Hubby gone golfing..lil girl gone to cottage for the holiday weekend n big girl coming over soon..going to make some bara n the 2 of us will look at movie on netflix …quiet Sunday! I have some left over lasanga n home-made pizza for her to eat so im not cooking today!

Lynn

the trick to fry the boiled eggs is to roll them lightly in flour like when frying fish. they come out nice and brown, and no hot oil pitching on you. the old ladies in guyana did it this way

Good tip!!

I never learnt to cook at home .. just made 1 roti for myself ( my sis knead flour though). I left home after high sch n was boarding n lodging in GT until i was 19 . Then my gf n i shared an apt n i learnt to cook from her ( she isnt indo) n also trued to cook based on wht i had observed my sisters n mom doing!! Lol

Lynn

Someone told me that they make lil slits on eggs , this way the eggs dont ‘burst’ whn u fry!

oh lord bai.. now u mek me feel like eating egg curry

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn

Happy. Memorial day..what’s on yr menu today?

my weekend…….

Sat: dhal, fry cabbage n biagan curry with chicken n aloo

Sun:bake n saltfish, duck curry with dhalpuri(bought from Alima’s on Sat) n also bora, bhaji n pumpkin

OFF TO WORK today..4-12 shift!

If im not too tired after I get home 1230 am..I will do some veggies n amke crustless quiche (my low carbs meals)

I still have lentil soup n ochro

Cheers to a Happy Monday!!

Lynn

Hola mi amigos..como estas??

ah just peeping in to say Happy Sunday..sinceme frenoo tel leave..me alone leff me Nah  really like fuh gyaff wid meself..

anyways…yesterday i made brekfus  fuh me big daughter (who visited me on Fri n spent the night n all day) so I made oats n banana pancakes with boiled egg for her . .b Forlunch/dinnah , dhal n  rice with bhunjal  chicken n (hubby fried some butterfish)

Today…going to cook some bhaji n baigan choka to eat with left over dhal n curry

Also black bean salad, stuffed eggplant n zucchini(ground chicken) ie my low carb meals.

alyuh enjoy d rest of the Sunday..n have a great week  until me peep in again..

Ciao..n stay safe!!

oh..n no monkey bizness with all dis monkey pox thing going on!! Lol

Lynn

Oh rant you deh here holding up the roof. I find this place slightly difficult moving around so I come by...try a move... get frustrated an move on. But, I deh here so gonna stay a sec. I cooked up some fry rice with egg an' vegetables,some crab meat, after nyammin that down I had a bulla cake with some cheddar cheese, a butter tart an' a coffee.

Now somebody belly big big like so (       )

@cain posted:

Oh rant you deh here holding up the roof. I find this place slightly difficult moving around so I come by...try a move... get frustrated an move on. But, I deh here so gonna stay a sec. I cooked up some fry rice with egg an' vegetables,some crab meat, after nyammin that down I had a bulla cake with some cheddar cheese, a butter tart an' a coffee.

Now somebody belly big big like so (       )

Well..it isnt as difficult as whn was first introduced..i can navigate easily now..but I cant say i like it.

I never had a bulla cake which is weird as I lived in cayman Islands (plenty Jcans there )

Btw , egg fried  rice nice bad!!

Wht kinda crab..? Hope iz not d fake crab!! Lol

that’s a big desert there …no wonder yuh belly swell up like fada chrismus !!

ps ( wish i lived close to Chami…I would have joined them for themeet up)

Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

The ones I got looked like these.

Ive seen this. Is a Jamaican store here (owned by a Korean)..i thought they were aniseed biscuits

We learn everyday..im amazed because my sis lived in Jamaica n i never saw this in  home.  

Ive had the easter bun which I dont like as i tis wayyy to sugary for me.

Thnx for teaching me something  new Mits Bhaiya

Lynn
@Django posted:

Bulla Cake is Jamaican.

Im shocked that I didnt know abt this before as I worked n lived in Cayman Is ..where mant Jcans work/live n they have a lot of jcan foods there.  My sis n several of my cuz were teaching in Jca n not 1 of them every spoke abt Bulla cake!

Lynn

Food Basics carries it so does Metro depending where located. I first bought them years ago thinking they were as Lynn mentioned "anise biscuit"

I recently introduced it to a Guyanese buddy who told me that years ago (back in early 90s) a Jamacian friend told him they were no good (that banna taste box must got a hole). My buddy is now hooked on it.

It goes nice with old cheddar or dunked in coffee.

@cain posted:

Food Basics carries it so does Metro depending where located. I first bought them years ago thinking they were as Lynn mentioned "anise biscuit"

I recently introduced it to a Guyanese buddy who told me that years ago (back in early 90s) a Jamacian friend told him they were no good (that banna taste box must got a hole). My buddy is now hooked on it.

It goes nice with old cheddar or dunked in coffee.

I will try it..ive only seen it in this Korean store that sells Jamaican studd…as itis near our Gyese bread n pastries.  I love anything that has ginger!!

Only Chalo Freshco in my  area so that’s where I go ..lol but hubby often shops at No Frills n Sunny’s

Lynn
@Django posted:

Here you go, bake your own.

Yummy thnx!! I think I prefer to bake my own n try it rather than buying…

(isnt   molasses sweet enough..that’s a lot of  sugar…i will use 1 cup instead ..)

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn