http://newssourcegy.com/news/t...-moco-moco-arrested/

TOSHAO WHO BLOCKED RAMOTAR FROM VISITING MOCO MOCO ARRESTED

20130303toshaomarkgeorge

The Moco Moco village Toshao who denied permission for President Donald Ramotar to visit the Region 9 village because of late notice, has been arrested.

Toshao Mark George told News Source from the Lethem Police Station that he was arrested and taken into custody on Friday midday by the Police without any explanation for the arrest.

He said he has been repeatedly asking the police officers for the reasons behind his arrest but none of them have been providing answers.

β€œI will keep asking them and hopefully they can tell me why I am here and what are the allegations against me”, George said. The Toshao told News Source that he is convinced that the arrest is politically motivated and may be in response to his decision not to grant the President permission to visit the village of Moco Moco for a political campaign meeting on Tuesday.

According to The Amerindian Act of 2006, Section 5, part II,  β€œA person, other than a person travelling for official business for the Government who wishes to enter Village lands shall apply for and obtain the permission of the village Council”.

Because the trip was a political campaign trip and not an official Presidential trip for government business, approval would have had to be granted for the visit in keeping with the Amerindian act.

George said his attorney will travel to the Lethem area on Saturday and he hopes that by then, there will be a clearer understanding of the reason behind his arrest.

(Stabroek News Photo)

Filed: 20th February, 2015

http://www.inewsguyana.com/moc...er-rape-allegations/

Moco Moco Toshao detained over rape allegations

February 20, 2015 5:52 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

Toshao, Mark George. [Stabroek News Photo]

[www.inewsguyana.com] β€“ The Toshao of Moco Moco Village, Mark George has been detained by police in Lethem over a rape allegation.

The Toshao was taken into police custody sometime on Friday, February 20 stemming from the investigations into the rape of a 13 – year – old girl in his village.

iNews understands that George was under investigation by police and officials of the Child Care and Protection Agency.

On Tuesday, February 17, the Toshao denied President Donald Ramotar entry to the Amerindian village after a late notice was received.

According to Alliance For Change (AFC) Chairman, Nigel Hughes β€œthe alleged complainant and her family were contacted by the PPP (People’s Progressive Party) Lethem representative immediately after the refusal of entry by the Toshao.”

Originally Posted by Mars:

20130303toshaomarkgeorge

The Moco Moco village Toshao who denied permission for President Donald Ramotar to visit the Region 9 village because of late notice, has been arrested.

Toshao Mark George told News Source from the Lethem Police Station that he was arrested and taken into custody on Friday midday by the Police without any explanation for the arrest.

He said he has been repeatedly asking the police officers for the reasons behind his arrest but none of them have been providing answers.

β€œI will keep asking them and hopefully they can tell me why I am here and what are the allegations against me”, George said. The Toshao told News Source that he is convinced that the arrest is politically motivated and may be in response to his decision not to grant the President permission to visit the village of Moco Moco for a political campaign meeting on Tuesday.

According to The Amerindian Act of 2006, Section 5, part II,  β€œA person, other than a person travelling for official business for the Government who wishes to enter Village lands shall apply for and obtain the permission of the village Council”.

Because the trip was a political campaign trip and not an official Presidential trip for government business, approval would have had to be granted for the visit in keeping with the Amerindian act.

George said his attorney will travel to the Lethem area on Saturday and he hopes that by then, there will be a clearer understanding of the reason behind his arrest.

(Stabroek News Photo)

Bad move. Bad timing. The PPP isn't doing itself any good but providing ammunition to the oppositon .

Originally Posted by TI:

Hahaha, I did say Amerindians still stupid

The PPP are in full dictatorship mode. Keep on believing that Amerindians are stupid like the PPP are currently doing. That will be their downfall in the form of many lost votes. First they burnt down the benab to get parking and a clear view of the Marriot. Then they slapped the young teacher and also made false accusations against him. Now the same treatment with this village leader. If Amerindians vote PPP after this, they deserve the ill treatment they are currently receiving.
Originally Posted by Dondadda:

20130303toshaomarkgeorge

(Stabroek News Photo)

Bad move. Bad timing. The PPP isn't doing itself any good but providing ammunition to the oppositon .

GREAT FRIKIN NEWS!  I KNEW THESE PPP BASTARDS WERE GONNA SHOOT THEMSELVES IN THE FOOT, THIS IS ONE...NEXXXXT.

So after Rummouthar got the no ball he had the Brave set up the next day. This corrupt bunch is so vindictive and it will be a joy to see them booted out.

http://www.caribnewsdesk.com/n...otar-s-planned-visit

Toshao's alleged rape of teenage girl occurred long before Ramotar's planned visit

In the wake of claims that the arrest of the Toshao of Moco-Moco was linked to his refusal of President Donald Ramotar’s visit to that Rupununi village, the Guyana Police Force (GPF) Friday night said the alleged sexual assault was committed long before the planned visit.

Thirty-two year old Mark George has told Demerara Waves that he believed that his arrest Friday afternoon for alleged rape was a reprisal for his inability to accommodate Ramotar’s visit on Tuesday, February 17, 2015.  

The Region Nine Schools’ Welfare Officer reported the alleged incident the same day of the planned visit, one day after George had told an activist of the ruling People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) that the President could not have been accommodated.

But the Guyana Police Force, in a statement said the alleged sexual assault of a 13-year old female student of the Moco Moco Primary School was reportedly committed on February 1, 2015. Police confirmed receiving the report on February 17, 2015 based on information obtained.

The Police Force said investigators were earlier unsuccessful in contacting the victim and were only able to do so today Friday February 20, 2015, and are currently investigating the matter.

According to the law enforcement agency, β€œit is believed that there was some attempt to cover up the matter initially by members of the village because of who is the suspect in the matter.”

George was arrested Friday afternoon and held at the Lethem Police Station, but told Demerara Waves Online News that he would not be giving a statement to the police until his lawyer arrives on Saturday.

"But the Guyana Police Force, in a statement said the alleged sexual assault of a 13-year old female student of the Moco Moco Primary School was reportedly committed on February 1, 2015. Police confirmed receiving the report on February 17, 2015 based on information obtained."

REALLY?? So it took an unplanned visit by the so called Prez to actually get this guy? What the fk these people think, everyone is an idiot but not the PPP guys?

Via Nigel Hughes

"Breaking News. The police have just released the Toushao of Moco Moco, Mark George on his own recognizance without any explanation about why he was arrested.
We thank all of you who expressed outrage at the act of victimization, the vigilance of the community of Moco Moco, and his Attorneys who intervened and were about to leave Georgetown for Lethem."

Further update.

Toushao Mark George has just authorized the release of the following information.

On Monday the 16th February 2015 two hours after the current Toushao of Moco Moco refused the President access to the village of Moco Moco, the former Toushao and current PPP representative in the Moco Moco Community, dressed in a Community Police Cap and CSO uniform went to St Ignatius Secondary School where he tried to intimidate a female student into make allegations against the Toushao.

Neither the family or the young lady have to date made any allegation against the Toushao.

They were however invited to the station this afternoon.

Toushao Mark George was never informed of any allegation against him.

Toushao George maintains his innocence and appreciates that this is part of the process of continued intimidation to silence any form of independent thought and action by the Indigenous peoples.

Better must come.

Via Nigel Hughes

"Breaking News. The police have just released the Toushao of Moco Moco, Mark George on his own recognizance without any explanation about why he was arrested.
We thank all of you who expressed outrage at the act of victimization, the vigilance of the community of Moco Moco, and his Attorneys who intervened and were about to leave Georgetown for Lethem."

Further update.

Toushao Mark George has just authorized the release of the following information.

On Monday the 16th February 2015 two hours after the current Toushao of Moco Moco refused the President access to the village of Moco Moco,

the former Toushao and current PPP representative in the Moco Moco Community,

dressed in a Community Police Cap and CSO uniform

went to St Ignatius Secondary School

where he tried to intimidate a female student

into make allegations against the Toushao.

Neither the family or the young lady have to date made any allegation against the Toushao.

They were however invited to the station this afternoon.

Toushao Mark George

was never informed of any allegation against him.

Toushao George maintains his innocence and

appreciates that this is part of the

process of continued intimidation

to silence any form of independent thought

and action by the Indigenous peoples.

Better must come.

Nigel working hard with the Amerindians.

And was about to leave Georgetown for Lethem.

Originally Posted by Tola:

If the PPP is looking at the AmerIndians for significant voting numbers at the next election, they are screwing up badly with relationships.   

Maybe they are too cocksure about themselves.   

Tola:

The PPP is having a policy paralysis.  They need the Amerindians more than every before yet they SLAPPING them and JAIL the innocent and riding the them.

They are finished.

It is quite disgraceful how many of your are supporting a man who allegedly raped a 13 year old as posted here.

Shame on all of you who are supporting rape.

Did you not see where the police let the man go because there is nothing to charge him with yu bumbling idiot.

""Breaking News. The police have just released the Toushao of Moco Moco, Mark George on his own recognizance without any explanation about why he was arrested."

Originally Posted by Tola:

If the PPP is looking at the AmerIndians for significant voting numbers at the next election, they are screwing up badly with relationships.   

Maybe they are too cocksure about themselves.   

Tola:

The PPP is having a policy paralysis.  They need the Amerindians more than every before yet they SLAPPING them and JAIL the innocent and riding the them.

They are finished.

Kish, The PPP is truly bad for Guyana. PPP vindictiveness at its greatest.

I just read that they fired a judge who is supposed to sentence Hinds son for assaulting a women with  a gun.

I don't believe those in the PPP see themselves logically, they just do things randomly and don't think of the consequences, because they feel dem de best. This will be their downfall.   

It is quite disgraceful how many of your are supporting a man who allegedly raped a 13 year old as posted here.

Yuji, you are a PPP ass.

Seniors are being raped and killed.

Strong evidence of minister's son raping a minor.

Bandits kill innocent hard working people.

Judge fired as they were about to sentence Hinds son for gun assault.  

Jagdeo and those in the PPP living like pigs in a trough, while ordinary Guyanese struggle to make ends meet.

And you come here with this shit, when Ramotar did not follow rules to visit an AmerIndian community.

The PPP want AmerIndian votes and you call this respect ?    

Yuji I agree

we cant support these people in Govt

Watch wh dem do to the 73 year old lady in Essequibo

De lady ah pray everyday fuh Change...

Dem Rape & Kill she...

Yuji yuh still love Kwame?

ohhh raaaaas chiefsta...what dat mean?

It's kind of difficult and long for me to explain.

Let me try, the villages that are located below Corriverton or Springlands bacically from No74 Village to No 43 Village is referred to as " Down de Coast"

Most of these villages were heavily populated with 99.% % iNDIANS excepting Nos 51 and 53 Village. Now Corriverton from where I am from was multi ethnic with every race. We had blacks, Indians, Chineese( Chooong cinemas)Amerindians, PPortugese and of course whites and douglas.

So we Corrivertonians used to call the Indians from that area "down de coast coolies" Bro they used to be mad. Yugi is from No 73 Village and almost every Indian from down de coast hated backs. There was no high school in their area so all came to Corriverton for schooling and we used to pund them. At #63 Village there was one high school.

AAAHAAAAAA...aright Mr Chief.

Banna, you have a great sleep I'm heading off to do the same. Tomorrow it's motor cycle exhibition and while there,I'm supposed to win a Triumph but I doan know if the people who putting the show together knows this.

What bike did you ride chief?

All the best and hopefully you win that bike.

I used to ride a Honda.

No tribal law can supercede that of a country. 

Not true. Back in the '90s, a resident on a reservation near Hialeah, FL was accused of killing a woman outside the reservation. Because the murder was not on the reservation, the tribal police did not have to prosecute it nor did they have an obligation to hand over the person to the Miami-Dade police. This forced the Miami-Dade police to set up surveillance outside the reservation and while it took a while, the man finally ventured off the reservation and was promptly arrested. Point being that the Miami-Dade with all their power could not step on that reservation to get him nor could they make the tribal people hand him over if they didn't want to. Laws are laws and even the president should have to follow them.

No tribal law can supercede supersede that of a country country's. 

Hey Drunky you are right. The TOSHAO was following the law that came into being by the PPP/C.

The PPP should have followed the tribal laws 'cause their victory at the polls depends on the Amerindian vote.  No?

Mistake NO 1.  PPP abused the Amerindians and then want them votes?

Look carefully, Rupununi voting for the alliance in 2015.

Fat cats unmasked… β€˜Disgraceful’ OP operating β€˜Dharm Shala’ for friends, cronies

"....Desmond Kissoon, the Presidential Political Liaison Officer Region Nine, earns some $280,000 "  

This is the man who instructed the police to arrest the Toushao from Moco Moco village

yuji22, you were saying the same thing when we supported Raphael Trotman who allegedly buggered Johnny Welshman.

We had said that Johnny was goaded to set up Trotman by PPP functionaries who also advised him to report the matter to the police.

The DPP Shalimar Hack, a friend of Freedom House, ruled that the police had no legal basis to charge Trotman. Trotman is vindicated.

We are saying now that the police arrest of the Moco Moco toshao was politically motivated, a vengeful PPP act because the man upheld the provisions of the Amerindian Act.

ohhh raaaaas chiefsta...what dat mean?

It's kind of difficult and long for me to explain.

Let me try, the villages that are located below Corriverton or Springlands bacically from No74 Village to No 43 Village is referred to as " Down de Coast"

Most of these villages were heavily populated with 99.% % iNDIANS excepting Nos 51 and 53 Village. Now Corriverton from where I am from was multi ethnic with every race. We had blacks, Indians, Chineese( Chooong cinemas)Amerindians, PPortugese and of course whites and douglas.

So we Corrivertonians used to call the Indians from that area "down de coast coolies" Bro they used to be mad. Yugi is from No 73 Village and almost every Indian from down de coast hated backs. There was no high school in their area so all came to Corriverton for schooling and we used to pund them. At #63 Village there was one high school.

Chief, thank you so much for explaining the Berbice socio-demographic scenario. I am learning something important here. I will note it down.