Afro-Guyanese promised easier access to loans, grants; govt to be asked for more money

A section of the packed auditorium at the Critchlow Labour College where hundreds of persons attended a business conference that organisers said was aimed at fostering greater business development by Afro-Guyanese.

The Ministry of Business’ Small Business Bureau on Wednesday announced that it was offering up to 70 percent guarantee of loans with the expectation that supporting commercial banks would take the risk on the remaining 30 percent.

SSB Chief Executive Officer, Lowell Porter explained that at first the guarantee was 40 percent if borrowers fail to repay the banks, but after realising that banks in other Caribbean countries offer 70 and 80 percent guarantees, the Bureau revised its figure to 70 percent.

“That’s part of your interest you are losing maybe but you are not losing anything. These are the kinds of conversations that you need to have with your banks,” he said.

Porter, meanwhile, said all the monies allocated by government to provide grants of GY$300,000 each have dried up, prompting the Chairman of the International Decade for People of African Descent- Guyana (IDPAD-G), Vincent Alexander to state that the mission of his organisation is to ask government for more funds.

“Unfortunately, the grants have already been exhausted so there are no more grants available,” Porter said, adding that efforts would be found to assist persons who are enthusiastic about their business ideas.

“One of our tasks is to work with government to make sure they have more money to give more grants,” remarked Alexander.

The SBB provides training, policy review, mentoring and coaching as well as brainstorming business ideas and proposals.

Participants collecting information from one of the booths at the Afro-Guyanese business conference.

In the area of loans, Porter restated that only two of Guyana’s six commercial banks have said they would support small businesses. “Out of those two banks, only one is a locally owned bank. I personally think that that is ridiculous. If we are thinking about development and maybe the government should make it- I don’t want to say mandatory- but in some ways these banks come in and operate in Guyana, how many are here to support small businesses. We have to push that agenda,” he said. Also of concern to the SBB’s Chief Executive Officer is the fact that one commercial banks do not support businesses that are 0 to 2 years old. “So I said ‘why the hell are you here’  because those are the bulk of our businesses. Those are the clients that we have that are now starting up that need the most support, from 0 to 2 years old, and if you are telling me, as a bank, that you are not interested, then our conversation is ended,” Porter said. The Bureau’s boss urged businesses to insist on knowing what commercial businesses are doing for them.

The announcements were made at a conference aimed at stimulating Afro-Guyanese interest in accessing funds and understanding the rules of doing business, but a number of them said they expected more from the event.

“I came expecting to hear a bit more about loans and grants, but I did not. They should have allowed us to air our views more than just talking to us,” said one participant who has remigrated from Antigua.

Held under the auspices of the International Decade for People of African Descent- Guyana, the event brought together several government and private entities whose representatives interacted with attendees. They included the Small Business Bureau, Guyana Revenue Authority, Business Registry, Citizens Bank, Central Housing and Planning Authority, Credit Bureau , Institute of Private Enterprise Development and other entities.

After the just over one hour formal opening session, attendees milled around while others left. “Today, you are not going to get loans, you are not going to get grants but today your eyes will be opened,” he said.

Addressing the opening session, IPADA-G’s Alexander said Wednesday’s event was merely knowledge-sharing with the ultimate aim of getting loans and grants which have been a major obstacle for Afro-Guyanese businesses.

President of the African Business Roundtable, Eric Phillips remarked that economic power was key to political power in the same way that the Portuguese who make up 0.2 percent of Guyana’s population controls 10 percent of the economy and “wield a lot of political power because they have a lot of economic power”. He called on the attendees not to listen to people who tell them they could not succeed because history shows that Blacks have conducted successful businesses including purchasing the first village, Victoria, on the East Coast Demerara.

Phillips warned them against being dependent on an the oil economy because volatile oil prices could result in a crisis like in neighbouring oil-rich Venezuela. Instead, the Afro-Guyanese rights advocate said the must cease operating as small individual entrepreneurs but come to together to produce large amounts of agricultural produce to satisfy markets in the Caribbean and elsewhere. “We need to work in clusters. Too many of us are working individually. We can’t do that. Our culture in the village movement is about working in coops, working collectively,” he said.

Small business advocate, Patrick Zephyr singled out as a major weakness among Afro-Guyanese, the virtual lack of circulation of monies among themselves. In making out the case for a Black commercial bank, he likened such a financial institution unto a heart. “We need to have our monies circulating in the system and we need to have that heart to pump that money among ourselves,” said Zephyr of the Nile Valley Economic organisation.

The Small Business Bureau Act was passed in 2004 and the organisation began operations in 2010, with its first tranche of funds having been disbursed about four years ago.

Organisers said Wednesday’s event was organised by the IDPAD-G in keeping with President David Granger’s call for emphasis to be placed on economic and educational advancement in Guyana for the remainder of the decade that ends in 2025.

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/create-...m=264469020631542995

Nothing for sugar workers. I wonder why ?

Maybe because dem sugar workers are too eager to leave the country, or are not burning tires on the highway to draw attention to their plight, or maybe the PPP is not aggressive enough to defend dem people who supported them all dem years.

it's interesting to watch the usual suspects circle round this relatively innocuous news item, working their mediocre minds hard, trying to make a case of Gov't giving SOMETHING to BLACK people that is denied INDIAN people

sick stuff

Hey hey hey...loan foh afro business but coolie is not foh army...hey hey hey...look all dem ROAR coolie jumbie and coolie bank na give dem peopkle loan money...hey hey hey...one love do gooder Mr Ronan muss be celebrate since dem coolie bank doan give dem black peopkle money...hey hey hey...

it's interesting to watch the usual suspects circle round this relatively innocuous news item, working their mediocre minds hard, trying to make a case of Gov't giving SOMETHING to BLACK people that is denied INDIAN people

sick stuff

Hey hey hey...

Hey hey hey...loan foh afro business but coolie is not foh army...hey hey hey...look all dem ROAR coolie jumbie and coolie bank na give dem peopkle loan money...hey hey hey...one love do gooder Mr Ronan muss be celebrate since dem coolie bank doan give dem black peopkle money...hey hey hey...

Who stop them bhai ?? maybe you can write wan paper on the recruiting methods that stymied their enrollment.

De Kabaka did. It was discrimination. Look up de histry of de army ethnic brukdown percent when de British leff abie in the 60s. Hey hey hey...

Django, let me tell you this. I had a high school friend from one of the villages(I think 67 or 68). He was 5' 10". He passed a couple subjects GCE and applied for a job in the police force. He never heard from them. What does that tell you?

I had East Indian buddies in both GPF and GDF what does that tell you?

De Kabaka did. It was discrimination. Look up de histry of de army ethnic brukdown percent when de British leff abie in the 60s. Hey hey hey...

Suh why dem bhais from FH during their tenure correct what the Kabaka did ?bhai them had 23 yrs,me made wan suggestion that the GPF should reflect the demographics of the regions,me thinks nah me alone seh suh.

If was Kabaka time,his chances would have been slim.

Anyway from my village there was a lot of East Indians in the police force and GDF,also a female in the GDF.

Money talks; bullshit walks? Still happens today.

Suh why dem bhais from FH during their tenure correct what the Kabaka did ?bhai them had 23 yrs,me made wan suggestion that the GPF should reflect the demographics of the regions,me thinks nah me alone seh suh.

Dem bright peopkle like Mr Freddie, Mr Ronan gat a big word dem does use...Faustian bargain.  Meh does learn wan wan word fram dem. De PPP under dat evil, wicked sk&^%T Bharrat mek a Faustian bargain. Dem choose personal wealth over what is right. Yuh cyant enrich yuself and family and fren and same time balance military. Black peoppkle would not agree to dat. Yuh need wan grand bargain wid everybady pon de table,,,give and tek,,,Bharrat doan want dat. Hey hey hey...but it doan mean we muss shut up on dis matter? Na? 

Bullshit! Blaming the British is so dam easy..why did BJ not try to fill up the forces with East Indians when he was commander in chief?

Hey hey hey...yet de army was kickin football wid dem freedom fighta in Buxton. And den when dem had de gun salute in Buxton foh Mr Waddel funeral de army bais dem stand up and watch. Hey hey hey...

Bullshit! Blaming the British is so dam easy..why did BJ not try to fill up the forces with East Indians when he was commander in chief?

Hey hey hey...yet de army was kickin football wid dem freedom fighta in Buxton. And den when dem had de gun salute in Buxton foh Mr Waddel funeral de army bais dem stand up and watch. Hey hey hey...

What should they have done..killed Waddel again?

Go smoke yuh lil dope bai. Hey hey hey...

Dem bright peopkle like Mr Freddie, Mr Ronan gat a big word dem does use...Faustian bargain.  Meh does learn wan wan word fram dem. De PPP under dat evil, wicked sk&^%T Bharrat mek a Faustian bargain. Dem choose personal wealth over what is right. Yuh cyant enrich yuself and family and fren and same time balance military. Black peoppkle would not agree to dat. Yuh need wan grand bargain wid everybady pon de table,,,give and tek,,,Bharrat doan want dat. Hey hey hey...but it doan mean we muss shut up on dis matter? Na? 

Nope it have to be kept up front.

Talking bout Bharrat,me thinks he is worsest  that was shoved to represent the East Indian in Guyana,well who ah me fuh seh so.

Their parents were PNC members.

Daily here y'all preach how black people lazy, stupid, lack business sense, and not good for anything but being a teef man (and you have joined yourself to this crowd with your race baiting posts).

Why do you now have a problem wtih black people trying to set up their own business financing? Indians trade freely among themselves and support they mattie, why is it wrong for black people to do the same?

Their parents were PNC members.

Damn and he nah get in.

Daily here y'all preach how black people lazy, stupid, lack business sense, and not good for anything but being a teef man (and you have joined yourself to this crowd with your race baiting posts).

Why do you now have a problem wtih black people trying to set up their own business financing? Indians trade freely among themselves and support they mattie, why is it wrong for black people to do the same?

Hey hey hey...Yuh gat nuff nuff nuff successful blackpeople business in Guyana. Ayoo does show up de small numba super rich coolies as bargaining chip foh ayoo metem/dhall/barley soup from de treasury. Hey hey hey...ayoo busy destroyin de coolies in rural area. Ask Mr Phillips and de ACDA bais dem...hey hey hey...

Good wan there bhai Iggi,

duh is easy to disassemble.

My primary school teacher, a very good black man who became the headmaster of the school asked me "Bai, since when black people can run any business successfully"? Let's see how many of them will take the money and sport up and wine down. They see free money, why not take it and run? Abie deh pun tap now. Dem nah guh ask back fuh de money. Abie own peeple.

Yea...doh is exactly why dem rural coolies will suffer. Ayoo tink blackpeople doan own business. Blackman was de first real estate trada in British time. Dem coolies was in dem logies. Hey hey hey...

Eric Philips throwing water on the backs of ducks. It ain't gonna work. Afros have increased their participation in the last two decades due to the fact that government created a better environment for business to grow and prosper. The current government is anti business. Too much taxes on businesses and individuals to boost revenue to pay for ministers and other civil servants salaries. This does not not translate into economic growth. Borrow a page from BJ and you get results. Businesses have been suffering in the last couple of years and moreso for the Afro Guyanese. Eric needs to wake up and smell the coffee. Preaching the same old rhetoric would not change things

Yea...doh is exactly why dem rural coolies will suffer. Ayoo tink blackpeople doan own business. Blackman was de first real estate trada in British time. Dem coolies was in dem logies. Hey hey hey...

Labba_man, dem coolie bin ugly, but dem nah bin sthupid. Dem learn and look wah happen today. Dem black peeple ah look fuh handout. The last time Burnham built houses for them in Scotsburg, they used the walls to cook. The area has been reclaimed by coolie cane cutters...some big houses.

dem bruk up GAIbank.

Hey hey hey...Not dat dem seh. Dem seh coolie tek loan from guybank and na pay am back...hey hey hey...ayoo know dat foh fact? Or ayoo tek it like day and accept "dem bruk up guybank"? When dem seh doh dem mean coolie is de cause foh dem doan get loan today. Hey hey hey...

dem pissed because cbj closed the bank and sold the assets to beharry and dey found more money in de bank than dey paid for.

suh it was a myth dat black ppl bruk the bank. bcz all de money was in the bank. maybe the fiance man was a romance man wid the negotiations.

sick stuff

Mind explaining that?

sick stuff

Mind explaining that?

When successful Afro Guyanese, who own businesses outside of Guyana and can get access to banks in those countries, report that they cannot in Guyana you know that there is a problem.

But you endorse discrimination by the private sector if it is blacks who they punish.  So start screaming that it is racist for any discussion about whether there is discrimination against black by the banks in Guyana.

What is interesting is that prior to universal adult suffrage only those who owned property were allowed to vote.  The bulk of the voters in this era were blacks.  Indian advocates screamed for universal adult suffrage so that more Indians would be able to vote. 

Middle class blacks were against this because they feared Indo domination as Indians were the majority of the voting age population.  Having seen what happened during the 23 years of PPP Indocracy it is clear that their fears were in fact quite real as blacks of the educated class were systematically excluded.

So folks can peddle their racist myths to justify their racism against blacks.  The same ones cry and wail when similar racism is directed towards them by blacks.

My primary school teacher, a very good black man who became the headmaster of the school asked me "Bai, since when black people can run any business successfully"?

Of course this self hating negro was a "very good black man." 

I know that you don't think that self hating Indians, who call Indians a bunch of wife beating drunks intent on killing themselves with poison, are "very good Indians."