There has to be more to this story. He had to have co ordinated it with the PPP. They would not launch a no confidence vote campaign without a sense that there is a weak link in the APNU ranks. Everyone was genuinely surprised at his action. Lots of soup spigots got turned off! 

Anyway, I understand his stated reasons and while I would have sought to fight for change where I was,  he possibly knows better about who would have listened.  The PPP and the APNU will now harden their ranks. Poor Ramson might not even make it on the PPP list because he would be seen to have a grievance ( as he should). Every Indian and black person  on the APNU and PPP lists respectively will undergo serious  double vetting. Suspicion to the level of paranoia will be the outlook going forward.

If only this was done by a black person,  the suspicion it was  a racial bushwhacking would not be so heavy in  the aether. We are such an ethnically  divided country that everything is framed in terms of ethnicity. It is why we need constitution reform.

67218233-7465-4A77-A38B-C21EDBA66427

Why are you belittling the man? Plain and simple, he had no confidence in the coalition.  He was lied to over and over again.  They just need his one vote to carry on their racist and discriminatory agenda.  They push the man to the limits.  He voted his conscience, something which many soup drinkers like Ramjattan and Nagamootoo don’t have.

The man complained about PNC Bullyism and Racists within the ranks of the APNU.  He never said it was their economic agenda or anything else.

Alyuh listen up if you want to avoid the same mistake.  PNC are known and reviled by most Indians for their racism and bullyism against Indians.  He saw this bubbling up to the surface and the growing strength of the PNC racist faction.  This is what he voted against.  So, one could agree and disagree at the same time and vote for whatever is more impactful.

PNC racism and bullyism just got a kick in their teeth!

Tek it easy Mars...you belittling a national hero...yall did not have one since dey Kill Walter Rodney...dis dude's picture might end up on your passport.

Please, what national hero? He's good for the PPP but he's no national hero. The man is a common traitor. No more, no less. There are two sides to the story and why are y'all trying to subvert the other side. Only two weeks ago the man voted yes on the budget and gave an overwhelming speech in favor of the government. If he had a beef with the government, he should have done the honorable thing and resigned. There's nothing in the debate that changed his mind since he said that he planned to vote yes even before the debates. So his mind was already made up instead of listening to the defense of his own government. Selling out his party for a few pieces of silver is not honorable. 

How is there a chance that this traitor's picture will end up on my passport?

kinda surprised that u would post a picture like this. Charrandas did what he had to do, what he thought was the right thing. We should respect the man's right to choose.

I totally respect his right to choose. That doesn't mean I must support his decision. I have a right to express how I feel about a Judas too.

Tek it easy Mars...you belittling a national hero...yall did not have one since dey Kill Walter Rodney...dis dude's picture might end up on your passport.

If he had a beef with the government, he should have done the honorable thing and resigned.

No way.  Why throw it away?  The power was remaining within until the PPP make their move.  He played along and waited for the most opportune time.  Any other would have seen him booted and he was worth nothing!

Frankly, I believe he was indirectly in touch with the PPP!  There may have been others on the brink.  The PPP looked very confident going in.  BJ would not have sponsored that bill if he had no chance!

Please, what national hero? He's good for the PPP but he's no national hero. The man is a common traitor. No more, no less. There are two sides to the story and why are y'all trying to subvert the other side. Only two weeks ago the man voted yes on the budget and gave an overwhelming speech in favor of the government. If he had a beef with the government, he should have done the honorable thing and resigned. There's nothing in the debate that changed his mind since he said that he planned to vote yes even before the debates. So his mind was already made up instead of listening to the defense of his own government. Selling out his party for a few pieces of silver is not honorable. 

I am going by his video response to the media. He seems genuine. Guyana seems to have very few honorable men and women politicians.

Guyana is a small country and everyone have their agendas, but I would like to hear his response to the issue you raised here. 

if PPP wins in 90 days, dem might put his pix next to the national emblem...theres lots of discussion on Facebook how to "recognize" this dude.  

kinda surprised that u would post a picture like this. Charrandas did what he had to do, what he thought was the right thing. We should respect the man's right to choose.

I totally respect his right to choose. That doesn't mean I must support his decision. I have a right to express how I feel about a Judas too.

Charandas toppled a govt. You drawing snake picture.  Big difference.  You getting lil dotish now.

Mars posted
Only two weeks ago the man voted yes on the budget and gave an overwhelming speech in favor of the government. If he had a beef with the government, he should have done the honorable thing and resigned. 

I agree the government needed a wake up call but what you said here is also correct.

The man did what every dam politician does, he put himself first before party and country.

I am going by his video response to the media. He seems genuine. Guyana seems to have very few honorable men and women politicians.

Guyana is a small country and everyone have their agendas, but I would like to hear his response to the issue you raised here. 

if PPP wins in 90 days, dem might put his pix next to the national emblem...theres lots of discussion on Facebook how to "recognize" this dude.  

Hahaha. You actually believe everything a Guyanese politician says on camera, especially coming from one who has just betrayed his own party. I own a bridge across the Berbice River that is for sale. Going cheap before the PPP comes back into power. All the recognition for this guy is coming from mostly PPP sycophants. Do you understand the meaning of national? There is no national recognition to be given to a common traitor.  

Whatever the reason, I think this is good for Guyana...politicians will now be more careful and not take things for granted....maybe there will be some changes in the way the country is governed

I agree!

PNC in, PNC out, PPP in, PPP out, no major disruption and violence, people will have less tolerance for corruption and incompetence and the type of behaviors that pushed Charrandas over the edge!

Charandas toppled a govt. You drawing snake picture.  Big difference.  You getting lil dotish now.

I didn't draw anything stupid woman. Please, when it comes to "dotishness", you take the cake. 

Mars posted
Only two weeks ago the man voted yes on the budget and gave an overwhelming speech in favor of the government. If he had a beef with the government, he should have done the honorable thing and resigned. 

I agree the government needed a wake up call but what you said here is also correct.

The man did what every dam politician does, he put himself first before party and country.

Mars comment is based on ignorance. The man was elected to parliament, he became an integral part of the country. Not AFC or anything else such as the AFC or PNC base. 

He did the correct thing. And if a survey was held today, majority of Guyanese would agree with him. Other than Mars and anti-indian stance.

Mars belongs to the Other People group.

Hahaha. You actually believe everything a Guyanese politician says on camera, especially coming from one who has just betrayed his own party. I own a bridge across the Berbice River that is for sale. Going cheap before the PPP comes back into power. All the recognition for this guy is coming from mostly PPP sycophants. Do you understand the meaning of national? There is no national recognition to be given to a common traitor.  

A national traitor is one who sells out to a foreign power or violates the constitution!

He never betrayed his party, his party betrayed their own suporters and principles.  So he took action!

I didn't draw anything stupid woman. Please when it comes to "dotishness", you take the cake. 

ignoble from the thrash of deplorables. The Serpent Man whose mind conjures up deplorables. His mind is a place of its own. Explains why his commentaries are laced with venom. Snake.

Mars posted

Mars comment is based on ignorance. The man was elected to parliament, he became an integral part of the country. Not AFC or anything else such as the AFC or PNC base. 

He did the correct thing. And if a survey was held today, majority of Guyanese would agree with him. Other than Mars and anti-indian stance.

He's nothing but a common traitor, one who betrayed his own party in their greatest time of need, for a few pieces of silver from his own kind. That's something that an ole racist like you, who has no bloody integrity, would applaud. The majority of Indians would agree with Charrandas, especially those racist ones like you. I don't belong to any group. I have a mind of my own that is sound and intelligent. Not something that I can say of you.

Mars posted

He's nothing but a common traitor, one who betrayed his own party in their greatest time of need, for a few pieces of silver from his own kind. That's something that an ole racist like you, who has no bloody integrity, would applaud. The majority of Indians would agree with Charrandas, especially those racist ones like you. I don't belong to any group. I have a mind of my own that is sound and intelligent. Not something that I can say of you.

typical racist rants coming from the Other People. Dem or Us. THe Racist Red Man.

A national traitor is one who sells out to a foreign power or violates the constitution!

He never betrayed his party, his party betrayed their own suporters and principles.  So he took action!

Their agenda was to be loyal to the coalition no matter how you want to twist it or turn it. They made that commitment which held the government together. If he felt that the party was betraying their supporters, he should have done the honorable thing and resign. So he was betraying his own principles and supporters only two weeks ago when he gave a rousing speech in the parliament in favor of the government and their budget for the new year. He's a confused fool if you're saying that two weeks ago he was betraying his supporters and now he's all for them. The man was in contact with the PPP and he did what he did for his own selfish reasons. I didn't say that he's a national traitor. I said that he's a common traitor who cannot be considered as a national hero. A national hero appeals to most of the nation. He doesn't.

typical racist rants coming from the Other People. Dem or Us. THe Racist Red Man.

You must have done a DNA test on me to know I'm a Red man. Stupid ole jackass. When I don't subscribe to your racist diatribe, you call me a racist. Based on our past behavior here, it is clear to see who's the real racist and it isn't me. Repent, you ole goat. Time short.

Their agenda was to be loyal to the coalition no matter how you want to twist it or turn it. They made that commitment which held the government together. If he felt that the party was betraying their supporters, he should have done the honorable thing and resign. So he was betraying his own principles and supporters only two weeks ago when he gave a rousing speech in the parliament in favor of the government and their budget for the new year. He's a confused fool if you're saying that two weeks ago he was betraying his supporters and now he's all for them. The man was in contact with the PPP and he did what he did for his own selfish reasons. I didn't say that he's a national traitor. I said that he's a common traitor who cannot be considered as a national hero. A national hero appeals to most of the nation. He doesn't.

There is no honor in politics. Politicians see power, not honor. If the tables were turned, would you have the same sentiment of the member resigning? I bet not. There would have been gloating as we see here.

I don't fully agree.  But ok, that's your position!

If he was confused, he would have wavered at the vote with all the badgering.  He was rock solid in his YES position!

I'm glad Volda did not get her 2 min timeout!  That banna might have ended up like Khashoggi!  Kudos to Bart Simpson!

There is no honor in politics. Politicians see power, not honor. If the tables were turned, would you have the same sentiment of the member resigning? I bet not. There would have been gloating as we see here.

There is certainly no honor in Charrandas. Resigning is the more honorable thing to do than betraying your party for a few pieces of silver.

The man is a hero in the hearts of many Guyanese East Indian people. The last time I checked they are still the majority in Guyana.

Wait, the Indian population gone over 50% now? You better go back quick and convince them to break away and form your Indian only paradise.

He is counting Duglas with an Indian father.  That means they slant more Indian because "abie pon tap!"

I don't fully agree.  But ok, that's your position!

If he was confused, he would have wavered at the vote with all the badgering.  He was rock solid in his YES position!

I'm glad Volda did not get her 2 min timeout!  That banna might have ended up like Khashoggi!  Kudos to Bart Simpson!

You think if they knew they would have walked with a bone saw?

There is certainly no honor in Charrandas. Resigning is the more honorable thing to do than betraying your party for a few pieces of silver.

Charandas does not need Guyana; Guyana needed Charandas. He could not see the PNC assault on his people. He did what he thought would bring an immediate solution to the problem. And for that, I respect him. I wish more politicians have the genitals(politically correct) to the same.

No proof of betraying anyone for silver. The man said and explained what he did and for what reason he did it. I don't think Charandas needs Guyana dollars.

Charandas does not need Guyana; Guyana needed Charandas. He could not see the PNC assault on his people. He did what he thought would bring an immediate solution to the problem. And for that, I respect him. I wish more politicians have the genitals(politically correct) to the same.

Correction. The PPP needed Charrandas.

The Guyanese people needed Charandas.

No proof of betraying anyone for silver. The man said and explained what he did and for what reason he did it. I don't think Charandas needs Guyana dollars.

Except that his explanation makes no sense. Do you actually believe everything you hear from a Guyanese politician? Who said anything about Guyana Dollars?