They should bring back the ferry service and start rebuilding New Amsterdam that was destroyed by the PPP.

Ask lillym why he went along those many years ago with the Bbice bridge when afc and pnc were one. Nuff of yall now wakeup and ketch sense but now seek to wash your behinds clean of this debacle. Now suddenly you wake up and calling for ferry service. 

Another shittypost.

They should bring back the ferry service and start rebuilding New Amsterdam that was destroyed by the PPP.

I saw there ferries in service in Germany.  They are fast and efficient!  The ferry that operated was inefficient!

I agree. They should take a look at the Canadian Ferry Services. 

I saw there ferries in service in Germany.  They are fast and efficient!  The ferry that operated was inefficient!

The issue, they already have the bridge so they need to work with that.  It's "sunk" costs, no pun intended.  They will need to spend significantly to re-implement and upgrade any ferry service.  Use these funds to buy out investors!

Tola posted:

Yuji,

1 - What is your solution to this problem ? 

2 - Allow the toll increase to take place on unemployed Berbicians  ?  

The problem only started when PNC Tek over the country.  The problem is incompetence and mismanagement.

The issue, they already have the bridge so they need to work with that.  It's "sunk" costs, no pun intended.  They will need to spend significantly to re-implement and upgrade any ferry service.  Use these funds to buy out investors!

Or they could invite private investors.

Nah, another failure in the making.  The GoG needs to own this!

My proposal is to recapitalize the bridge financed by Govt issued bonds and take full ownership.

Tola posted:

Yuji,

...5 pages suh far. He busy talking shit, but no answer. 

The government doesn’t have money to pay sugar workers severance. Two weeks ago several public servants went unpaid.  They have no money to buy out investors.  They are existing on borrowed funds.  The private investors were just robbed in broad daylight.

The "private investors", kith and kin of rat man, got their comeuppance. Investors have an obligation to perform due diligence before investing.  The advice of the World Bank, Tarron Khemraj and other economists was readily available and noted that the economic model used for the bridge was unsustainable.

The "private investors" ignored that because only the presence of rat man mattered. He was like a put option for them, where they could never lose as long as he remained in power. Unfortunately for them Guyanese got tired of him and his corrupt regime. I hope they lose and lose big because their "investment" was based strictly on cronyism, which they knew would milk Berbicians dry.

Score one for the "little guy" in this god forsaken land.

The government doesn’t have money to pay sugar workers severance. Two weeks ago several public servants went unpaid.  They have no money to buy out investors.  They are existing on borrowed funds.  The private investors were just robbed in broad daylight.

The "private investors", kith and kin of rat man, got their comeuppance. Investors have an obligation to perform due diligence before investing.  The advice of the World Bank, Tarron Khemraj and other economists was readily available and noted that the economic model used for the bridge was unsustainable.

The "private investors" ignored that because only the presence of rat man mattered. He was like a put option for them, where they could never lose as long as he remained in power. Unfortunately for them Guyanese got tired of him and his corrupt regime. I hope they lose and lose big because their "investment" was based strictly on cronyism, which they knew would milk Berbicians dry.

WATTAX PON DEM RASS.

Tola posted:

Yuji,

...5 pages suh far. He busy talking shit, but no answer. 

As usual, Yuji is full of hot air when it comes to solutions, blowing from both ends.  

Tola posted:

Yuji,

The problem only started when PNC Tek over the country.  The problem is incompetence and mismanagement.

Like Yuji, you are full of the problems.  But what is YOUR solution to the Berbice bridge  toll increase  ? 

Going back to a ferry service is less progressive and the government should find a solution to making the bridge  service work better. Finance  a lower fare to increased traffic volume.

Fast ferries were  discontinued in British Columbia due to the damage it did to the environment. 

Modern ferry service cost as much as building that bridge.  What's 40 million US dollars??? This government collects twice as much taxes from the people and have less to spend than the previous government.  Something is seriously wrong here. Quit dreaming about what could have been and come up with a real solution.  All we had under the old PNC governments was crisis after crisis.  It is the same nonsense we are experiencing with this big mouth government that made big promises and cannot deliver any of them.

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin

I don't believe for one moment that the bridge toll don't produce a profit. And at U$40 a crossing it would be the most expensive crossing in any third world country. And to top it all, why was there a toll charge in the 1st place? The bridge was built to speed up cocaine shipments. The private investors are telling lies that they are not making money.

Tola posted:

Going back to a ferry service is less progressive and the government should find a solution to making the bridge  service work better. Finance  a lower fare to increased traffic volume.

Fast ferries were  discontinued in British Columbia due to the damage it did to the environment. 

Maybe so, I would not disagree.  But in this case the WB rejected the financing of the bridge, so if they wanted to build, what were the viable alternatives?  And be specific, not general buzz words!

Mr.T posted:

I don't believe for one moment that the bridge toll don't produce a profit. And at U$40 a crossing it would be the most expensive crossing in any third world country. And to top it all, why was there a toll charge in the 1st place? The bridge was built to speed up cocaine shipments. The private investors are telling lies that they are not making money.

Why you don’t shut yuh stupid rass.  The fact that the toll high don’t meat it profitable if volume is low.  

I Billy Ram Balgobin posted:

Modern ferry service cost as much as building that bridge.  What's 40 million US dollars??? This government collects twice as much taxes from the people and have less to spend than the previous government.  Something is seriously wrong here. Quit dreaming about what could have been and come up with a real solution.  All we had under the old PNC governments was crisis after crisis.  It is the same nonsense we are experiencing with this big mouth government that made big promises and cannot deliver any of them.

I think they should issue bonds and pay off investors and take it over.  I don’t think they should short anyone!

I think that’s a bit overboard.  But I agree, what were the assumptions of the investors in evaluating the business case!  How were these different from what the WB looked at?

i believe it should be taken over and come to a settlement with investors.  As I said, the govt could issue local bonds.

I don’t think it was all corrupt, but just a bit unsound 

I think that’s a bit overboard.  But I agree, what were the assumptions of the investors in evaluating the business case!  How were these different from what the WB looked at?

i believe it should be taken over and come to a settlement with investors.  As I said, the govt could issue local bonds.

I don’t think it was all corrupt, but just a bit unsound 

as with ALL things Jagdeo . . . the conceptualization is consistently about shackling the people's legitimate need to a malign enrichment plan for his cronies

that's not "unsound" . . . that CORRUPT! without mitigation

One day some yall crying fuh de Govt do something....when they do something, yall start crying...is not like any of you have to pay the high tolls

it is the right move . . . but cunning is needed going forward

the moneyed corruptocrats don’t just roll over

plenty tings happening behind the scenes

They will eventually need to compensate the investors at FMV if they want to retain credibility of the investment climate!

the leeches will speculate and say they are owed potential earnings up to another 19 years. I say nationalize it in the peoples interest and give them back 1:1 what they can demonstrate they invested.

.  The advice of the World Bank, Tarron Khemraj and other economists was readily available and noted that the economic model used for the bridge was unsustainable.

Don't lie. TK did not oppose the bbice bridge until after AFC broke away from PPP. Many of y'all suddenly wake up after the fact and try to rewrite history. Hindsight is 20/20

.  The advice of the World Bank, Tarron Khemraj and other economists was readily available and noted that the economic model used for the bridge was unsustainable.

Don't lie. TK did not oppose the bbice bridge until after AFC broke away from PPP. Many of y'all suddenly wake up after the fact and try to rewrite history. Hindsight is 20/20

When did the AFC break away from the PPP?

Coming from a man who examines, Intellectuals and ones Educational background.

Did he not take twice as long than most people to finish high school?

Now that the GOG have the management balls in the vice, they are screaming and the GOG haven't even started to turn the handle. Yuh seh dem can't even run a cake shop. 

I have a strong feeling that this is exactly what Jagdeo wanted. He can use this as a rallying point. "First the PNC closed the sugar estates and now they took the bridge".  He has a history of fooling and preying on the uneducated. What the GOG should do immediately is reduce the tolls by at least 10%.

HJ

AFC/PNC clowns are giving Jagdeo sweet candies every single day. Jagdeo outsmarted and outplayed them again. He is firing cannons at the AFC/PNC before leaving the political Scene as leader of the opposition. 

Hugh Jorgan posted:

I have a strong feeling that this is exactly what Jagdeo wanted. He can use this as a rallying point. "First the PNC closed the sugar estates and now they took the bridge".  He has a history of fooling and preying on the uneducated. What the GOG should do immediately is reduce the tolls by at least 10%.

Y’all can complain and cry but Y’all nat too smart. 

AFC/PNC clowns are giving Jagdeo sweet candies every single day. Jagdeo outsmarted and outplayed them again. He is firing cannons at the AFC/PNC before leaving the political Scene as leader of the opposition. 

Strange you didn't notice this all along until someone pointed it out. Maybe they put the peoples' interests first instead of using them as political pawns.

Why is Ramotar not the leader of the opposition as customary?

What is he doing these days?

The PNC is to blame by playing politics during the last campaign.

Moses openly declared in public and in video stating that AFC PNU will investigate the Berbice Bridge and reduce the toll by 50 percent. I can even post the video.

Other than that, Berbicians had no problems paying for the tolls and the convienence of using it rather than waiting three days to cross the Berbice River with a broken down Ferry.

There is a clause for an annual increase of 10 percent, I read the contract. The gradual increase could have been easily observed by Berbicians and the company could have kept operating as a going concern. 

What did the AFC/PNC did ? Reduce the tolls and froze these small  increases.

This is their mess and as usual, they tried to blame Jagdeo. This is backfiring on them.

What have these clowns built on their own since taking office ? Sorry, they reroofed the grass roof at Yumanayana. Their vindictiveness is a result of this blunder and they are the ones holding the public hostage and as political pawns. 

Tola posted:

Yuji,

Like Yuji, you are full of the problems.  But what is YOUR solution to the Berbice bridge  toll increase  ? 

Bibi and Yuji, all talk about  problems but no solutions, just blowing hot air.

Maybe they know why Jagdeo didn't  get Berbicians to protest against the toll increase, but now Berbicians  praising the existing government for their decision.  

Moses openly declared in public and in video stating that AFC PNU will investigate the Berbice Bridge and reduce the toll by 50 percent. I can even post the video.

Who is stopping you? 

Now that the GOG have the PPP directed management balls in the vice, they are screaming and the GOG haven't even started to turn the handle. Yuh seh dem can't even run a cake shop. 

Who is stopping you? 

Now that the GOG have the PPP directed management balls in the vice, they are screaming and the GOG haven't even started to turn the handle. Yuh seh dem can't even run a cake shop. 

You sure its not Yuji balls in de vice, fa all de screaming he does on GNI. 

What did the AFC/PNC did ? Reduce the tolls and froze these small  increases.

What was it before the AFC/PNC reduce the tolls and when did they do it?  Was this reduction good for Berbicians and others who use the bridge?

Who is stopping you? 

Mits.

I will post the video tonight.