me family went to Orlando and brought back fat hassars from the West Indian store. do you all put coconut milk in hassar curry?

Do like Jane..go on youtube an tek picture say you cook it..hehheh

me family went to Orlando and brought back fat hassars from the West Indian store. do you all put coconut milk in hassar curry?

I think that is necessary ingredient.. coconut milk !!

Lynn
@cain posted:

THURSDAY...whatderass is dis I readin? So I guess is tv dinners in yo skites. Or you cook an freeze food for whole week?

I bet that gyal don’t eat no frozen food. Food will be ok in fridge until Wednesday then Thursday is fresh food for the village😄

W
@cain posted:

THURSDAY...whatderass is dis I readin? So I guess is tv dinners in yo skites. Or you cook an freeze food for whole week?

CAIn CAIN!!!

I freeze my soup only as i make a big pot..

regular  food stays 3 days in fridge. I cook a lot  sundays as i dont cook before i go to work on Mon N Tues (im  on feet for entire shift..not sitting or standing but moving abt ..i am 62 n refuse do ‘double’ shift at this age!! .ie  to cook n clean at home then go to work at 4 pm.

Wed is my rest day..i avoid  doing anything..even drs appointment ie if i can help it so  we eat lef leff on wed..i just laze around, catch up with phone calls n msgs n em etc n missed tv shows .

sometimes i do freeze dal as i cook a big pot of that n my girls sometimes stop by without notice..so this way they have something..i can easily whip up a quick roti or bake for them.

sometimes i freeze a lil GY greens  for big daughter as she enjoys  GY pumpkin , seim n katahar..so if i cook these n i know she is coming over later in the week..i would freeze a sml bowl for her

NO TV dinner!!! now way!! I have NEVER eaten TV dinner or FROZEN meals  from supermarket ..I cook from scratch n eat home food 99% of time..we do take out once in a while..n I only eat out out  special occasions only .  Hubby loves home cooked food..GYese dishes.  Older daughter eats healthy n indulges in her fave GY food whn she visits.  Lil one loves junk food..n im an international cook for her..( yest i made shepherds  pie just for her alone!! ..but opted for minced turkey n topped with mashed cauliflower, making it a bit more healthy.  I often make pizza for her but from scratch..even the dough!  I go easy on cheese n i roast lot-of veggies..so again it-is pizza but much healthier than store bought)

For myself..im on low carbs because few yrs ago, my bld sugar went up..so i started to watch carb intake..I was never into  junk food n too much  sweet/desert,( except our Gyese pastries n sweets but i am careful with these now.)

I make a huge pot of lentil sweet potato soup n freeze in sml containers ...then i steam or sautee or roast veggies sep to last 1 day or 2 so it is fresh(as i dont like mushy veggies.)  I cook my protein sep..egg (boiled. Scrambled n make veggie  quiche often ) ..i bake salmon n cook chkn  to last for 2-3 days n I always have black bean salad but i add a lot more stuff in it ..so I Make a batch n it lasts for abt 5 days in fridge

PS ..Whn  me pickney dem was at home..i was cooking everyday esp d lil 1..she thought i ran a  full time restaurant ..lol

But now me just  relax n tek it easy .

whn they notify me ahead..i does cook food that they like..n i cook extra for lil 1 to take..big girl eats here n thats it..no doggy bag

Lynn
@cain posted:

Oh rass man I was...jus sayin. Yall two gang up pon a po' po' man.

So Jane how you does whip up roti quick time? I do it too 'cept mine is called pita bread.

Well if i cook 2-3 nnif dem eat straight from tawa ie hot , it soft. Otherwise if it get stale it will get hard .. fast means i dont let it ‘rest’ as per normal. I knead dough n rest 5 mins.. make dough ball n test few mins n cook ..

i add tbsp  greek yogurt ir kefir plus  pinch if instant yeast in addition to baking powder.. make soft dough with warm wAter!!
btw try turkish flat bread .. it is so good!!

Lynn
@cain posted:

So Jane how you does whip up roti quick time? I do it too 'cept mine is called pita bread.

Oh no brudda cain.. no ganging up on u .. abee just gyaffing lol

nah tek worries .. abee iz 1 famalee

Lynn
@cain posted:

Look for Parata Roti and/or Naan in the grocery stores.  I get them here at No Frills, Freshco and Loblaws.

Helloo Lynn..I took a peek at your Lasagna stuffed chicken in the recipe section and have a question.

How you able to stuff all that lasagna in the chicken lil lil bamsy? Jus askin.

@Mitwah posted:

Look for Parata Roti and/or Naan in the grocery stores.  I get them here at No Frills, Freshco and Loblaws.

You go three places for one pack roti, is what derass wrong with you? Gas ain't dat cheap.

@cain posted:

Helloo Lynn..I took a peek at your Lasagna stuffed chicken in the recipe section and have a question.

How you able to stuff all that lasagna in the chicken lil lil bamsy? Jus askin.

Oh lard ..it isnt mine

i shared a recipe.. but i plan to try it esp since my lil daughter loves lasagna (all pasta) .. im trying to get her to eat less carbs ..

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Oh lard ..it isnt mine

i shared a recipe.. but i plan to try it esp since my lil daughter loves lasagna (all pasta) .. im trying to get her to eat less carbs ..

Ow man! Is the chicken bamsy I askin bout...not yours.

@cain posted:

Ow man! Is the chicken bamsy I askin bout...not yours.

Oh rant …how chkn breast gat bamsi now??

u cant stuff nuttin in me bams.. stuffing plenty deh n ready to come out .. lol

heheeeeeeeee

u prappa funny bai cain

Lynn

dhal puri & lamb curry for lunch

U tearing tail Irfon…u wifey wake suh early fuh cook n pack yuh lunch to take to work?? Or u nacking restaurant lunch today??

i cooked baigan curry with chkn n aloo,n i have ‘fry’ (stew) squash with chicken n plenty tomatoes ..plus some quinoa/chickpeas salad ..

going to make 2 paratha roit for hubby to enjoy d squash ..

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@Wildflower posted:

You lucky there’s a Caribbean restaurant close to your work😃😃😃

Howu know iz not wifey who wake up early n cook??  Rem he requested biganee for a Sunday brekfus?? N wifey obliged!!

Lynn

So did u use coconut milk? If so was fresh, frozen or canned??

Did wifey cook or u tried yr hand??

Do u  cook n help out wifey or u just tell she wht u want fuh eat ?

Yrs ago like 40 yrs i rem 1 of my bhoujie used to have to wait untilmorn formy bro to tell her wht to cook..he didnt know the night before wht he wanted to eat…lol

lord have mercy…me ah cook wha me want fuh cook n hubby nyam n be thankful..

very rarely he would say is long time he didnt eat this..or he feel like eating something..but mostly it-is a snack like he did during covid lockdown..he mentioned coconut buns n cassava pone n gojha which i had never made..soi got the youtube n tried n all came  ok..iheard him talking abt chinese cake..so i will try myhand for his bday in May

he mentioned karhee nn i tried it once…n also the big fat dumpling, which i tried but they ‘fall’ so that was a fail!!

But everyday..i decide wht to cook n d man enjoys whatever wifey cooks …n oh he gets his own  bfast because yrs truly isin bed whn he leaves for his office..(lol) as i seldom  wake before 1130 am (i go to sleep/bed between 4-6am) ..

Lynn

That reminds me when I helped my buddy last week to stay put..it is much easier than helping him move. I jus go over to his place an made sure he din start loadin shit into his truck.

Hassa came out good, used the canned coconut milk. I help in the kitchen

Hubby does help too.wash wares..n he cooks certain food like FRY fish.., kitchrie, scrambled eggs..fry aloo n he makes very good chota/dosay/chilla/pancake

..his chkn curry is better than mine(according to my younger daughter..) lol..me show d man fuh cook the above n now he Betta than me.

.but i never could fry fish..haha, either me bun um or ot loose up in d oil!!

goodu help d wifey lilbit

Lynn

I fry up chicken breast and made chowmein with Costco stir fry veggies and iman noodles, cooked chicken curry ( had planned to roast the chicken with rosemary and garlic but two of my kids said curry and roti…of course it’s paratha roti. Taking a break now….need a drink.  

I wonder if Amral have any brandy🤔🤭 one of my friends called me last night and invited me for dinner on Saturday so we can have a drink before her fasting starts….Guyanese people are the best…they know when to pray, observe religion and when to party and let loose….( personally I don’t like extremes and I try to avoid those kinds)

W

some relatives went to the farm and bought ducks and fowls, cleaned and roasted them right there. I'm enjoying duck curry and rice

Farm?? Where u have duck n fowl farm?? U in South?? Or in GY??

my gf hubby goes to some place in new jersey (she lives in Bergen county) n buys fresh duck ..not sure if it-is a farm though .

enjoy yr dick curry bai..

i looovvve a duck curry..sadly my curry isnt. ( me shame fuh admit this..)

That great n i dont enjoy it as much as i enjoy it whn others cook it

Lynn

some relatives went to the farm and bought ducks and fowls, cleaned and roasted them right there. I'm enjoying duck curry and rice

Bie u lucky to live where u can go to farm

me and hubby used to drive to a town name Elora to get fresh duck…yes they used to clean n roast…we used to get it for butcher shop. Not worth the long drive unless it’s for lots

W
@Wildflower posted:

Lynn remind me to save u some of my duck curry when I cook it…maybe may month.

My bhaiya used to talk abt yr duck curry girl!
i shud come for a cooking lesson!!
i dont eat beef but ive bern told by several folks including hubby n kids, that my berf curry is very delicious..

never heard this abt my duck

n once in a while my chkn curry is very good (rarely)

hubby’s chicken curry is better than mine .. so these days i ask him to cook it., lol

Lynn
@cain posted:

Today I making potatoe an' channa curry on a succelent bed of Jasmine rice.

We got fresh duck flying around here also wild turkeys.

Hope you have a nice slingshot to catch dem burds