July 2 2018

Dear Editor,

When I first saw the video of my friend and colleague, Charles Ramson Jr declaring his intention to contest for the PPP Presidential Candidate, I was very disappointed in the choice of words used to justify his candidacy. But it was his response to the Leader of the Opposition, that certainly gave credence to the idiom that too much education is just as dangerous as too little.

Undoubtedly, Charles is young, ambitious, well-educated and has great potential. It is these very qualities that Bharrat Jagdeo recognized in him, that made him one of the youngest Members of the National Assembly. Without the support of Bharrat Jagdeo, he could not have made it on his own.

So what has changed?

Ramson has a bone to pick with Jagdeo, Anil Nandall and Irfaan Ali. He wanted time-off from Parliament for one year to pursue studies in the United Kingdom in Oil and Gas while retaining his MP status. This request was denied because the PPP could not afford to reduce its voting powers in the National Assembly at a time when the National Budget and vital pieces of legislation were upcoming.

He was subsequently replaced by the young, dynamic Vickram Bharrat.

In an email sent to me on May 21, 2018, Ramson wrote: 

“I know the feeling of giving your all in a team and others not pulling their weight and it’s being allowed to happen. Imagine how i felt when as an MP i gave my all to this and when I got a prestigious scholarship to study an area which we need for the country and will be beneficial to the team and asked for leave and so many “leaders” did not support the application. I had support from luncheon and a couple others but anil and bj and irfaan did not support. It’s disheartening and discouraging.”

Every politically astute person in Guyana knows that former PPP Ministers Anil Nandlall and Irfaan Ali are the ones most likely to contest the Party’s Presidential candidacy for the 2020 elections, and so this presents Ramson an opportunity to deny them this nomination in much the same way they denied him. Isn’t this vindictiveness, tit for tat?

In his recent response to Jagdeo, he mentioned having knowledge of persons making public announcements before going through a nomination process for the 2015 election, and disclosed, “But I would like to point out that far worse has happened like persons being involved in corruption and no press conference has ever been held about it or disrespectful and childish comparisons being made.”

As a lawyer and upstanding citizen who wants to be President, did Ramson not feel it was his patriotic duty to report this “corruption” that he saw to the police or better yet, to SOCU?

Now that Charles Ramson is writing for the Kaieteur News, it seems he has discovered the Freddie Kissoon syndrome: Criticize Jagdeo and get your face on the front page.

In his declaration speech, Ramson said Guyana needs young, fresh leadership. “We need credible leadership—leadership with integrity, passion and vision; leadership that puts the people first.” While both Anil Nandall and Irfaan Ali fit the aforementioned description, they both have tremendous success and a well-documented track record in the sectors they were responsible for as Ministers in the previous government. Where is Ramson’s? In the past three years, it was Anil Nandlall, aided sometimes by Priya Manickchand and Adrian Anamayah who defended cash-crop farmers and sugar workers and everyone whose constitutional rights were being violated by this APNU+AFC Administration.

With his 10 years’ experience as a lawyer and Party member, Ramson has never volunteered his expertise to assist Nandlall with one of these cases. Is this the kind of leadership that puts people first?  

Editor, behind that baby-face smile is a man whose ego dangerously rivals that of our Prime Minister. In his letter in the Kaieteur News on June 29 captioned `Charles Ramson through the eyes of someone else’, Dr. Mark Devonish sums it up beautifully when he describes Ramson as “too arrogant, obnoxious and petty” to be President. He forgot to mention his bad attitude.

I’m sure with time, Charles Ramson Jr will make a great President of Guyana, but not now, he has some maturing to do.

Yours faithfully,

Harry Gill

This dude is too young arrogant. I was hoping he would become a good leader. Seems like we have another Donald Trump in the making. I see no humility in him and he will eventually contract hoof and mouth disease.

There is no one in the Peoples Progressive Party as a Presidential Candidate. They are going to assign a person, but in the end, the calibre is not there. Anil and Irfaan have a history to them as not credible on integrity.

I hope Jagdeo doan surrender to defeat in 2020 by being stubborn.  

This dude is too young arrogant. I was hoping he would become a good leader. Seems like we have another Donald Trump in the making. I see no humility in him and he will eventually contract hoof and mouth disease.

Skelly Bhai, I have to disagree with you. In fact, Guyana needs MORE young LEADERS like Mr Ramson thinking and acting INDEPENDENTLY to better the lives of the Guyanese people.

De young man popular with the ladies. 

Mark Devonish and the PNC see Ramson as a threat  and would do anything to discredit him. His article is squarely pitting Ramson against the old PPP authority.  Ramson needs to do a nation tour to garner support from the masses.

KP, I agree. Many are wolves in sheep clothing. Like Hinds, they try to appear neutral and center BUT deep down they are just trying to create divisions and mistrust. These people NEVER put down the PNC for all its CRIMES and INCOMPETENCE BUT is always very attentive what the PPP take a SHIT or FART!!

Mark Devonish and the PNC see Ramson as a threat  and would do anything to discredit him. His article is squarely pitting Ramson against the old PPP authority.  Ramson needs to do a nation tour to garner support from the masses.

KP,me thinks you mentioned you are related to the Ramson's.

If i am wrong accept my apology.

You are correct and no excuses for that.

You don't do him any justice with the anti-Black racist shyte you post here.  You could taint him!  He needs a lot of development to be ready for prime time and being associated with a racist like you does not help his cause.

Lil Boy I am not looking for a job and my comments on GNI  are insignificant to the success of  Charles Ramson. Many of you are daily posting your  resume  on GNI saying what is politically correct  but ashamed  to speak the truth.  I have nothing to gain or lose  and Mr Ramson don't need my help he is good on his own and with Guyanese at home.

Dat Lil bwoy says Jagdeo too old. Hmmmm!

Jagdeo had served his purpose.  Guyanese need fresh blood, new ideas and a superior path for further  development . I encourage new political parties  thus giving the people options. 

When i was saying he is spend shell and should fade away... etc,you used to hammer my views.Now you changed your mind.

This was a blessing in disguise.  Vickram Bharratt as a new young MP is making strides in the PPP.  He is a very level headed guy with good reasoning power and does not show bias.  I see him as a Presidential hopeful sometime in the future.

Vickram seems like a good guy,always smiling.

I thought you saw Ramson as Presidential hopeful until he crossed your dream boy! 

Now you have a new pic. 

You funny no ass!

When i was saying he is spend shell and should fade away... etc,you used to hammer my views.Now you changed your mind.

Now we are seeing better alternatives. 

At the end of the day, Anil is the most experienced. 

People are tired of same old politics with too much experience doing same old ,same old.   Trump had no experience  but he is your idol as President. 

There are quite a few contenders who should all be considered -Anil, Frank Anthony, Charles Ramson. The selection process within the PPP is ‘old school’ but let’s hope the Executive members put away their biases and do not allow anyone to pursuade them to vote.

People are tired of same old politics with too much experience doing same old ,same old.   Trump had no experience  but he is your idol as President. 

Kp

Let me get this straight Bhai, you want a Politician like Trump for Guyana ?

If so, what will happen to them Cubans, Haitians and Venezuelan visitors to Guyana ?

BTW, Trump is not my idol but I support him on most conservative issues except immigration and trade. I am a long time conservative and do not like what the Democrats did to Indos and the PPP TWICE.

Django bai, when compared to youths like Ramson, Jagdeo is aged, when compared to those walking dead Coalition dudes, Jagdeo is still a youth. 

BTW, Trump is not my idol but I support him on most conservative issues except immigration and trade. I am a long time conservative and do not like what the Democrats did to Indos and the PPP TWICE.

Yuji bai, trump is neither a Republican nor conservative. He is a selfish and crooked opportunist. 

Kp

If so, what will happen to them Cubans, Haitians and Venezuelan visitors to Guyana ?

Election interfering  is not a Republican  or Democrat  thing but it is an American Thing.

I am amused when alyuh does prattle bout East Indians should rule forever.The country is multiracial,let the parties take turns to govern,respect the gov't of the day.Watch them when in gov't like a hawk so they doan thief,call them out when they practice racism,for that matter prosecute the racist.

Guyanese should read the Constitution follow the law,respect each other stop being sheep.

I am amused when alyuh does prattle bout East Indians should rule forever.The country is multiracial,let the parties take turns to govern,respect the gov't of the day.Watch them when in gov't like a hawk so they doan thief,call them out when they practice racism,for that matter prosecute the racist.

Guyanese should read the Constitution follow the law,respect each other stop being sheep.

There is no such thing as Tek Turn Election.

Kp

Election interfering  is not a Republican  or Democrat  thing but it is an American Thing.

Well, it was NEVER done by a Republican administration. The Democrats did it twice ! So we cannot wrongfully call it an American thing.

DJ, Democracy is the will of the people. Free and Fair elections are the foundation of any democracy. USA comes to mind.

The US also have racial issues, they cannot bury their heads in the sand. Lots of injustice have been committed towards African Americans who are now flexing their muscles at the ballot. Hillary took their vote for granted and lost.

We all want Guyana to succeed, PPP and PNC supporters alike but WE MUST NOT support RIGGING. 

DJ, Democracy is the will of the people. Free and Fair elections are the foundation of any democracy. USA comes to mind.

The US also have racial issues, they cannot bury their heads in the sand. Lots of injustice have been committed towards African Americans who are now flexing their muscles at the ballot. Hillary took their vote for granted and lost.

We all want Guyana to succeed, PPP and PNC supporters alike but WE MUST NOT support RIGGING. 

Should we believe Jagdeo or the international observers and Carter Center on the outcome of the 2015 election?

Bhai,you know what i mean in the context of Guyana,Guyanese need to stop race base voting.

No party should be anchored in,the members become power drunk,also not healthy for Development and rue Democracy,you can't shut out people in multi racial countries.

He is probably the most qualified, but he has to show he can pull in the votes!

Anil can pull in the votes and he has Jagdeo who can also pull in votes. No once can deny Jagdeo's ability to win an election. He was a two term democratically elected President. 

I support Anil for President. He is also a brilliant legal mind.

He is on a tv talk show in Berbice,He will need to show his presence around the Country.

Anil can pull in the votes and he has Jagdeo who can also pull in votes. No once can deny Jagdeo's ability to win an election. He was a two term democratically elected President. 

He has to be independent of BJ as he will be deemed a puppet.  BJ needs to move off and let the others shine.  He wants to dominate from the back seat.

Yugi,if you are talking about pulling East Indian votes only PPP will lose the 2020 Elections.

If Jagdeo will be in the Election campaigns that will make it worse.

@Baseman

I do not disagree.

Anil is very smart and will still use Jagdeo's popularity in voting blocks that can make a difference. Jagdeo will eventually be pushed aside after Anil wins if he is selected as the Presidential Candidate.

Jagdeo is wildly popular and Anil has to walk a very tight rope for now.

Jagdeo has to eventually take a back seat now that he is no longer able to run and allow other candidates to stamp their own brand on the PPP. He could cause some harm if he continues to meddle at the current rate.

Someone has to have a serious private chat with Jagdeo. He needs to get used to the new political reality and put Party ahead of his personal interests.

@Baseman

I do not disagree.

Anil is very smart and will still use Jagdeo's popularity in voting blocks that can make a difference. Jagdeo will eventually be pushed aside after Anil wins if he is selected as the Presidential Candidate.

Jagdeo is wildly popular and Anil has to walk a very tight rope for now.

Jagdeo has to eventually take a back seat now that he is no longer able to run and allow other candidates to stamp their own brand on the PPP. He could cause some harm if he continues to meddle at the current rate.

Someone has to have a serious private chat with Jagdeo. He needs to get used to new political reality and put Party ahead of his personal interests.

Doesn't matter, he ain't running and he should not have an overbearing presence/influence on any new administration.