New Nation and Mirror
Amarnath, a poor farmer, went to the market to sell some blackeye peas and split peas. However, as he had only one sack and didn't want to mix blackeye peas and split peas, he poured in the blackeyes first, tied the sack in the middle, and then filled the top portion of the sack with the split peas. At the market a rich goldsmith named Abdul happened by with his own sack. He wanted to buy the blackeye peas, but he did not want the split peas.
Pouring the peas anywhere else but the sacks is considered soiling. Trading sacks is not allowed. Amarnath can't cut a hole in his sack.
How would you transfer the blackeye peas to Abdul's sack, which he wants to keep, without soiling the produce?
step1..pour the split peas in Abdul sack tie off
step2..turn over Abdul sack and pour blackeye peas
step3..place Abdul sack over Amarnauth sack and
untie...split peas back in Amarnauth sack
and blackeye peas remain in Abdul sack.
You're the man!
Exactly.
Congratulations!
Next quiz:
In Guyana 45 years ago there were two evening newspapers in circulation. Name them.
Agorsy and Guyana Graphic
Inaccurate.
Evening Post and Guyana Graphic
I need both correct names.
No half point awarded for this quiz.
New Nation and Mirror
Sorry, sir.
Both names must be correct.
New Nation and Mirror
Sorry, sir.
Argosy and Guyana Graphic?
LOL...nevermind
Guyana Graphic and Guyana Evening News/Post
New Nation and Mirror
Sorry, sir.
Argosy and Guyana Graphic?
LOL...nevermind
I'm sorry to disappoint you, sir. Try again.
Guyana Graphic and Guyana Evening News/Post
Yuh memory getting bad, Tola.
Tek some fish oil capsules like I do.
Two EVENING News... Graphic, Argosy and Chronicle were not evening news.
Evening News had to be a Georgetown paper. Country people will not know about evening news, we only got daily news.
Here again country people are at disadvantage.
Next quiz:
In Guyana 45 years ago there were two evening newspapers in circulation. Name them.
Time up.
45 years ago = 1970.
In 1970 these were the two evening newspapers in Guyana:
[1] Evening Post
[2] Mirror
To answer this question, female participants are allowed to ring their fathers, grandfathers, uncles or old family friends.
A popular brand of razor blades in Guyana in the 1950s thru mid-1970s had a pink-and-white wrapper with picture of a ballerina holding an umbrella. What was the brand name of that razor blade?
Gillette
That answer doesn't cut it, Cain. Try again.
I remember in that era my great-grandfather stuck to his barber's shaving knife contraption.
Gillette
Not Gillette.
I remember in that era my great-grandfather stuck to his barber's shaving knife contraption.
That says a lot about the old man. He had a steady hand.
Old man was born in 1903 in the reign of King Edward VII and his pimp hand was still steady well into the 1980s. He died in the 1990s.
I was really lucky to have known someone that old in my family. He was pals with Cheddi daddy. They were like fellow drivers on Port Mourant Estate.
Wilkinson?
Wilkinson?
No.
Deadline 11AM. You have more chances.
Gilbaka,
Post some kinda political or historical question for those of us who clearly weren't even conceived yet to know the answer to your last question
Old man was born in 1903 in the reign of King Edward VII and his pimp hand was still steady well into the 1980s. He died in the 1990s.
I was really lucky to have known someone that old in my family. He was pals with Cheddi daddy. They were like fellow drivers on Port Mourant Estate.
Shaitaan, it looks like we are related in friendship.
My grandfather was the PM animal stable boss, later Bangaree took over and my GF was also a good friend with Cheddi's dad.
I became close to the family, Derek, Oudit, Doreen, Ivan, etc. and their extended family overseas.
Were you at meetings at Cheddi's PM bottom house in the 60s ?
Anyone remember the old guys sharpening their razor blade on concrete ?
I got one.
Who was technically the very last Governor-General of Guyana?
Gilbaka,
Post some kinda political or historical question for those of us who clearly weren't even conceived yet to know the answer to your last question
Nah bai. Social is social; only general knowledge soft politics here.
I got one.
Sir David Rose.
Wilkinson?
No.
Deadline 11AM. You have more chances.
Wha rass is dis, you 11 is na me 11 ..me need mo time fa think..
Gee me mo time to go thru me father old things...me sure to get de answa.
I got one.
Sir David Rose.
Or, following his death on 10 Nov 1969, Edward Luckhoo.[?]
Shaitaan, it looks like we are related in friendship.
My grandfather was the PM animal stable boss, later Bangaree took over and my GF was also a good friend with Cheddi's dad.
I became close to the family, Derek, Oudit, Doreen, Ivan, etc. and their extended family overseas.
Were you at meetings at Cheddi's PM bottom house in the 60s ?
Anyone remember the old guys sharpening their razor blade on concrete ?
I was referring to my late great-grandfather (maternal) Imam Kadir Baksh of Jama Masjid, Port Mourant. He was a driver/overseer at Port Mourant Estate when he was young. This should be around the 30s or 40s. Then he became a fairly prosperous rice farmer and merchant in the 50s and 60s. Then the dictatorship made us into successful criminals.
I don't personally recall any of this as I was born in the 80s. Did you know my great-grandfather?
I got one.
Sir David Rose.
Sir Victor Edward Luckhoo
Dem finally give de wuk to wan coolie man den wuk done
I got one.
Sir David Rose.
His brother SIR LIONEL LUCKHOO was popular at that time
I got one.
Sir David Rose.
A great family. It's a shame their great lineage died out.
To answer this question, female participants are allowed to ring their fathers, grandfathers, uncles or old family friends.
A popular brand of razor blades in Guyana in the 1950s thru mid-1970s had a pink-and-white wrapper with picture of a ballerina holding an umbrella. What was the brand name of that razor blade?
ANSWER:
oh scrap I'm late
Even my dad didn't know that in any case. I just picked his brains
Believe it or leave it, males in Guyana used to powder their faces. There was an English brand of men's talcum powder in stores and shops up to the early 1970s. Name that brand.
Clue: 7-letter-word.
oh scrap I'm late
Even my dad didn't know that in any case. I just picked his brains
Ask him about Good Vogue.
Believe it or leave it, males in Guyana used to powder their faces. There was an English brand of men's talcum powder in stores and shops up to the early 1970s. Name that brand.
My grandmother used to powder my face
So embarrassing
when i was growing up i use to get letters from girls and they use to put powder when they fold it
So embarrassing
when i was growing up i use to get letters from girls and they use to put powder when they fold it
I wouldn't do that now chap
You might find yourself on a terror watch list
I got one.
Sir David Rose.
Lionel found Christianity and was on a speaking tour in Northern Canada a few years ago. I have an audio recording of his talk somewhere.