November 5 2018

Amid a raging dispute over tolls, the Guyana Government today said it was taking temporary control of the Berbice Bridge effective today.

The move announced this morning will likely raise concerns in the investment community as it will be seen as draconian use of ministerial powers in relation to private property.

A statement from Minister of Public Infrastructure David Patterson follows:

STATEMENT BY THE MINISTER OF PUBLIC INFRASTRUCTURE ON THE BERBICE RIVER BRIDGE

The Government of Guyana (GoG) and the Board of Directors of the Berbice Bridge Company Limited (BBCI) have been engaged in a public dispute regarding a unilateral announcement on October 16, 2018 by BBCI to impose draconian toll increases at the Berbice River Bridge.

This dispute has been ongoing for a number of years and came to a head recently when BBCI demanded a 360% increase on the toll for users of the Bridge, which is slated to take effect on November 12, 2018.

We have stated publicly that the Ministry of Public Infrastructure and the Government of Guyana cannot support the unreasonable demand for an increase in toll on the public which is based on a flawed formula and computation. We have stated that these increases by BBCI are unwarranted and will become burdensome to the people of Berbice and the public, at-large.

On the basis of correspondence between both sides as recently as over the past few days, we do not envision a swift resolution to this crisis.

Therefore, in accordance with the powers conferred upon the Minister by Sections 4 (1) and 11 of the Berbice River Bridge Act, in the interests of public safety, the Minister issued (today) an Order declaring that the functions of the Concessionaire to maintain and operate the Bridge shall be exercised by the Government of Guyana as of 5th November 2018 until the date the Minister specifies by notice on the cessation of the threat to public safety.

We will do everything in our powers to alleviate disruption to the public and ensure that the assumption of these functions is as smooth as possible.

The truth is, too many of our citizens are dependent on the continuous operations and use of the Berbice Bridge and we should not allow anyone to unreasonably and capriciously endanger their livelihood and public order in one of our vital regions.

The Ministry of Public Infrastructure would like to assure the citizens of Berbice and the public in general on behalf of the Government of Guyana that there will be no change to the present toll structure and all exemptions presently in place will remain in effect.

Equally, there will be no change to the staffing complement, contractors and suppliers as we transition into this new and hopefully temporary arrangement.

And finally, we will be continuing our dialogue with BBCI in expectation of an amicable resolution to the dispute.

Ministry of Public Infrastructure Government of Guyana November 4, 2018

"The move announced this morning will likely raise concerns in the investment community as it will be seen as draconian use of ministerial powers in relation to private property."

What's your thoughts on the above ?

My views are public infrastructure, should be in government hands, Min.Patterson is within his rights to take control of the Berbice River Bridge.

Bunham nationalized the Sugar Industry and screw it up, Patterson takes over the Bridge and soon we will be singing " Berbice Bridge is falling sown, falling down"!!!!!!

Take over the bridge and close it down like they did the sugar estates. Punish dem damn coolies for not voting PNC.

November 5 2018,  Source

Amid a raging dispute over tolls, the Guyana Government today said it was taking temporary control of the Berbice Bridge effective today.

The move announced this morning will likely raise concerns in the investment community as it will be seen as draconian use of ministerial powers in relation to private property.

On the basis of correspondence between both sides as recently as over the past few days, we do not envision a swift resolution to this crisis.

Therefore, in accordance with the powers conferred upon the Minister by Sections 4 (1) and 11 of the Berbice River Bridge Act, in the interests of public safety, the Minister issued (today) an Order declaring that the functions of the Concessionaire to maintain and operate the Bridge shall be exercised by the Government of Guyana as of 5th November 2018 until the date the Minister specifies by notice on the cessation of the threat to public safety.

[[Quote]]

... in the interests of public safety ...

[[Unquote]]

Perhaps, PNCR/AFC government needs to state clearly what exactly are the -- interests of public safety -- for individuals to know the reasons.

November 5 2018,  Source

..November 2018 until the date the Minister specifies by notice on the cessation of the threat to public safety.

[[Quote]]

... in the interests of public safety ...

[[Unquote]]

Perhaps, PNCR/AFC government needs to state clearly what exactly are the -- interests of public safety -- for individuals to know the reasons.

Prevent It falling donk!!!

Bunham nationalized the Sugar Industry and screw it up, Patterson takes over the Bridge and soon we will be singing " Berbice Bridge is falling sown, falling down"!!!!!!

Let's start with that premise. In the 23 years AFTER Burnham, what did the incoming administration do to correct those mistakes and improve the sugar industry?

Last edited by GTAngler

Let's start with that premise. In the 23 years AFTER Burnham, what did the incoming administration do to correct those mistakes and improve the sugar industry?

You will have a long wait.

Some folks don't know nothing about the Sugar Industry, if they take some time lots of info on GUYSUCO Website.

How much revenues did the BBC lost from 2015 to present as a result of the reduction of tolls by the coalition government? 

BBCI is getting subsidy to keep the tolls at current pricing.

What's your thoughts wrong move to take control of the bridge ?

How much revenues did the BBC lost from 2015 to present as a result of the reduction of tolls by the coalition government? 

I believe they paid the difference out of the treasury....subsidized!!

BBCI is getting subsidy.

Since the government is an expert at managing infrastructure, I expect the Berbice Bridge to be floating downstream in just a matter of time.  

Another shittypost.

Bai leff dah gyaal alone nuh.   She gah fuh vent someweh

Since the government is an expert at managing infrastructure, I expect the Berbice Bridge to be floating downstream in just a matter of time.  

Another shittypost.

When people hammer your backside you run crying to Admin, if you don't like posters ,keep off their postings other than writing SHIT.

It's time dis de facto regime implement a levy on gold and bauxite an oil an gas to help de bruddahs in de sugah industry 

after all dem did duh to guysuco way back to float dem "boat"

Actually dawling, govts should be that expert.  But they may subcontract the various tasks to private entities!

One of the possibilities.

Another shittypost.

When people hammer your backside you run crying to Admin, if you don't like posters ,keep off their postings other than writing SHIT.

If he blocked our posts how is he able to read them.  I can’t tell which is worse - his lying or his madness.

Another shittypost.

If he blocked our posts how is he able to read them.  I can’t tell which is worse - his lying or his madness.

Dawling, you may have missed it as you were off on your big shindig in Florida.  In the spirit of Diwali, he unblocked all “prisoners”!

One day some yall crying fuh de Govt do something....when they do something, yall start crying...is not like any of you have to pay the high tolls

it is the right move . . . but cunning is needed going forward

the moneyed corruptocrats don’t just roll over

plenty tings happening behind the scenes

Another shittypost.

Correct. He was running and crying to Admin about slop can and black baigan but he and Django use the term Shitty Post all day long. Go figure. 

Another shittypost.

Correct. He was running and crying to Admin about slop can and black baigan but he and Django use the term Shitty Post all day long. Go figure.

How Django is in this conversation.

Click here to find out

One day some yall crying fuh de Govt do something....when they do something, yall start crying...is not like any of you have to pay the high tolls

They will eventually need to compensate the investors at FMV if they want to retain credibility of the investment climate!

the leeches will speculate and say they are owed potential earnings up to another 19 years. I say nationalize it in the peoples interest and give them back 1:1 what they can demonstrate they invested.

Stop talking like a dick head.  The GoG has to do things in a way that does not damage investor confidence.

Another shittypost.

You ain't getting a vacation home from me. Yugi and KP are loaded. Happy Diwali. 

Another shittypost.

How Django is in this conversation.

Click here to find out

Bekuzzz you is starbai!

The BBC must tell the nation or government if this increase in toll charges is necessary to break even or if it is to reward investors with double digit returns.  If it's the latter i say it must not happen. Investors must accept risk in investing.  You will make in some years and lose in others. We need more information on this issue to pronounce on it

Stop talking like a dick head.  The GoG has to do things in a way that does not damage investor confidence.

the one thing that MUST NOT happen is an extension of the vampirish control of the bridge by Jagdeo’s parasites

Beware of those parasites.  They are nested everywhere.  BK's tentacles reaches from Sophia to Robb street.  Not sure what street Freedom House is on

the one thing that MUST NOT happen is an extension of the vampirish control of the bridge by Jagdeo’s  burnham parasitic Pis eN Cee clan 

The BBC must tell the nation or government if this increase in toll charges is necessary to break even or if it is to reward investors with double digit returns.  If it's the latter i say it must not happen. Investors must accept risk in investing.  You will make in some years and lose in others. We need more information on this issue to pronounce on it

The fact of the matter it’s irrelevant. If you increase an already unaffordable rate, it will drive traffic further down, then you have to increase again.  It’s a death spiral!

What is needed is a lowering of the tolls to increase volumes and compensate.  Like any business venture, you run losses at the start. The problem here, who funds those losses? 

I don’t see any solution without government participation.  And clearly this was not properly covered or it would have already  been exercised!!