@cain posted:

So leh me see if I got dis rite. Lynn said how she hubby does manually polinate the flowers dem ...with a q tip. What I wanna find out is how he know where fi stick the q tip?

Welll hear dis joke nah..3 yrs ago was the 1st time i planted squash ( n by ‘i’ i mean hubby as-he does ALL d yeard work..hehehe

well i am a farmer’s  daughter but i never knew abt manual pollination.  So all d squash were turning yellow n  they dried up.  Then a cuz came late aug n told me  that i have to ‘marry’ the male n female flowers.  I had no idea abt man n woman flowers..omg! ..but-by then it  was late summer so i didnt get any squash that yrs.

last yr we were doing the ‘marry’ or ‘kiss; thing as people suggested..then a gf f mine told me  to try the qtips because sometimes u dont get enough male flowers to pollinate the female

btw me guh ga  fuh ask me hubby dat qwestion

Lynn
@cain posted:

So leh me see if I got dis rite. Lynn said how she hubby does manually polinate the flowers dem ...with a q tip. What I wanna find out is how he know where fi stick the q tip?

Me show he ..ahahahaha

because my gf came n showed me how to do it..

ahahahahahaha …..

Lynn
@cain posted:

Lynn..I seem to recall it was Banks Milk Stout...no I didn't add milk...just an egg...it tasted like...yuckkkk..I had to lick my butt to get the taste out of my mouth.

Hmmm well i. Only knew abt stiut after i had my baby in 1987..whn it was forced down my throat..warm with salt…

wonder why it was called MILK stout..

ps apparently it Was given to mothers after delivery to help ‘bring down’ d breast MILK!!

Lynn

Whts cooking today??

well hubyy just picked 1 of the 2 sqush from the tree..so nice stew squash with chicken n some oil roti ..( i hardly roti n esp oil roti..but this squash neeeds some paratha roti)

fry bigan with aloo n chkn

fry ochro  (i used the froxen cut ones , Ashoka brand)

black bean salad

stir frym mix veggies fry

n ifim not too tired i will make a cauliflower fried’rice’ with boneless chkn thighs

then i wash n tun down pot until thurs..

i gat lil dhal in fridge plus my seim curry ( i didnt get enough seim from my 2 plants soi bought a pkt AC8D388C-294D-453F-B01F-311485313ED3 from Sunny’s along with some nice eddoes n it is yummy with some FAT shrimps (Costco)

• AC8D388C-294D-453F-B01F-311485313ED3
Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Hmmm well i. Only knew abt stiut after i had my baby in 1987..whn it was forced down my throat..warm with salt…

wonder why it was called MILK stout..

ps apparently it Was given to mothers after delivery to help ‘bring down’ d breast MILK!!

https://www.foodandwine.com/beer/milk-stout

Click on link .

@Django posted:

Wow…thnx D..we learn something everyday..

but I was given ( i had no idea it was a BEER..) Guinness stout so this may be why i never heard abt MILK stout

ps

so i new mothers r given BEER ie alcohol..then the new born babies would be drunk if they were breast-fed!!!

oh lordie!!

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Wow…thnx D..we learn something everyday..

but I was given ( i had no idea it was a BEER..) Guinness stout so this may be why i never heard abt MILK stout

ps

so i new mothers r given BEER ie alcohol..then the new born babies would be drunk if they were breast-fed!!!

oh lordie!!

I saw my mother use small amount of brandy with breast milk ,given to my younger siblings when they were babies to put them to sleep when they cried too much.

Probably i was given the same ,had enough then so when grown up not a fan of liquor .

@Django posted:

I saw my mother use small amount of brandy with breast milk ,given to my younger siblings when they were babies to put them to sleep when they cried too much.

Probably i was given the same ,had enough then so when grown up not a fan of liquor .

Yeah i heard abt moms or grandparents giving lil babies(i doubt they did this with new born)  a few drops of brandy to the baby bottle of milk (not breast milk..) at nights to make them sleep soundly!

That is nothing compared to a mother drinking 2  bit stoute oer day..n eso newborn , boy that is alot of likka in d breast milk!!

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn

Anyone ever heard abt seviyan kheer?? Or eaten it??

i saw a EE154307-D0B2-44F0-BF28-A4A0FF142E57Recipe on fb n tried it..it comes out creamy ..just like well done sweet rice ..best of all it takes abt 12-13 mins to boil!!

• EE154307-D0B2-44F0-BF28-A4A0FF142E57
Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

Sevian is Vermicelli. Had it  with cardamom and saffron...... Yummy!

Yeah i know..but I never knew u can make kheer with it…it is so yummy! I used the fine thread-like (Indian kind) vermicelli !  I added roasted cashew n plenty cardamom ( n of course cinnamon cloves)

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

7552AB74-DC44-40E8-84DF-B14AB76833C3

Green apple curry..(thnx to Chami for teaching me to cook this yummy dish)

Make green apple (the sour type) achar, use the ingredients used for mango achar, it taste great .

@Django posted:

Make green apple (the sour type) achar, use the ingredients used for mango achar, it taste great .

Yes..Thanks to Chami..this thing is better than mango curry

(i have never made achar ..lol…my Maa used to make with sourie n golden apple n send for me n now my hubby bhoujie makes n sends

Lynn

the green apple curry, do you add any meat or seafood?

No just dried down..like mango curry. U guh bite yuh tongue whn u taste it..

Chami told me abt it n ive cooked it abt 4 times n everyone loves it!!

btw it is the granny smith apple..

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@Lynn posted:

No just dried down..like mango curry. U guh bite yuh tongue whn u taste it..

Chami told me abt it n ive cooked it abt 4 times n everyone loves it!!

btw it is the granny smith apple..

I have a 20 yr old green apple tree can't recall what type ,the apples are sour .

@Lynn posted:

The green sour kind is GRANNY SMITH..

the lighter green with yellow tinge is GOLDEN DELICIOUS n it is sweet(we have a tree in our yard but it hardly bears fruits)

Cut it back to 6 to 8 ft in the fall. See what happens next year.

Drop a couple big nails through the trunk....fruit like raaassss...next year it might dead though.... but dem is the breaks.

I know someone who tried it lil while ago....same thing happened...peaccchhh taraassss......baddam dead.

Cain, so dem big nails caused the apple tree to bear peaccchhh taraassss......

Anyway some peeps allow dem apples tree to grow too tall. My neighbor has his about 6 feet tall so that he spray it early spring before it blooms and then during the blooming. He uses a mixture of Dawn and Garlic. It's the red delicious. I get 5-10 pounds every year from him. We make some jam and fillings for the pie. Stores well. The apple pie goes good with my home made Brown Betty Ice Cream.

@Mitwah posted:

Cain, so dem big nails caused the apple tree to bear peaccchhh taraassss......

Anyway some peeps allow dem apples tree to grow too tall. My neighbor has his about 6 feet tall so that he spray it early spring before it blooms and then during the blooming. He uses a mixture of Dawn and Garlic. It's the red delicious. I get 5-10 pounds every year from him. We make some jam and fillings for the pie. Stores well. The apple pie goes good with my home made Brown Betty Ice Cream.

We trim ours..it isnt  huge tree but more than 6 ft for sure(maybe 10 ft)

thnx for the tips

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

We trim ours..it isnt  huge tree but more than 6 ft for sure(maybe 10 ft)

thnx for the tips

Try cutting back to 6ft. It will spring back  8 to 10 ft. Also use 10-10-10 fertilizer at about 2 ft radius from the trunk with a pinch of bone meal.

@Mitwah posted:

Try cutting back to 6ft. It will spring back  8 to 10 ft. Also use 10-10-10 fertilizer at about 2 ft radius from the trunk with a pinch of bone meal.

Thnx Mits bhaiya..will pass on info  to hubby

Lynn

Time to join this cooking thread.......been away for a while, busy with summer and the 5 grandbabas.

Pouring rain right now.......we really need it, especially the farmers!

My veggie garden is a total failure this year.....not sure why .  Used cow and sheep manure, watered regularly, pulled weeds.......and nothing!!

I usually get zucchini and tomatoes galore! even my herbs are stunted

For today's dinner......roti with dhaal and stewed salmon (from can)

I bake a really good carrot cake.....have leftovers and will finish off after dinner with cream cheese icing!

Villagebelle

My Tomatoes are blooming but the fruits are not that in abundance. Roma and Romano are starting to ripen. They are doing better than the other varieties. Shrub type Seims, Bush Beans, Bora and Poi very bountiful. Picked a few baigans but the squirrels are enjoying the cucumbers.

@Mitwah posted:

Good advice there Mits! I used to put the fertilizer/bone meal where the branches end also. If the branches stuck out six feet from the trunk that's where it was placed.

I think the nails in the trunk scenario was a bit much,but when a tree or plant seem to not do good, I would take my fork and stick it into the ground around the plant to break up the roots a bit, that shocks the plant.

So you see Mits, you might not only get peach from the apple tree, if lucky you might even get grapefruit.

@cain you are right about putting the fertilizer where the branches end also. I would thin out some. Actually, I have seen the apple and pear production after successful grafting. I also know how to graft. I'll try it on my neighbor's, since he has both types. Guava wouldn't survive.

@cain posted:

Good advice there Mits! I used to put the fertilizer/bone meal where the branches end also. If the branches stuck out six feet from the trunk that's where it was placed.

I think the nails in the trunk scenario was a bit much,but when a tree or plant seem to not do good, I would take my fork and stick it into the ground around the plant to break up the roots a bit, that shocks the plant.

So you see Mits, you might not only get peach from the apple tree, if lucky you might even get grapefruit.

Talking abt nails in tree trunk..

i remember my dad doing this at home but I am not sure which tree n for wht reason..

somehow im thinking it's the coconut tree …n maybe whn the coconuts were falling whn they were too young..???

I must ask my brothers…

(my parents were farmers..buti was too young to learn all abt agriculture from them..ie ask questions etc.  My bro who died last OCT knew a lot as he planted lot of fruits n veggies like my parents did, so i started to ask him a few questions last yr…(hope my other brothers, who r not into farming now, can shed some light )

Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

My Tomatoes are blooming but the fruits are not that in abundance. Roma and Romano are starting to ripen. They are doing better than the other varieties. Shrub type Seims, Bush Beans, Bora and Poi very bountiful. Picked a few baigans but the squirrels are enjoying the cucumbers.

Squirrels eat out our baigan..

—insects eat out leaves from seim n bora n poi so i told hubby to stop planting these.

We have too  much shade in our yard..the karaila tree bore 2 last yr..hahaha n the ochro trees had 1 ochro each ,

—-the plum tomatoes r growing..but they r so low to the ground, i worry that they might drop on the actual soil by the time they r ripe.

Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

@cain you are right about putting the fertilizer where the branches end also. I would thin out some. Actually, I have seen the apple and pear production after successful grafting. I also know how to graft. I'll try it on my neighbor's, since he has both types. Guava wouldn't survive.

I wish if I can get guava to grow here..lol

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Squirrels eat out our baigan..

—insects eat out leaves from seim n bora n poi so i told hubby to stop planting these.

We have too  much shade in our yard..the karaila tree bore 2 last yr..hahaha n the ochro trees had 1 ochro each ,

—-the plum tomatoes r growing..but they r so low to the ground, i worry that they might drop on the actual soil by the time they r ripe.

I made a powder from dried habanero. I sprinkled on the baigan and at the base of the baigan plants. I sprinkled some at the top of the fence. This works for me.

In the evening, I water the seim with Dawn + veg oil and spray under the leaves. My Ochro  was not growing. So I moved them and watering them with lemon water since they need acid and I can see some progress.

With Karela, pick one flower and go around and touch the other flowers. This will trick the plant into producing fruits. Remember to pollinate the ones with baby Karelas.

With the plum tomatoes, cut pieces of cardboard and place them under the fruits so that they don't touch the soil. Feed them with egg shells or mix "tums" in water and give them a drink. The calcium will prevent the fruit from rotting at the bottom.

Poi will love the shade.