Originally Posted by Riya:

Wednesday's quiz.

It's raining cats and dogs at Rampoor settlement where Uncle Ramjohn lives. He has to attend to the cows but the yard is flooded. He yells to his wife: "Ai Susheila, ah wheh me lang boots deh?"

Give the proper name for Uncle Ramjohn's boots.

Wellington boots

Yes. They are so called because they were popularised by Arthur Wellesley, First Duke of Wellington [1769-1862]. He is well known for defeating Napoleon Bonaparte in the Battle of Waterloo, 1815.

Wellington Street in Georgetown was named to honour him, and Waterloo Street was named to memorialize the Battle of Waterloo.

Ummm...I wonder if Uncle Ramjohn knows all that.

Uncle Ramjohn and most of Guysuco workers only know it as lang boots

Originally Posted by Django:

bunduri

North West District (shell beach)

hmmm...I never heard of bunduri crab.

In Berbice, buck crab and sherriga were popular. The place to get them was Crab Island.

riya they had a antiman in GT name bunduri this how he get the name because he was the biggest crab i think she was nehru girlfriend 

bunduri

In Berbice, buck crab and sherriga were popular. The place to get them was Crab Island.

riya they had a antiman in GT name bunduri this how he get the name because he was the biggest crab i think she was nehru girlfriend 

That guy Bunduri used to hang around Stabroek Market/GT stelling area, bai. He used to paint his face white and tie a red bandana around his forehead. A character.

bunduri

That guy Bunduri used to hang around Stabroek Market/GT stelling area, bai. He used to paint his face white and tie a red bandana around his forehead. A character.

a truck kill him,he use to in garmont nehru hunting ground 

Next quiz.

What is the largest crab in Guyana popularly called and where is its main habitat?

bunduri

Sorry for the delay, sir. I'm moving at a crab's pace this morning. [Me is a Cancerian]

Your answer is correct. In addition to the North West District, bunduri crabs are also plentiful on the Essequibo Coast.

Congratulations, and thanks for the video clip.

bunduri

Thanks for the info. There was Bunduri, and there was Shakira, his Indian counterpart. Stabroek Market area too. Remember him?

Next quiz.

What is the largest crab in Guyana popularly called and where is its main habitat?

bunduri

Sorry for the delay, sir. I'm moving at a crab's pace this morning. [Me is a Cancerian]

Your answer is correct. In addition to the North West District, bunduri crabs are also plentiful on the Essequibo Coast.

Congratulations, and thanks for the video clip.

same here bhai good people..weakness weemen

bunduri

Thanks for the info. There was Bunduri, and there was Shakira, his Indian counterpart. Stabroek Market area too. Remember him?

i think shakira and yugi is one and same person not too sure,have to investigate,but his action is similar  

There is a village in Guyana with a Roman name and its streets have Roman names too. Name that village and name two of its streets with Roman names.

Agricola
Street names Brutus and Cato

Latin was the language of ancient Rome. Agricola is the Latin word for farmer.

Brutus and Cato are indeed Roman names, as well as streets in Agricola.

Romulus and Remus are regarded as the founders of Rome. Two streets in Agricola village are named after Romulus and Remus.

Agricola was a plantation which freed slaves bought and converted into a village. Someone among them had a knowledge of Latin, I suspect.

What I can tell you all is that a descendant of African slaves taught me Latin at Central High School in 1962-63.

Congratulations, Riya!!

There is a village in Guyana with a Roman name and its streets have Roman names too. Name that village and name two of its streets with Roman names.

Agricola

Romulus and Remus are regarded as the founders of Rome. Two streets in Agricola village are named after Romulus and Remus.

Agricola was a plantation which freed slaves bought and converted into a village. Someone among them had a knowledge of Latin, I suspect.

What I can tell you all is that a descendant of African slaves taught me Latin at Central High School in 1962-63.

Congratulations, Riya!!

Isn't Agricola known locally as South Rome? Or just Rome?

And thank you, Sir!

Agricola

Congratulations, Riya!!

Isn't Agricola known locally as South Rome? Or just Rome?

And thank you, Sir!

Rome is located between Houston and Mc Doom Village. Agricola is after Mc Doom.

Let's make this Friday 13 a Fun Day.

My mother fed me Cow & Gate when I was a baby. Which of these did your mother feed you:

[1] Cow & Gate

[2] Lactogen

[3] SMA

[4] Gerbers

[5] Other --- specify.

This is not a quiz, just an exercise to trigger your memory back to your baby months/years.

#5. Me nah no wah. Me bin too young fuh no.  I know some of us here remebered the day they were born.

My mother fed me Cow & Gate when I was a baby. Which of these did your mother feed you:

[1] Cow & Gate

[2] Lactogen

[3] SMA

[4] Gerbers

[5] Other --- specify.

This is not a quiz, just an exercise to trigger your memory back to your baby months/years.

[5] all i can remember

sweet broom tea, plantain flour

and sago with cow milk..may be [2]

i saw my mother feed my siblings.

[1] Cow & Gate

[2] Lactogen

[3] SMA

[4] Gerbers

[5] Other --- specify.

[5] all i can remember

sweet broom tea, plantain flour

and sago with cow milk..may be [2]

i saw my mother feed my siblings.

i could use some of that bush tea now i have a cold 

Originally Posted by Observer:

Slick Gilly wants to know our ages!    My older siblings got C & G.  I got Lactogen.  My American nieces & nephews got Gerber. 

You know, O, I didn't think of it that way. Trust me.

BTW, did anyone get plantain flour solution in between? I got, and my siblings too.

My mom used to slice and dry plantain in the sun, then grind it, then boil and add milk, a little glucose or sugar too.

Originally Posted by Observer:

Slick Gilly wants to know our ages!    My older siblings got C & G.  I got Lactogen.  My American nieces & nephews got Gerber. 

You know, O, I didn't think of it that way. Trust me.

BTW, did anyone get plantain flour solution in between? I got, and my siblings too.

My mom used to slice and dry plantain in the sun, then grind it, then boil and add milk, a little glucose or sugar too.

that is good food 

[1] Cow & Gate

[2] Lactogen

[3] SMA

[4] Gerbers

[5] Other --- specify.

Lactogen

cow milk

cornmeal porridge

[1] Cow & Gate

[2] Lactogen

[3] SMA

[4] Gerbers

[5] Other --- specify.

5. Other, specifically bubby