Former Guyana-born US professor killed, items stolen

Professor Perry Mars

A Guyana-born  retired United States (US) professor was Thursday night killed at his home in Prashad Nagar and a large quantity of valuables were carted off, police sources said.

Dead is 75-year old Pairadeau “Perry” Mars, a former professor in Ethnic Studies at the Detroit, Michigan-based Wayne State University.

Investigators said his bound and gagged body was found in his study at his home located at 395 Bissessar Street, Prashad Nagar at about 7 PM by his wife, Joan. His mouth, hands and neck were  taped.

The perpetrators, including women, were seen leaving Mars’ home with several suitcases in a vehicle believed to have contained booty.

Mars’ killing is the latest serious and high profile crime, although the Guyana Police Force and the Ministry of Public Security have said that the statistics show that there has been a decrease in serious crimes.

Having studied history at the University of Guyana and Carelton University in Ottawa, Canada, he went on to work at Africana Studies at Wayne State University. He was also credited with developing an international academic exchange project between Africana Studies, the College of Urban Labor and Metropolitan Affairs (CULMA), and the University of Guyana.

Comments: Emile_Mervin

Still going home for the Jubilee Celebrations? What exactly will you be celebrating?

Instead of spending millions on a hollow celebration, why not fix the crime problem? WHERE ARE THE BLASTED JOINT PATROLS PROMISED IN JUNE 2015 AND DECEMBER 2015?

Does anyone remember two high level meetings, last year, of police, army and government officials, including Granger, Phillips and Seepersaud, to map a crime fighting strategy?

Statistics show a reduction in the crime rate! Very, very re-assuring stats!

The government has no regard for the lives of the citizens. With all their security, they are safe. So, why bother with the masses.

Can somebody explain to me, why with all these criminality the government continues to boast on their progress and continues to encourage Guyanese to return home for festivities.

Why are they coming to New York in the month of June? IT IS A WASTE OF MONEY. 

Do these people get it. Make the country safe and investment will simply floods in. There is something definite missing in the analysis of investments. They want the embassies to attract business, gold business only. 

What a disappointment.

asj posted:

Former Guyana-born US professor killed, items stolen

Professor Perry Mars

A Guyana-born  retired United States (US) professor was Thursday night killed at his home in Prashad Nagar and a large quantity of valuables were carted off, police sources said.

Dead is 75-year old Pairadeau “Perry” Mars, a former professor in Ethnic Studies at the Detroit, Michigan-based Wayne State University.

Investigators said his bound and gagged body was found in his study at his home located at 395 Bissessar Street, Prashad Nagar at about 7 PM by his wife, Joan. His mouth, hands and neck were  taped.

The perpetrators, including women, were seen leaving Mars’ home with several suitcases in a vehicle believed to have contained booty.

Mars’ killing is the latest serious and high profile crime, although the Guyana Police Force and the Ministry of Public Security have said that the statistics show that there has been a decrease in serious crimes.

Having studied history at the University of Guyana and Carelton University in Ottawa, Canada, he went on to work at Africana Studies at Wayne State University. He was also credited with developing an international academic exchange project between Africana Studies, the College of Urban Labor and Metropolitan Affairs (CULMA), and the University of Guyana.

Condolences to his family.

Anybody what important work or books he wrote....cant seem to find any information on him.

If it is not the same Mars then will the board Mars indicate that he is still here.

If he was, then I am saddened that with all that education and age he failed to know what progress is/was. He was a PNCite all the way.

I was not planning on coming back so soon BUT this drew me back like ants to sugar. Mr Mars taught me Political Science at the U of G. He was a man of great honor, humanity and compassion. He was a brilliant son of the soil. Mr Mars lectured in a large room and therefore did not know me personally. Many years ago when he migrated to the US, he was living in Richmond Hill and was passing be my home and called out for him and introduced myself, telling him he was my Lecturer at UG. We spoke on a few topics and he and I talked about Guyanese migration trens to the US. He asked why Indians and mostly in Queens and Afros in Brookltn (he knew the answer) . He said Guyanese are a divided people not just back home but everywhere they go. He told me Guyana can never and will never progress unless this trend is broken.

Mr Mars was a true Guyanese who wanted to see a united and progressive Guyana.

My condolences to his Family.  May this great man's soul REST IN PEACE.

IT IS A BLOODY SHAME THAT SUCH A MORAL, COMPASSIONATE AND HONEST MAN BE KILLED IN SUCH HORRIFIC FASHION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PNC nah care.  They want the perks and the first class flights and the sirens.

This is the fair skinned black man oppressing the black skin blackman and the brown skin krullie.

The boys from Queenstown run things now - the Harpers and the Trotmans and the Grangers and the Gaskins.

Brian Teekah posted:

This is the fair skinned black man oppressing the black skin blackman and the brown skin krullie.

The boys from Queenstown run things now - the Harpers and the Trotmans and the Grangers and the Gaskins.

HaHaHaHa.  Don't cry now. Y'all put them deh.  Tek what you get and wait fuh what you want.

Brian Teekah posted:

HaHaHaHa.  Don't cry now. Y'all put them deh.  Tek what you get and wait fuh what you want.

The previous gov't was no better,are you saying it was rosy and dandy.

Brian Teekah posted:

Go ask dem PNC boys who spending the 1.7 Billion US dollars that they inherit.  Dem guh tell you how things going. 

How can we describe and incident like this? It  is surely an incident of horrific proportion, would not be surprised if the perpetrators are young people.

Sends a message that if young people kill and commit crimes then they will be pardoned by the President of Guyana.

President Granger should review his actions of pardoning.

Six, including two girls, arrested for Prof. Perry Mars’ murder

Professor Perry Mars

Less than 24 hours after a Guyana-born American professor was strangled to death at his home in Prashad Nagar, police arrested the key suspects and recovered the items that were stolen from his home.

Head of the Criminal Investigations Department, Senior Superintendent Wendell Blanhum told Demerara Waves Online News that “we have arrested the suspects and they are cooperating with the investigators.”

Professor Perry Mars, 75, was found by his wife with his hands and feet duct taped and injuries to his head in his study at his home on Bissessar Street, Prashad Nagar at about 7 O’clock Thursday night (Thursday, May 12, 2016). “The house was ransacked and a number of articles and cash were missing,” police later said in a statement.

Mars recently re-migrated to Guyana after working mainly at African Studies at Wayne State University in Detroit, Michigan.

Blanhum said four men and two girls have since been taken into custody from neighbouring Sophia and the “items stolen from the victim have been recovered.” The items include a sum of cash, a laptop computer, an I-phone and a play station. Investigators have learnt that several persons were seen leaving Mars’ home with a number of suitcases that they loaded in a car.

Authorities say statistically serious crimes have reduced, but evidently violent and brutal crimes have been making the news headlines.

Sections of the business community in Georgetown and Berbice have been calling on government and the police to do more to address the crime situation.

Having studied history at the University of Guyana and Carelton University in Ottawa, Canada, he went on to work at Africana Studies at Wayne State University. He has been also credited with developing an international academic exchange project between Africana Studies, the College of Urban Labor and Metropolitan Affairs (CULMA), and the University of Guyana

Pointblank

If it is not the same Mars then will the board Mars indicate that he is still here.

If he was, then I am saddened that with all that education and age he failed to know what progress is/was. He was a PNCite all the way.

And yet you and your ilk will claim that only Indians are getting killed.

Brian Teekah posted:

And the rich Indians were oppressing everybody else when the PPPwas in power.

Your point?  It is the PPP which created the criminal class which now runs rampant all over Guyana.

1.  The PPP failed to professionalize the police force and the judiciary.

2.  The PPP mobilized criminals into para militias, and allowed them access to guns, as gun trafficking boomed under that gov't.

3.  The PPP allowed a growth of an immoral, materialism, based on naked corruption, with associations with known drug lords.  Even Gail Teixeira had to admit that she was bothered by the fact that Jagdeo used to hang out with known drug lords. She was promptly removed from a ministerial role.

Yes the coalition gov't does have a responsibility to reduce crime, and as we can see that 2AM nonsense has done nothing.

But to pretend as if the PPP didn't play a role in this situation spiraling out of control is NONSENSE!

Pointblank posted:

Under the Previous Govt this crime like others would have gone unsolved. Now the Police catching criminals unlike the PPP

NOTED!

Still crime is a problem though.

Brian Teekah posted:

Go ask dem PNC boys who spending the 1.7 Billion US dollars that they inherit.  Dem guh tell you how things going. 

Where is the proof,hearsay don't count.

Brian Teekah posted:

Stifling your conscience don't count either.

Pointblank posted:

Under the Previous Govt this crime like others would have gone unsolved. Now the Police catching criminals unlike the PPP

NOTED!

Still crime is a problem though.

The ones that the PPP caught were released.  Some a dem getting ketch back again to double count and give credit to your boys.  Typical PNC strategy.

Brian Teekah posted:

Presumption of your warped mind.

Lennox posted:

Glad they nabbed the murderers.  However, everything this current gov't does is politically motivated; they solve crimes for their own kind.

At least they solve crimes.

Any news about who orchestrated the murder of Sat Sawh yet?  Jagdeo screamed that he knew who these people were.

It was US$1.5Billion, then $1.7billion.  By the time Bibi finishes she will swear that the PPP left $5billion!

Lennox posted:

Glad they nabbed the murderers.  However, everything this current gov't does is politically motivated; they solve crimes for their own kind.

Any news about who orchestrated the murder of Sat Sawh yet?  Jagdeo screamed that he knew who these people were.

Any news yet about solving the murders of Walter Rodney and all the others during the PNC regime? 

Lennox posted:

Any news yet about solving the murders of Walter Rodney and all the others during the PNC regime? 

The excuse with that is that those involved with the Rodney killing are most likely dead.  So the evidence died with them. So even if we find out who was responsible, obviously they cannot be punished.

Given that the Sat Sawh incident occurred more recently, that isn't the case.

So when is Jagdeo going to reveal who master minded the murder of Sat?  It is believed that Jagdeo's buddy, Roger Khan, was behind the killing.

Brian Teekah posted:

I have an education and access to the right information.  You are a hatemonger and cut and paste expert.  Big difference between us.

asj posted:

I do hope that this is not the same Mars, as our colleague on GNI. 

I'm still alive and kicking.

RIP Uncle Perry.

My wife lost her aunt in a property dispute in 2011. A PPP crony paid some junkies to bump her off and even though the hitmen were convicted, he was never arrested. Strange that not a fuss was made about it on GNI.

I have an education and access to the right information.  You are a hatemonger and cut and paste expert.  Big difference between us.

Suh what you saying you are top of the ladder,your education makes you better than anyone,any person who thinks that way is poorly educated.

So far most of your information is hearsay,show the proof.