Gilbacka,

In your heart what was the purpose of the name change? Did you nihka?

You have to tell me, chief. I didn't ask for it. My Muslim in-laws told me that if I wanted to marry their daughter I had to choose a Muslim name and let them know before the wedding day.

During the ceremony the Moulvi addressed me as Feroze Mohamed in the presence of invited guests and at the end he pronounced us man and wife. The registration of the marriage took place later, at GRO in Georgetown, and I used my birth certificate name with the concurrence of my in-laws.

As I said, I am not the only one with that wedding experience.

Gilly,

What you are describing there is the mistake that Guyanese muslims made then and to this day continue to make. Today when Guyanese muslims do differently, like explaining to the non muslim that they is no compulsion in religion and if he does not take the shahadah willingly it's a waste of time,  we are hearing from folks like Nehru and Raymond that we are now Arabnized.

As far as I am concerned you took the shahadah Gilbacka, willingly or unwillingly, you still have time to proclaim in the oneness of God.

Chief, at that time it had looked like compulsion to me. And not only me. Some fellow Hindus who married Muslim girls told me that, like me, they were told in no uncertain terms that they had to do the nikka, which is the exact word their in-laws used, and submit a Muslim name or one would be chosen for them. Believe me.

I'm glad to hear you say there is no compulsion.

Gilly on the other side of the coin many Hindu boys feel  that they can nikha  for convenience just to get the muslim girl.

Both scenarios are playing out to this day.

Does this nikha thing have to do with the hindu boy getting a muslim name and throwing the kerchief over his head and the Moulvi reading?

Gilly on the other side of the coin many Hindu boys feel  that they can nikha  for convenience just to get the muslim girl.

This is the way I see it, Chief: If a Hindu boy wants to marry a Muslim girl, or if a Muslim boy wants to marry a Hindu girl, those young persons are marrying because they love each other and want to spend their future together. They are not marrying because they want to change their religion; conversion doesn't necessitate marriage.

There should be mutual respect on both sides, and indeed I witnessed a few such cases where the Muslim side did the Muslim rites and the Hindu side did the Hindu rites. Both sides win.

Does this nikha thing have to do with the hindu boy getting a muslim name and throwing the kerchief over his head and the Moulvi reading?

My father-in-law lent me his kufi so I didn't need a kerchief. A velvet black kufi.

Oh raas. Me daaj dah nikah ting wan time. Dem peeple try fuh get me fuh do dah and me tell dem me go come back fuh discuss de process.  I suspected that something was not right when the mother told me that no one would know.

This is the way I see it, Chief: If a Hindu boy wants to marry a Muslim girl, or if a Muslim boy wants to marry a Hindu girl, those young persons are marrying because they love each other and want to spend their future together. They are not marrying because they want to change their religion; conversion doesn't necessitate marriage.

There should be mutual respect on both sides, and indeed I witnessed a few such cases where the Muslim side did the Muslim rites and the Hindu side did the Hindu rites. Both sides win.

Both sides winning at the wedding  produced children who lose out.

I have seen a lot of sad ending and children being confused to the point where they lash out at their parents for being fools. Many times after the novelty and excitement  is over for the married couple they become very very bitter and each side trying their best to influence the children to take their side of the religion.

I totally disagree with you , mu advise is to choose one religion at the time of getting married. Many people think they can fool God.

I have seen a lot of sad ending and children being confused to the point where they lash out at their parents for being fools. Many times after the novelty and excitement  is over for the married couple they become very very bitter and each side trying their best to influence the children to take their side of the religion.

I totally disagree with you , mu advise is to choose one religion at the time of getting married. Many people think they can fool God.

You talking pure nonsense. It is also self evident since you say there is no compulsion to religion and now you are fabricating psychological states per religious confusion. If the child understand that god, if he exists, has to be conceptually all forgiving and all loving then the child will not fear a mistake if they try to live right. God in any religion is conceived to be all knowing. To then say the that all knowing god requires knowledge of specific rituals and nomenclature otherwise one becomes mentally damaged is bunk.

Mature and tolerant couples will respect each other's religion. My wife observes Muslim holidays, for instance, and I observe Hindu ones. No clash on that score.

Religion is a personal choice. I have a Christian friend whose wife is Jewish. Like us, they observe each other's feast days in the family. They have two kids and the younger one says he's a Buddhist. His parents aren't discouraging him. That's maturity.

You talking pure nonsense. It is also self evident since you say there is no compulsion to religion and now you are fabricating psychological states per religious confusion. If the child understand that god, if he exists, has to be conceptually all forgiving and all loving then the child will not fear a mistake if they try to live right. God in any religion is conceived to be all knowing. To then say the that all knowing god requires knowledge of specific rituals and nomenclature otherwise one becomes mentally damaged is bunk.

D2 is your son Hindu?

Mature and tolerant couples will respect each other's religion. My wife observes Muslim holidays, for instance, and I observe Hindu ones. No clash on that score.

Religion is a personal choice. I have a Christian friend whose wife is Jewish. Like us, they observe each other's feast days in the family. They have two kids and the younger one says he's a Buddhist. His parents aren't discouraging him. That's maturity.

Again you are naming just 2 couples, I live among the people who are experiencing difficulties but is ashamed to call it a day, especially the muslim women.

Thank you Sir. Dat man is a danger to Society!!!

Nehru you drink piss and  now you frothing from your ass.

Chief, with a response like this, you surely must not expect respect as a Muslim leader.

Whatever Nehru is or says, he does not deserve that kind of answer from a community leader like you.

You have an example to set, and you must set it.

Originally Posted by Sheik Ally:

WOW:Nikka name is Feroze Mohamed, so what is your real name Gilbakka?

I was not advising you, many people give their children names without knowing the meaning and importance. I was explaining to you, the importance and being able to carry the burden of the name Muhammed.You do not have to be so ignorant and say you put me to my place. Sheik.

Well said Sheik.

Gilbaka has proven that he is a dankey to change his name all because he wants a muslim as a wife.

Stop fooling God.

Chief, with due respect, I was/am not the only non-Muslim in Guyana who married a Muslim and had/have to undergo the nikka with a Muslim name.

I never said I changed my name. I was required to choose a Muslim name for the wedding according to Muslim rites. I was not required to get a deed poll or name-change document.

Once, there was a birthday party held for a Madrassie fella who married a muslim girl. The father-in-law keep referring to the fella with a muslim name. One old Madrassie man at the function interrupted the father-in-law. His dispute, "In the presence of friends and family, you are disrespectful to the parents of Vallidumkandasammy." He continued, it wasn't necessary FOR YOU TO CHANGE HIS NAME and now you want the man's brothers and sisters to call him such.   

Alright, brothers. Let's walk through another alley. [No pun intended].

In the 1950s and 1960s I knew quite a number of Muslims in Guyana who had preferred to identify themselves as Mohammedans.

I don't know exactly when the word Mohammedan ceased being in vogue but by the 1990s every believer I knew preferred to be called a Muslim.

Any comment?

In India, they called them Mohammedans-very early in Bengal. 

Originally Posted by ksazma:

The chick from Debbie does Dallas would be my pick for a great woman.

Dude Debbie aint got nothing on Bathsheba. David spoke to god, felt his presence, got saved by him a few times and one look at 'Sheba  bathing on the roof and he was willing to forget his teachings and murder a man to get between her and her linens!

David got nothing on Rueben who was screwing his father's wife on their rooftop. We got a place down here call Rooftop Resort where groupies go and co-habit. Maybe they got the idea from Rueben.

THERE IS SOMETHING definitely wrong with you. It is hate. That is a demonic spirit you have. I hope you take sometime and have deep reflections. Mohammad would never have such venom. Many of you who call his name should cease. Or, if he has the power of God, he should condemn your hearts. You people are so confused, it is unbelievable that your scholars claim that Mohammad is the Comforter the Christ spoke about.

Mek up alyuh blasted mind.

The bible is full of stories of wonderful women...some leaders of their people and even rulers. There is only one such in Hindu literature, Gargi even though there goddesses of distinction.

I might add, the western world is also full of women some great queens. My favorite women in western history is Eleanor of Aquitaine

Those rights were not available to women before Muhammad. The Bible treats women as substandard creatures. Even Paul who is supposed to be the moderator of Jesus' teachings said that women must be subservient to men. They did not have the kind of right that Muhammad afforded to women during his time.

Everyone of the women mentioned were instrumental to the continuance of gods plan for a people if we see the bible as a morality tale weaved by god through the lives of a people. I do not care what Paul said. Pauline philosophy is an invention of Paul not Jesus. He did not know him except as was told to him by Stephen and the other disciples he met. The Jerusalem church split with Paul on account of his ideas. That he is the father of Christianity is one of the reason there is a schism with Jews

The Bible told of those women but it did not give them the rights that is being suggested by them being who they are. Throughout the Bible, women are regarded as subservient even to the point where Judah, the father of Judaism would see it fit to send his son to co-habit with his dead brother's wife. He should have had his son marry her first. Regarding Jesus' teachings, they were all for the lost tribes of the House of Israel. At no point while he walked the earth did he ever care for anyone else. In fact he was most disrespectful to them and ignored their pleas for help. The Bible itself confirmed that he spoke in parables so that the common people would not understand him, thereby doing what he was teaching to his inner circle and be saved. By Jesus' own admission, he came only to the lost sheep of the House of Israel.

That culture produced queens in the literature and queens in reality. That alone tells me it, for all its prohibitions, did not serve to limit women ability to rise to the top in a world where no other culture could match up...not indian...not chinese...not animists...not islamic and surely only surpassed by secularism

When the Bible speaks of what is required of women, it relegate them to subservient creatures. There is no culture of women lib there. They were there for men's joy and satisfaction. 

Alright, brothers. Let's walk through another alley. [No pun intended].

In the 1950s and 1960s I knew quite a number of Muslims in Guyana who had preferred to identify themselves as Mohammedans.

I don't know exactly when the word Mohammedan ceased being in vogue but by the 1990s every believer I knew preferred to be called a Muslim.

Any comment?

Mohammedan was a term devised by a European to describe Muslims who used it like we all used terms given to us by our European masters. Once we free our minds of these masters, we find a way to free ourselves of their labels also. Similar to how Bombay is back to being Mumbai.  

Muhamad ( uwbp) is the best human being that touched this earth.

Chief, frankly, a Christian would dispute your claim.

A Jew would disagree with you.

Billions of people would disagree with you.

That is what he would not accept since he like any religious person ( including the billions who disagree with him) rely on the the criteria for theory selection that resides in faith in Nancy stories. The criteria for rational theory selection is not even acknowledged in these arguments except when it harmonizes with theology.

Yet when Michael Hart wrote about who is the most influential person in history, he placed Muhammad as number one. Ahead of even Isaac Newton. And his list was not even based on theology. Hart even placed Paul ahead of Jesus because he argued that Paul was responsible for Christianity, not Jesus. There are numerous non-Muslims, religious or not who concluded that Muhammad was the most successful religious figure of all time. Want to go to the other major world religion? Read what Gandhi wrote about Muhammad. People can disagree how much they want but the record is there for all to see if they care to do so.

Yuh keep forgetting that Mohammad was raised in a Jewish culture. And women had rights then too. Abraham and Sarah shared a deep relationship where rights and property were important.

Muhammad was not raised in a Jewish culture.

Well, if you dispute the God of the Jews who came down on Mount Sinai in Fire and cloud. And Who spoke to Moses on earth in comparison to Mohammad who claimed was taken up just as Enoch and Elijah, then you claiming no one at the time knew of One God. And the entire world was worshipping the multiplicity of the Hitite gods when Mohammad lived. Next you goan tell me that the library of books Mohammad first wife had, there were nothing of ancient writing. Suh wah was Mohammad reading?   

Gilbacka,

In your heart what was the purpose of the name change? Did you nihka?

You have to tell me, chief. I didn't ask for it. My Muslim in-laws told me that if I wanted to marry their daughter I had to choose a Muslim name and let them know before the wedding day.

During the ceremony the Moulvi addressed me as Feroze Mohamed in the presence of invited guests and at the end he pronounced us man and wife. The registration of the marriage took place later, at GRO in Georgetown, and I used my birth certificate name with the concurrence of my in-laws.

As I said, I am not the only one with that wedding experience.

Gilly,

What you are describing there is the mistake that Guyanese muslims made then and to this day continue to make. Today when Guyanese muslims do differently, like explaining to the non muslim that they is no compulsion in religion and if he does not take the shahadah willingly it's a waste of time,  we are hearing from folks like Nehru and Raymond that we are now Arabnized.

As far as I am concerned you took the shahadah Gilbacka, willingly or unwillingly, you still have time to proclaim in the oneness of God.

Chief, at that time it had looked like compulsion to me. And not only me. Some fellow Hindus who married Muslim girls told me that, like me, they were told in no uncertain terms that they had to do the nikka, which is the exact word their in-laws used, and submit a Muslim name or one would be chosen for them. Believe me.

I'm glad to hear you say there is no compulsion.

The religious explanation given as to why it is advised that Muslim women do not marry non-Muslim men was precisely in line with what Chief is stating above. In the days of the Prophet, women were property and have to do as men tell them to. Since there was concern that a Muslim women would be prohibited from practicing her religion in a non-Muslim home, she was advised to marry a Muslim. On the other hand, a Muslim man was also prohibited from forcing his wife to give up her religion so she was deem to be safe in a Muslim home. Now a lot has changed from those Muhammedan  days where today Muslim are forcing others but that was not Muhammad's expectation. Another way in which he raised the level of women.  

Oh raas. Me daaj dah nikah ting wan time. Dem peeple try fuh get me fuh do dah and me tell dem me go come back fuh discuss de process.  I suspected that something was not right when the mother told me that no one would know.

Is there any point given for being up front with your plan. I know this story of a Muslim girl who went to Surinaam to escape the Burnham destruction of Guyana and she met a Hindu boy and agreed to marry him. His mother claimed that she knew no English and the boy said that they will have a quiet wedding between family. He did not discuss that the wedding would be a Hindu religious one until the girl found herself in that situation. The girl was not pleased and because the boy was not religious, she was able to return to her Muslim ways after they left Surinam where they were living with his mother. Sometimes people trick others into doing things rather than be up front with them. In my opinion, deceit is unforgivable. 

This is very true. And it is not limited to only Muslims.

You are ignoring those growing years that Chief refer to when the novelty has worn off and the two parents are in constant dispute over religion and the child is now essentially in a state if virtual child abuse. Maybe later one when that child has grown they will find the maturity you are referring to but those growing years don't not exist. No different from when parents are arguing about things that are not religion related where Psychologists label it as child abuse. Couples do have those disagreements.

Agreed but not everyone is matured. You cannot ignore that for those not able to have that same maturity, Chief's suggestion of staying within their culture/religion is better for them.

Again you are naming just 2 couples, I live among the people who are experiencing difficulties but is ashamed to call it a day, especially the muslim women.

When it is convenient, some people like to see the world through rose colored glasses.

The chick from Debbie does Dallas would be my pick for a great woman.

Dude Debbie aint got nothing on Bathsheba. David spoke to god, felt his presence, got saved by him a few times and one look at 'Sheba  bathing on the roof and he was willing to forget his teachings and murder a man to get between her and her linens!

David got nothing on Rueben who was screwing his father's wife on their rooftop. We got a place down here call Rooftop Resort where groupies go and co-habit. Maybe they got the idea from Rueben.

THERE IS SOMETHING definitely wrong with you. It is hate. That is a demonic spirit you have. I hope you take sometime and have deep reflections. Mohammad would never have such venom. Many of you who call his name should cease. Or, if he has the power of God, he should condemn your hearts. You people are so confused, it is unbelievable that your scholars claim that Mohammad is the Comforter the Christ spoke about.

Mek up alyuh blasted mind.

Did I misrepresent the passage in the Bible. Or are you upset that the quote from the Bible is venomous? Muhammad was about truth He dis not mince the truth. Jesus prophesized that Muhammad will be the Spirit of Truth. If you don't like what the Bible stated, take it out with the Bible, not me. It is the same Bible that stated that the two sisters like penises the size of donkeys' whose ejaculations were the quantity of horses'.

Yuh keep forgetting that Mohammad was raised in a Jewish culture. And women had rights then too. Abraham and Sarah shared a deep relationship where rights and property were important.

Muhammad was not raised in a Jewish culture.

Well, if you dispute the God of the Jews who came down on Mount Sinai in Fire and cloud. And Who spoke to Moses on earth in comparison to Mohammad who claimed was taken up just as Enoch and Elijah, then you claiming no one at the time knew of One God. And the entire world was worshipping the multiplicity of the Hitite gods when Mohammad lived. Next you goan tell me that the library of books Mohammad first wife had, there were nothing of ancient writing. Suh wah was Mohammad reading?   

Muhammad wasn't reading anything. He could not read. He never even read he Qur'an, only recited it many times. It was narrated to him and he passed it on to us. Just like Jesus stated, "he will not speak of his own but whatever he shall hear so he shall speak"

Then again these Hindu men do not go to Mandirs. According to the Pandits here in NY women makes up for 80% of the congregation.

Gilbaka I sure the Mrs. Gilbacka is praying her namaaz, when last you wentt to the Mandir?

My Hindu in-laws don't go to the Mandir. On a few occasions in the past they have used the pandit to do their jhandi but it turned out that the same pandit never visited my nephew since his accident. Multitudes of people have been there to see my nephew but not this pandit who usually go to the same hospital to take food for his father who works in the pharmacy there. This same pandit who said that he was studying to be a medical doctor. My in-laws have concluded that the pandit is not worthy of his title. 

Too many Hindus place trust in the Pandits  than the Lord.

I remember that day when my brother in law lost his mind after his son's accident. My mother in law who believed that the pandit can say a prayer to help him asked me to take her to a mandir down the street from us. She explained her dilemma to the pandit and he sent her away. Maybe because she doesn't go to that mandir. My mother left feeling so down. I told her to pray herself because no one can know her pain more than her.

With all seriousness, Muslims in Guyana when we were growing up depended too much on the imam also. We even used to go to them for tabeej. That has all changed when we became more individually educated on our religion. Now thankfully those imams don't have the same power they once did and it is better for us. Had we known better, we would have known that this name change thing doesn't matter.