Today's quiz.
It's a bird. About 8" tall. Dark brown body. Black head and neck. Red face. Yellow beak. Long greenish feet. Usually found among trenches and swamps in Guyana.
Name this bird.
Jacana(wattled jacana)
Today's quiz.
It's a bird. About 8" tall. Dark brown body. Black head and neck. Red face. Yellow beak. Long greenish feet. Usually found among trenches and swamps in Guyana.
Name this bird.
Jacana(wattled jacana)
Spurwing-Jacana
@Django, you are correct, you posted first. First prize.
@Observer, you're also correct. You posted 5 minutes after Django. Second prize.
Congratulations!!
Thursday's quiz. Which is correct?
S. G. Wreford was:
[A] An Irishman
[B] Skeldon Sugar Estate Manager
[C] A lawyer in New Amsterdam
[D] A businessman
[E] A Berbician by birth
A business man
[D]A Businessman
A business man
That's right. If you didn't know this one, you're a bogus Berbician.First prize.
@Django, you came in one hour after Riya. Second prize.
Congratulations!!
Next quiz.
Street lamps in Georgetown are powered by electricity. Before that, there were gas-powered street lamps. In what year did Georgetown streets get gas lamps?
A business man
That's right. If you didn't know this one, you're a bogus Berbician.First prize.
@Django, you came in one hour after Riya. Second prize.
Congratulations!!
I would've been ashamed of myself indeed! Wreford and Sons and J.P. Santos were the two supermarkets we would go to in New Amsterdam. Guyana Stores were....meh
1870 for gas lamps.
@Riya and Anjali, both of you are close. Riya is closer. I guess she relied on a Stabroek News article online, which gives 1873 under a photo.
My book says 1872. I really can't tell you the name of the book because you would cheat on future quizzes.
Friday's brain tickler.
Which of the following rivers is deepest at its mouth and which is deepest in its course?
[A] Demerara River
[B] Essequibo River
[C] Waini River
[D] Berbice River
[E] Pomeroon River
Essequibo River
The quiz requires two answers. You have to specify which is deepest at its mouth and which is deepest in its course.
Pomeroon River is the deepest in its course
Essequibo River at it's mouth
Deadline for river quiz: Noon [EST] 1PM Guyana Time
Demerara river deepest at it's mouth
Pomeroon river deepest in it's course
Essequibo river deepest at it's mouth.
Demerara river in it's course.
Gilbakka hopes he doesn't get two belna juk on his nose today, from Riya and Anjali.
Demerara River is deepest at its mouth, the channel being 18 feet deep @ low tide.
Pomeroon River is deepest in its course, as deep as 54 feet down at one point.
Django, as the winner, me beg you, tek at least one belna blow fo me nuh.
Congratulations!!
Sorry, girls, great try.
so Django win a belna lash, nice
@Riya.
this is a nice thread, it takes me quite some time back, some of the answers i did not know (i am learning as i go along)
Let's begin this week's round of brain ticklers.
It's a bird. It inhabits some islands in the Essequibo River and various locations in the hinterland. It walks on the ground most times but prefers to sleep atop tall trees. It is big and black but shy and tame. It has short fat beak, the base of the top half being yellow. Its bamsy area is surrounded by goose-white feathers. I personally think this bird flies occasionally to Noreen's Hairdressing Salon to get curlers and a perm on its head.
Name this bird.
powis?
Black Curassow
currasow (sp)
Muscovy drake duck
Neither muscovy nor drake nor duck.
Anjali answered correctly, but came in 6 minutes after Django.
Django answered correctly, but came in 5 minutes after Riya.
So, Riya gets first prize, Django gets second prize, Anjali gets third prize, and Ball gets a Muscovy duck.
If any of you guys read Three Singles to Adventure by Gerald Durrell, you should remember the black curassow Cuthbert, which Durrell got at Adventure on the Essequibo Coast, which was so tame and fond of humans that he adopted him as a pet. Cuthbert always wanted attention and petting, too much petting.
The permed hair was a good clue
Now, who owns the islands in the Courantyne River?
[A] Guyana
[B] Guyana and Suriname
[C] Suriname
[D] Neither Guyana nor Suriname
Methinks is them dutch man
b
Methinks is them dutch man
Ball, yuh gon get 6 strokes.
You have to answer A, B, C or D.
At rama Krishna I used to get that just about every day sometimes six four or two from lady hitler roopnarine
(C) Suriname
C. Suriname
Suriname owns the entire width of the Courantyne River, therefore the islands in the river too.
Django answered one minute before Riya, so Django gets first prize.
Riya gets second prize.
Ball is bright but wutliss. I know he means Suriname but for misbehaving he gets 6 lashes and third prize. He should be happy because he got a duck too.
Today's quiz.
It's a Guyana fruit. Round like a grapefruit, about the same size or little bigger. Yellow to orange when ripe. Skin hard and smooth. Soft padding inside. Seeds numerous, hard and blackish, each covered by sweet clear gelatin-like substance. Name this fruit.