Barbados Mutual Assurance Company
I'll give you a full pass, O.
It's the Barbados Mutual Life Assurance Society.
Today it operates under the name Sagicor Life Inc.
Congratulations!!
Before the comedian Habeeb Khan appeared on stages in Guyana, there were two comedians who performed together, just like Bud Abbott and Lou Costello in the US. Name those two Guyanese jokers.
When i was roaming GT,there was no Bajan
insurance co,what year was that??? or me
brain getting old,Cain any help fuh aging brain.
You roamed too late. That branch of Barbados Life was there for decades. It stopped selling life insurance policies to Guyanese in the early 1970s and stayed on a few more years to service existing policies. By the late 1970s it closed the Guyana branch for good. Standing at the back end of Baichandeen building/Hotel Penthouse on America Street, you could have seen the old Barbados Life signboard on a building across the street.
True bhai Gilly i lived in GT around 71.
Before the comedian Habeeb Khan appeared on stages in Guyana, there were two comedians who performed together, just like Bud Abbott and Lou Costello in the US. Name those two Guyanese jokers.
Ken Crosbie and Mark Matthews
No. They came too late.
Yeh,Google!
Oi Django I doan remember if I asked this before but did yiu ever hang out with a group a hippy type guys who rode bicycles with extended forks. The name Aubrey comes to mind, he was one of the guys, he was a big mouth dude with long hair.
ps: no points for this one.
14 hours passed. No correct answer.
ANSWER: Sam Chase and Jack Mellow.
Those two comedians were stars on stage and radio in British Guiana up to the early 1960s.
I never saw them in person but heard their jokes on radio and read newspaper ads containing their photos. Also, in my grandfather's personal library I found a booklet of jokes by Sam Chase and Jack Mellow.
Today's brain tickler
Fill in the blank spaces:
Lyken and Bastiani were Guyanese _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _.
Today's brain tickler
Lyken and Bastiani were _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _.
funeral homes
Funeral Parlors.
Read the question carefully, guys. There are 10 blank spaces.
after HABEEB KHAN come on stage there was two comedian that perform together name these two
Today's brain tickler
Morticians.
Today's brain tickler
Morticians.
That's the answer!
If you didn't know this, you would sooner or later.
Congratulations!!
after HABEEB KHAN come on stage there was two comedian that perform together name these two
MANNIE HANIFF and his SIDEKICK [can't remember the pagla name]
Today's brain tickler
Morticians.
That's the answer!
Congratulations!!
What were the names of the morticians who inherited the Funeral Parlor business from Mr. Bastiani? It was renamed as Queenstown Funeral Parlour, then Guyana Funeral Parlour and they were twin brothers.
Queenstown Livery Stables & Funeral Parlour.- 1941
Ezekell
ramgoley i hope i spell it right
When de rass abee gun get Berbice question, so abee can win too...
Like when dem fus get lite pan Albion road ?
Wha year de suga truck fall pan de trench and kill de hassa?
Dis gillbaka man prappa eye pass abie peeple from Berbice. Me bin ah watch am all de time.You tink de only place Gillbaka man know in Berbice is de Canje mad house?
And look, we nah fuh hear trivia about latrine logies, bottle kerosene lamp or wah de best leaf fuh you use when you go in de bush.
Dis gillbaka man prappa eye pass abie peeple from Berbice. Me bin ah watch am all de time.You tink de only place Gillbaka man know in Berbice is de Canje mad house?
Hea Gil, you get live experience ah Canje mad house ?
Cain say, its the only time you go ah Berbice.
ramgoley i hope i spell it right
Thanks, warrior. That's the guy. Never mind the spelling.
Today's brain tickler
Morticians.
That's the answer!
Congratulations!!
What were the names of the morticians who inherited the Funeral Parlor business from Mr. Bastiani? It was renamed as Queenstown Funeral Parlour, then Guyana Funeral Parlour and they were twin brothers.
Mars, you stump me wid dis one. Can't find the twin's names.
In 1979 fire destroyed a large department store on Water and Commerce Streets, Georgetown. Name that store.
Bettencourt's?
Bettencourt
Today's brain tickler
Morticians.
That's the answer!
Congratulations!!
The brothers were George and Rene Lee. I only know this because we were family friends. I played hide and seek in some of those coffins as a lil boy. The new parlor was in a building to the immediate right of the building in the photo. George was an electronics man and I think he also worked as an engineer at one of the radio stations. Radio Dem or GBS. I can't really remember. He was one of the few people who had TV's in those days and once invited all the kids from the neighborhood to watch the Soccer World Cup. We piled into the unused old funeral parlor which is downstairs in the photo and saw the game live.
I note the Bookers Sports Dept Store to the left and opposite itβ¦β¦.Bettencourtβs. Stabroek Marketβs clock tower in the background
Today's brain tickler
Morticians.
That's the answer!
Congratulations!!
The brothers were George and Rene Lee. I only know this because we were family friends. I played hide and seek in some of those coffins as a lil boy. The new parlor was in a building to the immediate right of the building in the photo. George was an electronics man and I think he also worked as an engineer at one of the radio stations. Radio Dem or GBS. I can't really remember. He also had a few TV's and once invited all the kids from the neighborhood to watch the Soccer World Cup. We piled into the unused old funeral parlor which is downstairs in the photo and saw the game live.
Thanks for the info, Mars. Today while searching I discovered there was a dispute over the property, involving a lady who says she is the great-great grandaughter of Bastiani.
Bettencourt's?
You gave the correct answer first so you win.
Congratulations!!
Today's brain tickler
Morticians.
That's the answer!
Congratulations!!
The brothers were George and Rene Lee. I only know this because we were family friends. I played hide and seek in some of those coffins as a lil boy. The new parlor was in a building to the immediate right of the building in the photo.George was an electronics man and I think he also worked as an engineer at one of the radio stations. Radio Dem or GBS. I can't really remember. He also had a few TV's and once invited all the kids from the neighborhood to watch the Soccer World Cup. We piled into the unused old funeral parlor which is downstairs in the photo and saw the game live.
I know George he was an electronics technician,in days
of VCR and TV repair,he was our competitor,when i was
also a tech at little MO at Robb ST,he was a good tech.
Bettencourt
Sorry, Django, you were 8 minutes behind Mars.
Correct answer, late entry.
Today's brain tickler
Morticians.
That's the answer!
Congratulations!!
The brothers were George and Rene Lee. I only know this because we were family friends. I played hide and seek in some of those coffins as a lil boy. The new parlor was in a building to the immediate right of the building in the photo. George was an electronics man and I think he also worked as an engineer at one of the radio stations. Radio Dem or GBS. I can't really remember. He also had a few TV's and once invited all the kids from the neighborhood to watch the Soccer World Cup. We piled into the unused old funeral parlor which is downstairs in the photo and saw the game live.
Thanks for the info, Mars. Today while searching I discovered there was a dispute over the property, involving a lady who says she is the great-great grandaughter of Bastiani.
The entire property is worth a pretty penny because it's huge and on a prime corner in Queenstown. There is a big building next to the one in the picture which was the new office and parlor. Then it extends all the way back since they had stables for the horses which drew the hearses in the old days. Also woodworking shop for building the coffins and fridges for storing bodies. The Lee's got it I think through marriage so I wouldn't doubt if one of Bastiani's blood relatives would be entitled to something. I have to ask my mom how they managed to become the owners.
Bettencourt
Sorry, Django, you were 8 minutes behind Mars.
Correct answer, late entry.
I man cool no biggie
Today's brain tickler
Morticians.
That's the answer!
Congratulations!!
The brothers were George and Rene Lee. I only know this because we were family friends. I played hide and seek in some of those coffins as a lil boy. The new parlor was in a building to the immediate right of the building in the photo.George was an electronics man and I think he also worked as an engineer at one of the radio stations. Radio Dem or GBS. I can't really remember. He also had a few TV's and once invited all the kids from the neighborhood to watch the Soccer World Cup. We piled into the unused old funeral parlor which is downstairs in the photo and saw the game live.
I know George he was an electronics technician,in days
of VCR and TV repair,he was our competitor,when i was
also a tech at little MO at Robb ST,he was a good tech.
In his older years he let the children run the funeral parlor and he repaired VCR and TV's exclusively. His son also helped him with the TV repair.
Well, I telling y'all, dem two Berbician bannas Skelly and Tola really baddarashan. Dem want Berbice quiz?
Tek am ya:
#78 Village Corentyne has another name. What's that name?
Dont' tell me is Springlands becaz me gon spring a duck egg pon you two.