@cain posted:

So leh me see if I got dis rite. Lynn said how she hubby does manually polinate the flowers dem ...with a q tip. What I wanna find out is how he know where fi stick the q tip?

Welll hear dis joke nah..3 yrs ago was the 1st time i planted squash ( n by ‘i’ i mean hubby as-he does ALL d yeard work..hehehe

well i am a farmer’s  daughter but i never knew abt manual pollination.  So all d squash were turning yellow n  they dried up.  Then a cuz came late aug n told me  that i have to ‘marry’ the male n female flowers.  I had no idea abt man n woman flowers..omg! ..but-by then it  was late summer so i didnt get any squash that yrs.

last yr we were doing the ‘marry’ or ‘kiss; thing as people suggested..then a gf f mine told me  to try the qtips because sometimes u dont get enough male flowers to pollinate the female

btw me guh ga  fuh ask me hubby dat qwestion

Lynn
@cain posted:

So leh me see if I got dis rite. Lynn said how she hubby does manually polinate the flowers dem ...with a q tip. What I wanna find out is how he know where fi stick the q tip?

Me show he ..ahahahaha

because my gf came n showed me how to do it..

ahahahahahaha …..

Lynn
@cain posted:

Lynn..I seem to recall it was Banks Milk Stout...no I didn't add milk...just an egg...it tasted like...yuckkkk..I had to lick my butt to get the taste out of my mouth.

Hmmm well i. Only knew abt stiut after i had my baby in 1987..whn it was forced down my throat..warm with salt…

wonder why it was called MILK stout..

ps apparently it Was given to mothers after delivery to help ‘bring down’ d breast MILK!!

Lynn

Whts cooking today??

well hubyy just picked 1 of the 2 sqush from the tree..so nice stew squash with chicken n some oil roti ..( i hardly roti n esp oil roti..but this squash neeeds some paratha roti)

fry bigan with aloo n chkn

fry ochro  (i used the froxen cut ones , Ashoka brand)

black bean salad

stir frym mix veggies fry

n ifim not too tired i will make a cauliflower fried’rice’ with boneless chkn thighs

then i wash n tun down pot until thurs..

i gat lil dhal in fridge plus my seim curry ( i didnt get enough seim from my 2 plants soi bought a pkt AC8D388C-294D-453F-B01F-311485313ED3 from Sunny’s along with some nice eddoes n it is yummy with some FAT shrimps (Costco)

• AC8D388C-294D-453F-B01F-311485313ED3
Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Hmmm well i. Only knew abt stiut after i had my baby in 1987..whn it was forced down my throat..warm with salt…

wonder why it was called MILK stout..

ps apparently it Was given to mothers after delivery to help ‘bring down’ d breast MILK!!

https://www.foodandwine.com/beer/milk-stout

Click on link .

@Django posted:

Wow…thnx D..we learn something everyday..

but I was given ( i had no idea it was a BEER..) Guinness stout so this may be why i never heard abt MILK stout

ps

so i new mothers r given BEER ie alcohol..then the new born babies would be drunk if they were breast-fed!!!

oh lordie!!

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Wow…thnx D..we learn something everyday..

but I was given ( i had no idea it was a BEER..) Guinness stout so this may be why i never heard abt MILK stout

ps

so i new mothers r given BEER ie alcohol..then the new born babies would be drunk if they were breast-fed!!!

oh lordie!!

I saw my mother use small amount of brandy with breast milk ,given to my younger siblings when they were babies to put them to sleep when they cried too much.

Probably i was given the same ,had enough then so when grown up not a fan of liquor .

@Django posted:

I saw my mother use small amount of brandy with breast milk ,given to my younger siblings when they were babies to put them to sleep when they cried too much.

Probably i was given the same ,had enough then so when grown up not a fan of liquor .

Yeah i heard abt moms or grandparents giving lil babies(i doubt they did this with new born)  a few drops of brandy to the baby bottle of milk (not breast milk..) at nights to make them sleep soundly!

That is nothing compared to a mother drinking 2  bit stoute oer day..n eso newborn , boy that is alot of likka in d breast milk!!

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn

Anyone ever heard abt seviyan kheer?? Or eaten it??

i saw a EE154307-D0B2-44F0-BF28-A4A0FF142E57Recipe on fb n tried it..it comes out creamy ..just like well done sweet rice ..best of all it takes abt 12-13 mins to boil!!

• EE154307-D0B2-44F0-BF28-A4A0FF142E57
Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

Sevian is Vermicelli. Had it  with cardamom and saffron...... Yummy!

Yeah i know..but I never knew u can make kheer with it…it is so yummy! I used the fine thread-like (Indian kind) vermicelli !  I added roasted cashew n plenty cardamom ( n of course cinnamon cloves)

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

7552AB74-DC44-40E8-84DF-B14AB76833C3

Green apple curry..(thnx to Chami for teaching me to cook this yummy dish)

Make green apple (the sour type) achar, use the ingredients used for mango achar, it taste great .

@Django posted:

Make green apple (the sour type) achar, use the ingredients used for mango achar, it taste great .

Yes..Thanks to Chami..this thing is better than mango curry

(i have never made achar ..lol…my Maa used to make with sourie n golden apple n send for me n now my hubby bhoujie makes n sends

Lynn

the green apple curry, do you add any meat or seafood?

No just dried down..like mango curry. U guh bite yuh tongue whn u taste it..

Chami told me abt it n ive cooked it abt 4 times n everyone loves it!!

btw it is the granny smith apple..

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@Lynn posted:

No just dried down..like mango curry. U guh bite yuh tongue whn u taste it..

Chami told me abt it n ive cooked it abt 4 times n everyone loves it!!

btw it is the granny smith apple..

I have a 20 yr old green apple tree can't recall what type ,the apples are sour .