With the completion of the vote count from the March 2 polls prompting claims of fraud, an independent high-level Caribbean Community (CARICOM) team is due to arrive to supervise a full recount of the ballots cast in all ten regions at Guyana’s elections based on an agreement by President David Granger and Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo.

Although the intervention was welcomed yesterday by Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) Chairperson Justice (ret’d) Claudette Singh, who said the commission would cooperate fully with the process.

The announcement resulted in the adjournment of a court action initiated by the PPP/C to secure an injunction to prevent GECOM from declaring results until a recount of the votes in Region Four was undertaken. The court action was initiated after the Returning Officer (RO) for Region Four Clairmont Mingo declared results on Friday night at the conclusion of a controversial tabulation process which has been discredited by independent observers and nearly all of the contesting parties, except for the incumbent APNU+AFC coalition. Eight of the nine parties which contested in the region had requested a recount but Mingo has since denied all requests claiming that none of the parties adhered to the statutory timeline to apply for the appointment of counting agents.

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...l-elections-recount/

Amral, the ORIGINAL SOPs show PNC with about 117,000 and PPP with about 80,000. Might be off a little bit. Mingo's new and improved, highly suspect SOPs were MANUFACTURED overnight by the PNC.

So you mean to tell me of the 270,000+ Region 4 residents that registered and were eligible to vote, only a little over half voted?

LMAO. Keep being fed with the lies and fabrications, all engineered by your beloved Jagdeo.

Rochelle

Amral, the ORIGINAL SOPs show PNC with about 117,000 and PPP with about 80,000. Might be off a little bit. Mingo's new and improved, highly suspect SOPs were MANUFACTURED overnight by the PNC.

Who says that's the ORIGINAL ??

The Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) is in the process of moving ballot boxes from locations across Region Four to its head office in Kingston, Georgetown.

The News Room spoke with GECOM Commissioner Robeson Benn who is at the Kingston office overseeing the process. He noted that several containers have since been moved to the location but he is unsure how long the entire process will take.

Ballot boxes from other regions are already in Georgetown with the exception of Region Five which had started a recount in that district. The request for a recount from the APNU+AFC was later withdrawn and the process discontinued. Efforts are being made to return those boxes to Georgetown.

The containers are being escorted by ranks of the Guyana Police Force and followed by political party agents from the central locations where they were stored.

GECOM is gearing up for a national recount of the ballots cast at the March 2, 2020 polls. The Commission is expected to meet later today to decide on the way forward with the process.

The recount which followed a controversy over the tabulation of votes in Region Four, will be supervised by a CARICOM team. The team has since arrived in Guyana at the request of President David Granger and Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo.

https://newsroom.gy/2020/03/15...N3oFY5OTDISYOq7B1tTE

Amral

The ole dawg running scared now. Sanctions are scheduled to kick in on March 20th, so he runs to Caricom.  Blackman for Blackman. So recount involving the same GECOM thieves supervised by Caricom. Jagdeo silly to accept this nonsense.

The Commission is expected to meet later today to decide on the way forward with the process.
This is looking like we have some more surprises in the works. I thought Granger agreed to have CARICOM take over the process?

Maybe slo fiah mo fiah starting tonight.

@Former Member, CARICOM will oversee the process, not take over. It cannot, as GECOM is the only appointed constitutional body that can conduct the recount.

This will likely mean all ROs, including Mingo, will be recounting. 

Rochelle

My dear Coolie Sistren, I do not understand Jagdeo sometimes.  He falling into the same traps as Jagan, then the Whiteman have to save the day.  I have to believe he is a blood relation to Jagan as there seem a genetic behavioral predisposition!  He is being outfoxed by the old wizard!

• mceclip0

Rick Scott using that word stealing bears a striking resemblance to words I used in my pointed letter to him as well as Rubio and Wasserman-Schulz. I as always, my long windedness caused me to discuss the 60s, 70s and 80s. Now y'all do the same so we can put as much pressure on the Granger regime as possible. Rochelle talking about black congressional leaders standing with Granger because he is also black. Thankfully the white congressional population far outweighs the black one.

@Former Member, wait what?! 

When did I ever talk "about black congressional leaders standing with Granger because he is also black"????

I swear you all are your own worst enemies! Creating and inciting racial wars from NOTHING. You are a prime reflection of the current PPP leadership!

Rochelle

Jagdeo is just exploring all options. What does he do if he does not explore this and hope that CARICOM is not all Blackman fuh Blackman although CARICOM has behaved the past year as Blackman fuh Blackman. If nothing else it will give the world powers another opportunity to witness the despotic behavior of the PNC and that could intensify the severity of the sanctions.

The PNC should do the right thing and accept the wishes of the electorate. Then they should do when the PPP did since demitting office in 2015. They should begin working, yes really working to earn the confidence in the next elections as the PPP did when they worked arduously all over Guyana to earn the majority that resides in those ballot boxes.

@Rochelle: So what does GECOM has to decide on the way forward with the process? They should have no business getting or deciding anything. All that should be done is to transport the boxes under supervised security and provide security to guard the boxes. They should have nothing to do with deciding anything. CARICOM will be in charge after the boxes are at their location and guarded by security with the parties looking out for PNC saboteurs.

@Former Member: Last night I was reading some of the PNC vulgarity directed aginst the coolies. It was way too vulgar to repeat here. I replied to this one negro woman...the face of an Eva Pilgrim. I said "Damn! You are scary". I did not see a word from her after that.

Those PNC supporters are no more than bullies. They duz ketch good sense when yuh stand up tuh dem. Their problem is that they naturally incline to violence but if you make a move they don't have the ability to think through that move so they get bassidy and cowered.

Mo fyah...slow fyah...nuff, nuff fyah...hey hey hey...dem bais go wait now foh puppy irfaan get presi wuk. Ayoo go get ready foh destabilise. Me want see what PM phillips go bring to de table...hey hey hey. 

Miami, FL U.S. Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL) issued the following statement after irregularities in voting tabulations were revealed in Guyana’s March 2nd elections:

“The completion of a peaceful, free, and fair electoral process in Guyana is in the best interest of the country as well as of all the freedom-loving nations in our hemisphere. Following a marred vote tabulation on March 2nd, the presence of international electoral observers and representatives of all political parties must be guaranteed.

At a time when Guyana’s democratic future is at stake, the U.S. must stand in support of the preservation of the rule of law and democratic transition of power as established by the nation’s constitution. It is critical that all actors call for maintaining social order and defend Guyana’s constitutional order.”

Rubio is the Chairman of the Foreign Relations Subcommittee on Western Hemisphere, Transnational Crime, Civilian Security, Democracy, Human Rights, and Global Women’s Issues.

https://www.rubio.senate.gov/p...na-s-recent-election