@Mitwah posted:

Ever used a ghir-ghira?

Of course..itis the round seine…u walk in the tench n pull it thru n catch fish.  My dad used to knit the net n he used a flexible vine (we called it maswah vine..it grew  bt the. ‘Watah side’ mostly) to make the ‘ring’ at the top.  I am surprised that a Berbician knows abt ghir ghira.. do u know wht a MASWAH is??

Lynn

anar is pomegranate

Omg  u know eh!!

well growing up as. Lil kid, my mom always said anar as we had 3 treesin our yard..i never heard this word since i left home after high sch..but there is this Indian TV show on colors n someone gave a glass of juice n said it was anar juice..then suddenly i rem that it is pomegranate ( we used to call it  PUNGRAMA or POMGRAMA as kids)

Lynn
@Wildflower posted:

Lynn lots of the words on here I never heard or maybe I was oblivious when the older folks talked ….since I was/is an only child I was always sent to play or do work when dem big ppl a talk

after all of us older siblings migrated, my sis told us she stayed nearby when the big people were talking and she heard lots of precious family history. the old folks are gone, and we're glad she can pass on all that info. to us

Lol@ didi!! Lucky she nah get ketch!!

Lynn
@Wildflower posted:

Lynn lots of the words on here I never heard or maybe I was oblivious when the older folks talked ….since I was/is an only child I was always sent to play or do work when dem big ppl a talk

My mom’s vocab was different..my nani came from India so that is why so mant hindi or bhojpuri words were used in our home!!

honestly i never used the Eng words for many things until I started high sch..lol

‘go jarray d mats’ since my mom said it..all my older siblings said the same thing

”change d chaddar”

”wash d bhartan”

my mom never said shoes..it was always joota

Lynn

Kinna..lol my mom used to tell me that i get plenty ‘kinna’

like me nah used to  eat karaila..only kalonjie

dIdnt eat chicken with skin n not bony parts either like wings or neck or backnbone ( i still dont eat it)

didnt eat trench fish except for hassar n sunfish now I only only hassar

Lynn

Being the baby of the family..last of 8 kids, i was spoilt by both parents n even older siblings except my eldest bro n sis who beat the crapout of me for my ‘rottenness’ hehehehe

my Maa used to say ‘come fuh some dulaar’

or whn i sulked she used to say ‘me know uwant some dulaar’

she never said ‘pelt’ it was always ‘jataha’

Lynn

bice, the real word is bison 

Buffalo…the Indian’s pronounce it as Bhais or bAIs  ..emphasis on AI as in aiye

i suspect there is a silent N ..bhains

eh Mein is pronounced as Mein or Mai ..same as hain /hai

help Mits bhaiya ..

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

Gobar

Not sure abt gobHar

but gubara/Gobara :—-when u heap up cowdung to dry (n used ‘mould’ for garden plants) ..i used to have to spade up cowdung from ourback hard n put in a pile for it to dry..then my mom used to put in bags n hit on ground to break or pound it in the bag with a cricket bat to break up..natural soil/fertilizer for garden!

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Not sure abt gobHar

but gubara/Gobara :—-when u heap up cowdung to dry (n used ‘mould’ for garden plants) ..i used to have to spade up cowdung from ourback hard n put in a pile for it to dry..then my mom used to put in bags n hit on ground to break or pound it in the bag with a cricket bat to break up..natural soil/fertilizer for garden!

Also used for cooking, mosquito smoke, in Hawan and production of Methane gas.

Peeps used to daab bottom house and fowl pen with it, mixed as a paste with clay mud.

@Mitwah posted:

Also used for cooking, mosquito smoke, in Hawan and production of Methane gas.

Peeps used to daab bottom house and fowl pen with it, mixed as a paste with clay mud.

Yrs abt daabing bottom house n fireside with fresh cow dung

we called POTNA .. iwe mixed cow dung with water  n ‘caddy’ a special kind of mud

Lynn
@Mitwah posted:
भैंस BhaiNs.. the little dot means it's Nasal ...
Sometimes used an insult for a fat person.

Same  as in baigan.  Whn Indians  say the word , they stress on the AI n there is a faint N sound after the AI  
so i think it baiNgan/bhaiNgan

ps i have many  indian coworkers ..mostly  Punjabis/Sikhs n Gujratis

they say baylan for belna

n call sada roti Phulka roti

the ‘ph’ sound is not an ‘F’ sound like in English

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Anybody still using chowki??

now we have nice countertops to baylay roti !!

i brought my belna with me whn i left GY but  left chowki behind

Still using belna, chowki plus a few other "Guyanese" items.

@Django posted:

Upright sticks with cross sticks at the top for vine plants to run on ,for example squash ,nenwah ,carilla ..etc .Usually bamboo was used.

Arbor..right (but we used to say ‘harba/harbar’…lol)

we had big ones for our  seim n squash near the side of trench …

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn

I am trying to rem wht my mom called 2 things ..

iknow karyan is the heap where u mashed the rice

but after u done mash rice , theyused to use pitch forks to remove the straw n pile a heap out of the ‘kitchen’ ..later we would burn it n use as fertilisers for the garden ..my mom had a ‘hindi word for it

then whn u bring in the ‘wads’ from the fiels..we stacked them nicely n used t use it as bed..(spread blankets n slept high up , sheltered from the cold breeze n insects crawling on ground.  My mom had a name for this too..

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

I am trying to rem wht my mom called 2 things ..

iknow karyan is the heap where u mashed the rice

but after u done mash rice , theyused to use pitch forks to remove the straw n pile a heap out of the ‘kitchen’ ..later we would burn it n use as fertilisers for the garden ..my mom had a ‘hindi word for it

then whn u bring in the ‘wads’ from the fiels..we stacked them nicely n used t use it as bed..(spread blankets n slept high up , sheltered from the cold breeze n insects crawling on ground.  My mom had a name for this too..

Straw heaped up is called pyrah heap .

@Lynn posted:

Anybody still using chowki??

now we have nice countertops to baylay roti !!

i brought my belna with me whn i left GY but  left chowki behind

I had a chowki in the early 80’s also used on the other side as cutting board. Mid 80’s someone gifted me a large round wooden thing that turned on its base…schupidy coolie gyal had no clue it was a lazy Susan so I used it as my fancy chowki ( I still have it)  I did not start using counter until I saw hubby’s sisinlaw roll out the xxxlarge roti to make 6 oil roti😄

I came to Toronto for 3 weeks holiday with intentions to return to GY…did not bring anything for myself just few pcs clothes.

W