Gilbakka posted:Freedom House is on 41 Robb Street, Lacytown, GT.
Thank you.
Django posted:"The move announced this morning will likely raise concerns in the investment community as it will be seen as draconian use of ministerial powers in relation to private property."
What's your thoughts on the above ?
My views are public infrastructure, should be in government hands, Min.Patterson is within his rights to take control of the Berbice River Bridge.
It's the duty of every elected government to put the country first. The Guyanese government are not doing anything illegal or unusual.
Nehru posted:Bunham nationalized the Sugar Industry and screw it up, Patterson takes over the Bridge and soon we will be singing " Berbice Bridge is falling sown, falling down"!!!!!!
The sugar industry was screwed up by the PPP under Jagdeo with the help of the Chinese. You know that damn well.
Anan posted:It's time dis de facto regime implement a levy on gold and bauxite an oil an gas to help de bruddahs in de sugah industry
after all dem did duh to guysuco way back to float dem "boat"
Sugar as a commodity is dead. The big once big markets for sugar have been cutting back. In Europe they now tax sugar drinks more. Soon it will be food that use sugar that also get taxed more. So manufacturers have been switching to sweeteners.
Did anyone send message and tell Granger in Cuba that the bridge was nationalized?
Bibi Haniffa posted:Did anyone send message and tell Granger in Cuba that the bridge was nationalized?
They may well have, and it seems HE Granger asked the Cubans and followed the ”Castroesque” approach!!
Im sure Gilbakka and the other Commies are celebrating!!
Bibi Haniffa posted:Did anyone send message and tell Granger in Cuba that the bridge was nationalized?
Early marnin jester !!
There are differences between taking control and Nationalization.By the way which part owner have the major shares in BCCI ?
Django posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Did anyone send message and tell Granger in Cuba that the bridge was nationalized?
Early marnin jester !!
There are differences between taking control and Nationalization.By the way which part owner have the major shares in BCCI ?
Lighten up. I think it’s temporary and they will come to a settlement. Granger does not want to look vindictive and Harmon has his own plans. Suh leh we see!!
Baseman posted:Django posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Did anyone send message and tell Granger in Cuba that the bridge was nationalized?
Early marnin jester !!
Lighten up. I think it’s temporary and they will come to a settlement. Granger does not want to look vindictive and Harmon has his own plans. Suh leh we see!!
It's the falseness that are rumored, there is a letter in SN column by Nanda baba, he is first from FH to start the uttering.
It's not nice to tell lies on Diwali.
Page One Comment
Irrespective of the callous plan of the Berbice Bridge Company Inc (BBCI) to impose draconian increases for the crossing of the Berbice Bridge, there can be no justification for the government’s seizure of the structure yesterday. It constitutes a baseless act of compulsory acquisition of property.
The seizure of the bridge will roil the investment climate and make it even more difficult for the government to attract buyers for the sugar estates and to mobilise investors in other sectors of the economy – even oil and gas.
What makes the seizure of the bridge even more galling is the absence of any credible attempt by the government to negotiate an end to the original impasse with BBCI failing which it still would have had recourse to compulsory acquisition. There is no evidence that the government was prepared to even consider the terms presented to it. Indeed, in an act of gross duplicity, while assuring that Cabinet would be apprised of the offer of BBCI at tomorrow’s meeting, the government was preparing to seize the bridge.
The conditions attending compulsory acquisition are set out in Article 142 of the Constitution. Given the long, sordid history of the use of this weapon under PNC rule, it behoves the APNU+AFC government to adhere to the constitutional stipulations in regard to this matter and to uphold the rights of BBCI. It should bring an end to this takeover of private property as soon as possible.
Taking over of Berbice Bridge is act of compulsory acquisition
November 6 2018
Dear Editor,
The breaking news that the government has taken possession of the Berbice River Bridge under the guise that they are acting “in the interest of public safety” must have shocked the conscience of every law-abiding citizen of this land. This is nothing short of the State compulsorily acquiring private property without any expressed intention to pay adequate compensation at market value as is required by Article 142 of the Constitution of the Cooperative Republic of Guyana. Article 142 is designed to protect private property against the State expropriating the same without compensation.
It would be recalled that during the 70’s and 80’s numerous private properties were compulsorily acquired, nay stolen, by the then PNC administration right across the length and breadth of this land. These properties include what is now Citizens Bank, Hope Estate Limited, a huge tract of land at Liliendaal, Takuba Lodge, Echilibar Villas and dozens more. In many instances, no monies were paid to the owners of these properties and in the cases where there were payments, the price was pegged to a 1939 valuation as was the law during that period. This atrocity was obviously inspired by an ideology that has no respect for the rule of law, the constitutional rights of the citizenry and driven by the unbridled arrogance of those in Government then who felt that this entire country was their private property.
It wasn’t until the 1999-2001 Constitutional reform process that the Constitution was amended to provide for the prompt payment of market value for properties compulsorily acquired by the State.
Again, the PNC is in Government and private property has become once again under siege. That ideology and unbridled arrogance to which I have made reference are back. The nation is very much aware of the compulsory acquisition of the leasehold interest of over 50 rice farmers whose 50-year-old leases were revoked by President David Granger without any compensation being paid to these farmers. Readers will also recall the seizure of core homes from single mothers who own these properties by Certificates of Title and Transports. Fortunately, the High Court has declared all these seizures of private property as unconstitutional. You will recall also the blatant attempt by Attorney General, Basil Williams, to confiscate two pieces of private property adjacent to the Attorney General’s Chambers on Carmichael Street. Every week dozens of leases for State/Government lands are being revoked by various agencies of State. As a matter of policy, the Central Housing and Planning Authority is cancelling Transports and Certificates of Title of persons who are unable to construct buildings on house lots sold to them under the previous administration.
I have written profusely over the past three years on these matters contending that these are all incontrovertible evidence of authoritarianism.
Again, with the Berbice Bridge, we see the naked authoritarian nature of this Government being displayed. Rather than negotiate from a position that recognizes and respects private property, this Government has chosen the big-stick method of bullyism. This act of the Government will certainly cause irreversible damage to Guyana’s image as an investment destination. No prudent investor would pump scarce financial resources into a nation where the Government’s first resort is confiscation of their investments.
I have regularly warned that Burnhamism is back and the reins of Government are in the hands of authoritarians. Those who doubt me, do so at their own peril.
Yours faithfully,
Anil Nandlall
Django posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Did anyone send message and tell Granger in Cuba that the bridge was nationalized?
Early marnin jester !!
Not me. I invest in Amazon. Not Berbice anything.
Bibi Haniffa posted:Django posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Did anyone send message and tell Granger in Cuba that the bridge was nationalized?
Early marnin jester !!
Not me. I invest in Amazon. Not Berbice anything.
What kind of half answer is that ? the crew can help out.
They should now change the name to GuyBridge in the spirit of the kakaba. Go pnc and the slop can crew.
Drugb posted:They should now change the name to GuyBridge in the spirit of the kakaba. Go pnc and the slop can crew.
Di you not get a warning, or you pompous ?
Taking over private company by APNU-AFC, is not a smart move... Interesting if bidders of the sugar industry will pull out. Who knows, DDL saw this coming and redraw their bid.
The people will suffer and politicians will drink their scotch.
Dave posted:Taking over private company by APNU-AFC, is not a smart move... Interesting if bidders of the sugar industry will pull out. Who knows, DDL saw this coming and redraw their bid.
Alyuh always coming up with twists, the Ministry of Public Infrastructure take control of the Berbice Bridge, not take over the bridge. There are differences between the two.
Django posted:Dave posted:Taking over private company by APNU-AFC, is not a smart move... Interesting if bidders of the sugar industry will pull out. Who knows, DDL saw this coming and redraw their bid.
Alyuh always coming up with twists, the Ministry of Public Infrastructure take control of the Berbice Bridge, not take over the bridge. There are differences between the two.
I see smartee, what’s is the intent of your government to take control of the Bridge, was the current investor on vacation or short of private sector employees.
Guyana Gov’t takes over Berbice Bridge
-cites threat to public safety
November 6 2018
The announcement by the government will likely raise concerns in the investment community as it amounts to the compulsory acquisition of private property, a practice deeply frowned upon. Compulsory acquisition had gained infamy during the years of PNC government and under the leadership of the late President Forbes Burnham.
Through a statement issued by the Ministry of Public Infrastructure yesterday, the government announced that Public Infrastructure Minister David Patterson had issued an order declaring that the functions of the BBCI “to maintain and operate the bridge shall be exercised by the Government of Guyana as of November 5th 2018 until the date the Minister specifies by notice on the cessation of the threat to public safety.”
The statement said Patterson’s decision was in accordance with powers conferred upon him by sections 4 (1) and (11) of the Berbice River Bridge Act.
It also stated that there will be no change to the staff, contractors and suppliers as they transition into the temporary arrangement and there will be no change to the present toll structure. All exemptions presently in place will also remain in effect, it added.
The move by the government comes after the bridge company announced that there would be a huge increase in all tolls from November 12th.
The announcement had been met with opposition by Patterson, who had stated that the government would in no way allow “unconscionable increases” and would be seeking legal advice from the Attorney General’s chambers.
The statement issued yesterday echoed Patterson’s earlier sentiments, saying that it has been publicly stated by the Ministry and the Government of Guyana that they cannot support the unreasonable demand for an increase in toll on the public “which is based on a flawed formula and computation. We have stated that these increases by BBCI are unwarranted and will become burdensome to the people of Berbice and the public, at-large.”
“On the basis of correspondence between both sides as recently as over the past few days, we do not envision a swift resolution to this crisis…. We will do everything in our powers to alleviate disruption to the public and ensure that the assumption of these functions is as smooth as possible,” the statement added.
It went on to state that too many citizens depend on the continuous operations and the use of the bridge, and as a result, “we should not allow anyone to unreasonably and capriciously endanger their livelihood and public order in one of our vital regions.”
“And finally, we will be continuing our dialogue with BBCI in expectation of an amicable resolution to the dispute,” the statement added.
In announcing the planned increases, Chair-man of the Board of Directors of BBCI Dr Surendra Persaud said the decision was based on legal advice that the company had received, while also noting that no prior adjustments were ever made and no surpluses have been earned, resulting in the required hikes in the tolls being compounded.
Efforts to contact the company yesterday for a response to the announcement were unsuccessful.
Stabroek News was told multiple times that the personnel authorised to
comment were not available despite several calls throughout the day.
However, company spokesperson Kit Nascimento related that all he was at liberty to say at the moment was that BCCI was consulting its lawyers.
In an invited comment, Private Sector Commission head Desmond Sears said it was unfortunate that the company and government were not able to arrive at an amicable solution and he hopes that the current rift between the two would not affect the public-private partnership model in the future.
“We met the bridge company, who is one of our members, and we also sought to have the Minister of Finance [Winston Jordan] and Minister Patterson engage in a discussion to find a solution but the Minister of Finance did indicate to us that the matter was at the office at the Attorney General and it was too premature to meet,” Sears said, while stating that the Commission will not intervene at this time.
“It is a contract dispute and as such, the parties should be given the space to take actions as they seem fit. We will regroup sometime this week and have another discussion with the executives of the council,” he added.
The announcement by the Ministry comes days after the BBCI proposed a 19-year extension of the contract as an alternative to raising the tolls.
Proposal
The BBCI Finance Controller Stephen Rambajan, in a letter to Patterson that was released to the media, said the Board of Directors of the company was seeking an immediate meeting to discuss the proposed extension of the concession period to 40 years, that is, with an additional 19 years, as a means of avoiding the need for implementation of the toll increases announced by the company last month.
The BBCI also proposed that when the agreement is reached, a “joint statement announcing that the Government of Guyana (as the Grantor) and BBCI (as the Concessionaire) have come to agreement on a solution to toll adjustments for the Berbice River Bridge going forward which will be announced shortly and that the company will not proceed with the toll adjustments which were announced on October 1th 2018.”
However, Patterson’s ministry in its statement said it was currently seeking legal advice on the matter and it could also not commit to a meeting date, until the letter was discussed with the APNU+AFC Cabinet, scheduled for tomorrow.
“The Ministry wishes to publicly state that while it supports and welcomes the BBCI’s request for transparent discussions, the Ministry is also currently engaged in obtaining legal advice on the matter and the Government of Guyana will be reviewing all available options under the confines of the law, as well as possible actions proposed by BBCI prior to any meeting with the BBCI.
“Notwithstanding the above, BBCI’s revised proposal will be shared at the next cabinet meeting slated for next Wednesday, after which a meeting will be scheduled with BBCI to communicate cabinet’s decision, and hopefully move this process forward. The Ministry wishes to note that this response to BBCI is by no means a refusal to meet; rather, it serves to ensure that the Government of Guyana continues to stand ready to advance the best possible option to all Guyanese in continuing dialogue,” it added.
This statement by Patterson’s ministry conveyed no hint that the bridge would be taken over before tomorrow’s Cabinet meeting and the move would therefore be seen as a breach of good faith.
The company, in a letter published in the November 2nd edition of this newspaper, had said that government had refused to meet with it to discuss bridge tolls, despite three requests.
“The BBCI is bound by its Concession Agreement under the Berbice River Bridge Act in implementing the tolls charged at the Bridge. The Company has no alternative but to honour the Toll Adjustment Formula prescribed in the Agreement. The Company has no discretion in calculating the amount of the toll. The Company is bound by the Toll Adjustment Policy dictating the Formula. Since 2015, respective governments (previous and present) have violated their contractual obligations to implement an annual toll adjustment which would have resulted in small incremental adjustments instead of the current burdensome level… The current level of toll adjustment is entirely the fault of the government, not the Company,” the letter stated.
“Prior to and since taking office, this government has refused to meet with the BBCI in spite of three requests to do so. The power and the privilege to review or amend the Concession Agreement rest entirely with the government,” it added.
Patterson’s ministry replied to the letter through an advertisement which was also carried as a letter in this newspaper, stating that the BBCI’s statements were riddled with inaccuracies.
Patterson’s ministry said that the government has never refused to meet with BBCI and there were records to that effect and BBCI’s acceptance of government taking over the maintenance of the 39 pontoons of the bridge was reflective of this.
“It is inaccurate that the Government has refused to meet with the BBCI. In fact, the Ministry met with the BBCI on Thursday, October 11, 2018, prior to the announcement of the proposed toll increases. At this meeting it was mutually agreed by the parties that the Ministry communicated its offer to assume full responsibility for the maintenance and rehabilitation of thirty-nine pontoons- an obligation under the Concession Agreement that the BBCI failed to execute during the years of operation. By correspondence dated October 16 and 17, 2018 to the Berbice Bridge Company Inc., the Ministry of Public Infrastructure had firmly reiterated its commitment to assume full responsibility for the maintenance and rehabilitation of the 39 pontoons. The Berbice Bridge Company Inc. has since acknowledged and accepted this proposal and the Ministry is working towards commencement of maintenance in 2019,” it added.
While admitting that Patterson is correct about the BBCI’s acceptance of government’s maintenance of the pontoons, Nascimento was adamant that the minister refused to discuss the tolls.
“He refused to discuss the toll adjustment. He has misrepresented the case. All he was prepared for was to talk about the maintenance of the bridge. He is correct—he offered to take over the maintenance and the company has written accepting that offer. But there was absolutely no discussion on the toll because he refused to entertain it,” Nascimento said.
Alyuh read the Headlines and then dig in to the body of the article, see if it correlates.
Dave posted:Django posted:Dave posted:Taking over private company by APNU-AFC, is not a smart move... Interesting if bidders of the sugar industry will pull out. Who knows, DDL saw this coming and redraw their bid.
I see smartee, what’s is the intent of your government to take control of the Bridge, was the current investor on vacation or short of private sector employees.
Where you get that from ? is it because i confront the nonsense pedaled.
The rest doesn't make any sense.
Django stop fooling yourself and face reality, PNC is the same old and worst than Burnham.
I would encourage you to look up the Minister speech yesterday and listen to his chosen words .. the choice of words were different to the statement.
Dave posted:Taking over private company by APNU-AFC, is not a smart move... Interesting if bidders of the sugar industry will pull out. Who knows, DDL saw this coming and redraw their bid.
Its not an equivalent. Sugar is not a national infrastructure where public interest is at stake. Think beyond basics!
Dave posted:Django stop fooling yourself and face reality, PNC is the same old and worst than Burnham.
I would encourage you to look up the Minister speech yesterday and listen to his chosen words .. the choice of words were different to the statement.
Dood relax before passing erroneous judgement.Great minds does think before opening their mouths.
Django posted:Dave posted:Django stop fooling yourself and face reality, PNC is the same old and worst than Burnham.
Dood relax before passing erroneous judgement.Great minds does think before opening their mouths.
Passing judgment eh .. we the Coolie man business owners in Guyana knows what we talking bhai.
If you had so much confidence in your government, what kept you back from opening business in Guyana and preparing for your retirement.
Don’t want to use that word and call you, have great respect for you uncle R. Have a good day.. have to go milk them cow .
It’s time for Berbice to secede and become their own country. Take the oil and run. All of it is in Berbice. Bruk down that bridge and build a wall. Make Rosehall the capital and invite Exxon to build its headquarters there.
Bibi Haniffa posted:It’s time for Berbice to secede and become their own country. Take the oil and run. All of it is in Berbice. Bruk down that bridge and build a wall. Make Rosehall the capital and invite Exxon to build its headquarters there.
Gyal, you only asking for Berbice to be turned into charcoal.
Yes. Look at Ronan flouncing her Burnhamite PNC dictatorial skirt. Wanting to muzzle the media because they do not confirm the the PNC party line.
Take the bridge, stuff it and let investors flee. Burnham did this once and we all know how it ended up.
Make Berbice great again. Give us a wall, our own Government and make the ancient county great again. Keep the undesirables out.
Berbicians survived PNC apartheid once. They not will lie down and take it twice. We taking back we country in 2020 from the PNC basket of deplorables. The red wave tsunami is coming.
Dave posted:Django posted:Dave posted:Django stop fooling yourself and face reality, PNC is the same old and worst than Burnham.
Passing judgment eh .. we the Coolie man business owners in Guyana knows what we talking bhai.
If you had so much confidence in your government, what kept you back from opening business in Guyana and preparing for your retirement.
Don’t want to use that word and call you, have great respect for you uncle R. Have a good day.. have to go milk them cow .
Have a great day !!
Bhai in we day, old and young,we never boast about business,how alyuh modern day businessman tun suh ? what kind of watah alyuh drink. You need to cut the tripe about your government.
What the r@ss i want to do with business when retired.Them picknee got them on plans,who guh help.
yuji22 posted:Yes. Look at Ronan flouncing her Burnhamite PNC dictatorial skirt. Wanting to muzzle the media because they do not confirm the the PNC party line.
Take the bridge, stuff it and let investors flee. Burnham did this once and we all know how it ended up.
Make Berbice great again. Give us a wall, our own Government and make the ancient county great again. Keep the undesirables out.
Berbicians survived PNC apartheid once. They not will lie down and take it twice. We taking back we country in 2020 from the PNC basket of deplorables. The red wave tsunami is coming.
Did you read all them articles posted on this thread ? check the sour face.
Django posted:Dave posted:Django posted:Dave posted:Django stop fooling yourself and face reality, PNC is the same old and worst than Burnham.
Have a great day !!
Bhai in we day, old and young,we never boast about business,how alyuh modern day businessman tun suh ? what kind of watah alyuh drink. You need to cut the tripe about your government.
What the r@ss i want to do with business when retired.Them picknee got them on plans,who guh help.
We came into the world with nothing and we leave with nothing. Do good to your fellow man while you are here.
skeldon_man posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:It’s time for Berbice to secede and become their own country. Take the oil and run. All of it is in Berbice. Bruk down that bridge and build a wall. Make Rosehall the capital and invite Exxon to build its headquarters there.
No charcoal. Exxon will get the US Army to stand around that wall and protect their interests. Send Tillerson to bat for the new country of Berbice.
Who the hell are you to ask me if it read it ?
Anti Ronan is condemning your beloved SN and you taking it lying down ? Give your head a shake Banna.
Bibi Haniffa posted:skeldon_man posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:It’s time for Berbice to secede and become their own country. Take the oil and run. All of it is in Berbice. Bruk down that bridge and build a wall. Make Rosehall the capital and invite Exxon to build its headquarters there.
No charcoal. Exxon will get the US Army to stand around that wall and protect their interests. Send Tillerson to bat for the new country of Berbice.
Give we Berbice or give we death.
Berbicians SUPPORT the takeover!
Bibi Haniffa posted:skeldon_man posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:It’s time for Berbice to secede and become their own country. Take the oil and run. All of it is in Berbice. Bruk down that bridge and build a wall. Make Rosehall the capital and invite Exxon to build its headquarters there.
Elect Prashad as president.
yuji22 posted:Who the hell are you to ask me if it read it ?
Anti Ronan is condemning your beloved SN and you taking it lying down ? Give your head a shake Banna.
Always getting hysterical !!! prattling without reading makes a fool.
Have you notice Django condemnation the of tripe from Stabroek News.