AFC clearly understand that in the current constitution the power resides with the PRESIDENT.

* The AFC politicians, Prime Minister Nagamootoo, Minister Ramjattan, etc, etc want more less power for the President and more for the Prime Minister.

* They want the constitution re-written---And if they don't get there way it will be WAR.

OK let the APNU AFC fight begin.

Yuh jus like Cobra. Look how quick yuh done laff and now ready fuh cry again. On a serious note, the general tone from some AFC supporters here is discouraging. .

If you note that there are already potential seeds of dissent in the ranks why do you call me cobra?

What will be evident is that the PPP had a civil war and many of the losing side fled to the AFC.  But they remain PPP in mentality.  Look at the incessant praise of Cheddi.

Some might have viewed APNU as a means to an end.

I suggest that APNU identify who these people are and watch them.  Once the PPP stops crying and starts figuring out how to regain power, rest assured that if they dump Jagdeo, the replacement might try to reactivate ties with these elements, who might then blackmail APNU.

Originally Posted by Observer:

You're a case study in double-crossing. You were a mole here pretending to be PPP; praising Mr. Ramotar, his wife, children, etc. I'm waiting to see your position in the new gov't.  

Ms Observer:

* Did you say case study in double crossing ? Thanks for the hearty laugh. You must be a brokenhearted genuine East Indian PPP supporter from Berbice, and so you are vexed with the Rev for being a gracious loser.  Next thing you'll be calling the Rev a DIRTY INDIAN.hahahahaha

* Listen! The Rev vehemently supported Ramotar and the PPP all the way to election day. But when I realized they were going to fall short, I decided to be a good loser and congratulate folks like Nagamootoo whom I had hammered ferociously during the campaign.

RE: MY POSITION ON THE NEW GOVERNMENT

* If they made decisions that are good for Guyana and Guyanese I will genuinely praise them. But if they screw up, and they will, it will be a joy pummeling them.

BOTTOM LINE:

* Failures, defeats, losing---they are all good if you learn a lesson from them---hope the PPP learns why they couldn't convince 2700 voters to change their minds and vote for the PPP instead of the opposition----remember the PPP lost by 5400 votes.

Yuh jus like Cobra. Look how quick yuh done laff and now ready fuh cry again. On a serious note, the general tone from some AFC supporters here is discouraging. .

If you note that there are already potential seeds of dissent in the ranks why do you call me cobra?

What will be evident is that the PPP had a civil war and many of the losing side fled to the AFC.  But they remain PPP in mentality.  Look at the incessant praise of Cheddi.

I suggest that APNU identify who these people are and watch them.  Once the PPP stops crying and starts figuring out how to regain power, rest assured that if they dump Jagdeo, the replacement might try to reactivate ties with these elements, who might then blackmail APNU.

Interesting. I'm not going to share my feelings on this publicly.

Originally Posted by alena06:

if we cannot put the past behind us how can we expect to progress. This is a new generation of Guyanese, it is pointless to try and poison their minds, all over the world changes are happening. Why are we reluctant to accept these changes. And as a matter of fact how many here actually have a true interest in Guyana, we are living the comfy life here, the Guyanese living over there back home seems to be embracing this new regime.

alena: No one is poisoning their minds.  Don't forget almost half of the people voted against the new Government, and feel they were cheated.  The Country is no way more United.

APNU/AFC...............207,200.........33 SEATS

PPP/C....................202,694.........32 SEATS

* APNU/AFC defeated the PPP by 4506 votes.

* A WIN IS A WIN REGARDLESS OF THE MARGIN---APNU/AFC WON

* The big question is can they govern the country better than the PPP ?

* We know under the PPP the country experienced positive growth rates and there were improvements both economically and socially.

* SO CAN THE COALITION DO BETTER THAN THE PPP ECONOMICALLY AND SOCIALLY.

* I'll tell you what---the APNU/AFC politicians will be just as arrogant, pompous, self-absorbed, self-serving and corrupt as PPP politicians. And guess what ? Many of their supporters on GNI will turn a blind eye to their shenanigans.

Originally Posted by alena06:

if we cannot put the past behind us how can we expect to progress. This is a new generation of Guyanese, it is pointless to try and poison their minds, all over the world changes are happening. Why are we reluctant to accept these changes. And as a matter of fact how many here actually have a true interest in Guyana, we are living the comfy life here, the Guyanese living over there back home seems to be embracing this new regime.

alena: No one is poisoning their minds.  Don't forget almost half of the people voted against the new Government, and feel they were cheated.  The Country is no way more United.

* A WIN IS A WIN REGARDLESS OF THE MARGIN---APNU/AFC WON

* The big question is can they govern the country better than the PPP ?

* We know under the PPP the country experienced positive growth rates and there were improvements both economically and socially.

* SO CAN THE COALITION DO BETTER THAN THE PPP ECONOMICALLY AND SOCIALLY.

* I'll tell you what---the APNU/AFC politicians will be just as arrogant, pompous, self-absorbed, self-serving and corrupt as PPP politicians. And guess what ? Many of their supporters on GNI will turn a blind eye to their shenanigans.

There were some economic improvements, but not social improvements. There was social retrogression under PPP.

Frivolous racism, let's see how some of the presidential power-limiting change is received by the PNC.

Originally Posted by TK:

There were some economic improvements, but not social improvements. There was social retrogression under PPP.

Agreed, too much India-style thinking, poverty/wealth is a product of karma.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

The Coalition ran as a single Contender. Outside of the 12 seats APNU agreed to award the AFC, there is no way to separate the votes casted on 5/11/15. If Granger finds a way to charge AFC with contempt and forfeit those seats, Moses will have no of materially siding with the PPP. Or is there one?

* Now you understand why Prime Minister is hell bent on changing the constitution---he knows Granger and the PNC can kick he and Ramjattan out on the curb in a jiffy.

* But once the constitution is changed and the president no longer has the power of recall---that means the AFC is more empowered---Granger can't mess with them.

Originally Posted by TK:

Damn backwardness!!

Frivolous racism, let's see how some of the presidential power-limiting change is received by the PNC.

baseman, please identify the "presidential power-limiting change[s]" you support

Originally Posted by TK:

Damn backwardness!!

Hey hey, dats abie.

* I am 100% confident the PPP will support Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo regarding the changes in the constitution he is seeking.

Yes life is a bytch when you are in the opposition.

I am sure that he PPP will call for the sale of The Chronicle and NCN as well. 

Carib I have a question for you do you think government should own media entities like Chranicle and NCN?

You think this government can run them better?

Rev you doing a good Job....

let me give you some more things

to hit them with.....

Just knock them one- one everyday

STATEMENT FROM MOSES NAGAMOOTOO.

STATEMENT TO THE MEDIA Dear Editors:

... KING LIARS: LIE,

YOU HEAR LIES? 

Rev post this on Day #1

LIE Number 1: Donald Ramotar said that I was a candidate of Balram Singh Rai’s Justice Party in 1964, and I helped to remove the PPP from office:

THAT’S A LIE: I was 17 years old in 1964. The Voting Age was 21.

I was too young to be on the Voters’ List; too young to vote.

How on earth could I have been a candidate for any party?

I joined the PPP on the 3rd October, 1964, and served for an unbroken period until my resignation in September, 2011.

In 1991, I was conferred with a Meritorious Award for serving the PPP with distinction continuously for over 25 years. That Certificate was signed by Cheddi Jagan and Donald Ramotar!

Rev post this on Day #2

LIE Number 2: Donald Ramotar said that in 1976 I was about to join the PNC along with Ranji Chandisingh, Vincent Teekah, Halim Majeed, et al.

THAT’S A LIE! During 1975-1977 Cheddi Jagan advocated “Talks” with the PNC, and I was in favour.

Others who opposed cooperation, rigged the 1976 PYO elections to oust several “pro-talks” young leaders.

I was dissatisfied but never left the PPP even though inducements were made to me by L.F.S. Burnham, Chandisingh and others.

Later, threats were used against me, but I refused to betray my leader and my party.

Rev post this on Day #3

LIE NO. 3: Bharrat Jagdeo and Donald Ramotar said I left PPP because I lost nomination as presidential candidate.

More Lies! I withdrew from the rigged process where party members were excluded from choosing a candidate.

Ramotar was hand-picked by a gang within the Central Committee.

I refused to appear before this body.

I informed Ramotar on 18th January, 2011 that “the CC has no mandate to select a candidate.

I now say emphatically that the exclusion of party members in selecting their presidential candidate is an irreversible and costly mistake”.

There was no election. Only a rigged selection.

Rev post this on Day #4

LIE NO. 4: Jagdeo and Ramotar said that I lied when I reported and repeated that Cheddi Jagan had named me in November 1996 possibly as his successor.

More Lies. On May 18, 2004 I reminded Donald Ramotar in a letter that “(T)here should be no myth about what Cheddi Jagan said at Lethem.

I want to see Robert Persaud going on record on this issue.

He was there!”

Jagdeo and Ramotar never before denied what Dr. Jagan said.

Ramotar tried to give it a “twist”.

On 8th June, 2004, this is what Donald Ramotar wrote to me under the caption: THE MENTION OF CDE CHEDDI OF YOUR NAME AS A POSSIBLE SUCCESSOR

“It is clear that Cde. Cheddi must have been saying that when he is no longer available the Party would be in good hands because it has capable leaders. He must have mentioned you in that context.” Ramotar never denied what Cheddi Jagan said! He only gave it his own twist.

Rev post this on Day #5

LIE NO. 5: Jagdeo said that one John Silas said to him that Cheddi Jagan never named me as his successor.

THAT’S A PUSSUR-PUSSUR LIE! John Silas was NOT present at the Lethem meeting.

I am on record as writing Donald Ramotar, in his capacity as PPP General Secretary, that “he would have known, that upon my return to Georgetown, I was summoned to an emergency Executive Committee meeting at Freedom House.

Party Organiser John Silas, who was not an ExCo member, was invited to the meeting, Comrade Janet demanded that I should explain “what happed at Lethem?”

“I related what Comrade Cheddi said, and my reaction to that by suppressing publication of the remarks that I could possibly be a replacement for him at the 1997 elections.

I explained why I had an angry argument with the Organiser [John Silas] for being absent from the meeting, when the microphones broke down;

how, when he told me that I had no authority to question him, I chided him for not hearing what Comrade Cheddi had said, and how I added sarcastically ‘You could be looking at the next president!’

” I added in my letter that “Comrade Cheddi was within hearing distance in the next room, while that brawl was going onâ€Ķ”.

That matter was never again raised in my presence with (President) Cheddi Jagan.

I was to be at his side until the fatal day that he was flown out from Guyana during February 1997, only to die days later.

He never denied what he had said at Lethem. End of story.

Rev post this on Day #6

LIE NO. 6: Jagdeo repeatedly said that I lied on Janet Jagan as she never promised that I should be Vice-President of Guyana.

MORE LIES: Twice when this issue came up, Ms. Jagan said she could not remember.

At 80 plus, it is fine not to remember. But she never denied.

She never said that I lied on her.

Mere days before her death, Ms. Jagan, my mentor as journalist,

on 5th March, 2009, in her own handwriting,

sent a note to me, with words of appreciation and fraternal affection.

She took pain to scribble that note, telling me that her hand was in cast as she had broken her shoulder.

Would she have done that if she felt that I had lied on her?

She had done so on many previous occasions, embracing my work as she did on 27th May, 2008 when she lauded my tribute to militant women in the Guyanese struggle:

“I’m glad they were remembered, to take their rightful places in our political history,” she wrote to me.

Rev post this on Day #7

LIE NO. 7: Ramotar said that I did nothing for the PPP in the last 10 years.

WHAT A LIE! It is the same Ramotar who wrote me on 8th June, 2004 in great appreciation, saying:

“Your suggestions and contributions to debates have always been valued and I and the Party leadership look forward to your continued contribution.”

And, more recently, on 21st July, 2006, he issued a press release, announcing: “The Executive Committee expects that Mr. Nagamootoo will shortly resume his useful role in the party.” That was days before I delivered victory in the 2006 elections!

Rev post this on Day #8

LIE NO. 8: Joey Jagan said that I am a soup drinker, a vagabond and opportunist.

KING LIAR! What soup-drinker would leave a teaching job earning G$180.00 monthly in 1970 to work for $114.00 (just over 50 US cents) as journalist at Mirror, staying on for the next 22 years at the side of Janet Jagan, my editor?

Which soup-drinker and opportunist would remain loyally at the side of Cheddi Jagan in the PPP for the unbroken 28 years in opposition under Burnham, and then another 12 years under Bharrat, and completed the proverbial 40 wilderness years?

Rev more Info - Day 9

Moses resigned twice as Government Minister in 1993 and again in 2000. A ministerial portfolio held no soup for me. I left the throne for the mudflat. I gave up privileges, perks and positions.

Rev more Info - Day 10

When I was in Cabinet, I opposed increase in Ministers’ salaries, but was out-voted.

Rev more Info - Day 11

I refused national award when I was recommended by Cheddi Jagan.

Rev more Info - Day 12

When I became Minister, I refused to leave my humble house to live in a state house.

Rev more Info - Day 13

I never travelled on a first-class air ticket, nor stayed at hotels overseas at government’s expense.

Rev more Info - Day 14

I refused a $15,000,000.00 loan from Jagdeo to buy a personal Prado, and choose instead to drive around in a second-hand government jeep.

Rev more Info - Day 15

And, whilst I worked as journalist for a foreign agency between 1985 and 1992, I donated my entire salary to the PPP to help pay decent wages to party organisers.

Rev more Info - Day 16

I am humbled to have attracted such great attention for my life’s work.

Rev more Info - Day 17

I wish I could have taken these garlands of thorns to my grave -- Judas, soup-drinker, traitor, neemakharaam, laurra, gutless, visionless, loser, vagabond, hypocrite, naga-dog, naga-goose, labaria, opportunist, ochro, etc.. EXCEPT, THESE ARE ALL LIES, DIRTY LIES!

Yours sincerely

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Rev......

Remember knock them one everyday....

dem cant beat you....

yuh aright.

Go knock yuhself out now...

Ms Observer:

* Did you say case study in double crossing ? Thanks for the hearty laugh. You must be a brokenhearted genuine East Indian PPP supporter from Berbice, and so you are vexed with the Rev for being a gracious loser.  Next thing you'll be calling the Rev a DIRTY INDIAN.hahahahaha

* Listen! The Rev vehemently supported Ramotar and the PPP all the way to election day. But when I realized they were going to fall short, I decided to be a good loser and congratulate folks like Nagamootoo whom I had hammered ferociously during the campaign.

RE: MY POSITION ON THE NEW GOVERNMENT

* If they made decisions that are good for Guyana and Guyanese I will genuinely praise them. But if they screw up, and they will, it will be a joy pummeling them.

BOTTOM LINE:

* Failures, defeats, losing---they are all good if you learn a lesson from them---hope the PPP learns why they couldn't convince 2700 voters to change their minds and vote for the PPP instead of the opposition----remember the PPP lost by 5400 votes.

Thanks for the hearty laugh, also. It just hit me like a ton of bricks what your job title is. This post of yours just confirms it. You did your job for the PPP and are now doing it for the new gov't! Good luck.

P.S.  Will we still be seeing all the picture graphics in your posts?

PAGING JALIL BHAI:

* Your uncle Moses is now officially the Prime Minister of Guyana. There is an old saying, "he who laughs last laughs best." Well guess what ? Prime Minister Moses has had the last laugh. He now holds the 2nd highest office in Guyana and his 2 nemesis Jagdeo and Ramotar have been banished into the wilderness.

NOW JALIL PAY ATTENTION

* Tell your Uncle Moses that he must press ahead with plans to rewrite the constitution---especially the part where Granger can't recall MPs---once that provision is changed in the constitution---Prime Minister Moses will be a very powerful and influential man in Guyana.

That is not democracy.  If you think that a bill is not in the best interest of the country, then you must be allowed to vote your way.  It shouldn't be the highway.. 

Ramotar and Jagdeo lost the election. Utho Bhai. Awake from your slumber and be fully aware of the reality.

Can they govern efficiently?

Would they revamp the Police Force?

Thanks for the hearty laugh, also.

* You see that--the Rev can also be cheerful, easygoing and good-humored Glad you also had a hearty laugh.

* By the way Ms. Observer, did you know if you laugh a lot when you get older your wrinkles will be in the right place ?

* So keep laughing.

carib bai:

* Starting tomorrow both the Chronicle and NCN will become official mouthpieces of the PNC/AFC government.

* The hypocritical PPP can bray all they want, but the new administration will not part with those 2 news organizations.

READ THIS:

* Now! We know President Granger made a ton of promises during the campaign. So what do you folks have to say about that comment above:

"HE(GRANGER) THAT PROMISES TOO MUCH MEANS NOTHING"

* This thread focuses mainly on the changes in the constitution promised by the coalition. And Prime Minister Nagamootoo is serious about pursuing changes in the constitution.

* BUT WILL PRESIDENT GRANGER BE OPEN TO CHANGES IN THE CONSTITUTION NOW THAT HE IS THE BIG KAHUNA ?

* By the way, any changes in the constitution, as correctly pointed out by poster Demerara-Guy requires 66% support in parliament---that means the PPP must be on board----they cannot be ignored by the coalition.

BOTTOM LINE:

* Many of the promises made by Granger during the campaign will turn out to be empty---just wait and see---but who cares---207,200 voters in Guyana happy---their man Granger is President---the other 202,694 can go to hell.

THE PRIME MINISTER MAY BE SHORT BUT THE MAN HAS SPUNK---CHECK HIS FOLDED FISTS----THOSE FISTS FLOORED THE PPP-----THEY LOST BY 4506 VOTES

FIRST 100 DAYS

The coalition has produced a 100 day plan that entails the review of taxes, increase of salaries and old age pension, an anti-corruption fight, liberalization of the Telecommunication and ICT sectors, several task forces on crime and security, and benefits for Guyana’s small miners.

* No mention of Constitution reform---that is not exactly a priority of President Granger---it is, however, a priority of the Prime Minister---he wants his office to be imbued with more power.

* Interesting times ahead folks! This coalition will be fun to follow.

* I am 100% confident the PPP will support Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo regarding the changes in the constitution he is seeking.

Carib I have a question for you do you think government should own media entities like Chranicle and NCN?

You think this government can run them better?

NO.  They should be sold. All that is needed is the Information Service which will have its own website and distribute its news through the various media outlets.

Rev, it is a myth that GDP growth accounted largely by price movements in your exports is what you can call "positive growth".

Improvements economically means a few things, like:

• The proportion of primary products in the export earnings is less than before and the proportion of value-added exports increases.
  • The skill level of the workforce increases relative to the unskilled portion of the workforce.

Now tell me if the PPP/C government enacted legislation that favors a skilled manufacturing zone - fiscal and tax incentives, tariff incentives, subsidies, etc. - and education to replace workers who would be displaced by a de-emphasis on sugar production.

Tell me if in awarding bandwidth spectrum for wireless communications did the PPP/C engender growth and investment and technology transfer by either domestic capital or foreign.

You need to stop bandying about numbers before you know what the hell they mean.

Rev, it is a myth that GDP growth accounted largely by price movements in your exports is what you can call "positive growth".

KariMullah:

* Since we are talking of  GDP, I wish to make it clear that I fully agree with Simon Kuznets, the creator of the GDP, who once wrote "the welfare of a nation can scarcely be inferred from a measurement of its national income as defined by the GDP--goals for more growth should specify of what and for what."

* Having said that, no one can deny that Real GDP growth rates in Guyana the past 9 years have been positive. Here are the numbers:

GUYANA'S REAL GDP GROWTH

2006 5.1%

2007 7.0%

2008 2.0%

2009 3.3%

2010 4.4%

2011 5.4%

2012 4.8%

2013 5.2%

2014 3.3% --estimated

2015 3.8% --est

* Do you see those REAL GDP Growth numbers for Guyana Mullah ?

* You are free to chat about "myth" and what have you---you'll get no arguments form the Rev.

* But in the coming 5 years we'll take a look at the Real GDP growth rates under the PNC/AFC and make a comparison with the PPP years.

Rev you do see a decline in growth rate, which reflects the reduced impact of gold prices.

carib:

* Absolutely! Take a look at the GDP growth rates back in 2011 when gold was around $1900---it was 5.4%; in 2014 Gold ranged between 1200 and 1400 and the estimated GDP growth rate in Guyana was 3.3%

BOTTOM LINE:

* THE NUMBERS DON'T LIE

* Guyana's Real GDP growth rates the past 9 years have been positive.

* The Rev will be keeping a close eye on the GDP growth rates under the PNC/AFC.

AFC=Kingmaker

The tail will wag the dog, the new reality in Guyana.

The agenda of the PPP should be:

Dump Jagdeo and Ramotar.

Move a motion in parliament to revise the pension package of ex-presidents.

Move a motion to amend the constitution.

The PPP must take the initiatives.

"To Those who vote PPP." www.timehritoday.blogspot.com

AFC=Kingmaker

Dump Jagdeo and Ramotar.

The PPP has to reinvent itself.

RE: RICE & SUGAR PRODUCTION UNDER THE PNC/AFC

* We all know rice production boomed during the PPP years---in 2014 a record 633,000 tons was produced.

* Sugar has struggled but the PPP was hoping to raise sugar production to 400,000 tons by 2020

QUESTION:

* Prime Minister Nagamootoo will be in charge of the Agriculture Ministry. Will rice farmers be motivated to keep producing in record numbers under the PNC/AFC ?

* How about sugar---will the industry be shuttered by the PNC/AFC ?

AFC=Kingmaker

Dump Jagdeo and Ramotar.

The PPP has to reinvent itself.

Ah believe Professor Professor Shaits got dat job, he does invent stuff, doan know what but I know he does invent stuff.

Jimmy Carter congratulates Granger

Former U.S. President Jimmy Carter issued the following statement today:

Jimmy CarterJimmy Carter

“I would like to congratulate President David Granger and the APNU/AFC coalition on their success in the 2015 election. I have great expectations that the new government will reach out and promote healing and reconciliation in Guyana. It is now time for all Guyanese to unite and work together to realize the great potential of their country.”

The Carter Center deployed more than 50 observers throughout all 10 regions of Guyana for the 2015 general and regional elections. Its observers remained in the country to monitor the process of tabulating and declaring results, a statement from the Carter Center said.