Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

PPP. AFC 12%, PPP 46% and PNC rest come nest electshan.

that sounds about right.

Now will the PPP threaten snap elections again if that happens?

Will they accuse APNU of rigging the elections?

Will they scream that because Guyana is booming PPP voters so no reason why they should vote.

While APNU is stupid they generally have a sharp eye when the PPP tries to rig elections.  I know that the PPP isn't going to be so stupid because if so G/twn will shut down as will the entire ECD, and EBD.

I do note that they refuse to release the results of the 2012 census.  Is it because the Indian population has plunged and they are now in mass panic, given that the PPP polls poorly among mixed voters?

Originally Posted by Amral:

So in 2006 the PPP won 54% of the  vote with 186k votes.  In 2011 they won 49% of the votes with 168k votes.  The PNC in 2006 won 34% of the votes with 115k votes.  In 2011 they won 41% of the votes with 139k votes.

Don't know the point that you make, but given generational and demographic changes, if we look at the last two elections, the trends aren't good for the PPP.  Its Indian voting base is declining and it has COMPLETELY failed to penetrate the African/mixed voting base of the opposition.

Note that it is the mixed population which grows with every election, and its clear that their preference is for APNU or the AFC.

So in 2006 the PPP won 54% of the  vote with 186k votes.  In 2011 they won 49% of the votes with 168k votes.  The PNC in 2006 won 34% of the votes with 115k votes.  In 2011 they won 41% of the votes with 139k votes.

Don't know the point that you make, but given generational and demographic changes, if we look at the last two elections, the trends aren't good for the PPP.  Its Indian voting base is declining and it has COMPLETELY failed to penetrate the African/mixed voting base of the opposition.

Note that it is the mixed population which grows with every election, and its clear that their preference is for APNU or the AFC.

Or it could be that the Corrupt PPP/C supporter has not been going out and vote, if the same trend continues.......then we will definately see the corrupt ppp/c kicking dust.

the PPP need a Messiah to lead them out of the wilderness.

Does the PPP have the god given right to rule?  If that party is hopeless then let them die.  I can assure you that if the PPP dies tomorrow the PNC will be gone by Tuesday.

This will then allow new parties to arise with a fresher vision, and without the baggage of the past.

The AFC was supposed to be that new party, however the people were so afraid of change that they stuck to the PPP and PNC. Remember the AFC has not been in power so we don't know much about them other than the fact that their leadership are disenchanted former PPP/PNC members. But notable is that they are against bold development and would kick out the Chinese if ever they won elections.

That is what I said before we need a new party with fresh blood and vision, But until that is formed, you have to settle for the PPP.

isn't this what alyuh been wringing yuh hands calling fuh before the AFC come on the scene

now alyuh moving the goalposts again

PPP protection racket . . . smh

That is what I said before we need a new party with fresh blood and vision, But until that is formed, you have to settle for the PPP.

INDIANS have to settle for the PPP.

BLACKS refuse to do so.

ADDRESS the fact that black people view the PPP as hostile to them, and the fact that YOU clearly haven't factored that into your thinking!

So no the 40% of the black and mixed vote do NOT have to settle for the PPP.  Your comments are a INSULT to them!

The government has lost its connection with the common man

March 3, 2014 · By Staff Writer · 3 Comments   

Dear Editor,

Sometime last year the residents of Lamaha Gardens published in the print media a detailed double page notice on the suspected fraudulent sale of their community playground. The transaction involved government officials from a particular ministry, the Deeds Registry and other government bodies.

The shocking revelation of this transaction did not elicit a response from any minister of government, especially the Attorney General. There was no one jumping to defend the 300 plus households in Lamaha Gardens. However, quite recently your newspaper published a brilliant investigative editorial on the 142 Durbana Square playground fraud which involves government employees. Lo and behold, our Attorney General immediately pens a letter in defense of government actions (or inaction) with the said fraud. I must say he was very quick to jump to the government’s defense.

On Mashramani Day the Minister of Finance was involved in an accident and left the scene of the accident. The public has been well informed via the media and on social networks of what transpired and will make its own judgment as to whether the Minister’s action was above the law. Within days of the accident the Attorney General jumped in once again to the defense of the Minister. The victims of the accident never had any official representation from anyone in government.

Editor, my point is that the current PPP Government has lost its connection with the common man. They are so occupied with big projects, big schemes and a new bourgeois way of life that they cannot relate to the concerns of the ordinary folk.

Yours faithfully,

Marcus Craig

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...nnection-common-man/

We understand Big Seed..... Hydro Goodey

cannot think like a normal guyanese

and this Godey cause him to keep saying

AFC is in bed with APNU.

But See how PPP was desperate to Delay

announcing to the nation that they are a minority Govt.....

Just see how and why

the PPP keep calling for recounts.

Also see and understand AFC's position .....

when it was clear PPP is now a Minority Govt

AFC feels Guyana needs Peace & Stability,

AFC calls on all Guyanese to be Vigilant,

ALL Guyanese.... must Continue to Support

AFC Clear position and

AFC call for Peace,

AFC call for Stability...... and

AFC call for a Better day for Guyana.

And Remember

AFC will not sit and make deals with PPP or APNU

But AFC call for all parties .....PPP, APNU & AFC

to show responsible leadership.... and

sit and talk what is best for Guyana & All Guyanese....

because AFC will not make any Private Deals

with PPP or PNC regarding governance of Guyana.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FzGMmY-NYzQ

Boy, 6, dies at Leonora Hospital from

lack of oxygen

MARCH 10, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

- hospital report cites two similar fatalities

Dr. Kamal Narine

A six year old boy was recently added to a list of two persons who died at the Leonora Cottage Hospital due to shortage of oxygen and medication at the facility.
This was revealed in the minutes of a recent statuary meeting which quoted assistant administrator of the institution, Dev Hira as saying that a report compiled by the hospital’s Cuban Director states that the child died due to the lack of oxygen.
In the minutes, seen by Kaieteur News, Hira is quoted as telling regional councilors that the child’s death is the third incident of this kind at the institution. The minutes made no mention of what steps the hospital’s administration will implement to correct this situation.
During an interview with this newspaper, the region’s Alliance for Change Councillor, Dr. Kamal Narine noted that all is not well with the region’s health care system.
He said that apart from the continuous and dangerous instances of drug shortage that have been affecting the country, there is a possibility that most of the medication in Region Three is expired.
Dr. Narine said that when the region submits claims for drugs, the drugs are usually lodged at the storage bond of the West Demerara Regional Hospital. He explained that whenever the other facilities of the region need supplies, they would request it from that hospital’s bond.
Protocol is that the requested medications would be lodged at the bond of the requesting hospital, and staffers there would inspect the supplies before sending them to the respective departments.
However, in Region Three, Dr. Narine alleged that on many occasions, the requested supplies of medications are sent directly to the respective departments, not affording staffers the chance to inspect the delivery in order to ensure that it is of proper quality.
“This is a mad, mad situation. In situations like this, you even got people being treated with wrong doses. Then there is no proper audit of the drugs, so I am sure that many are expired,” Dr. Narine posited.

The Leonora Cottage Hospital

Because he is a member of the region’s health committee, which has insights on the health issues facing the district, he does not utilize the services offered.
“It’s frightening. I would prefer go to a private institution,” Dr. Narine declared, adding that even the X-ray machine at the Leonora Hospital does not work.
The AFC Councillor maintained that the region’s health system is problem-plagued, and that those in authority at the Ministry of Health seem not to care.
“Imagine you can be injected with something that they mistake for something else, and you can die. How more serious can our system get? This is something that is really bothering me, and some of the other councilors, but the government is not doing anything to change this situation.”
Kaieteur News was told that during the region’s recent statutory meeting, the Regional Health Officer, Ms. Nadia Coleman told councilors that she was no longer prepared to deal with the region’s health struggles, since the shortage of drugs cannot be pinned on her.
According to two of the councilors, the woman explained that whenever she requests four or five oxygen cylinders, the region would receive two or three.
“I was made to understand that they does be telling her that the supplies are wasting, so that’s the situation.”
When the region’s administration receives the short stock of oxygen, Coleman is reportedly forced to make the call as to which one of the hospitals and health centres should benefit from the supply.
“This is nonsense! And we have the Minister doing nothing. Before, we used to have problems, yes, but this new Ministerâ€ĶI don’t know what he doing,” one of the councilors said.
Just recently, a resident of Tuschen, East Bank Essequibo who suffered a stroke also blamed this on the lack of drugs and equipment at both the Tuschen Health Centre and the Leonora Cottage Hospital.
According to the elderly man who is diabetic, a few weeks ago, he started visiting the health centre repeatedly to have his blood sugar level monitored.
However, he claimed he was told by nurses there, that this could not be done since there were no machines or strips to do so.
A few days later, Ali developed complications due to his condition and had to be rushed to the Emergency Unit of the Leonora public health facility, where he said he was told that there wasn’t an adequate supply of medication.
Ali subsequently suffered a mild stroke, and Kaieteur News understands that both the aforementioned public health facilities are in short supply of drugs to treat common illnesses like cold and cough.
“Not even for children,” he said.
Another AFC Councillor of Region Three, Harry Deokinanan said that the drug situation in his district has deteriorated to the extent where even the People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) Councillors are beginning to speak out.
He said that even though some of the facilities might ‘look nice’ on the outside, they lack the resources to execute some very basic treatments.
“If you got a health institution in a region and people can’t benefit from it, then what is the point? If people can’t go to a hospital or health centre in Region Three and get simple treatments, then what is the point?”

Child death at Leonora Hospitalâ€Ķ

Parents peeved lack of oxygen

March 11, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

“Dah shock me, because I knew is oxygen my son had to get, so instead of carrying he to Georgetown, I rush he to the nearest place”- Mother

The parents of the child, who recently died at the Leonora Cottage Hospital, are peeved at the fact that the public health facility had no supply of something as vital as oxygen.
The now dead six-year-old boy, Henesh Ramlakhan, was the only child of Jairam Ramlakhan and Vidya Persaud, residents of Anna Catherina, West Coast Demerara.

The young mother told Kaieteur News yesterday that on the morning of February 5, her son started experiencing breathing problems, and that knowing his condition, she knew that all he needed was some oxygen.
Persaud said that she did not want to risk taking her son to as far as Georgetown, and therefore opted to rush the child to the nearest health facility for a quick supply of oxygen, which she suspected that he needed.
“I did know that when he get the l’il oxygen he would be alright, but if I did only know that a proper looking and important place like the Leonora Hospital didn’t even have oxygen, I would ah tek the chance and carry he to Georgetown.”
“â€ĶLike I couldn’t even believe it. That shock me, because I knew is oxygen my son had to get.”
Persaud said that her son had a heart condition, and would frequent the clinic at the Georgetown Public Hospital where he is usually treated and sent away.
At least two Region Three officials said that the child was in a critical condition, and would have died even with the oxygen. However, Ramlakhan’s mother insists despite her son’s illness, she knew that all he needed at the time was some oxygen.
Persaud told this publication that after informing her that there was no oxygen, the Leonora Hospital staff called for an ambulance to transport the child to Georgetown. Unfortunately, the child was unable to breathe and died before the ambulance could arrive.
Initially, the circumstances surrounding the child’s death were not made public. However, Kaieteur News obtained the minutes of a recent statuary meeting, which quoted the hospital’s assistant administrator, Dev Hira, as saying that a report compiled by the institution’s Cuban Director states that the child died due to the lack of oxygen.
This newspaper was unable to make contact with Hira for a comment on the issue. However, another Region Three Councillor said that while the minutes did quote Hira as telling regional councillors that the child’s death is the third incident of that kind at the institution, the document, although authentic, misrepresented what Hira meant.
“The document will be corrected, but it should be noted that it was the third time that the hospital was completely out of oxygen, not the third time that somebody died.”
It is no secret that health facilities across the country have been facing a significant shortage of drugs. Authorities would usually say that this is due to the lack of communications at the health centres and hospitals.
Just recently, Indra Chandarpal, Chairperson of the Parliamentary Sectoral Committee on Social Services, told this newspaper that the shortage is as a result of weak communication between Regional Health Authorities and the Ministry of Health’s bond at Diamond, East Bank Demerara.
Chandarpal explained that the health centres on West Demerara would have to send their request to the West Demerara Regional Hospital, which would in turn request the drugs from the national bond.
She noted, too, that the shortage of medical supplies at health facilities should not be a regular feature, since the Regional budgets cater for health services.
Meanwhile, this newspaper understands that during a recent statutory meeting, the Regional Health Officer, Ms. Nadia Coleman, told councillors that she was no longer prepared to deal with the region’s health struggles, since the shortage of drugs cannot be pinned on her.
According to two of the regional councillors, Coleman explained that whenever she requests four or five oxygen cylinders, the region would receive two or three.
“I was made to understand that they does be telling her that the supplies are wasting, so they only providing what they think would be used, so that’s the situation,” Alliance For Change (AFC) Councillor, Harry Deokinanan said.
He claims that when the region’s administration receives the short stock of oxygen, Coleman is forced to make the call as to which one of the hospitals and health centres should benefit from the supply.
Meanwhile, in addition to the inadequate supply of drugs, there is also a possibility that the existing supply of medications is expired.
This was according to Alliance for Change Councillor, and member of the Region Three Health Committee, Dr. Kamal Narine, who explained that when health centres and hospitals request drugs from the storage bond at the West Demerara Regional Hospital, protocols are often not followed and instead of being lodged at the bond of the requesting hospital for inspection, the medications are sent directly to the individual departments.
“This is a mad, mad situation. In situations like this, you even got people being treated with wrong doses. Then there is no proper audit of the drugs, so I am sure that many are expired,” Dr. Narine posited.
Because he is a member of the region’s health committee, who has insights into the health issues facing the district, he does not utilize the services offered.
“It’s frightening. I would prefer to go to a private institution,” Dr. Narine declared, adding that even the X-ray machine and telecommunication at the Leonora Hospital does not work.
“This is nonsense! And we have the Minister doing nothing. Before, we used to have problems, yes, but this new Ministerâ€ĶI don’t know what he doing,” Dr. Narine said.
Efforts to contact the Health Minister, Dr. Bheri Ramsaran were futile.

Squatters must remove from East Bank

Demerara sea dam- Ministry of Public

Works

Some of the squatters in Herstelling that have not received house lots and are unable to remove from the sea dam at present.

- 14-day notice expire, hundreds without house lots

Residents of the Diamond and Herstelling sea dam are peeved at the fact that although the government acknowledges that they are poor people, they are still being forced to pay exorbitant prices for house lots.
They all say that they cannot even afford to move themselves from the dam where they have been residing for several years.
The Ministry of Public Works and Communication has issued notices informing these squatters that they are occupying state reserves against the law. The Sea Defence Act prohibits persons from occupying sea defence reserves and threatens stiff penalties.
A 14-day notice issued to all the squatters expired on Sunday. Efforts are now being made to clear the reserves.
The Works Ministry in collaboration with all relevant agencies including the Ministries of Housing and Water and the Neighbourhood Democratic Councils (NDC) is spearheading this effort.
According to Savitri Persaud, of Herstelling, East Bank Demerara (EBD), notices were issues from the Ministry of Public Works to persons on the sea dam, and squatters were asked to visit the Ministry of Housing and Water with their respective notices and apply for their house lot.
“We are poor people; we can’t afford to pay $500,000 for a house lot. That is why we are living here! We are willing to move but they have to try to assist the very poor people; some people get house lots for $92,000 and $150,000. That is till behind Parfait Harmonie. My husband and son died and I sell fish. If I go there what will I do? “
Patricia Williams of Herstelling, East Bank Demerara and a mother of seven, said that it is very hard for her to make payments for a plot she is being awarded. She said that she needs time to make such payments in small installments, because she has many children to care for as a single parent.
According to Sookranie Singh, she has been living on the sea dam for 20-years. She said that she applied for a house lot in 1992, in 1995 then again in 2005, but never was successful. “They say how they can’t find the filesâ€Ķthey telling you that go and live at some family or rent somewhere. Family will only keep you for a two day and we can’t afford to rent anywhere.”
Squatters at Diamond, East Bank Demerara wanted to remain anonymous for fear of victimization from the authorities. However, collectively they agreed that several households, who could have afforded to remove from the squatting area, did so.
This newspaper spoke to a majority of women who revealed that the Ministry of Housing has been giving them the royal run around to obtain a house lot. “They (Ministry of Housing) tell we
that them ain’t got land right now and as soon as they get land them gon tell we. They tell we that them got 200 plus land inside the Diamond Scheme, and them gon look after it, they want we to move and they ain’t giving we no house lot yet.”
One woman said that since most of the people cannot afford to purchase the land at present, “the Government should put the people on the land, and let them pay for it. Instead of paying rent, which most can’t affordâ€ĶThey want we get half of the money first before we could get the land. Not everybody can afford that! We working for a small salary,
“I have to provide for three children, they have to change school, I can’t even afford to eat properly and they want me to pay a big set of money for land. How will poor people survived?” one woman said.
Adding that the Prime Minster, Samuel Hinds visited the area earlier in the year, residents in Diamond related that their names were recorded, and it was promised that persons would be assisted with some of the money needed to pay for their respective house lots. However, to date nothing has materialized.
Another woman asserted that the persons who are working at the Diamond NDC are looking after their personal interest rather than the interest of the people that are seeking the council’s assistance.
Many persons claimed that the government has not given any assistance to persons who are moving. However, according to Ministry of Public Works and Communication, Robeson Benn, transportation is being provided for hundreds of persons that are squatting on the Diamond and Herstelling sea dam to remove their valuables, since it is compulsory for everyone to eventually relocate.

NB The corrupt PPP/C has been allocating house lots for cronies and friends and family yet the poor people cannot be given house lots. Now they are pushing poor people out of their homes.

Shortage of medicationâ€ĶLack of

communication a bogus excuse – Dr.

Norton

March 14, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

Shadow Minister of Health, Dr. George Norton believes that the real reason behind the shortage of pharmaceuticals in the country lies with its sourcing.
He is of the opinion that the excuse of lack of communication between regional health services and the Ministry of Health’s storage bond at Diamond, East Bank Demerara, is one that is bogus.
“It can’t be that, let’s face it. We have drugs going around with short shelf lives, then we suddenly end up with an abundance of expired medications that can’t be used, and the Ministry then has to ration what they have, so that there is the underlying problem,” Dr. Norton asserted in an invited comment on Wednesday.

APNU’s Dr. George Norton

APNU’s
Dr. George Norton

“This has to stop. The Ministry of Health needs to stop playing around with people’s lives, and create a level playing field for pharmaceutical suppliers, so that people don’t have to die like this.”
Norton was at the time reflecting particularly on the death of a six-year-old boy at the Leonora Cottage Hospital due to the lack of oxygen at the facility.
The child, Henesh Ramlakhan, was suffering from a heart condition, and according to his mother, Vidya Persaud, all he needed was a supply of oxygen, and “he would ah been good to go.”
Instead, the child was pronounced dead at the hospital, about 30 minutes before the arrival of an ambulance from the West Demerara Regional Hospital.
Persaud told this newspaper that she did not want to risk taking her son to as far as Georgetown, and therefore opted to rush the child to the nearest health facility so that he can get a quick supply of oxygen, which she suspected that he needed.
“â€ĶLike I couldn’t even believe it. Dah really shocked me,” the irate mother said.
In addition to not having in store the basic supply of oxygen, the facility at Leonora has also been short of other essential drugs. But this is not the only location that has been experiencing such shortages.
Over the past months, there have been continuous reports of health centres and hospitals across the country, which have been operating without an adequate supply of medication.
These include saline, strips to aid the testing of diabetes and eye drops among others.
Just recently, Indra Chandarpal, Chairperson of the Parliamentary Sectoral Committee on Social Services told this newspaper that the shortage is as a result of poor communication between Regional Health Authorities and the Ministry of Health’s bond at Diamond, East Bank Demerara.
Chandarpal explained that the health centres on the West Demerara would have to send their request to the West Demerara Regional Hospital, which would in turn request the drugs from the national bond.
She noted too that the shortage of medical supplies at health facilities should not be a regular feature, since the Regional budgets cater for health services.
Meanwhile, this newspaper was told by Region Three Councillors that during a recent statutory meeting, the Regional Health Officer, Nadia Coleman, declared that she was no longer prepared to deal with the region’s health struggles, since the shortage of drugs cannot be pinned on her. It was explained too that it is not the case where communication between regional authorities and Ministry is bad.
According to at least two of the councillors, Coleman explained to them that whenever she requests four or five oxygen cylinders, the region would receive two or three.
“I was made to understand that they does be telling her that the supplies are wasting, so they only providing what they thing would be used, so that’s the situation,” Alliance For Change (AFC) Councillor, Harry Deokinanan said.
He claims that when the region’s administration receives the short stock of oxygen, Coleman is forced to make the call as to which one of the hospitals and health centres should benefit from the supply.
Meanwhile, in addition to the inadequate supply of drugs, there is also a possibility that the existing supply of medications is expired.
According to Alliance for Change Councillor, and member of the Region Three Health Committee, Dr. Kamal Narine, whenever health centres and hospitals request drugs from the storage bond at the West Demerara Regional Hospital, protocols are often not followed, and instead of being lodged at the bond of the requesting hospital for inspection, the medications are sent directly to the individual departments.
“This is a mad, mad situation. In situations like this, you even got people being treated with wrong doses. Then there is no proper audit of the drugs, so I am sure that many are expired,” Dr. Narine said during a recent interview.
Because he is a member of the region’s health committee, who has insights on the health issues facing the district, he does not utilize the services offered.
“It’s frightening. I would prefer to go to a private institution,” Dr. Narine declared.
In January, Chief Medical Officer, Dr. Shamdeo Persaud had said that shortage of essential medicines can be as a result of many scenarios. These include the situation where supplier(s) fail to comply with the recommended delivery schedules.
Dr. Persaud had acknowledged also, the relatively short shelf life of the medication, noting that caution remains in the procurement process of the drugs.
In light of the many challenges facing the health sector, APNU’s George Norton also made the call for Minister of Health, Dr. Bheri Ramsaran, to resign.
“It goes without saying, he should just do the honourable thing and leave,” Dr. Norton said.
His call was seconded by AFC Councillor, Dr. Narine.
“We have the Minister doing nothing. Before, we used to have problems, yes, but this new Ministerâ€ĶI don’t know what he’s doing,” Dr. Narine said.

Ramotar administration is a mirror image of the

corruption, thievery, drugs & nepotism that were

the hallmark of the Jadgeo

November 4, 2012Leave a comment

Donald Ramotar has lived up to the expectations of his detractors NOVEMBER 4, 2012 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER LETTERS

Dear Editor, It was clear to many political observers and other interested parties that the Peoples Progressive Party Civic, did not field the best candidate at the November 2011 elections.  The critics at that time argued that Ramotar was weak and an untested; that he was not a critical thinker and had never held elected office or managed any complex governmental or non-governmental organization. Ramotar was perceived as a party hack, who was hand chosen by then president Bharatt Jagdeo, for all of the reasons mentioned. However, in keeping with Stalinist tradition the other more prepared and credible candidates all bowed out and acceded to the dictate of the Jagdeo faction at Freedom House. To be fair there were voices that championed the candidacy of Donald Ramotar, they claimed that he was a man who had come from humble beginnings and was involved in the labour movement, that he was a fair and honest man; in other words he was not Jagdeo. Today as we approach the one year anniversary of the Ramotar presidency what I find interesting but not surprising is that the naysayers were right. Donald Ramotar the seventh president of the Cooperative Republic of Guyana has lived up to the expectations of his detractors; he is a weak, ineffective and visionless head of state. In December 2011 at his inauguration president Ramotar told the nation that he would appoint his cabinet in two days and even flirted with the possibility of a cross-party government. Integrity, inclusivity and impartiality were the hallmark of a well balanced inaugural address; however, forty eight hours later Ramotar retained his predecessor’s cabinet, dashing all hopes for inclusivity, integrity and impartiality. Within days of forming his new government, on December 6th 2011 peaceful demonstrators were shot by the police while processing in Georgetown. This was followed by a bitter budget debate that saw for the first time in recorded history a sitting government picketing against the parliamentary opposition. Ramotar had promised that he was prepared to work together with all the political parties and stakeholders, but when it came to the National Budget, his minority government was not prepared to work with the Parliamentary majority APNU/AFC. The budget crisis spawned the Linden electricity crisis, when the PPPC government imposed on the people of Linden an undue hardship (an increase in the electric tariff), without negotiating or consulting with the peoples representatives.  In his inaugural address president Ramotar spoke of the exciting task of creating opportunities for all Guyanese, yet within three months of taking office he was imposing a draconian tax on a community (Linden) where 70% of the people are unemployed or severely under-employed. It was becoming quite clear that the new Head of State’s rhetoric were equidistant from his actions and his government’s treatment of the poor and depressed communities. As the situation escalated at Linden and the people and their Regional and national leaders called on the president to meet with them, to sit down and listen and consult, this president refused. Then came July 18th  2012 and three young men were brutally murdered after the Guyana Police Force again opened fire on peaceful protestors at the Mackenzie-Linden bridge. The following day the president met with the Opposition Leader and Regional representatives, but by this time it was too late; property would be destroyed and more people would be shot by the police, all because of a government’s refusal to meet it constitutional mandate of consulting with the people and their elected representatives. Consumed by crisis, and showing no real flair for bold and innovative leadership, the Ramotar administration continued as a mirror image of the corruption, thievery, drugs and nepotism that were the hallmark of the Jadgeo years. Once again innocents lives of young African men were taken, killed at the hands of the police; Shaquille Grant at Agricola; Dameon Belgrave in Georgetown. In a side note, it was no surprise a few days ago that the longest serving member of the cabinet and president Ramotar’s Minister of Home Affairs Clement Rohee admitted under oath, when answering a question from Attorney Basil Williams(at the Linden Commission of Inquiry), that he(Rohee) was not a visionary. So, with a head of state that has proven to be weak, ineffective and visionless, surrounded by a cabinet that is mediocre for the most part, but generally less than stellar there is not much hope for the ensuing period of the Ramotar presidency. Mr. Editor I truly searched for something complimentary to say about this period, but all I could find was controversy and conflict. In a country where most of the people would be classified as poor, the Ramotar government celebrates things and calibrates its development based on big buildings, poorly conceived roads and brand name hotels rather than human development. The level of unemployment in this country is unsustainable, the under education of our children and the school dropout rate nationally is unsustainable, the crime situation and the lawlessness of our law enforcement agencies is unsustainable, yet this president has been deathly silent and has failed to lead on all of these important issues facing our nation. Even if one graded on a curve it would be difficult to give this president anything but a failing grade in his first year in office. Mark Archer

PPP cannot win a majority in any new elections

May 5, 2014 · By Staff Writer · 3 Comments Next Article Âŧ

Print

Dear Editor,

Conventional wisdom dictates that almost all of the adults and most of the children in Guyana are fully aware of the fact that Afro-Guyanese overwhelmingly voted for the PNC and similarly East Indians voted en masse for the PPP, with Amerindians and the mixed races by and large supporting the Government in power. However, with the arrival of the AFC on the political scene in 2006, this tradition has been tested and combined with the extraordinary migration rate especially of East Indians from Guyana, we can say with much certainty that the PPP cannot win a majority in any new elections. For one reason, the AFC has changed the political dynamics/landscape in Guyana. For another, the East Indian population on the Corentyne which is the PPP stronghold has been drastically reduced by 22% due largely to migration. Hence the wisdom of Dr. Roger Luncheon to throw cold water on early elections has dampened the enthusiasm of the Jagdeoites in the PPP. Simply put, their political immaturity has been exposed for all to see.

(http://www.stabroeknews.com/2014/news/stories/04/24/ govt-wont-go-polls-budget-cut-says-luncheon/)

This means that the opposition has ample time to prepare properly for the constitutionally due elections in 2016. One of the things the opposition must do is to pressure the minority PPP regime to amend the constitution before the next election. Second, they must dive into the villages and instill confidence in the people to vote on issues rather than race; thus breaking from the conformist tradition of racial voting in Guyana. The PPP has already started their grassroots operation with some 500 plus paid PYO operatives, funding for which is unclear. Unfortunately, the opposition (APNU/AFC) will have to depend on donations from the diaspora and the local private sector to drive such an operation since the PPP has caused the death of volunteerism in Guyana. Unlike the olden times when the cost of living was low, people use to volunteer but today they cannot afford to volunteer because of the high cost of living which has forced many to seek two jobs.

One must note that state resources were misused by the PNC in the past to conduct political activity through an outfit called the Ministry of National Mobilization. Today the PPP is conducting the same kind of political activity using PYO activists. The PPP is working craftier but unfortunately their operation continues to fail since people at the bottom rung of the economic ladder cannot eat propaganda, distortions and untruths for dinner or to support their children with unfilled and empty promises. Most live by paycheck to paycheck. In their 22 years in power, the PPP has not learnt that Guyana cannot progress or develop without the majority of the people being happier and wealthier. But some in the regime are too blind to see that their policies of helping their friends and relatives and the marginalization of a large section of the population are hampering the human and economic development of Guyana. It is Abraham Lincoln who said “no nation can survive half slave and half free.”

For the 285,000 citizens of Guyana who remain at the bottom rung of the economic ladder, it matters not whether Guyana’s GDP grew by 5 percent or 10 percent since their personal wealth has not improved and thus they cannot connect with the PPP propaganda message.

So if the PPP really wants a landslide victory in the next election, they have to ensure that there is personal security for all, there must be equality for all especially to have access to the national resources and there must be a genuine effort by the PPP to create jobs for the youths and to treat everyone equally and fairly irrespective of their race or political affiliations.

But this is not the case as more than 70 percent of the children of Guyana continue to fail English, Mathematics, and other science subjects at the CXC Exam under Minister Priya Manickchand; thus making them unable to further their education at a university of their choice.

But it seems that Guyana is not blessed because we have an opposition that seems incapable of capitalizing on the opportunity to convert the political mistakes and gross incompetence of the PPP into political success for them. We believe that the time is now for the opposition to have their grassroots soldiers in every town, village and district carrying the truth to the people and pleading with them for their support. The time is now for the opposition to demand that the constitution be changed/amended. This is the same constitution the PPP had condemned when they were in opposition but today they are using it to deny the people their rights.

Press conferences, TV interviews and public meetings in Georgetown cannot be the only communication tools at the disposal of the opposition. They have to be in the field preparing the ground for victory in 2016. The combined opposition has to find a way to reach out to those Guyanese who did not vote in the last election. The AFC in particular has to wage a vigorous campaign in every region and not only in regions 5, 6, and 8 as they did in the last election. Can the opposition do it? Well if the record of the last two-and a half years is any guide to go by, then the people of Guyana are in for sadder times and will be doomed for another term with a PPP minority government.

Yours faithfully,

Dr. Asquith Rose and

Harish S. Singh.

Govt. scraps birth certificate requirement for passports

July 31, 2014 | By | Filed Under News

- says process will take longer

Government has reversed the controversial requirements, which mandated applicants to submit a recently issued birth certificate in order to acquire a machine-readable passport. Last month, the Ministry of Home Affairs announced a new requirement mandating first time applicants to present a birth certificate that was obtained no more than six months prior to the date of application. The Ministry of Home Affairs had outlined that the requirement was for integrity purposes. It said “this process is necessary to enable Guyana to comply with international best practices and prevent illegal use of travel documents.” The new policy, however, sparked public outrage and one applicant moved to the courts to have the policy reversed. Attorney-at-Law, Saphier Husain-Subedar, in a court action last month described the requirement as not legal and “unconstitutional.” He, too, like many others had been turned down and asked to apply for a new birth certificate that had not been issued beyond six months Chief Justice (Ag), Ian Chang later made a ruling which commanded the Chief Immigration Officer/ Commissioner of Police, Seelall Persaud, his agent, servant and subordinate officers to accept Husain’s birth certificate, which was issued on January 22, 2004, and consider his application for an electronic machine readable passport. The Commissioner of Police was further ordered to pay the applicant costs in the sum of $15,000. The Ministry of Home Affairs then announced that it had shifted the six months birth certificate requirement to two years. However, the policy continued to attract criticisms. On Wednesday, businessman Gainlal Sookraj opted to take Top Cop, Seelall Persaud to court over the new requirement. With yet another court case looming, the Ministry of Home Affairs issued a statement yesterday outlining that persons applying for passports are required to submit a passport application form, birth certificate, one (1) passport-size photograph and a fee of $4000. The advisory made specific reference to previous press statements issued on June 5 and July 16 in relation to the birth certificate requirements to acquire passports. “With the introduction of the machine-readable passport system, there was a requirement by the Ministry that the Guyana Police Force would implement an arrangement where members of the public applying for passports for the first time, would present to the Immigration Department birth certificates that were issued not more than six (6) months prior to the date of the application.” “The intention was to guarantee the integrity of the newly implemented machine-readable passport system. Unfortunately this arrangement was not implemented by the Guyana Police Force, as required by the Ministry of Home Affairs,” the release stated. The Ministry noted that it is cognizant of the concerns of members of the public, and therefore reviewed the entire system pertaining to the issuance of passports along with the Guyana Police Force. “In relation to lost/damaged passport the processing fee is $15,000, and additional conditionalities are required to be satisfied to facilitate issuance.” It was explained that given the need for a “more robust” verification process to accompany the production of the travel document, “the five (5) day processing time previously guaranteed by the Guyana Police Force is not likely to be honoured.” The Ministry promised that the Guyana Police Force through its Immigration Department will make all reasonable efforts to expedite the processing of the applications.

How more stupid can the PPP/C and their Ministers get?

Jagdeo’s benefits are mother of immoralities – says anti corruption advocate

July 15, 2014 | By | Filed Under News

â€Ķbut Rohee defends Jagdeo’s pension benefits

General Secretary for the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) has come out in defence of the exorbitant benefits which former

General Secretary of the PPP Clement Rohee

President Bharrat Jagdeo is benefiting from under the Former Presidents (Benefits and Facilities) Act which Jagdeo made law in 2009. Under this controversial law which was vehemently opposed at the time, it costs taxpayers an average of $3M each month to support Jagdeo. His security, electricity and transportation alone, average $1.7M each month. Then there is his $1.2M pension each month. Using the monthly average of $1.2M for his security, transportation, electricity and pension, it means that Jagdeo to date, since leaving office would have cost taxpayers in excess of $83M. Rohee in defence of the benefits that Jagdeo is accruing said that “aren’t all of those things within what the Parliament provide him with, so what is the problem?” He said that there “will always be objections and there will continue to be objections, like we are seeing everyday in the headlines of the Kaieteur News.” The PPP General Secretary continued, “Kaieteur News is never giving up on Jagdeo, all that I am saying is that whatever spending was done it was not illegal it was authorized by the Parliament, you are free like the Kaieteur News is free and every citizen of Guyana is free to express a view on this money.” Rohee said that one has to be certain and take clearly into account that “the money was not illegitimately spent, not illegally spent and not spent outside of what was provided by the Parliament.” It was Alliance for Change (AFC) Leader Khemraj Ramjattan, who back in 2009 computed that the Former President’s pension package would amount to just over $3M monthly. This was vehemently denied by the administration at the time. Carl Greenidge, of A Partnership for National Unity (APNU), had attempted to cap the benefits, under the controversial piece of legislation by bringing amendments to the National Assembly. This was approved by the opposition using its majority but President Donald Ramotar, has never assented to it. Addressing the cap that the opposition approved for the President’s benefits, Rohee said that “any cap that is coming from the opposition I would bag it.” Rohee said that he does not agree with the combined opposition’s position that the money Jagdeo is receiving is exorbitant. “I disagree with anything the opposition says in respect of Jagdeo, I disagree because I believe that they are being personally vindictive towards the ex- President; that’s my position as the General Secretary of the PPP,” said Rohee. The PPP, according to Rohee, supported the Bill in the Parliament with respect to the benefits of the President’s Bill. “We consciously did that in the Parliament, every single MP supported that, including Mr. Nagamootoo who at the time was sitting on the government benches, so if we did that at that time, that is a manifestation of where the PPP stood clear and simply.”

Former President Bharrat Jagdeo

Asked whether that position conflicts with that of founder of the PPP Dr. Cheddi Jagan, Rohee said, “I would leave that for the so called political pundits to speculate on, that I’m not getting into.” Rohee was then asked that in a democratic society the government and the opposition are the people who would generally engage in discussions, bargain and work together or negotiate, but from his position the opposition is inconsequential. Rohee said that “as far as I am personally concerned, the opposition doesn’t want anything to do with me, so why should I have anything to do with them.” He said, however, from the position of General Secretary when it comes to the interest of the party “that’s a different question because the party’s position rest with the central committee, the congress rests with the executive committee which are collective bodies where all the leaders sit. “When they make a decision with which I am a part of, well then those decisions would be faithfully followed and implemented.” And an anti corruption advocate is contending that even though the benefits might be legal it is the “height of immorality; it’s the mother of all moralities.” His comments came against the backdrop of Guyana’s economic standing where wealth is highly skewed with the few rich and the many poor. He said the perpetuation of the former Presidents benefits “lacks serious consideration for the poor, for the disadvantaged, the unemployed youths. “Look how many people are living in Guyana with minimum wage; so many people are unemployed, in abject poverty.” “This thing is a national disgrace, it’s a national embarrassment, it lacks morality, integrity, fair play, justice and equality,” said the advocate.

PPP losing East Indian support-base; time to share power with opposition - Ramkarran

PPP's Headquarters, Freedom House.

dchabrol@demerarawaves.com This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Former People’s Progressive Party (PPP) Executive Committee member, Ralph Ramkarran has said that that political organization would ultimately have to give into power-sharing because the latest population census shows that its traditional East Indian support continues to decline. “With confirmation of the reducing Indian population by the census, if the PPP wants to continue holding political power, it has to be prepared to share it,” he said in his weekly column on his website , Conversation Tree (www.conversationtree.gy). The Guyana Bureau of Statistics would not be releasing the ethnic composition of the 747,884 persons until next year. But Ramkarran relied on results showing that in Region 6, a stronghold of the PPP, the population declined by 15,000 at the end of 2012. Adding Regions 5 and 3, also strongholds of the PPP, there was a total decline of 20,000 persons. While Ramkarran appeared not to have considered inward migration and the percentage of the 20,000 persons who might be of voting age, he said the latest census figures have confirmed his previous reasoning that the PPP lost its simple parliamentary majority in 2011 due to a decline in its East Indian support base in addition to apathy and loss of support. “The confirmation of what I and others have predicted and which is now supported by the census figures as to the decreasing Indian population, holds considerable implications for the outcome of any future elections,” he said. He observed that the PPP-aligned Indian Arrival Committee (IAC) and PPP Executive Member, Hydar Ally have been talking recently about the implications of the census results on Guyana’s governance, a signal that the higher echelons of the party might be conducting similar analyses. “. Together, they give public recognition from these  important PPP sources that more than a minority government is needed in the current conditions. It would not be an exaggeration to conclude that these statements probably reflect an internal PPP view at a high level which is now finding its way in the public domain,” said Ramkarran. Ramkarran, a former House Speaker, believes that correcting political mistakes alone will not be enough to restore the PPP’s political fortunes. “It needs to expand its political support across ethnic or traditional lines,” he suggested and indicated that would be an almost impossible task.  Despite doing more than any other political party to expand its political base with little permanent success- except among Amerindians, he said the major obstacle was the ethnic hold on political expression and opinion. The Indian Arrival Committee (IAC) is close to the PPP. It issued a statement last week expressing its “alarm” over the census figures and its implications for economic growth. After contrasting figures between Guyana and Singapore showing a similar level of development in 1960, it then showed how Singapore moved ahead dramatically while Guyana stagnated. The statement concluded that: “This reality should be cause for urgent actionâ€Ķ The IAC strongly feels that the time has come for a serious re-examination of Governance initiatives which will enhance a feeling of inclusiveness and togetherness by all ethnic groups.” He recommended that the PPP seize the golden opportunity to transform Guyana’s political landscape by boldly seizing the initiative and inviting the entire Opposition in the Government, even for a limited period with limited objectives, to restore political sanity. Ramkarran predicted that the current governance situation could resume and probably worsen, if the PPP does not alternatively consider accepting the AFC’s invitation for dialogue on the issue of governance. “ Its ten-point plan, whether meritorious or not, shows that it is prepared to shelve its plan to consider a no confidence motion, which is an immediate threat to the survival of the government. If the PPP is interested in survival with dignity, it can do worse than consider the ten-point plan along with a new coalition mechanism involving the AFC, if PNCR/AFC electoral collaboration is not on the cards,” he added. Should the opposition pass a no-confidence vote in the government, the President would have no other alternative but to dissolve government and call elections in three months.

General election looms

as APNU decides to support

AFC's no-confidence motion...

Parliament Building where the opposition's no-confidence motion will be debated and more than likely passed.

dchabrol@demerarawaves.com

Guyanese could return to the polls later this year in an early general election after Tuesday's decision by the opposition A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) to support the Alliance For Change’s (AFC) no-confidence motion against the Donald Ramotar administration.

The Constitution states that on the House's approval of a no-confidence motion, the President and Cabinet have to resign and make way for general and regional elections within three months.

“The position of the Shadow Cabinet is to give support to the AFCâ€Ķwe have resolved to support it and we have to discuss it further with our own partners who have not yet been informed of our decision,” Opposition Leader, David Granger told Demerara Waves Online News shortly after wrapping up a Shadow Cabinet meeting.
The AFC has already formally informed President Donald Ramotar that it would be going ahead with the no-confidence motion because of the alleged unauthorized spending of billions of dollars from the Consolidated Fund on projects and programmes that have been already disapproved by the opposition-controlled House during consideration of the 2014 estimates of expenditures. Pending in the House is the approval of a Statement of Excesses for GUY$4.5 billion dollars that have been already spent so far.
Now that Granger's parliamentary coalition has agreed to support the motion, which was submitted by the AFC on August 1, he said the next step would be internal consultations among APNU’s partners and another round of talks with the AFC to fine-tune the text of the motion. “We will have to work out with the AFC the full text. What we have is enough but we need to maybe flesh it out a little bit more but the whole idea is that in principle we have agreed to support the AFC," he said.
With the 65-seat House expected to go into recess later this month, Granger expects parliamentarians to debate and approve the motion around October when sittings resume.  With the APNU deciding to add its 26 seats to the AFC’s seven, the motion is expected to be approved and so leave the governing People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) out in the cold with its 32 seats.
President Ramotar has repeatedly said that he is not afraid of going to back to the polls earlier than the constitutional deadline of 2016 to seek a fresh mandate from the electorate.  Passage of the no-confidence motion would trigger the resignation of the President and his Cabinet and a return to the polls.
The Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) has already begun preparing a Voters List which would be valid until October 31, 2014. The PPPC and government have questioned the motive behind the electoral management body preparing the voters roll in the absence of an announcement by the President.
The Opposition Leader dismissed suggestions that APNU had attached conditions such as a pre-electoral alliance before deciding to lend its support to the motion.
Granger said APNU did not believe that an AFC complaint to the police against Finance Minister Dr. Ashni Singh for his alleged breach of the law and constitution in relation to using money from the Consolidated Fund in the way that he has done. 
House Speaker, Raphael Trotman has already ruled that Singh should be sent to the Privileges Committee, a move that has seen government contemplating taking his decision to court because the issue is a legal and constitutional one rather than procedural.
Government has insisted that its spending of money and seeking the House’s approval for a Statement of Excess was not unprecedented and was in keeping with the Guyana Constitution and the Fiscal Management and Accountability Act.

Rev, Yuji, Kwame

& all Dem Pubic Louse....

Now...."Got De Itch"

$10M road starts to crumble days after construction

July 6, 2014 | By | Filed Under News

Even as the Ramotar Administration continues to talk about value for money, residents of Den Amstel

A section of the road which has already started to crumble.

and De Kinderen, West Coast Demerara, are complaining that the government is splurging funds and reaping nothing but substandard work. At Den Amstel, West Coast Demerara, there’s a $10M road leading up to the community koker which according to a Neighbourhood Democratic councilor, is already falling apart. The project was awarded by the Regional Democratic Council. When Kaieteur News visited the area last week residents said that a contractor from Berbice completed the road within two days. The road, according to the councilor, is no more than an inch thick. There is no edging on the road and the heavy duty machines that traverse have caused a “break-way”.  Kaieteur News was told that the entire project has been shrouded in secrecy. Several attempts to obtain the “Bill of quantities” from the officials were always blocked by excuses. “Government spend ten million on a road that build in two days and it start to break up already,” one resident told Kaieteur News. Efforts to contact officials from the RDC proved futile. Meanwhile, in nearby Meten-Meer-Zorg, residents have been left without a sturdy bridge which would allow them to easily enter and exit their area through the adjacent De Kinderen village. Kaieteur News was told that the bridge would be utilized mainly by school children whose schools are located in De Kinderen. According to residents, the bridge began to deteriorate in early February 2011, and both the Neighbourhood Democratic Council (NDC) and the Regional Democratic Council (RDC) were notified that speedy repairs were necessary. Kaieteur News was further told that it wasn’t until late March 2011 after heavy flooding that Regional Chairman,

Boeraserie East Bank Essequibo RDC spends one million dollar to build this toilet.

Julius Faerber, and members of the NDC paid the area a visit. They then witnessed the further deterioration of the bridge and subsequently dismantled the remaining structure with promises to rebuild a new bridge within a short period of time. It is now three years, and residents are still without a bridge in the community. This newspaper was told that the National Assembly through the Ministry of Public Works had voted for the bridge to be repaired. But nothing has been done and residents are unaware when the works would commence. Residents in Boeraserie Housing Scheme complained to Kaieteur News bitterly about flooding in the area also. Kaieteur News was told that the scheme which consists of about 32 homes has no proper drainage.  Residents said that they would clean the “small drains” in the area, but that isn’t enough.  According to Colbert Leander, who is the Vice Chairman of the scheme, residents are deprived of most services other neighbouring communities enjoy. He explained that the last thing that the RDC did for the community was build a “toilet” on a play field at a cost of $1M. Leander said that the community has few street lights and roads are in need of repair.

No happiness living in a divided, backward and corrupt country

July 26, 2014 | By | Filed Under News

â€Ķlets fight against PPP, not ourselves- Granger tells congress

By Abena Rockcliffe The oxymoron ‘bitter sweet’ is what characterized the atmosphere yesterday at Congress place as hundreds gathered for the opening ceremony of the 18th Biennial Delegates’ Congress of the People’s National Congress Reform.

PNCR leaders hold up their candles during the congress to give Guyana light to find its way back

Even though most of the attendees took up seating inside, small pockets of people gathered at different points in the compound conversing on issues relating to the event. But nevertheless, the show went on. The event is being held under the theme “PNCR For National Unity, Good Governance and Development.” Aubrey Norton, who is running for party leadership, spent most of his time outside while Sharma Solomon sat inside with the Linden delegation. Incumbent leader, David Granger delivered his speech in his capacity as is traditional at the event. The politician centered his address on the dream of Guyana being “one nation” as the motto suggests. Granger explained that the dream of National Unity is not a new one. He said that PNC entered government as part of a coalition administration in December 1964 and started the transformation of colonial Guyana into modern statehood. Granger reminded that the PNC led Guyana to Independence 18 months later, on 26th May 1966, under the national motto – One People, One Nation, One Destiny. He said that his party remains committed to making the motto a reality, but noted that “We cannot become One Nation if we are divided.” Granger said that the idea of having one nation was the vision of founder leader Forbes Burnham. He said that Burnham started talks with the People’s Progressive Party – PPP – in 1976 and resumed talks in 1984 to establish a government of national unity. The politician added that it was the party’s second leader Desmond Hoyte who invited members of civil society into the party and succeeded in changing its name to PNC/ Reform. “His aim was to promote national unity through shared governance,” Granger added. According to Granger, that vision was shared by the party’s third leader Robert Corbin who forged the PNC/R-One Guyana alliance. “It is with that vision that, today, as the fourth leader of our party, I am proud to continue the PNCR’s tradition of leadership in advancing the One Nation project and in reaffirming A Partnership for National Unity’s commitment to that objective,” said Granger. He told the gathering that his mission is to lead the PNCR and APNU into the next elections and establish a government of national unity. Granger said that the results of the 28th November 2011 General and Regional elections should have made it clear that the majority of Guyanese want an ‘inclusionary democracy’ in order to promote national unity. He noted that Guyanese, increasingly, are calling on the PPP to abandon its “winner-takes-all” attitude to governance and work with the majority to build ‘One Nation.’ He added that the current ‘dispensation’ in the National Assembly requires consultation and cooperation between the Legislative and Executive branches of government instead of the current “convention of confrontation favoured by the PPP.” The party leader pointed out that the PNC/R is an integral part of APNU and said that “We will together continue to fulfill our obligation to the nation both through the legislative process in the National Assembly and in the country at large.” He said the party and the coalition will continue to work with the major sections of society – including other political parties; trade unions; private sector and civil society – to realize a common quest for consensus on a broad national programme to move the country forward. Among many other things, Granger said that the PNCR will continue the struggle to ensure that Municipal and Neighbourhood Democratic Councils which have been damaged or dismantled by the PPP are restored. He said that the Party will continue to battle against poverty, to establish working people’s economic independence and to improve their livelihood. As he pointed out all that is wrong with the country, Granger said that Guyana is definitely in a crisis. He said that the PPPC’s dismal 21-year record has ensured that Guyana remains an unequal and poor society in which a few people enjoy an extremely high income while most endure an extremely small income.  He said that four out of ten Guyanese are classified as poor of which three are considered to be extremely poor. Granger said that Guyana is most definitely a corrupt country. He cited the Transparency International Corruption Perception Index 2013, which ranked Guyana 136th out of 177 countries – 121 places behind Barbados. Granger said that growth is hampered by extensive corruption and lack of economic and employment opportunities. Granger then moved to address the notion that Guyana is an “unequal society.” He said that the PPPC’s attitudes and policies are harming social cohesion, undermining the  sense of solidarity, impoverishing a large section of the population, alienating the hinterland regions and gradually creating ‘two nations’ instead of cementing One Nation. Addressing what he dubbed the “government crisis,” Granger said that this is because of PPPC’s reluctance to acknowledge its minority status in the National Assembly and to join the majority in the movement towards establishing a government of national unity. The politician said that the President’s refusal to assent to certain Bills passed by the Assembly has stuck like a bone in the throat of the Opposition. He added that the Minister of Finance’s management of the nation’s assets has been a major source of political contention and noted, “We shall soon settle that!” Granger said that President Donald Ramotar had the opportunity at the PPP’s first congress (the party’s 30th congress) in five years to drop his party’s time-worn, winner-takes-all approach and adopt an inclusionary approach to governance. But, “He lost it. He went instead on an unapologetic and uncompromising offensive against the Opposition in the National Assembly and the independent media.” Granger reminded that Speaker of the National Assembly Raphael Trotman had to warn the Executive of the danger of a constitutional crisis and said that Ramotar precipitated this crisis. “He declared publicly, since 13th June 2012, that he had no intention of supporting any Bill piloted by the Opposition. This is not democracy at all. It is autocracy.” Granger told his people that the PPP/C has undermined local democracy for the past 20 years. He said that has led to the imposition of the worst form of colonial-era direct rule. The politician added that this has paralyzed the entire local government system and undermined the economic development of many municipalities and neighbourhoods. He said that progress has been impeded, most of all, by the PPP/C’s failure to conduct Local Government elections under reformed legislation and thereby allow the people themselves to take decisions that affect the development of their communities. Granger spoke as well about the “Hinterland crisis, Public security crisis and the Social protection crisis. He said that the only end to the overall state of crisis Guyana has found itself in is the “One Nation solution.” He said however that, “We cannot become ‘One Nation’ if gross disparities persist between the hinterland and the coastland and between the educated and a mass of semi-literates. Dark forces – poverty, oppression and hatred – threaten to pull us apart. A united nation ought to be one in which cooperation prevails over confrontation and national integration over communal disintegration.” According to Granger, such a change inevitably, must be based on recognition of the authority and autonomy of the National Assembly. He added that there must be respectful relations between the Executive and Legislative branches of government and reverence for the institutions of the state. Granger put forward that the President and the PPP/C must understand that the way out of the crisis is to promote national unity, ensure human safety and foster economic development. He said that the PNCR’s ‘One Nation’ approach could be the main means of combining the talents of a wider constituency and of creating the conditions for social cooperation and economic progress. He noted that the three-fold purpose of such a project would be to reach a broad consensus on the goals of national development, to establish a sustainable institutional architecture and to create effective policy instruments for the achievement of the common objectives. According to the leader, “Our resilient and resourceful people and communities are eager to play their part in rebuilding our country as One Nation.” He said that the big question facing Congress is  “â€Ķare you happy living in Guyana today?” He described Guyana as a divided, backward, corrupt, PPP one party, narco country and asked those gathered if they are happy living in such a county. The response was a resounding “No”. Granger said, “Come with me; let us fight the PPP not one another. Let us keep the pressure up to push the PPP out of office, elect a government of national unity and give the Guyanese people the good life that they deserve.  May God bless you. May God bless the PNC/R. May God bless Guyana!”

He described Guyana as a divided, backward, corrupt, PPP one party, narco country and asked those gathered if they are happy living in such a county. The response was a resounding “No”. Granger said, “Come with me; let us fight the PPP not one another. Let us keep the pressure up to push the PPP out of office, elect a government of national unity and give the Guyanese people the good life that they deserve.  May God bless you. May God bless the PNC/R. May God bless Guyana!”

Parliament to probe Finance Minister’s excess spending

July 25, 2014 | By | Filed Under News

- Govt. mulls options

Speaker of the National Assembly, Raphael Trotman, has ruled that the spending of $4.5B by Finance Minister Dr. Ashni

House Speaker Raphael Trotman

Singh without the approval of the National Assembly has raised sufficiently serious questions to be inquired into by the Committee of Privileges. The Attorney General, Anil Nandlall, has since responded, saying that it is for the courts to decide on constitutional matters and not a Committee of Parliament. Nandlall who has responded to the Speaker’s ruling on his social media ‘facebook’ page says that the Article of the Constitution that the Finance Minister is relying on regarding the expenditure is an exception to the section that primarily deals with expenditure from the Consolidated Fund. Article 217 of the Constitution provides that no monies shall be expended from the Consolidated Fund except by way of an Appropriation Act, commonly referred to as the Budget, but Article 218 (3) (B) provides for the Minister to make an expenditure and subsequently provide the National Assembly with a Statement of Excess. It has been argued that the Minister illegally spent the money and the Alliance for Change (AFC) has lodged a formal complaint with the Guyana Police Force and the Director of Public Prosecutions over what the party deems illegal expenditure to the tune of $4.5B. Nandlall, in response to the ruling by the Speaker, says that while he is bound to be guided by Trotman’s decision, “I do not consider myself restrained from expressing a view on the ruling, even a critical and outspoken one.” According to Nandlall, the issue raised in the Motion by A Partnership for National Unity (APNU)’s Carl Greenidge, to have the Minister committed to a Committee of Privileges, is purely a legal one. “It concerns the interpretation of several provisions of the Constitution, including Articles 217 and 218â€ĶArticle 217 essentially provides when, and in what circumstances, monies can be withdrawn from the Consolidated Fund.” According to Nandlall, Article 218 provides for monies to be drawn from the Consolidated Fund outside of the strictures imposed by Article 217. “In short, Article 218 is but an exception to Article 217â€ĶIn other words, Article 217 sets out the general rule and Article 218, the exceptions to that rule.” He contends that this is precisely why the wording of Article 218 succeeds the words of Article 217. Nandlall argues that the very two articles were examined by the Chief Justice (ag), Ian Chang in the Budget Cut case and interpreted along the same vein he is suggesting. “The Chief Justice did so in both his interim as well as his final rulingsâ€ĶThe Speaker, the Leader of the Opposition and all the lawyers in the National Assembly for the Opposition participated in this case, either as parties or as attorneys at lawâ€ĶI presume therefore that they have read the two rulings. Indeed they have appealed.”

Finance Minister Dr. Ashni Singh

Nandlall has since argued that what has been referred to the Privileges Committee by the Speaker is hardly a matter of “privilege,” rather it is a matter of law and constitutional interpretation. “The simple truth is, that, a Member of the House cannot act in conformity with the Constitution and at the same time violate a privilegeâ€ĶConstitutional supremacy, which is the cornerstone upon which our constitutional democracy rests, mandates that the glories of the common law, statute law, by-laws, standing orders, rules and regulations and indeed administrative policies, must bend and bow to the provisions of the Constitution.” According to Nandlall, under the doctrine of separation of powers, the Court, and not the Privileges Committee of the National Assembly, or any other forum for that matter, is exclusively vested with the constitutional responsibility of interpreting and determining matters of law, whenever there is any controversy. He said (Speaker) Trotman has fallen into error in determining that there was a serious question of privilege and transmitting same to the Privileges Committee. Nandlall, who is the legal advisor to the Government, is of the opinion that the Privileges Committee is without jurisdiction to deal with the matter for several reasons. He argues that the persons who will constitute the Committee will come from the membership of political parties that have an interest to serve and “have indeed said publicly that the Minister has violated the Constitution and the law; in short they have made up their minds.” Nandlall opined that it will be impossible for the Minister to get a fair hearing at the Committee. He said that the persons who will sit on this Committee are simply unqualified to determine the legal issues which will arise. He said too that, significantly, the very issue is sub judice, and is the subject of an appeal pending before the Guyana Court of Appeal, and therefore ought not to be the subject of any consideration, either in the National Assembly as a whole, or in any of its Committees. As a result, Nandlall said that over the next few days, Government will be considering its options, and a resort to a legal challenge of this ruling is one of them.

Chikungunya virus outbreakâ€ĶHealth Minister must lead from the front – insists APNU MP

July 8, 2014 | By | Filed Under News

The efficacy of fogging exercises being undertaken by the Ministry of Health to tackle the Chikungunya virus is

Minister of Health, Dr Bheri Ramsaran

being called into question by A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) Member of Parliament, Ernest Elliott. Elliott, during the past week, convened a community meeting in Canje, Berbice, Region Six, where the virus was first detected over a month ago. During his visit there, Elliott said that community members expressed great concerns about the mosquito borne virus. They even shared their belief that Ministry officials have not been highlighting the real state of affairs regarding the outbreak. “The people are saying that the numbers are more than what the Minister is giving,” said Elliott, as he disclosed that reports out of the Region suggest that the ongoing fogging activities are forcing the virus carrying mosquitoes to migrate. “We are getting reports that since they started the fogging the mosquitoes have gone over to New Amsterdam and spreadingâ€ĶThey are not killing the mosquitoes.” The Member of Parliament is calling on Minister of Health, Dr. Bheri Ramsaran, to travel to Berbice to better understand the situation before be seeks to pronounce on its progression.  “The Minister needs to stop sitting down in his office; he has to come on the scene and see what’s happening for himselfâ€Ķhe has to visit places like Canje and New Amsterdam,” added Elliott. While in Berbice, Elliott recalled seeing several persons inflicted with the virus. Some of them are suffering from intense joint pains. “When I left Berbice there was one lady who was barely able to walk properly because of her pains,” recounted the Member of Parliament. He related another woman’s story of the disease on her household. It started with her daughter, then herself, before her husband too developed the virus. They were all eventually diagnosed with the virus. “She said she carried her daughter to the doctor with symptoms of the virus and by the time she returned home she too had to be taken to the doctor, and by that time her husband was on his way to get medical attentionâ€Ķit is a really worrying situation,” said Elliott. “People are afraid, and they are convinced they are not getting the truth from the Ministryâ€Ķit is very difficult and people are very skeptical about the information they are getting.”

Member of Parliament, Ernest Elliott

Elliott is of the belief that the people in Canje are at a disadvantage since they are not always afforded treatment for their symptoms. According to him, residents said that a doctor at the Goed Bananen Land clinic is only on duty there on Mondays leaving patients to travel to other facilities to access needful attention. “I am saying that the Minister should and must visit; be on the ground with the people and give needful information to the peopleâ€Ķhe has to be forthcoming about this situation,” insisted Elliott. APNU members during the past week were engaged in an outreach to the Ancient County to discuss a number of issues including the need for the holding of Local Government Elections when the subject of the Chikungunya virus was raised by residents. Elliott was designated to meet with residents of Canje. The Chikungunya virus is transmitted by the Aedes Aegypti mosquito which also transmits dengue fever. According to reports out of the Health Ministry, as at last week, there were a total of 31 confirmed cases of the virus. Following the detection of the first cases in Region Six, the Health Minister had told this publication that efforts were being made to contain the virus to that section of the country. However, he disclosed last week that the virus has since been confirmed in Regions Three, Four and Five. The cases of the virus were confirmed by the Caribbean Public Health Agency (CARPHA) in Trinidad since Guyana does not have trained personnel to utilise the testing equipment available at the local National Public Health Reference Laboratory. The symptoms of the virus include headache, joint and muscle pains, high fever, nausea and rash. There is no cure for the virus but the symptoms are treatable though some may be long lasting, such as the joint pains, with death rarely occurring. The Ministry is urging the public to take precautions by keeping their environment clean and free of water that can allow the breeding of mosquitoes and protect themselves by using insect repellent as far as possible and/or wear long clothing.

Police Force denies stripping AFC Councillor naked during Essq Protest

July 5, 2014 1:45 pmCategory: latest newsA+ / A-

Unpaid/disgruntled Rice farmers burning on the Essequibo Coast.

[www.inewsguyana.com] – The Guyana Police Force is denying that it stripped naked Alliance For Change (AFC) Councillor, Naith Ram during a protest action by rice farmers in Essequibo last night.

Ram is also Chairman of the Essequibo Paddy Farmers’ Association. The farmers were protesting the late payment of monies for their produce by millers.

In a statement, the police noted that on June 30, the Association applied to the police for approval to hold a protest march on July 04, 2014, commencing at 0930h. from the Bush Lot New Market to the Anna Regina High Bridge where a meeting was to be held. Approval was subsequently given by the police.

The protest march and meeting commenced at 10:00h and proceeded peacefully with about 200 persons which included farmers. At the conclusion of the protest march and meeting, at about 1230h; most of the persons left, but some remained and began imbibing.

“At about 1715h. yesterday those who were imbibing and some others that included Mr. Naith Ram, boarded their motor vehicles, including tractors and trailers, and proceeded to drive along the middle of the main roadway in the vicinity of the villages of Reliance and Land of Plenty, Essequibo Coast, at a very slow rate.

“This action resulted in a back up of traffic as other motor vehicles could not pass, and they continued their actions despite efforts by police ranks to get them to drive on the left hand side of the road,” the police statement noted.

On reaching a short distance before the Land of Plenty Bridge, at about 1800h; the men continued breaching the laws by proceeding to block the entire roadway with the use of their motor vehicles that included tractors and trailers and to set fire to tyres and other debris that were thrown on the roadway. A utility pole was also used to block the roadway.

By this time the crowd had increased to over 400 persons and efforts by the police to get them to remove the vehicles from across the roadway proved futile.

“Missiles comprising bricks, bottles and other articles were thrown at police ranks in their attempt to remove the burning obstacles on the roadway, causing them to cease their efforts.

“Personnel from the Guyana Fire Service at Anna Regina could not reach the scene owing the blockages on the road. The police continued to appeal to the residents, but to no avail. The police then arrested Naith Ram, who was leading the protest, at which stage a number of other persons surged forward and accosted the ranks and took him away from the police. During this incident his clothing was torn and several police ranks were thrown into a nearby trench.”

“Naith Ram then stood among the protestors and stripped himself, and several persons took his photograph. He then left the area and later returned dressed in a change of clothing.”

“At about 2245h. the police once more appealed to the protestors, informing them that they were in breach of the laws, but they steadfastly refused to remove saying that they will only do so if His Excellency The President comes to address their concerns. The police then used tear smoke to clear the unruly crowd and nineteen (19) men, including Naith Ram, were arrested. They are presently still in police custody.”

Two tractors, four trailers, two motor cars and two motor cycles that were among the vehicles used to block the roadway have been seized by the police.

A member of the Guyana Defence Force who was dressed in uniform, and in a motor vehicle that was caught up in the congestion caused by the blockage of the road, was assaulted by a number of protestors. He was later treated at the Suddie Hospital.

Crime and corruption have led to moral decay in Guyana

July 1, 2014 | By | Filed Under Letters

DEAR EDITOR, The social and moral decay in Guyana’s society is perhaps the most important issue facing the people as a nation. It ranks above the challenges in the economy, the failing educational and health systems and that of corruption, crime and violence, although the level of corruption, crime and violence is also a reflection of the moral decadence which prevails. In 1989, when President Desmond Hoyte launched a programme to reduce corruption, crime and violence, unfortunately, and regrettably, some in the PPP, including its leaders, dubbed it as a political stunt, and this prevented many ordinary and well-intended Guyanese from taking part in the programme. In essence, it was a bold initiative aimed at weeding out those scourges and instilling more moral values in Guyanese. Initially, the programme gained traction but later fizzled because of the PPP criticisms, distortions and propaganda. Since 2000 when Mr. Jagdeo assumed power, we have and continue to witness a fundamental shift in the moral values of the people for the worse and one critical aspect of this shift is an abandonment by the regime of the moral and altruistic attitudes and the replacement of these by a narrow individualism based on greed and the shallow understanding of what necessitates morality. Today the situation has reached crisis proportion mainly because of party affiliation and supremacy.  The ruling administration has demanded loyalty for the PPP from almost everyone before giving them a job. It has marginalized a large section of the population, indulged in nepotism and cronyism, and has aided and abetted the corrupt practices that are taking place every day. Now 25 years after the moral values and attitudes programme was instituted, the country’s social and moral situation has deteriorated beyond belief. Guyana is facing a moral crisis which cuts across all social, political and economic classes. Despite all the efforts by the opposition to stamp out corruption and reduce crime, rather than getting better, the situation is getting worse by the hour while the regime looks the other way. Not only adults killing one another but teenagers are also killing each other as well. There is a sense that the common bond amongst the people is becoming weaker and weaker; that altercations can develop at any moment; that people hurl abuse at and kill one another in the most violent and brutal manner in response to what seems to be insignificant misunderstandings. In some instances, simple politeness and civility are perceived to be a fatal display of weakness, and that people indulging in such nasty behaviour are not even aware of their action until after the fact. In Guyana, power and money have become the most important sources of political power, identity, and status, but this came about only in the absence of a social context with rules, norms, shared values, mutual respect and mutual trust which has been discarded by the Jagdeo/Ramotar cabal a long time ago. Today, we have a very sad state of affairs in Guyana with an antiquated judicial system where alleged criminals are locked up for years before trial. These alleged criminals have no recourse against the state if they are not convicted at trial. In fact, their lives are ruined in the same manner Jagdeo ruined the lives of Mark Benschop and those of the Monroes on trumped up charges of treason. What a shame! We acknowledged that the administration of law and economic prosperity provide a necessary platform for the development of Guyana. However, this is not sufficient. This must be underpinned with a sense of moral obligation and with a sense of duty towards society. The decline in morality in Guyana and the increase in crass and uncivilized behaviour have led to an undermining of moral values among the citizens. Perhaps the most debilitating and contentious aspect of our drifting moral values is the double standard that exists in our society. We cite a few examples: 1. There are well-heeled persons in Guyana who engage in the practice of the illegal abstraction of electricity without having to suffer the indignity of punitive action. They seem to be viewed in a different way from those who are also found engaged in the same practice. 2. There are some who were charged for serious crimes, including murder and rape, but because of party affiliation, the charges were dismissed or dropped and instead, they are elevated and promoted and given unprecedented power. 3. One well-known member of the medical profession who was charged and convicted some years ago in New York and was barred from practicing medicine in the US, was allowed to work at the Georgetown Hospital and was only fired because of the media. 4. Based on an investigation, a prominent PPP official in an NDC allegedly breached a number of regulations at that institution by awarding contracts to family members, yet he is still on the job and is allowed to continue his illegal practices. These are just a few examples of the double standards that have occurred under the Jagdeo/Ramotar regime and this has created a serious challenge in the efforts to tackle the moral deterioration in literally every sector of the society. Let us be very clear in saying that Guyana will only prosper and become the nation that it can be when we restore moral values and altruistic attitudes. Every sector of society, but particularly the government, must play its part in helping to bring back our moral values. These include: The political parties and their representatives who act and speak on their behalf, but the onus is even more so on the PPP that forms the Government. Nothing must be done or seen to be done to send a mixed signal to the populace as it relates to the ethical and moral efficacy of these representatives. No one under the radar of the police and who is believed to be engaged in illegal activities must be elected or appointed to any position of prominence in government. On the contrary, the ruling party must do everything to distance itself from such persons. The educational system, which is the national catchment of thousands of students, must find ways and means to wage a systematic and sustained campaign against the social and moral deterioration taking place. Churches, Mosques and Mandirs, despite religious and philosophical differences, must unite and find common ground to help pull Guyana back from the social and moral dilemma in which it finds itself.  The Private Sector must be in the forefront of promoting ethically correct and sound moral behaviour and attitudes. And last but not least, the regime must stop the marginalization of a certain ethnic group and must be more sensitive to what is transmitted and broadcast, particularly to the children and youth, who are themselves confused by the double standards that they established in the society. It is time to get back to a sense of a nurturing society which promotes civility, compassion and mutual respect, thus leading to the moral order we all desire. It is important for the cabal to protect and preserve what we have left of our moral and shared values. They have a duty to rescue the nation from its corrosive behaviour that they implanted, and focus on achieving political and economic stability. Asquith Rose and Harish Singh

New York caseâ€ĶRamroop gifted Sanata complex despite failing employment requirement

June 22, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

Court papers trace linkages between New GPC, TVG, Guyana Times

The veil of secrecy over New GPC Inc. is slowly lifting with the company admitting in a New York court this month

Dr. Ranjisinghi “Bobby” Ramroop

that it was employing just 138 workers, at the end of 2012. The company also admitted that it shared a common principal with the Guyana Times newspaper and TVG 28â€Ķ Dr. Ranjisinghi “Bobby” Ramroop. And owning New GPC would be Atlantic Investments Incorporated and the National Industrial Commercial Investments Limited (NICIL). Atlantic Investments also has Ramroop as a principal while NICIL is a Government-owned company charged with overseeing investments for the state. NICIL has a 10 per cent stake in New GPC. The number of staffers employed by New GPC would be significant as its parent company, Queens Atlantic Incorporated Inc. (QAII), had promised to provide up to 1200 jobs with the acquisition of the Sanata complex. It has been several years now since that that acquisition New GPC, the largest supplier of pharmaceuticals to the Government has been in news in recent years after revelations that all was not right with those drug purchases. With questions over the procurement procedures used in granting New GPC the contracts to supply drugs, the spotlight was thrown on its close relationship with the Ministry of Health and Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation and former President Bharrat Jagdeo. Questions over the cost of certain drugs being paid for by Government led to a court action in August 2012 by New GPC against Kaieteur News both in Guyana and in the US suing for US$1M.  The company said it suffered because of the publications and even lost overseas business and customers. Initially, New GPC had objected to several questions being asked by lawyers for Kaieteur News, eventually asking Judge Joan Kenney, in the New York court, to have the answers remain confidential. However, the Judge denied the request and last month ordered that the answers be provided within 20 days. New GPC was unable to provide evidence that it lost market overseas. It was also unable to explain what it understood by “Sole Sourcing”, a method used Government to award the billions in drugs supply contracts to New GPC, almost exclusively. According to the court documents provided, the names of the officers and directors of New GPC supplying the answers were Ramroop, Paul Fredericks, C.C.H, and Rudolph Collins, C.C.H. New GPC denied it owned, operated, or sponsored any public events in 2012. The Opposition has been incensed over the arrangements between Government and New GPC and its other sister companies.

Bharrat Jagdeo

For this year alone, Government is set to spend upwards of $5B for drug purchases. Last year, Guyana spent $4.69B.  The drugs bills would represent half of the total Ministry’s budget of $10B. Drug purchases have accounted for a large chunk of the Ministry of Health’s expenses with New GPC in 2011 being awarded almost 80 per cent of the $13B expended. The Opposition parties in the National Assembly have expressed alarm over the developments with members of its Public Accounts Committee arm, clashing during examinations of the 2010 Auditor General’s report. Hotly debated also was how the Ministry did not follow competitive bidding processes and as such allowed $1.252B in contracts to be granted to New GPC to deliver drugs in 2010. Last December, the pre-qualification period expired and Government immediately moved to invite companies to apply. However, local suppliers and the Opposition again criticized the “unfair” conditions which included among other things, large spaces for storage and evidence that it supplied hundreds of millions of dollars in drugs. The conditions, in effect, tipped the scales in favour of New GPC. Ramroop is said to be close friends to Jagdeo.