Close buddies through life ! Music Director Madan Mohan:

Talat first met music director Madan Mohan when Madan came to live in Lucknow for a while. Their love for ghazals made them good friends. In a friendly gesture, Madan promised Talat that once he went back to Bombay and signed on films as a music director he would definitely use Talat's voice. Madan was true to his promise and Talat and Madan teamed up for many hits in many films including Jahan Ara, Madhosh, Ashiana, Haqeeqat and others. They enjoyed a close bond of friendship throughout their lives.

Originally posted by RQ:
happy u r back n on deh bb....great job on deh golden greats era... cheers2 newyear2

Thanks again RQ always a pleasure listening and taking the comments from someone as knowlwdgeable as you are.

Its is a pity that we could not have accessed the Talat Ghazals in MP3 recordings for our readers delights, so soothing at time listening to Ghazals from the golden era, bringing that nostalgic memories to the fore once more.

Originally posted by asj:
Originally posted by RQ:
happy u r back n on deh bb....great job on deh golden greats era... cheers2 newyear2

Thanks again RQ always a pleasure listening and taking the comments from someone as knowlwdgeable as you are.

Its is a pity that we could not have accessed the Talat Ghazals in MP3 recordings for our readers delights, so soothing at time listening to Ghazals from the golden era, bringing that nostalgic memories to the fore once more.

by deh way..am partial to golden greats eras as i was born n bred among those greats...meh fadda sang dem tunes swingin away in deh hammock unda deh battamhouse...great memories.. cheers2
Originally posted by asj:
Originally posted by Devdas:
Yes...I do remember when it was only a few of us here too...hope all is well as well can be.

Yes Dev, and in the coming year.....I hope that we will cover some more artiste in the Art of Ghazal Singing.

Hey Ven Buddy enjoy your vacation....we need you back since yesterday.

i second deh same sentiments....happy new year to yu both and may life in the new year bring abundance of happiness with love n peace.. cheers2 newyear2
Yes Dev, and in the coming year.....I hope that we will cover some more artiste in the Art of Ghazal Singing.

Hey Ven Buddy enjoy your vacation....we need you back since yesterday.

i second deh same sentiments....happy new year to yu both and may life in the new year bring abundance of happiness with love n peace..

Update, Ven has made communications with me and he will be back shortly, so we can get this baby off, again.

ow...my dad used to sing dat to me when he was rocking me to sleep

Hi dids, so wonderful that "Ghazals" can make you remember those moments of joy spent with your dad.

Lets hope that he lives to hit that century, and well play with his grands and still sings Talat Mahmood's

"Tasveer banata hoon, tasveer nahiin banatii"
I am drawing your picture, but it does not work

Originally posted by chameli:
Originally posted by RQ:
asj...#2...my fav...often hummin ... Big Grin

copy malibuntahRazz

lol

ow...my dad used to sing dat to me when he was rocking me to sleep...and he still sings it to me (i jes got all sad....I will miss my Papa so much when he is gone...I am Blessed, he is healthy even after smoking for 60 yrs)

kerr yuh tale.. Big Grin..na capy gyal Razz...meh fadda sang dat tune to all abeedese...and tuh deh grans as well...shakin in deh hammick unda deh battamhouse...nostalgic memories...of yesteryears...dem golden years haad fuh fugat.. headbanging
The Quiver: Anil Biswas on Talat Mahmood
- the time of discovery

I have always kept an eye open for fresh talents and fresh voices, and it was during one of those try outs that a tall lanky man from Calcutta said he was desirous of acting in films and as he had already sung in Calcutta as Tapan Kumar, he could break through. I sized him up and asked him to sing a song, and as he started off, I was mesmerized. His voice didnt have any classical base, but his voice was such that you just felt like closing your eyes and listening. I asked him to come the next day saying I would give him a song- and he better forget his acting for the time. The next day, as he sang, I was bemused. That beautiful quiver in his voice which had attracted me was missing. I stopped him and when asked about it, Talat replied "Dada, everyone says my voice shivers - I was trying to correct it". I was furious and asked him to get out and get the voice I had chosen - the Talat Mahmood I had chosen. He immediately obliged - and at the end of the rehearsal, I told him, "Thats how you will sing from now" - and he did. From then on he never did look back - at least not as long as I was there.

That song was "Ae dil mujhe aisi jagah le chal" in "Arzoo" on Dilip Kumar. He became The voice of the Tragedy King and the pathos in Talat's voice so ideally suited the tragic image that Dilip Kumar developed for himself.

Ae dil mujhe aisi jagah le chal

THE VIDEO:
AYE-DIL-MUJHE-AISI-JAGAH

Film : Arzoo
Singer: Talat Mahmood
Music : Anil Biswas
Lyrics:

(Aye dil mujhe aaisi jagah le chal jahaan koi naho)
Apna paraaya meharbaan naa-meharbaan koi na ho
Aye dil mujhe aaisi jagah le chal jahaan koi naho

(Ja kar kahi kho jaau main,
Neend aaye aur so jaau main
Neend aaye aur so jaau main)2
(Duniya mujhe dhoondhe magar mera nishaan koi na ho)2

Aye dil mujhe aaisi jagah le chal

(Ulfat ka badla mil gaya,
Vo gam luta vo dil gaya,
Vo gam luta vo dil gaya )2
(Chalna hain sab se door door ab kaarvaan koi naho)

Apna paraaya meharbaan naa-meharbaan koi naho

Aye dil mujhe aaisi jagah le chal..

This one is not a Ghazal per se, as Ven would rightly say
But since we are featuring Talat, I could not resist bringing this to the fore:

TALAT MAHMOOD: THE GOLDEN VOICE:

"I think I had better give up singing. How can I dare open my mouth so long as such a perennially romantic voice is around !", said Kishore Kumar after listening to Talat Sahab's voice. The above statement of a legend like Kishoreda is more than enough to fathom the quality of Talat Sahab's voice. He was known as the 'King of Ghazals' and his voice was considered as the 'Golden Voice'.

Movie :Aaram
Singer:Talat Mahmood
Music :Anil Biswas
Lyrics:

13) SHUKRIYA AI PYAR TERA: MP 3:

He strides like a colossus in the field of ghazals - a KING whose name is surpassed by none !!!

Shukriyaaa, Shukriyaaaa

Shukriya Ai Pyar Tera, Shukriya Shukriya,
Shukriya Ai Pyar
(Dil Ko Kitana Khubasurat Gam Diya, Shukriya)2

Shukriya Ai Pyar Tera.....

(Ankhoon Ko Aansu Diye Jo Motiyon Se Kam Nahin)2
(Dil Ko Itane Gam Diye Ki Ab Koi Bhi Gam Nahin)2
Meharabaan Jo Kuchh Diya Achchha Kiya, Shukriya

Shukriya Ai Pyar Tera .......

Zindagi Ko Dard Mein Dube Tarane De Diye
Hasaraton Ko Arazu Ke Khajane De Diye
Ye Navazish Hai Tera Kya Kya Diya, Shukriya

Shukriya Ai Pyar Tera........

GHAZALS:

On his visit to India Mehdi Hassan revealed when he reached Talat Mahmood's residence that "It was through the vocals of Talat Saab that I discovered the goldmine in my throat. His songs like 'Ek main hoon ek meri bekasi ki shaam hai' and 'Husn walon ko na dil do ye mita dete hain' had left a lasting impression on me. It was whilst singing these two Talat numbers on stage in the early years of my singing career, that I held an audience of 10,000 in Pindi spellbound ! Believe it or not, the moment I completed singing these two Talat hits, the Pindi audience showered me with money and in a trice I had collected almost about Rs.14,000 ! All this, was of course, courtesy Talat Saab ! "

GHAZALS:

PANKAJ UDAS ON TALAT SAAB:

"Whenever there is a discussion on ghazals only one name comes to your lips - that of Shahenshah e Ghazal Janab Talat Mahmood ! I am very much influenced by him and his music. His singing style, his soft velvety voice, his sweet, emotion filled, tuneful film songs, geets and ghazals..... a voice so sweet that you can listen to it for hours on end..... and you get that feeling of sweet nectar being poured into your ears ! "

GHAZALS:

In 1979, Talat performed at the world renowned Royal Albert Hall, London, selling out all tickets
2 weeks before the concert date! Talat was the second playback singer after Lata Mangeshkar to
be permitted to perform at this historical venue. Here, Talat waves to a capacity crowd of his ardent
and ever-loving fans after his hugely successful concert.
Courtesy: Khalid Mahmood son of Talat Mahmood:

GHAZALS:

Legendary singer died on May 9 ten years ago

It was on this day (May 9) eleven years ago that legendary singer Talat Mahmood (pictured left) died. At that time his daughter Sabina, who lives in Poland, had not been able to reach Mumbai to see her father's body.

Sabina's brother Khalid did not wait for her and her husband Riki Rana for the funeral. Many of Mahmood's admirers felt let down because they could not pay their last respects to the legendary singer.

To pay homage to her father and to overcome her grief, Sabina collected many of Mahmood's fans in Poland for a programme in his memory on Friday evening. The event began with a performance by Rana of the singer's favourite song "Seene mein sulagte hein arman" from the movie "Tarana". The song was composed by Anil Biswas, the music director who introduced Mahmood to Bollywood in 1949.

There was hardly a dry eye during the two hours that Rana sang many great numbers of his father-in-law. Still the audience wanted more.

Rana concluded the programme with "Hain sab se madhur vo geet jinhe, hum dard ke sur mein gate hein" (Our sweetest songs are those that tell of saddest thoughts).

"If Riki is so good then what about Talat Mahmood? He must have been a king in his time. The pathos of his songs has been heart touching," said Janusz Krzyzowski, author of "Bollywood Poetry" and president of the India Polish Cultural Committee.

Surender Zahid, an Urdu poet living in Poland, was of the opinion that real ghazal singing had died with Mahmood.

"Whether it was Mehdi Hassan or Jagjit Singh, all the great ghazal singers have consciously or unconsciously imitated Talat Mahmood. His greatest contribution was his selection from classical Urdu poetry.

"The works of great poets like Ghalib, Mir, Daag and Faiz were interpreted in a new manner whenever Talat Mahmood sang them. He was a purist to the core and his diction was so sublime...almost unique," said Zahid.

Sabina related many incidents of life with her father, who fondly called her Shoby.

She remembered how she once forced Mahmood to attend a concert by Kishore Kumar, who was highly flattered that such a great artiste had come to hear him sing and invited him on stage.

On another occasion, when the Saudi Arabian consulate in Mumbai refused to give a visa to Sabina to accompany him for his concert, Mahmood threatened to cancel his programme. In no time the visa was arranged for Sabina by the organisers in Jeddah.

Indo-Asian News Service

GHAZALS:

Jahanara was the film in which Talat had his last burst of glory with ghazals like phir wohi shaam, teri aankh ke aansoon pee jaoon, main teri nazar ka saroor hoon. With mere sharek-e-safar ab tera khuda hafi (Wali Aazam), Talat bid goodbye to Bollywood.

Chain-smoking gradually took a toll of Talat’s silken-soft voice. At the fag end of his career, forget singing, Talat could not even speak properly.

It is not as if there were no other good ghazal singers during or after Talat’s time. There are Jagjit Singh-Chitra Singh, Anoop Jalota, Pankaj Udhas, Peenaz Masani, Talat Aziz, Ashok Khosla and others. But hardly anyone has been able to match Talat’s caressing style in gham-e-zindagi ka yaa rabb na mila koi kinara. It really hurt Talat to see the sudden change in tastes and tunes. The fusion of Indian music and the western synthesiser brought the age of ear-splitting rather than the soul-stirring ghazal. Talat died a depressed and dejected man seeing this downslide of music.