The greatest weapon against stress is our ability to choose one thought over another.
~~~William James
On the issue of burning the Quran:
As "an act of patriotism," the media should not cover the burning. It's regrettable that a pastor in Gainesville, Florida, with a church of no more than 50 people can make this outrageous and distressful, disgraceful plan, and get the world's attention.
~Secretary of State, Hillary Clinton
As "an act of patriotism," the media should not cover the burning. It's regrettable that a pastor in Gainesville, Florida, with a church of no more than 50 people can make this outrageous and distressful, disgraceful plan, and get the world's attention.
~Secretary of State, Hillary Clinton
Applied knowledge is wisdom.
Lock yo batty an puff your jaw.
~~Roy Spencer (furniture mover)
...said as he got ready to move a fridge
~~Roy Spencer (furniture mover)
...said as he got ready to move a fridge
"I've had thousands of problems in my life, most of which actually never happened." ~~ Mark Twain
A man with deep far-sightedness will survey both the beginning and the end of a situation and continually consider its every facet as important. Takeda Shingen (1521-1573)
True simplicity begins when you learn to enjoy the amazing abundance of what is already yours. - Thomas Kinkade
I deh here enjoying my (small) abundance
Darn thing jus doan keep lit, dam!
Striving for success without hard work is like trying to harvest where you haven't planted
~ David Bly
~ David Bly
Long before Bruce Lee's "style without style".
Takeda Shingen (1521-1573)quote:Many men feel that they should act according to the time or the moment they are facing, and thus are in confusion when something goes beyond this and some difficulty arises.
A man with deep far-sightedness will survey both the beginning and the end of a situation and continually consider its every facet as important.
âThe warrior doesn't care if he's called a beast or a dog; the main thing is winning.â Asakura Norikage quotes ((Soteki)Japanese Samurai, 1474-1555)
Think No Evil
"See no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil." Do not even think evil, because first you think of something, then you speak of it, then you see it.
For every minute you are angry you lose sixty seconds of happiness. - Ralph Waldo Emerson
"To make mistakes is human; to stumble is commonplace; to be able to laugh at yourself is maturity."
~~ William A. Ward
"When you aim for perfection, you discover it's a moving target." - Unknown
âBeing powerful is like being a lady; if you have to tell people you are, you arenât.â Margaret Thatcher
âAnger is an acid that can do more harm to the vessel in which it stands than to anything on which it is poured.â Mahatma Gandhi
The simplest way to describe people who can open their eyes in the morning fully prepared to be miserable that day and able to easily list ten things to be negative about is "joy sucker". Anta the Banta.
Assumptions to live by:
1. For the bodyâassume youâve had a heart attack; now live accordingly
2. For the mindâassume the half-life of your profession is two years; now prepare accordingly
3. For the heartâassume everything you say about another, they can overhear; now speak accordingly
4. For the spiritâassume you have a one-on-one visit with your Creator every quarter; now live accordingly
âStephen Covey, The 8th Habit
1. For the bodyâassume youâve had a heart attack; now live accordingly
2. For the mindâassume the half-life of your profession is two years; now prepare accordingly
3. For the heartâassume everything you say about another, they can overhear; now speak accordingly
4. For the spiritâassume you have a one-on-one visit with your Creator every quarter; now live accordingly
âStephen Covey, The 8th Habit
As long as people believe in absurdities they will continue to commit atrocities. Voltaire
It is obvious that we can no more explain a passion to a person who has never experienced it than we can explain light to the blind.
T. S. Eliot
T. S. Eliot
Behind every successful man stands a surprised mother-in-law. Voltaire
I give you an inch, don't take a yard.
~ by all those mothers who take serious measures~
âThe problem is never how to get new, innovative thoughts into your mind, but how to get the old ones out.â âDee Hock
Prayer is the best way to meet the Lord, TRESPASSING IS FASTER.
By Kelowna farmer with a shotgun.
One should not be envious of someone who has prospered by unjust deeds. Nor should he disdain someone who has fallen while adhering to the path of righteousness. Imagawa Sadayo (1325-1420)
"You already possess everything necessary to become great."
-- Native American Crow Proverb
"Time has a wonderful way of showing us what really matters."
~Margaret Peters~
quote:Originally posted by Miraver:
"Time has a wonderful way of showing us what really matters."
But of koarse! De moe time yuh tekk fuh eat is de moe "matter" yuh gon gaffuh pass laytuh!
Women will never be equal to men until they can walk down the street with a bald head and a beer gut, and still think they are sexy.
Behind every successful man is his woman. Behind the fall of a successful man is usually another woman.
I did a solo run by myself - American race car driver.
A mother takes twenty years to make a man of her son.
Another women can make a fool of him in twenty minutes - Jim Fowlie.
"Keep your chin up and you will see the clouds in the sky.
Keep your chin down and all you will see is the dirt on the
floor."
-- Shelley L. Young
I hope is nice, fluffy clouds!
Keep your chin down and all you will see is the dirt on the
floor."
-- Shelley L. Young
I hope is nice, fluffy clouds!
Just as beauty lies within so does ugliness. Anta the Banta
Let not the ugliness within manifest itself; let the beauty radiate perpetually.
Mira Ver
Mira Ver
âLeadership is communicating to people their worth and potential so clearly that they come to see it in themselves.â Stephen Covey
A Rattlesnake, if cornered will become so angry it will bite itself. That is exactly what the harboring of hate and resentment against others is - a biting of oneself. We think we are harming others in holding these spites and hates, but the deeper harm is to ourselves. ~E. Stanley Jones
That old law about an eye for an eye leaves everybody blind ~~~~~Martin Luther King
However many holy words you read, however many you speak, what good will they do you if you do not act on upon them? Buddha
THE TIME IS NOW
Author Unknown
If you are ever going to love me,
Love me now, while I can know
The sweet and tender feelings
Which from true affection flow.
Love me now
While I am living.
Do not wait until I'm gone
And then have it chiseled in marble,
Sweet words on ice-cold stone.