Minister’s son released without charge

June 27, 2013 | By | Filed Under News 

Robeson Benn Jr, the son of Works and Transport Minister Robeson Benn, has been released on his own recognisance by police even as they continue to probe allegations that he brutally assaulted his ex-girlfriend last Sunday. Kaieteur News understands that Benn Jr. who walked in to the police station on Tuesday, two days after the alleged incident, was released after spending a few hours at the East Ruimveldt Police Outpost. He had earlier given a statement to the police denying the allegations.

Robeson Benn Jr.

On Sunday the 27-year-old woman alleged that she was assaulted by the Minister’s son whom she claimed was brandishing a gun. A senior police source could not say if or when charges will be instituted against the young man. On Tuesday the Women and Gender Equality Commission expressed great concern over the police’s approach towards the matter. As an advocating body for gender equality and justice, the Commission charged, “Whoever, we don’t care at what level; if they have committed an unlawful act, they must feel the full force of the law.” Responding to questions about the police, who waited for Benn’s family to turn him in, the Commissioners were adamant that law enforcers need not wait and should be proactive in such matters. Renata Chuck-A-Sang continued that there are clear guidelines as to the functions of the police. She said that a lot of money has been spent on training police officers. The government has gone through much trouble to provide the governing legislation, she added. Vanda Radzik, representing women, added, “We cannot have the key enforcement agency under the Domestic Violence Act reneging on what are its clear duties.” She added that when the police do not act accordingly in these matters, they themselves are breaking the law, “it is a breach of the Constitution, it is a breach of the Act and it means the law is being broken.” Nicole Cole, Commissioner and member of the Rights of the Child, said that as it relates to rape and sexual offences, there is supposed to be a standard protocol within all police stations. She said these victims are supposed to be placed on PEP (Post-Exposure Prophylaxis), within 72 hours, which prevents HIV infections, and is applicable also in terms of other sexually transmitted diseases. While the police may seem to turn away persons or ask them to return at a later date, it was noted that this is one of the most important steps that must be taken by the police to ensure the safety of rape and sexual violence victims. Coupled with that, the Commissioners highlighted that one of the reasons the police charged that they could not see an excess of 60 percent of cases going to court was mainly for the lack of evidence and victims unwilling to testify against assailants. They however charged, when asked, that the police force needs to act accordingly in this regard. Every police station, they emphasized, is supposed to have a rape kit. The stations must be equipped and be able to deal with the particular matters in relation to their training. The Commissioners suggested that if official resources are not equipped to deal with the specified matters, then non-governmental agencies can be authorized to conduct basic or interim services so that access to justice could become a reality. They also said that in these particular matters concerning high profile persons, there should be a police investigative unit or autonomous body – to whom they plan to write stating their concerns and interest. The Commission urged too that members of the public do the same as to get the desired outcome when dealing with issues of rape and domestic violence.

Who among us could not predict this outcome? We are fostering a culture of untouchables. The common street punk goes to jail for 3 years for a gram of mary jane and this serial abuser, accused rapist supposedly committing the act in possession of a firearm, walks!! What is this poor girl to do? It is clear she has not backup in the system where it should be!

And what the hell is this notion of special body for high profile pepople? What qualifdies one for high profile...being a serial abuser and accused rapist as this one or the fact he is a minister's son? The chief of police should never be confirmed for this job.

This is the brutal story attached to this case.

Govt minister's son allegedly assaults ex-girlfriend

The son of a government minister has allegedly assaulted his ex-girlfriend, leaving her with a swollen right eye and tender head just days before she had been due to give birth to their baby.

27-year old Vanisha Seenauth alleged that Robeson Benn Jr. barged into her home during the pre-dawn hours of Sunday when she opened the door and assaulted her.

Obviously traumatized by an abusive relationship, a crying Seenauth said that on hearing someone knock on the door she opened thinking that it was her brother whom she had been expecting. She said when her brother arrived later, she sent him away because she did not want him to see her face.

When told of the alleged occurrence, the younger Benn’s mother sounded quite distressed

Picture of first beating....

Rate This

fan mail
2012-11-23 @ 7:23:10 AM
Hello, I am quite surprised at some of the comments I’ve been seeing on this blog concerning Robeson Benn JR and his victim. Some people claim he’s not a violent boy, which is utterly untrue taking into consideration all the women he hit. But worse yet I see people commenting nastily of the young woman he beat up.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

So another PPP hitman goes unpunished. The PPP has been claiming how the police are in the hand of the PNC. But as facts show, the PPP are the ones in control of the police.

where is basemabn on this.

So another PPP hitman goes unpunished. The PPP has been claiming how the police are in the hand of the PNC. But as facts show, the PPP are the ones in control of the police.

The girl should get somebody to buy a gun for her and when he turns up again kill him. This is a Police Cover up. This is also a Political cover up.The Police and the Government pass all kinds of domestic violence laws. If they cannot enforce the law don't waste time and pass it to fool people for cheap polictical point. Remember what the alleged rapist said " If the Police charge him Rohee will lose his job. The alleged rapist is right. If Minister Robeson Benn can't look after he own pickney, how he gon look after Public Works. What is the position of the Minister responsible for Women's issues.

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

The girl should get somebody to buy a gun for her and when he turns up again kill him. This is a Police Cover up. This is also a Political cover up.The Police and the Government pass all kinds of domestic violence laws. If they cannot enforce the law don't waste time and pass it to fool people for cheap polictical point. Remember what the alleged rapist said " If the Police charge him Rohee will lose his job. The alleged rapist is right. If Minister Robeson Benn can't look after he own pickney, how he gon look after Public Works. What is the position of the Minister responsible for Women's issues.

former minista-in-charge priya venting on FaceBook bout how de girl family should beat he up . . . smh

Is this really a political matter or a case of police taking bribe and dropping charges. Why does every incident in the nation have to run all the way up to ppp ministers. What the young lady needs to do now is bring a civil case against the bastard. It is the culture in Guyana to black up them eye and bruise up them knees when they get out of hand, this has to change but it will only happen when society becomes more aware and reject it as a norm.

Many of you naysayers should look in your own backyards and see the same situation in the US where assault cases are given lenient punishment and defendants are given bail or set free until a court date.

I honestly beleive that all political strings should be cut and make Benn Jr a national example that no one is above the law. I was shocked when I read the news that he was released without charges. Ordinary citizens are being fined, put on bail, or jailed for a lessor crimes. Nigel Hughes took a bribe to turn a blind eye? I thought he was representing the victim.  

Is this really a political matter or a case of police taking bribe and dropping charges. Why does every incident in the nation have to run all the way up to ppp ministers. What the young lady needs to do now is bring a civil case against the bastard. It is the culture in Guyana to black up them eye and bruise up them knees when they get out of hand, this has to change but it will only happen when society becomes more aware and reject it as a norm.

Many of you naysayers should look in your own backyards and see the same situation in the US where assault cases are given lenient punishment and defendants are given bail or set free until a court date.

Where are the outcries from the PPP about the police not doing its job? There are none, because the police were ordered by the PPP to let the PPP hitman Benn walk.

Coounscie/Benn had to take a day off from posting on GNI while in custody. 

I honestly beleive that all political strings should be cut and make Benn Jr a national example that no one is above the law. I was shocked when I read the news that he was released without charges. Ordinary citizens are being fined, put on bail, or jailed for a lessor crimes. Nigel Hughes took a bribe to turn a blind eye? I thought he was representing the victim.  

when i finally though you might be a human being you show people you still a snake i know there is no god in guyana

The govt has more important things to do than rush to appease you folks thirst for blood at every incident. Don't expect govt to jump everytime you deem a matter important for political purposes.

These incidents are only minor things for the underlying causes of a country that is already in similar fashions to Liberia.

It is possible the governing party has in its capabilities the desires to waste ppl who causes them problems. What did Sadam Hussein sons did to his ppl. Even Khadafi sons.

That man Jagan saddled the country he stole from the British under false pretences wid the help of his fellow indoes. 

You consider beating a defenceless woman a political act??? You must be a barbaric wife beater if those are your moral values.

You consider it a political act since you indict the entire government based on the alleged action of one person who happens to be the son of a Minister. 

You consider beating a defenceless woman a political act??? You must be a barbaric wife beater if those are your moral values.

You consider it a political act since you indict the entire government based on the alleged action of one person who happens to be the son of a Minister. 

the police chief asks for a special body to "address high profile problems". I do not understand what he means but I guess it is code for the ruling class sense of entitlement is encouraged in the society and he cannot handle it given the political fall out. He wants an out.

I say, his ass should be in jail with no bail until a trial. This is not the first time he has beaten this woman. He supposedly kicked her in the stomach causeing her to have a miscarriage. Others are claiming he beat them also. He has abused a police woman calling her a bitch and telling her he is a ministers son and she could not do anything to him. He was right.

Therefore, this is political sludge. If young people can be thrown in the slammer for 1 gram of maryjane while those caught red handed with 40 Kg  of cocaine walk ( Mool Persaud et al) then the system is  gamed for the elites as the police chief suggests.

Further, the proof is in the pudding. A woman has her face beaten to a pulp and was raped,  she said, by an ex whom she identifies. On record is a previous beating and a stabbing that caused him to end up in the hospital. She said it was in a struggle to  allay a beating she was receiving at his hands. There is photographic evidence of her previous injuries as well. I do not know what else one need to get one arrested. Maybe Priya is right, she need to get her family to put a beating on his ass  It seems that is how we do justice at home.

The govt has more important things to do than rush to appease you folks thirst for blood at every incident. Don't expect govt to jump everytime you deem a matter important for political purposes.

Fair, sir.

At least, the Women's Progressive Organization [WPO], the female arm of the PPP, could have issued a statement expressing disapproval of young Benn's alleged battering of the woman. The WPO is customarily quick to speak out against domestic violence. The WPO's untypical silence on this particular act of abuse is deafening and puzzling, not so?

this ppp government have turn guyana in a little hell a government without any standard were is rohee you mean to say that there is no government minister with a backbone to speak out against these act of lawlessness 

Originally Posted by Danyael:

the police chief asks for a special body to "address high profile problems". I do not understand what he means but I guess it is code for the ruling class sense of entitlement is encouraged in the society and he cannot handle it given the political fall out. He wants an out.

I say, his ass should be in jail with no bail until a trial. This is not the first time he has beaten this woman. He supposedly kicked her in the stomach causeing her to have a miscarriage. Others are claiming he beat them also. He has abused a police woman calling her a bitch and telling her he is a ministers son and she could not do anything to him. He was right.

Therefore, this is political sludge. If young people can be thrown in the slammer for 1 gram of maryjane while those caught red handed with 40 Kg  of cocaine walk ( Mool Persaud et al) then the system is  gamed for the elites as the police chief suggests.

Further, the proof is in the pudding. A woman has her face beaten to a pulp and was raped,  she said, by an ex whom she identifies. On record is a previous beating and a stabbing that caused him to end up in the hospital. She said it was in a struggle to  allay a beating she was receiving at his hands. There is photographic evidence of her previous injuries as well. I do not know what else one need to get one arrested. Maybe Priya is right, she need to get her family to put a beating on his ass  It seems that is how we do justice at home.

Again, I refer you to the police leadership, Brummel and his direct reports. Why did you bypass them for accountability and go all the way up to the PPP leadership? No one is refuting that the woman was abused, however what we want to understand is why the police are not doing their jobs of bringing charges against this person. Your assumption is that this person is given preferential treatment due to his political affiliation. I take it a step further and claim that it is a nationwide affliction where women are battered at will by the males in their lives and the police does nothing. Solving the wider problem is more important than concentrating on the political issue. 

The hypocrisy of some advocacy groups

JUNE 28, 2013 | BY  | FILED UNDER LETTERS 

Dear Editor,
The hypocrisy of some women’s right organization is just inexplicable.  There is a certain domestic abuse advocacy group called the Caribbean American Domestic Violence Awareness (CADVA) with members such as Anand Budram, Dianne Madray and Sukree Boodram who all and sundry would want to support since their mission is to provide a safe environment for individuals combat domestic violence.  Noble objective indeed!
No human being will have any problem with that since they are supposed to fight a plague called domestic violence in the Caribbean especially Guyana.  What really bothers me is how these PPP satellites can choose to press some abusers and cut others much slack.
Unfortunately the issue of domestic violence does not give us the latitude to pick and choose. This is not politics; this is life and death for the victims.
In March 2013, when member of the AFC Charandass Persaud made disparaging remarks about a certain female doctor, Ms. Diane Madray, a CADVA member on her Facebook page claimed that she is “outraged and … certainly hope that the AFC executives apologise… as it is an attack on all women”.
She was quite in order to demand an apology from Mr. Persaud to which he thoughtfully did soon after the transgression.  Great work on that issue CADVA!
But to my grave disappointment, today with photographic and documentary evidence at their disposal and an alleged accusation against Mr. Robeson Benn Jnr, the son of a Minister of the PPP Government for rape, physical and mental abuse of a country girl from Essequibo, this same CADVA issued a totally different statement.  In this case this is worst by indescribable magnitudes; CADVA extends their “thoughts and prayers for Miss Vanisha Seenauth as she is attempting to recover physically and emotionally from the attack by her alleged abuser, Robeson Benn Jr.”
No outrage from Ms Madray or Ms Boodram or Mr. Budram; no demand for justice from these so called domestic abuse advocates, no firm condemnation of these alleged multiple acts of domestic terror against this young lady even though the picture of the victim is all over the world now with her “bloodshot eyes”.
It really sickens my stomach when an organization takes funds from donors to do work in areas that the world really need help, but chooses to protect political godfathers when the oppressor and domestic terrorist is allegedly a son of one of their god fathers.
Shame on CADVA!
Further, I hear nothing from the PPP- women’s arm the WPO, the AFC women’s arm the WFC, or the PNC women’s arm the WRSM.  Where is Red Thread, the Rights of the Child Organisation, the Amerindian People’s Association, the Guyana Human Right Association and all these organizations that were set up to protect our women and those who had their rights violated?  Where is Gail Teixeira, Indra Chandarpal, Cathy Hughes, Debra Backer and all these women?  What happen to the new charm of the PPP and newly minted President of the Guyana Hindu Dharmic Sabha, Ms Vindya Persaud?  What happened to First Lady Deolatchmie Ramotar? Has women’s right fallen off the map for them because the alleged perpetrator is one of their own? How can I respect them ever again?
Guyana is really a sad place when these princelings of the PPP can pull gun, break people’s limbs and now they have moved into a different zone with these allegation of rape and brutalization of an extreme magnitude.
But what is worst is the hypocrisy from the established women right’s group on this issue.
This child could have been by daughter.  Shame on you women of Guyana!
Munish Jayaram

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Again, I refer you to the police leadership, Brummel and his direct reports. Why did you bypass them for accountability and go all the way up to the PPP leadership? No one is refuting that the woman was abused, however what we want to understand is why the police are not doing their jobs of bringing charges against this person. Your assumption is that this person is given preferential treatment due to his political affiliation. I take it a step further and claim that it is a nationwide affliction where women are battered at will by the males in their lives and the police does nothing. Solving the wider problem is more important than concentrating on the political issue. 

this problem is world wide you can try this shit in canada

Fair, sir.

At least, the Women's Progressive Organization [WPO], the female arm of the PPP, could have issued a statement expressing disapproval of young Benn's alleged battering of the woman. The WPO is customarily quick to speak out against domestic violence. The WPO's untypical silence on this particular act of abuse is deafening and puzzling, not so?

What I know is that a person is innocent until proven guilty. The WPO would be remiss on jumping on the bandwagon of bashers when the case is not even proven. For all we know the young woman could have set this entire affair up at the behest of the AFC/pnc. The law has to take its course. 

Fair, sir.

What I know is that a person is innocent until proven guilty. The WPO would be remiss on jumping on the bandwagon of bashers when the case is not even proven. For all we know the young woman could have set this entire affair up at the behest of the AFC/pnc. The law has to take its course. 

The law has apparently already taken its course because the alleged batterer has been released.

Maybe you need to find out why he was released, already you pronounced this fellow guilty based on news reports. While we may have opinions as to innocence or guilt, we need to let the law take its course as we see with the Trayvon Martin case. 

Maybe you need to find out why he was released, already you pronounced this fellow guilty based on news reports. While we may have opinions as to innocence or guilt, we need to let the law take its course as we see with the Trayvon Martin case

Looks like Zimmerman will walk within two weeks.  Case over, that 19 yr old illiterate state star witness handed it to the defense.

Originally Posted by Ronald Sugrim:

That can't happen. If he walks there will be nationwide riots. Remember Rodney King. In this case someone died.

It has to be on the merits.  I don't say Zimmerman is not guilty of anything, but he may walk in 2nd degree, which means he walk.

Maybe you need to find out why he was released, already you pronounced this fellow guilty based on news reports. While we may have opinions as to innocence or guilt, we need to let the law take its course as we see with the Trayvon Martin case. 

which law guyana have one of those

Originally Posted by Ronald Sugrim:

Zimmermann killed a man and everyone knows this, he will have to face the consequences despite all the legal niceities.

What you mean?  From what I see thus far, Zimmerman is mounting a good "self defense" case.  Sound to me like the prosecutor selling out the case calling witnesses who corroborate Zimmerman's position.  What a disaster.

Maybe you need to find out why he was released, already you pronounced this fellow guilty based on news reports. While we may have opinions as to innocence or guilt, we need to let the law take its course as we see with the Trayvon Martin case

Looks like Zimmerman will walk within two weeks.  Case over, that 19 yr old illiterate state star witness handed it to the defense.

At the end of the proceedings, there will be a decision.

However, individuals do have their personal views.

Okay, I'm now presuming the fellow's innocence.

Looking at Benn's ex-girlfriend Vanisha Seenauth's face in that photo from this standpoint, I am left to pronounce that a UFO gave her the black eye.

Okay, I'm now presuming the fellow's innocence.

Looking at Benn's ex-girlfriend Vanisha Seenauth's face in that photo from this standpoint, I am left to pronounce that a UFO gave her the black eye.

There are 3/4 million people in Guyana, pick anyone of them then move on to UFO. You keep missing the point, everyone is entitled to due process. Even thought it appears that Benn was the culprit, we can not assemble a lynch mob without a trial. Even the worst criminal is afforded a trial.  The black eye is a simple assault, it happens everyday in the US and people are not even arrested.   

If something happen more than once then one may cautiously hint at a pattern of behavior. When it is so much familiar, ie the sun coming up in the morning then it is predictable in science and society it constitute a practice.

It is clearly a matter of the expectations of the society from the privileged untouchable class created by the PPP . Ramotar’s son, Repu’s son, Nanda’s son too privileges no less in their serious criminal infractions before the state.

If the young lady could not get acknowledgement in  a criminal case and the young man walked despite the serious accusation of rape and aggravated assault while in possession of a fire arm, do you think she stand much of a chance otherwise in a system not geared for civil suits?

How can the society take back its authority if not rescinding the authority of the PPP? I think you would not want that. Preventing that  is the reason you are here making the devils bargain daily and lying your ass off on their account.

In the US there are systems in place to address the issue or rape. Ask those indo boys who are ending up in Rikers or put out of their homes on account of abusing ( even verbally) their wife . No one is suggesting that there are not too many of these cases presenting but victims are not subjected to systematic neglect and political abused when they complain.

I would not call you an illiterate but your ability to reason from a definite input is clearly wacky. There is no evidence that the young woman is illiterate. As a matter of fact she is literate in three languages and English is clearly not her first language.

If Zimmerman walks is not because anything in this young woman’s demeanor, intellect  or retelling of a story intimate her has been compromise despite being 4 hours on the stand and facing down hostile and withering cross examination.