Originally Posted by asj:

No audited accounts from 52 NDCs in

last five years

January 14, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

-none from six municipalities for more than decade and half

Despite receiving millions of dollars every year from Central Government, there have been no audited accounts from six municipalities for at least 15 years. The municipalities have also been collecting taxes from residents.

Former Auditor General, Anand Goolsarran

In total, 52 Neighbourhood Democratic Councils (NDCs), representing 80 per cent of total number, did not have audited accounts for the last five years. About 18 have also never produced audited accounts since they were established in 1994 – that is for 19 years. Writing in his weekly column in the Stabroek News, former Auditor General, Anand Goolsarran, was critical noting this is despite the fact that, as in the case of municipalities, NDCs are in receipt of significant amounts of money from the Treasury, not to mention rates and taxes being collected from local residents. β€œFor example, the 65 NDCs received a total of $195.5 million in 2012 from budgetary allocations approved by Parliament.  According to the Audit Office’s records, most of the entities had submitted financial statements for audit several years. However, some statements had to be returned for corrections while for others, the audits were either being planned or were being finalised.” The 2012 Auditor General’s report issued on September 30 last stated that of the 294 sets of financial statements in the possession of the Audit Office as at September 30, 2011, a total of 221 statements were audited by December 2011 but the related reports had not been issued. However, no audits were finalized in 2011 while for 2012, 48 audits were completed and the related reports issued. β€œSo the question is: what happened to the audit of 173 statements carried forward to 2012 that were completed and were

Local Government Minister, Ganga Persaud

β€œbeing finalized? Why should there be this overwhelming and undue delay in completing the audits of NDCs when the financial statements comprise merely a statement of receipts and payments? A dedicated auditor with access to the cash book, vouchers and bank statements will take less than a day to complete the audit.” Goolsarran said that an analysis of the situation paints yet another sorrowful picture of the functioning of the Audit Office whose mission statement states, inter alia, that the Audit Office is committed to promoting good governance, including openness, transparency and improved public accountability, through the execution of high quality audits and the timely reporting of the results. β€œIt is time the Audit Office takes stock of itself and ensure that appropriate measures are in place to lift standards of efficiency and effectiveness consistent with its mission statement.” He called on the Ministry of Local Government to play a greater monitoring role in ensuring the timely and proper accountability of NDCs. β€œAfter all, there are two subject Ministers as well as two former Ministers acting as advisors to oversee the work of the Ministry. Parliamentarians must also demand proper accountability for funds previously given to the NDCs before new funds are allocated.” Regarding what can be done on a political level, the former Auditor General pointed out that the Minister of Finance has until March 31st to prepare and lay before the National Assembly the Estimates of Revenue and Expenditure for 2014. β€œGiven the present configuration of the National Assembly and in order to ensure the smooth passage of the estimates,

Auditor General, Deodat Sharma

commonsense would dictate that there should be meaningful consultations with the combined Opposition during the preparation of the estimates. However, such consultations have so far not taken place, and from all appearances, we are heading for a third consecutive year of serious disagreements over allocations for government programmes and projects, and possible budget cuts.”

All of the previous NDC were removed and replaced by PPP/C cronies, families and friends.

as a moderator you should have stopped the situation before it reached a crisis point. Also you should set a good example by your own deeds, let us not forget your disparaging remarks about me. 

I questioned this moderator's partiality before. Sorry ASJ, you should not be taking sides as a moderator. It's like Rush Limbaugh moderating the presidential debates in the USA.

Dis Fella from Skeldon is not seeing the true picture of whats going on in Guyana....Looks like eee eye "Ful o Bo-bo"...and this blocking eee vision.

Skeldon how can you support a Bunch of Funny Fellas which include Kwame (a 50/50) at the top to mek decisions for the Hindus or Muslims of Guyana.

Islam do not tolerate Kwame Nasty Lifestyle. Muslims cant go there.

Guyana Laws clearly say those Practicing & Promoting Buggery should get the Death Penalty.

Pundit Nehru refuse to Denounce Buggery or say if this is a Hindu Practice ....so we do not understand why the PPP Hindus are openly embracing, practicing & Promoting  50% Backdoor Pork Business.

So Picture this.... 

Is Skeldon in the same Boat "MV Buggery" like yuji, Rev, De PNC Hydro Engineer, Godey-Man & Pundit?....Yes he is in the same Boat

is this Skeldon fellas a following ......are his Leaders Jagdeo & Ramotar simply practicing & Promoting 50% Backdoor Pork Business???? ......and yes he support and like Buggery.

Skeldon....Is the Moderator right to draw the line in the sand and not to support your 50% Backdoor Pork Business????....Sure he is doing the Right thing by leaving the Funny Fellas in de "MV Buggery"....heading up $hit Creek without a paddle.

THE CUFFY LOVERS WILL NOT REST UNTIL

A CUFFY IS LEADER OF GUYANA....

And who love Cuff? 

Lamumba, Hamilton, Bynoe,

Councie, Jerry Gouviea, Brian Young

Norman McClean, Kit Nascimento,

Rev, Yuji22,Kwame &

all of them who Practice &

Love De Backdoor Poke....

* Nothing will please the CUFFY LOVERS

until a CUFFY is PRESIDENT,

and he change the Guyana Laws on Buggery...

Jagdeo & Ramotar are now a Minority

And with the few Remaining

they are heading up $hit Creek 

on de "MV Buggery"....

which dem now calling "De love Boat".......

http://youtu.be/m_wFEB4Oxlo

as a moderator you should have stopped the situation before it reached a crisis point. Also you should set a good example by your own deeds, let us not forget your disparaging remarks about me. 

I questioned this moderator's partiality before. Sorry ASJ, you should not be taking sides as a moderator. It's like Rush Limbaugh moderating the presidential debates in the USA.

Dis Fella from Skeldon is not seeing the true picture of whats going on in Guyana....Looks like eee eye "Ful o Bo-bo"...and this blocking eee vision.

Skeldon how can you support a Bunch of Funny Fellas which include Kwame (a 50/50) at the top to mek decisions for the Hindus or Muslims of Guyana.

Guyana Laws clearly say those Practicing & Promoting Buggery should get the Death Penalty.

Pundit Nehru refuse to Denounce Buggery or say if this is a Hindu Practice ....so we do not understand why the PPP Hindus are openly embracing, practicing & Promoting  50% Backdoor Pork Business.

So Picture this.... 

Is Skeldon in the same Boat "MV Buggery" like yuji, Rev, De PNC Hydro Engineer, Godey-Man & Pundit?....Yes he is in the same Boat

is this Skeldon fellas a following ......are his Leaders Jagdeo & Ramotar simply practicing & Promoting 50% Backdoor Pork Business???? ......and yes he support and like Buggery.

Skeldon....Is the Moderator right to draw the line in the sand and not to support your 50% Backdoor Pork Business????....Sure he is doing the Right thing by leaving the Funny Fellas in de "MV Buggery"....heading up $hit Creek without a paddle.

Guyana is not a theocracy. We do not need mullah Omar or Bin laden to institute Sharia law. Guyana is not a muslim state we are not part of North Africa. You have a problem accepting people with alternative life styles. You cannot disagree with some one and yet get along with that individual. Whether they practice buggery or not; it's not your business or my business. Should the homosexuals tell us that we should not indulge in hetrosexual relationship? I am sure homosexuals do not entertain that hatred feeling to all of our hetrosexuals. I do not condone the alleged robbing of the treasury. However, there is a court of law in Guyana. No one in the government has been convicted of theft. If you know who is stealing and you have hard evidence against the persons, I encourage you to go to Guyana and make your case. You read and follow Kaieteur news blindly. There is your source of misinformation.

You are the one that has "yaaz" in your eyes.

All of you PNC and AFC supporters bawl your throats out about thefts. Give us the hard evidence. It's all "dem seh and who seh".

Keep this in mind: Empty barrel makes the most noise.

PPP will rule Guyana through our lifetime.

So Picture this.... 

Guyana is not a theocracy. We do not need mullah Omar or Bin laden to institute Sharia law. Guyana is not a muslim state we are not part of North Africa. You have a problem accepting people with alternative life styles. You cannot disagree with some one and yet get along with that individual. Whether they practice buggery or not; it's not your business or my business. Should the homosexuals tell us that we should not indulge in hetrosexual relationship? I am sure homosexuals do not entertain that hatred feeling to all of our hetrosexuals. I do not condone the alleged robbing of the treasury. However, there is a court of law in Guyana. No one in the government has been convicted of theft. If you know who is stealing and you have hard evidence against the persons, I encourage you to go to Guyana and make your case. You read and follow Kaieteur news blindly. There is your source of misinformation.

You are the one that has "yaaz" in your eyes.

All of you PNC and AFC supporters bawl your throats out about thefts. Give us the hard evidence. It's all "dem seh and who seh".

Keep this in mind: Empty barrel makes the most noise.

PPP will rule Guyana through our lifetime.

As a moderator you should be ashamed. Did I ever bugger you to say I like and support buggery? If I did, what did it feel like? Did you like it? What a sick and demented sexual deviant?

Now De Skeldon fella accept

he love, admire & Respect his leader Kwame...

and I am sure Kwame love him too...

Kwame is his leader.....

De Skeldon funny fella is de follower

we are moving right along.

But that do not make

Kwame 50% Backdoor Poke Business

(1) Legal in Guyana.

(2) Halall for Muslims.

(3) Acceptable for Hindus

Although PPP Hindus like Lamumba, McClean,

Nascimento & Kwame think or say they love it.

Quote Skeldon Funny Fella....

As a moderator you should be ashamed.

Did I ever bugger you to say I like and support buggery?

If I did, what did it feel like?

Did you like it?

What a sick and demented sexual deviant?

Skeldon Behaving just like when

Kwame pull down she panty

and expose de pom-pom..

Skeldon yuh eyes pass the Moderator.

How can you tell him to try the Nastiness

Because you and your Leader Kwame

Love & accept it

do not make it something....Hindus & Muslims should accept.

GPHC $5M Fraud…Special Audit reveals

159 instances of misappropriation

January 22, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

- suggests cashier did not act alone

A Special Audit conducted at the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation (GPHC) to confirm allegations of fraud within the institution’s Accounts Department was not only able to direct culpability to the cashier, but there is speculation that there might have been others involved.
In fact the roles of both the Finance Director and the Accounts Supervisor at the institution have been called into question.
Evidence of a fraud suggesting the misappropriation of in excess of $5 million dollars was unearthed within the GPHC’s Account Department last year. The state of affairs warranted that a Special Audit be conducted.
And based on the findings of the Special Audit, conducted by The Audit Office of Guyana, there were 159 instances where moneys amounting to $5.115 million were apparently misappropriated by the cashier (name provided) and possibly other persons who were not identified up to the time of the investigation.
The cashier and the Finance Director have since been sent on administration leave while the Accounts Supervisor remains on the job.
According to the report of the audit process, which was seen by this publication, the apparent misappropriations occurred whereby cash and cheque payments were not made to the respective payees and the related sums were unaccounted for.  The audit report detailed too that the various transactions surrounded three bank accounts relating to salaries, revenue received and moneys payable to the Consolidated Fund.
During the period of investigations, it was revealed that there were 39 instances where employees did not receive the respective sums due to them which totalled $1.902 million. The misappropriation of funds related to revenue occurred on 56 occasions amounting to $1.015 million while misappropriation of funds that were intended for the Consolidated Fund occurred on 64 occasions and amounted to $2.198 million.
The Special Audit saw moves being made to interview the GPHC’s Accounts Supervisor who stated that β€œin relation to revenue received only the arithmetic accuracy of the Collectors’ Cash Book Statements (CCBS) and the deposit book was checked.” The Accounts Supervisor had also informed the Audit Office that in relation to payments, requests were made for daily unpaid voucher listing from the cashier who never provided same. This as a result prevented effective monitoring of the cashier, the Accounts Supervisor informed the Audit Office. Moreover, complaints were made to the Finance Director but no support was forthcoming, according to the Accounts Supervisor.
Although the Finance Director in a subsequent interview with Audit Officers acknowledged receiving a complaint of such nature from the Accounts Supervisor and claimed to have had written to the cashier to this effect, the Finance Director was however adamant that it was the function of the Accounts Supervisor to effectively monitor the operations of the cashier.  And since this was not the case, resulting in the misappropriation of funds, the Finance Director has since given assurance to the Audit Office that action will be taken to correct the state of affairs.
But the conclusion of the audit process saw the Audit Office being able to deduce that the cashier was able to misappropriate funds, possibly in collusion with others, because of lapses in the hospital’s accounting system.
According to the Audit Report not only has there been evidence of lack of supervisory checks to monitor the operations of the cashier but it was observed that since the Cashier’s Cage was poorly supervised this provided opportunities for actual theft at the institution. Added to this the audit process uncovered that the system of checking off revenue before it is banked is rather lax.
As such the Audit Office has recommended that the necessary officers be disciplined for facilitating the theft even as the GPHC seeks to review its current practices with a view to avoiding any reoccurrence. Among the many other recommendations of the Audit Office is that moves be made to strengthen the accounting system including the filling of critical vacancies at the institution.
Another notable recommendation of the Audit Office is that the Guyana Police Force be called in to conduct an in-depth investigation and institute charges where necessary.
When contacted yesterday for a comment on the findings of the Audit Office and the implementation of recommended actions, Chief Executive Officer, Mr Michael Khan, informed this publication that the police have already commenced their investigation with the view of laying possible charges.

Gloomy days are ahead for Guyana

JANUARY 24, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER LETTERS

Dear Editor,
Ever since we began writing letters, we have tried to give some sense of what we could discern ahead for Guyana in 2014 under this PPP regime. In so doing, notwithstanding how difficult things are for the poor and the working class in the country, we were always able to offer reasons for hope to the less fortunate in the most difficult times.
Today, as we try to look ahead, two things stand out. In the first place much of our future is impenetrable. The darkness is pervasive. This, in itself is not unexpected sincewe have a regime that is unfit to govern because of their lack of intellectual and moral faculty.
We have argued before that as things get progressively worse under this regime, it would become much more difficult for the poor and the working class to make ends meet or even simply to provide a future for their children.
Second, this cabal is drenched in corruption, greed, selfishness and evil as darkness has over taken them by leaps and bounds, hence the people and the country. People are frustrated to the point where their blood pressure in increasing. And there is a lurking danger because the people have reached the boiling point and there are no valves to open for the pressure to escape.
But as uncomfortable as it is to view the darkness ahead, contemplating the shadows cast by that future darkness into our present is infinitely more depressing. It is not that there are no signs pointing the way ahead; rather, it is that all the signs tell a tale of unrelieved doom and gloom for the people in which hope lies dying especially for the elderly, youths and the poor.
In terms of our politics it is certainly a case in which the PPP is unable to develop the economy, create jobs for the youths and those who want to work, reduce crime, corruption and nepotism, improve the lives of the poor, and respect the rights of the people. This regime led has succeeded in drastically reducing the practice of good government and accountability in this country into an unseemly orgy of greed, corruption and venality without conscience or limits. We believe that the prospects are that the excesses of the regime will only get worse as it strives desperately to win a majority in the next election. That gloomy perspective spells unmitigated disaster for the country and the poor and the working class who are currently living on their knees. The result is that in spite of talking about changes which have not taken place in the PPP in the last twelve years, the core of the party and its dominant ethos remain the same as they have always been. Its Stalinism-Leninism ideology is like a cult organization, without a national perspective, a human development strategy and thus the regime is incapable of delivering good government, reduce corruption and crime and improve the lives of the poor.
The entire prospect is so depressing that we are reduced to wishing with the poet that, β€œsurely some revelation is at hand”. Except that if it is, we freely admit we lack the foresight to see it. But the problem posed by this corrupt, uncaring and dictatorial regime is a major part of the gloom and doom that lie ahead. Even greater fear stems from the contemplation of the prospects of crime, corruption, the economy and the society in which there is no security of the person.
The economy of Guyana is in shambles and only the perversely ignorant in the PPP would imagine that Guyana’s economy is splendid, unaffected by the economic implosion taking place around us. When we combine such gloomy prospects and we consider such developments in the context of the horrendous mismanagement, corruption and the raping of the treasury and of the country’s resources by the kleptocrats which has taken place over the years, the implications are frightening for the future. Only a peaceful revolution similar to the Arab Spring Revolution can save the youths, the elderly and the poor and the working class in Guyana from total disaster. The time is now.
Dr. Asquith Rose and Harish S. Singh

Every Day the PPP under Jagdeo & Ramotar sink deeper and deeper as the Buggerism continues take over the PPP just look at the results today.

Just look at the PPP today....

This huge caiman, snout firmly bound, was being transported on a bclycle along Saffon Street yesterday. [Arian Browne photo)

Kwame is De Superman on the Central Committee.

De other Black House of Israel Thug Lamumba

Large and In-Charge.....

De party Hijacked and Lock-down.

De Giant Jagan created is today muzzeled...

cannot Represent or defend de Grassroot any longer...

Look Kwame riding the Sleeping Giant

Every Day the PPP under Jagdeo & Ramotar sink deeper and deeper as the Buggerism continues take over the PPP just look at the results today.

Just look at the PPP today....

This huge caiman, snout firmly bound, was being transported on a bclycle along Saffon Street yesterday. [Arian Browne photo)

Kwame is De Superman on the Central Committee.

De other Black House of Israel Thug Lamumba

Large and In-Charge.....

De party Hijacked and Lock-down.

De Giant Jagan created is today muzzeled...

cannot Represent or defend de Grassroot any longer...

Look Kwame riding the Sleeping Giant

Oh rass man, me tink da ah Kwame ah ride Grainger. De caiman look like Grainger. My bad.

There is no way that the PPP/C will win if Elections were held today

To stay back on topic, that is a personal opinion. We are viewing Guyana from the outside, we are not actually living there. When election time comes around, we are not the ones that are going to the polls to vote, it is the citizens living in Guyana who will be exercising that right.

I am of the opinion that no matter how bad it seem to us, the people will happily re-elect the PPP. There is too much bikering going among the other parties. There is no better choice other than the PPP.

The views expressed are solely those of the writer

Amral
Last edited by Amral
Originally Posted by Amral:

To stay back on topic, that is a personal opinion. We are viewing Guyana from the outside, we are not actually living there. When election time comes around, we are not the ones that are going to the polls to vote, it is the citizens living in Guyana who will be exercising that right.

I am of the opinion that no matter how bad it seem to us, the people will happily re-elect the PPP. There is too much bikering going among the other parties. There is no better choice other than the PPP.

This is the most accurate analysis of the politics at ground level in Guyana.

Too many armchair pundits sitting at their computer screens in North America writing off the PPP when infact, the reality is different.

The PPP is growing in strength in Berbice. This is where the rubber hits the road.

Amral....I use to feel that way....but when I see people with honesty & Integrity showing us how the PPP support getting less and less as the days go by I have to agree...the PPP is no longer a majority.

Now....TODAY....The PPP do not have 50% support in Guyana...anyone would be lieing if they tell you otherwise.

I know some trying to be Diplomatic and want to paint a different picture which is not true.

If Kwame is the best choice then something wrong with the majority of Guyanese today.

really? . . . a majorty of Guyanese voted AGAINST the PPP @ the last election, and u interpret THAT as them "happily" re-electing this ignorant, larcenous set of gangsters

hmmm . . .??

This is the most accurate analysis of the politics at ground level in Guyana.

Too many armchair pundits sitting at their computer screens in North America writing off the PPP when infact, the reality is different.

The PPP is growing in strength in Berbice.

This is where the rubber hits the road.

Kwame and those who want to practice Buggerism in Berbice will say PPP is Growing.....but our good ambassador and true berbician will tell you different.

Who in this world would believe wha yuji say and ignore what Ralph Ramkarran say....

Yuji or Kwame know more than ralph????

51% of those who voted PPP didn't think that they were the best choice.

What has changed since then?  Note that Ramotar is much less charismatic than Jagdeo, who was involved in the last election. 

I would argue that BECAUSE the parties bicker and achieve nothing, more people will simply not vote.  This will favor the PPP, because as the incumbent party they will be able to buy some votes, and offer soup to those willing to drink, and intimidate others to support them.

But I really don't see why people will be more enthusiastic about the PPP than they were a mere 2 years ago.

One day you will realize that the PPP cannot guarantee victories just based on the Indian vote on the Corentyne.

What have they done to win votes in regions 3, 4, and 10.  In case you don't know, this is where the bulk of the votes are.  Regions 3,4, and 10 have over 60% of the voters.  Region 6, only 16%.

So continue to scream that the PPP will win a majority, based on what YOU THINK is happening in region 6.

By the way we are in 2014.  We have yet to hear the results of the 2012 census.  Why is the PPP hiding the results, because most other CARICOM nations have already released at least preliminary data.

Can it be that region 6 saw further collapse in its population, and the PPP is panicking?

This thread will still be around come election time. I would think that this time around the PPP might even pull off a majority win. Election is a funny thing, and people minds can be swayed very easily.

And why do you think so?  Guyana has become more expensive and income disparities more acute.  People are more concerned about the overall lawlessness and corruption.  Ramotar is as charismatic as a toad. 

Many younger people no longer think that the party ruling Guyana has any relevance to their lives.  Younger Africans stopped voting long ago.  Whats now is that many young Indians have also become similarly cynical.

Unless you are a PPP propaganda tool I see no evidence from you to suggest that you are right.

If the PPP tries to hold another national election before local government elections, they will have revealed themselves to be a bunch of criminals.  There have been no local govt elections for 20 years, and as a result many municipalities have ceased to function.  Where is Hammie these days?

Amral maybe the PPP refuses to release the 2012 census results because it shows how much further the Indian vote has collapsed.  With the PPP refusing to apologize for its racist attack on blacks in its infamous Chronicle editorial, and also failing to prove Freddie Kissoon wrong when he alleged that the PPP is hostile to AfroGuyanese, you know full well that it has failed to make any meaningful inroads into PNC territory since 1997.

Changing demographics suggest that it is much harder for the PPP to ensure majority by sampling twiddling its thumbs and expecting racial paranoia to accomplish this.

And why do you think so?  Guyana has become more expensive and income disparities more acute.  People are more concerned about the overall lawlessness and corruption.  Ramotar is as charismatic as a toad. 

Many younger people no longer think that the party ruling Guyana has any relevance to their lives.  Younger Africans stopped voting long ago.  Whats now is that many young Indians have also become similarly cynical.

Unless you are a PPP propaganda tool I see no evidence from you to suggest that you are right.

If the PPP tries to hold another national election before local government elections, they will have revealed themselves to be a bunch of criminals.  There have been no local govt elections for 20 years, and as a result many municipalities have ceased to function.  Where is Hammie these days?

People are not concerned about corruption? I don't think so, it is being peddled as a campaign issue by the afc/pnc for political points. They were all happy to be taking part in its perks when they were in power. Cockeye  and Naga never complained about corruption until the soup stop dripping. It is good that they have brought corruption to the forefront as this scourge needs to be addressed before Guyana can take the next step forward in its growth. 

This thread will still be around come election time. I would think that this time around the PPP might even pull off a majority win. Election is a funny thing, and people minds can be swayed very easily.

It will most likely be so ... and indeed the PPP/C will gain again more than 52% of the seats in parliament.

PPP cyan NEVER get 51% again. Not with Ramotar, Robert Pussard, Irfaat Ali or the like. They don't have a charismatic leader ever. jadeo name is bad name. All they have is that mouty mouty dunce nandalall, a rale cunumunu just like that shart man Ashni anada cunumunu. Not saying they cant win beacuse PNC stupid too. AFC 12%, PPP 46% and PNC rest come nest electshan.

whistling past the demographic graveyard, and for all kinds of low, not-so-complex reasons, sundry PPP bitter enders here on GNI, and not-so-clever racists in the 'polling' bizness are laying the psychological/propaganda groundwork for what will be [an attempt at] massive PPP rigging of the next elections

bet on it!

Yea only riggin and friggin will give them 51%.

It will most likely be so ... and indeed the PPP/C will gain again more than 52% of the seats in parliament.

That albera cold musse confusing yu.

Last time you said 60% and they got 49%. Now you have reduced your total to 52%.  Given this trend, the PPP might well lose to APNU.