@cain posted:

Today I making potatoe an' channa curry on a succelent bed of Jasmine rice.

We got fresh duck flying around here also wild turkeys.

Cainstah, where u learn to cook that curry? My kids like Jasmine rice.

stuuuups…now I am craving wild meat…duck, geese or turkey will do ( I still have some deer steak in freezer which can be turned into curry tomorrow πŸ˜‹)

W
@Wildflower posted:

Cainstah, where u learn to cook that curry? My kids like Jasmine rice.

stuuuups…now I am craving wild meat…duck, geese or turkey will do ( I still have some deer steak in freezer which can be turned into curry tomorrow πŸ˜‹)

I been cooking for myself since 1973..had a lil break while trying out as a married couple, we split cooking evenly...doin the dishes was another story...I prefer to throw everything out or burn it...nah waste dam time washing stuff.

@cain posted:

I been cooking for myself since 1973..had a lil break while trying out as a married couple, we split cooking evenly...doin the dishes was another story...I prefer to throw everything out or burn it...nah waste dam time washing stuff.

So how u learned to cook?

mother taught u or self taught? Why u had to cook at that age? Batchie??

Lynn
@cain posted:

Batchie did it for me....I was forced to learn or had to eat the stuff out of restaurants...greasy spoons...fast foods..etc.

My eldest bro learnt to cook fir that trason.. he got a teaching job in Morrawhanna ? Sp

he stayed with a white Father.. he learnt to cook roti n dal n veggie n became an expert!
the Father loved his roti.

whn the bai came back home he started to cook his own food in a lil mini karahi ..his food was tastier that my sisters’ lol

Lynn

Yummy Chams .. i cooked fry baigan with aloo n jumbo shrimps too.

Im home today so I cooked up a storm as Rac is returning tonite so I made food for her to take for the week ( since she is wrking tomorrow n wont have time to shop for grocery)

chicken enchilada

baked salmon in tomato sauce

eggplant / chkn lasagna

zucchini /chkn lasagna

stuffed sweet peppers( all colors) with ground chicken n quinoa

Jo will b back tomorrow so i will do lil dhal n saltfish n baigan choka (plus i have some left over  seim curry which she loves)

Lynn

Last Friday was our 38th anniv..i bought food from Bamiyan (take out) since it was just the 2 of us…went well with their delicious masala chai

tandoori chkn wrap, chicken breast wrap n choppan dinner (rice, naan, salad n lamb chops) ..fresh, delicious  n healthy (my fave place now since Tucker’s marketplace closed a yr ago)

im not a fan of restaurant food..but loved Tuckers!!

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn

For weekend..going to buy duck, gilbaka n hassar fromSheik’s Halal farm..so it is a curry weekend!  With dhalpuri, rice , dhal  and some home-made salara n cassava pone for desert. (Dont feel like eating restaurant food for Mother’s Day, so I am cooking!!) Big daata will prepare brunch on Sunday as I dont eat Bfast.

Happy Mother’s Day to all you Mothers on GNI n to the dads who r the β€˜mothers’ in their kids’ lives

Lynn

Wow, Lynn, these foods look greattttt.  Had roti and fried ochro with shrimps

I love fried ochro ..i still have some left back in fridge..n yes it goes down nice with nice oil roti

can u cook roti? Clap it too? Or wifey does it all?

3 ofmy 4 bros can cook roti n clap too..the 3rd broused to help my sis clap roti whn she was a teenager..lol

Lynn

Anybody likes  egg fried rice with stale rice…..yummy!!

i had lil left over rice so i stir fired some frozen mixed veggies with lot of onion garlic n ginger. N pepper..with some Chief friend rice seasoning n Chinese sauce..with 2 eggs…Delicious!!

( Loved fry egg n rice as a kid n still doit once in a while..but egg must have plenty onions n pepper !! Fry egg n oil roti wuk nice too))

happy Sat/weekend n mother’s Day

Ciheers

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

What is sloo Choka?

I got a feeling it's fried up chicken bamsy aka the pope's nose.

Hello all a yall. I busy like a rant, no time to spend on computer but gonna try one one time.

Summer coming and nuff solo gigs planned. Big gig at a resort outside Bobcaygeon on Victoria day another on July2. Heading down for two weeks in the big city so I gotta find out where Amral does live so I could grab a meal, then I goin down de list of posters I could mooch off of.

Yeah i did same here this morning..nice cool FRESH air in the house!

nice menu !!  

I used to love whn my sis made egg curry..(it use to β€˜pitch up bad’ whn she fired theboiled eggs though..buti loved the β€˜skin’ ..it was the best part of the egg curry)   I once tried it here but was scared so i lightly fried the eggs but it wasnt the same!! ..never tried it again!!

Wht kinda fish? GY kind? My hubby n younger daughter dont  eat gilbaka so i cook that once in a while whn the older girl visits .  We buy butter fish only..somy regular fish is salmon!  I dont eat the Canadian fish ..hubby has a friend  who goes fishing here n he brings for us but hubby alone enjoys those. 

Whn i was wrking inCayman, I used to buy lunch at the hosp cafetaria where Jcan cooks worked.  They used to prepare a nice stew with queriman?? Da ting sweet bad. I enjoyed the bake with ackee n saltfish n they made a bad red bean soup n also the best meatloaf I have ever had in my life!!

Well u enjoy d goodies n i hope u do get yr sapodillas.  My sis has  a friend who lives in Kissimee  n she has lot of  Gy fruits..sapodilla, jamoon , golden apple, five finger n even stinking toe. She has fowls,  ducks n cows , just like back home !! Once whn my sis n I were in Tampa, she came to visit n brought these fruits..

Lynn