On February 22, 1969, the mv POWIS hit a sunken barge off the coast of Windsor Forest, WCD. The impact produced a big gash on its hull and it sank two days later.

Attempts to salvage the vessel, even with technical help from the US Navy, proved futile.

The T&HD boat, named after a big bird in Guyana, was only 13 years old when it sank.

The mv POWIS plied the Georgetown-Bartica route.

It is commemmorated on a Guyana postage stamp.

http://thumbs1.ebaystatic.com/d/l225/m/mv6MuSjLLzYyrHOSUKTXTgw.jpg

Originally Posted by Mars:

Rub some Limacol if yuh all head hurting wid the last quiz.

Here is another.

This object is a notable landmark in Guyana. What is it and where is it?

http://mw2.google.com/mw-panoramio/photos/medium/37108014.jpg

Christianburg Water Wheel. Installed in 1855 to facilitate the operations of a saw mill owned and operated by John Dalgleish Patterson.

CORRECT ANSWER.

Congrats again, Django!

Here is another.

Christianburg Water Wheel. Installed in 1855 to facilitate the operations of a saw mill owned and operated by John Dalgleish Patterson.

CORRECT ANSWER.

Congrats again, Django!

Why you treatin me so Gilly? Fus you con me wit a ballahoo wrong up question now when I answer this one you giving it to Django. No respect I tell yuh

Here is another.

CORRECT ANSWER.

Congrats again, Django!

Gilly sorry bro take that credit back,Mars give the answer.

Here is another.

CORRECT ANSWER, MARS.

My apology to you for the error. I really can't explain how Django slipped in. Promise to be careful next time.

Congratulations twice!!

The QuizMaster has made some careless slips lately. He is ready to step cautiously now. Here we go again:

Vancouver Island in Canada was a British colony in its own right in the 19th century. One of its governors was born in Demerara. What is his name?

It looks like the ferry story refresh your memory.

I am not going to answer.

The QuizMaster has made some careless slips lately. He is ready to step cautiously now. Here we go again:

Vancouver Island in Canada was a British colony in its own right in the 19th century. One of its governors was born in Demerara. What is his name?

He was not the FIRST governor of Vancouver Island, but FIRST governor of all of BC.

Born at Mahaica where a full size statue of him exist near the bridge and another at Fort Langley in BC. 

Originally Posted by Tola:

He was not the FIRST governor of Vancouver Island, but FIRST governor of all of BC.

Born at Mahaica where a full size statue of him exist near the bridge and another at Fort Langley in BC. 

No, Tola, I didn't say FIRST governor.