hint..tie the knot
PICA
used for breaking up ice
AGWAH
hint..tie the knot
someone who fixup/arrange marriages !
PICA
used for breaking up ice
You funny baad.. . Anada belly laugh..Me mean money. Maybe PISA.
Dis is wha happen when we leave the language for a long time.
PICA
used for breaking up ice
You funny baad.. . Anada belly laugh..Me mean money. Maybe PISA.
Dis is wha happen when we leave the language for a long time.
LOL
PISA is money
SINDOOR
Could you please explain what it represents at a marriage and also when someone dies.
Is it removed at death, by the husband ?
AANT KE SAANT
Don't know dis nor dat???
My source say..carelessly.
good morning
I had not heard of this either, thought it sounded like a Bollywood movie name
Orhni
Orhni
Head scarf worn by females.
CHULHA
aant ke saant | carelessly |
aarti | worship during which a thari is circulated around the object of worship |
abir | red colored used during Pagwah |
abrak | powder |
achar | condiment made with masala; pickle |
agarbati | incense |
agay | infront |
agua/ agwah | matchmaker for arranged marriages |
Aja/Ajee | Paternal Grandfather/grandmother |
aloo | potato |
aloo roti | potato roti |
arya samaj | Hindu reformation movement based on the Vedas |
ashram | building where religious instruction is provided |
atar | perfume mostly used in pujas |
Hindi words used by Guyanese,starting with the alphabet A
will compile and post more as we move along.
CHULHA
hint...cooking
CHULHA
hint...cooking
no cook in the house,chulha is fireside.
DUDH
DUDH
Milk?
CHEENI
CHEENI MEENI MINEY MOH
DUDHPITI
DRUPATI
PERHA
CHEENI MEENI MINEY MOH
DUDHPITI
Left over roti boiled with cheeni(sugar) and milk.
PERHA
Do you mean PERA ??
Cheeni(sugar)boiled with milk poured in pan
cut up in squares,after cooled eaten to get
you hyper.
CHOTAH
Haaswa
CHOTAH
lil dada
DRUPATI
Trini Indian woman.
CHOTAH
lil dada
correct,there is also a breakfast delicacy called by that
name.
Haaswa
hint please
DRUPATI
Trini Indian woman.
Good ansa...
Me aunty DRUPATI and she na even Trini.
PERHA
Do you mean PERA ??
Cheeni(sugar)boiled with milk poured in pan
cut up in squares,after cooled eaten to get
you hyper.
PERHA, a small low seat ?
Haaswa
hint please
Grass knife used for manual rice cutting. People also use this to cut grass for their animals. Alyu town side man nah no dis.
Even in small Guyana, different parts of the country describe things differently.
For example WCD people would laugh at our Berbice 'feget'.
Could it be, because they come from different parts of India ?
Not saying that its wrong, but me na hear HAASWA before, me always call it grass knife and me cut a lota grass fa abee dankey, Churchill.
One time me even slice the palm of me left hand.
SAKAL GATTA
Hint: New Brunswick sardine tin.