@seignet posted:Iz dem words Hindi or Bhojpuri?
We call dis language hindi in GY..we nah know abt bhojpuri etc…
@seignet posted:Iz dem words Hindi or Bhojpuri?
We call dis language hindi in GY..we nah know abt bhojpuri etc…
@Mitwah posted:LOL! manjey bartan, chalo, jaldi-jaldi.
Jaldi jaldi..is that quick quick?
Keera..or white mouth..dem used to fool lil pickney that spider pee pun dem mouth whn dem sleeping!
KINNA..i had plenty kinna to eat food as a kid ( too much ‘styles’/fuss)..me nah eat trench fish(sweet water fish like patwah, hoorie etc) except hassar …no goat or mutton, no pork or beef, no karaila, so chkn skin or boney part like back or wings/neck.foot
Bhaji..GY means spinach but Indians call all greens (veggies) bhaji
Wht abt cassa/kassa
is it gynese slang ?
like the fruit cassa (not fully ripe)
Bhook lage??
meaning ‘ me hungry’
Who knows wht taaru / taru means
like whn u eat certain food (stinking toe) it paste pun u taaru
Acchha
danyabaad
somebody pls ansa
i dont want to post words n answer .. den me guh talk to meself like me ready fuh Canje!!(bmh)
Maakra .. spider
i saw on Indian TV show.. they said Makri for spider
bhais (baice).. eg u fat bhais ( buffalo)
chalo .. let’s go
mardala .. ? Murder or kill ?
baapray or baap re (oh God)
murgi chor .. fowl thief
what does bandara/ bhandhara mean .. something to do with food?
bil-yah-way .. waste as in waste food or ration
Baitoe or bhaito .. sit
chand .. moon
din .. day
janamdin..birthday
raat night
aur ..and
dharti .. earth
Desh.. country
Churkee? Can anyone explain this?
mardala ( murda!!)
romal/rumaal.. headkerchief
urnee ( orhni) head scarf
jora jama .. clothes that saibala wear??
gaana .. song
naach .. dance
lab-ay-ray .. like u daab(daub)
My nani came from india whn she was a kid n didnt speak english . She lived with my mamoo but visited us during sch holidays. She used to mutter under her breath but she cussed in hindi .. i rem 1 word makachodo or makachoro lol
Im bot sure wht it means but my mom scolded her whn she heard nani cussing us .. lol
she was partially blind n my bro thought she was playing trucks so he used to tease her n then she wud cuss! She died whn i was 9 yrs
I think Churkee is when you comb your hair an lil piece stick up..dah is Churkee. I remember hearin bout Makachodo.
Makachodo means the same as Guyanese slang muddascont
Oh rant man I din want say that...you got nerve..hehheh.
@Former Member posted:Makachodo means the same as Guyanese slang muddascont
LOL…you made me buss out a big laff
Form what I think I know, churkee is the tail or small pc hair sticking up after the rest of the head is shaved for Hindu religious reasons ( tradition)
Makachoree same as ungrateful or good for nothing…at least in the context it was used in my neighbourhood
@Wildflower posted:Form what I think I know, churkee is the tail or small pc hair sticking up after the rest of the head is shaved for Hindu religious reasons ( tradition)
Makachoree same as ungrateful or good for nothing…at least in the context it was used in my neighbourhood
👌 @churkee
namak haram is ungrateful
loongayra is good for nothing
Mits bhaiya ..help!!
Malachodo .. i think it’s cussing yr mudda .. maa ka chodo or choro
Mowr maur?? Wht dulaha wears on head
tikka .. the black dot on forehead to ward off evil eyes
haat/haath .. hand
sirbandi .. ( need help to describe/explain lol)
btw
wht is hindi for bracelet or bangles ?? Churia?
wht r gunghroos .. foot bangle
jhumka is earrings
nafrat .. Hatred
dushman enemy
Pyar/mohabat ..love
shaadi—wedding
phool ..flower
haathi elephant
jaanwar
kala black
Zindagi life
Sirbandi is made up of 2 words. Sir - head and Bandi - Binding in the hair.
It's a traditional ornament wore on the forehead and connected to the hair.
I wear something like duh..its called Ban Dana.
Yo rass..hehheh. I like that chickypoo
Usually, the Dulaha would remove the sirbandi to indicate that the Dulahin is no longer a virgin.
Dem old folks used to call dem big daughter-in-law , " Bahurani"
@Mitwah posted:Usually, the Dulaha would remove the sirbandi to indicate that the Dulahin is no longer a virgin.
Dem old folks used to call dem big daughter-in-law , " Bahurani"
Ive seen it in movies..like Shashi n Raakhee in Kabhi Kabhie title song!!
@cain posted:I wear something like duh..its called Ban Dana.
Lord have mercy..u wear sirbandi?? Lol
@Mitwah posted:
really enjoyed this. her songs reach deep into the soul
I love Noor-Jehan songs as well as Shamshad Begum ..I had audio cassettes with songs from Anmol Ghadi
..even Suraiya was good!!
Old is Gold
Perhaps you will like this oldie.
@Mitwah posted:Perhaps you will like this oldie.
Im not familiar with song but nice.. love the old songs
?? actress .. beautiful actress but i dont know her
Singer?? Doesnt sound like Lata
Suman has some beautiful duets with Raffi. Until You-tube, Indians believed they were listening to Lata. The lady lost out on recognition by the listeners who misplaced her.
@seignet posted:Suman has some beautiful duets with Raffi. Until You-tube, Indians believed they were listening to Lata. The lady lost out on recognition by the listeners who misplaced her.
Indeed Suman Kalyanpur sounded a lot like Lata..whn i was younger i actually mistook her songs for Lata’s
@seignet posted:Suman has some beautiful duets with Raffi. Until You-tube, Indians believed they were listening to Lata. The lady lost out on recognition by the listeners who misplaced her.
I thought a few of the above were sung by Lata..omg..NaNa karte pyar n aaj kal tere mera pyar..wow