So this year holidays season I decided to return to my old policy of TRYING to support Guyanese businesses in Richmond Hill. So for a number of my events I ordered Guyanese dishes from may of them and was once again grossly disappointed. I mean no harm to these businesses but they have to pony up and deliver quality but then again the Guyanese consumer seem to settle for substandards which encourages price gouging and poor quality food.

1. Sybils roti remain half raw. No disrespect Cookie but about time the roties come cooked well.

2. J&B when people order duck you cant give them chicken meat instead .

3. Three Sisters you phulourie have little or no split peas, when the phulouries get cold people need fanged teeth to tear that sh1t you call phulourie.

4. Nest stop packing your curry meat dishes with more meat and less bone.

5. Kaieteur stop filling your shrimp curry with potato it kills the shrimp taste , go back to serving shrimp curry like the orginal owners and even Ritchie continued the old menus but these new owners are selling consumers short by filling shrimp curry with aloo which kills the taste robs consumers of shrimp .

6. caribana needs to make sure their dishes are consistent in taste and content .

7. Bottled pepper is filled with so much water one needs a magnifier to see any real pepper in the pepper sauce .

8. bakers who make cheese rolls please put cheese in your cheese rolls cause when I read cheese rolls I do not expect flavoured cheese rolls .

9. Salsea makers please put more split peas in the product .

Why do Guyanese manufacturers and restaurants fail to be honest and their products consistent ????

The point of the thread is about Richmond Hill eateries and packaged products in stores not being honest and or consistent on quality.

Now many of these places I tagged above do make some excellent dishes but some of their main items of sale consistently lack quality and it seems Guyanese have remained mum about it for years so, these places are either unaware or just dont give a shyte.

Take for instance the

Guyana pepper sauces on store and local supermarket shelves, they are so salty and liquid one can hardly see any pepper in them.

Cheese roll with no cheese.

Phulouries lack split peas.

When I host large events I try my best as always to support the indo Guyanese and Guyanese suppliers but they are always cocking consumers with inferior products.

Last summer I ordered food from some north indian restaurants 3 times and what can I say , the food was delicious , the owners came by the event well dressed and mixed with my guests to boast about their dishes and I allowed them to give out business cards etc. Now tell me which Guyanese indian restaurant can I do that with ? They always trying to cock you . Food came up short , curry dishes filled with bones with little meat , roties half cooked , phulouries when cold you cannot tear with your teeth and lacking split peas .

Vish Mahadeo perhaps you can indicate to these businesses that quality , consistency and punctuality are the core of good business .

A few years ago there were tours to RH were the tours chose different restuarants to go eat . The restaurant owners were told when the tour would arrive to taste and eat their dishes but then the tour gets there they have to wait 40 minutes , they get no serving spoons , the tables are not cleans and properly laid out and the service is lousy . These tours have since been stopped because of the lack of good service , punctuality , reliablity and quality. Here it is an organization is trying to bring NY to RH businesses and they cant get their sh1t together .
Should have asked, I would have sent you to Hibiscus or the Nest. I know a Binnie at Nest who would have hooked you up Prapa. partybanana panman
Originally posted by alena:
I was at Bamboo Garden on Atlantic ave yesterday and the food was soooo greasy. They added a gratuity tip to the bill and. It was freezing cold in the restaurant.
Originally posted by kidmost:
The point of the thread is about Richmond Hill eateries and packaged products in stores not being honest and or consistent on quality.

Now many of these places I tagged above do make some excellent dishes but some of their main items of sale consistently lack quality and it seems Guyanese have remained mum about it for years so, these places are either unaware or just dont give a shyte.

Take for instance the

Guyana pepper sauces on store and local supermarket shelves, they are so salty and liquid one can hardly see any pepper in them.

Cheese roll with no cheese.

Phulouries lack split peas.

When I host large events I try my best as always to support the indo Guyanese and Guyanese suppliers but they are always cocking consumers with inferior products.

Last summer I ordered food from some north indian restaurants 3 times and what can I say , the food was delicious , the owners came by the event well dressed and mixed with my guests to boast about their dishes and I allowed them to give out business cards etc. Now tell me which Guyanese indian restaurant can I do that with ? They always trying to cock you . Food came up short , curry dishes filled with bones with little meat , roties half cooked , phulouries when cold you cannot tear with your teeth and lacking split peas .

Vish Mahadeo perhaps you can indicate to these businesses that quality , consistency and punctuality are the core of good business .

A few years ago there were tours to RH were the tours chose different restuarants to go eat . The restaurant owners were told when the tour would arrive to taste and eat their dishes but then the tour gets there they have to wait 40 minutes , they get no serving spoons , the tables are not cleans and properly laid out and the service is lousy . These tours have since been stopped because of the lack of good service , punctuality , reliablity and quality. Here it is an organization is trying to bring NY to RH businesses and they cant get their sh1t together .
How about you ask your sister to [publish a rating ( for the benefit of the community) on a five point scale of the restaurants in the area calling themselves authentic Guyanese restaurants. Can't have them defiling the cuisine with bad presentation and sloppy cooking.

Never seen an authentic Guyanese restaurant in NY yet. You mean cook shop?
Whenever I travel to NY I try to patronize the Guyanese reastauants and have never found one that met rreasonable standards of food preparation and presentation, etc.

However, I would like to raise another issue regarding rascality. Churchill treated me to a dinner at one of the better establishments. The food was passable but the waitress was very affable and professional. When she brought us the bill, Churchill rewarded her with a very generous tip. The owner then sent us an amended bill to include the tip as part of the purchase. The creep thereby robbed the server (who, Iam sure, was earning less than the minimum wage) of her well earned tip. We did not protest too much because we sensed the fear of losing her job in her. This is a heinous practice that you NYers should agitate against.
Originally posted by Errol Arthur:
Whenever I travel to NY I try to patronize the Guyanese reastauants and have never found one that met rreasonable standards of food preparation and presentation, etc.

However, I would like to raise another issue regarding rascality. Churchill treated me to a dinner at one of the better establishments. The food was passable but the waitress was very affable and professional. When she brought us the bill, Churchill rewarded her with a very generous tip. The owner then sent us an amended bill to include the tip as part of the purchase. The creep thereby robbed the server (who, Iam sure, was earning less than the minimum wage) of her well earned tip. We did not protest too much because we sensed the fear of losing her job in her. This is a heinous practice that you NYers should agitate against.

I always tip cash. Too much criminal restaurants in NY.
A simple question. Do you have to Tip???/
Originally posted by TI:

I always tip cash. Too much criminal restaurants in NY.
Originally posted by TI:
15 to 20%, unless take away.

Indeed. Waiters/Waitresses and barmen, etc. are paid below the minimum wage. They depend on tips to make a decent income. Ever so often some ignorant clod would succeed in stiffing the establishment. When that happens these innocent, underpaid and overworked workers have to foot the bill. Please treat them well.
Thank you Errol. Oh rass ah feel bad now. i does usually leave ah Dalla pun deh Table and sometimes look forward fuh lil feel up. partybanana partybanana
Originally posted by TI:

Indeed. Waiters/Waitresses and barmen, etc. are paid below the minimum wage. They depend on tips to make a decent income. Ever so often some ignorant clod would succeed in stiffing the establishment. When that happens these innocent, underpaid and overworked workers have to foot the bill. Please treat them well.
Originally posted by TI:

When the minimum wage incresed in BC recently, it did not include the food servers.
Originally posted by TI:

I like to do 10% but was told that this is not enough.I must add that I eat out like 4 out of 5 days per week. My eldest son like to do 18 to 20% I told him he is the lawyer not me.
Originally posted by Chief:
Originally posted by TI:

I like to do 10% but was told that this is not enough.I must add that I eat out like 4 out of 5 days per week. My eldest son like to do 18 to 20% I told him he is the lawyer not me.
your son is right. You should not eat out if you cannot pay the tips as he does. Go to the carryout or food cart, or food court instead. I eat out at least one meal a day as well and given how these people are abused one must at minimum pay 15 percent. If the waiter/waiter are good then one should compensate them more. That is the bulk of their wages,
Originally posted by D2:
your son is right. You should not eat out if you cannot pay the tips as he does. Go to the carryout or food cart, or food court instead. I eat out at least one meal a day as well and given how these people are abused one must at minimum pay 15 percent. If the waiter/waiter are good then one should compensate them more. That is the bulk of their wages,

I don't know about abused, these waiters and waitresses where I eat at are very healthy and robust looking. My average bill for lunch without alcohol is around 50 to 60 bucks and above and I feel that 10% is ok. Anyway in this new year I will put in the 15%.

What I detest is when the restaurants charge a mandatory 18% to 20% as gratuity.
Originally posted by Chief:
Originally posted by D2:

I don't know about abused, these waiters and waitresses where I eat at are very healthy and robust looking. My average bill for lunch without alcohol is around 50 to 60 bucks and above and I feel that 10% is ok. Anyway in this new year I will put in the 15%.

What I detest is when the restaurants charge a mandatory 18% to 20% as gratuity .

That's when you never visit them again.

Chief, you sound like you is a cheap rass you know. Big Grin
Waiters/waitresses do not make much, they depend on the tips. In my younger days I worked for a short while in a bar (Footloose)for those who may have visited the place,the tips are often shared with the cook and dish washer, so the waiters/waitresses don't always go home with what they collected.

Strippers can also fall into that same category, they make whatever you decide to slide into their thongs/crevices or wherever.